
NEW FURHARVESTER EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR
APPLICATION PROCESS

The following procedure is to be used in certifying new furharvester education applicants. Please complete each 
of these steps in order.

ELIGIBILITY
All potential applicants must be at least 21 years of age, pass a criminal background check, be a licensed hunter 
and have successfully completed the Kansas furharvester education course before submitting an application.

APPLICATION AND INITIAL SCREENING
Submit an instructor application to the Hunter Education Office in Pratt. This application may be obtained from 
a certified instructor, Wildlife and Parks employee or the Hunter Education Office in Pratt. All applicants will 
be subjected to a criminal background check (NCIC & KBI). Individuals with a criminal history may be denied 
certifications using these guidelines:

a. Any felony conviction will be grounds for disqualification;
b. Applications will be held without action pending the outcome of unresolved charges;
c. If any conviction or judgement results in loss of the right to own firearms the applicant is disqualified;
d. Any person who has been adjudged a sexual offender is disqualified;
e. Recent criminal activity (within 2 years) is evaluated based upon the severity of the problem or upon the 

public’s knowledge of the events and their attitude toward the individual concerned. Certification will be 
denied for individuals whose backgrounds could diminish their effectiveness as instructors or which might 
jeopardize the integrity of the hunter education program;

f.  Violation of any Wildlife and Parks Law or Regulation is evaluated based on its severity and its effect on 
the individual as a role model for the students. Recommendations from Department Law Enforcement 
personnel are weighed heavily in these cases.

ASSIGNMENT AND TRAINING
The Hunter Education Office in Pratt will assign an instructor number after he or she passes the background 
check. Instructor certification will not be issued until a recommendation is received from the applicant's area 
Natural Resource Officer. 

FINAL  CERTIFICATION
Instructor manuals, certificate, patch and rocker, and teaching materials will be sent to the applicant upon certifi-
cation. 



FURHARVESTER EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION
OFFICE INSTRUCTOR #: ____________ STATUS: _______ 
USE  NCIC CK: _______  KBI CK: _______
ONLY  NATURAL RESOURCE OFFICER APPROVAL: _______________________________________________

 KANSAS FURHARVESTER EDUCATION CERTIFICATE # :  ____________________

Note: You must be at least 21 years of age and have complete the Kansas hunter education program before submitting this ap-
plication. Mail to: Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks ATTN: Hunter Education, 512 SE 25th Ave., Pratt, KS 67124. 

Have you ever been convicted of a felony?        Yes    No    If convicted, explain _____________________ 
_________________________________________________________________________________________
Have you ever been charged with domestic violence?        Yes    No    If convicted, explain ______________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Have you ever been adjudged a sexual offender?       Yes    No    If convicted, explain _____________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Have you ever been convicted of a wildlife violation?    Yes     No    If convicted, explain ______________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________
I consent to a criminal background investigation through the Kansas Bureau of Investigation and any other agen-
cies as deemed necessary.     Yes No Initials _______________

Current year furharvester license number (or lifetime number) ____________________

YEARS OF FURHARVESTER EXPERIENCE
  _________ Hunting Furbearers  Species: _____________________________________________
 _________ Trapping Furbearers Species: _____________________________________________
 _________ Handling Pelts  Species: _____________________________________________

  
LAST NAME: _______________________________ FIRST NAME: _______________________ MI: ______
ADDRESS: _____________________________________________ CITY: _________________ STATE:____
ZIP CODE: ______________ COUNTY ABBV: _____ GENDER:   M    F (circle one)  RACE: ____________
D.O.B: ________________ OCCUPATION: _______________________ PHONE: (         ) _____ - _________
               (         ) _____ - _________
SOCIAL SECURITY #: ____________________  e-mail address: ____________________________________
PREVIOUS FURHARVESTER TEACHING EXPERIENCE: 
 __________ Cooperative Extension Trapping Instructor
 __________ Hunter Education Instructor
 __________  N.T.A.
 __________  Other State
 __________  Other __________________________________________________________________

FROM WHOM DID YOU RECEIVE THIS APPLICATION? ________________________________________
If appointed as a Kansas Furharvester Education Instructor, I will follow the course outlined by the Department of Wildlife & Parks. I 
will provide instruction concerning the ethical, humane, safe, selective hunting, trapping, and handling of furbearing animals in Kansas. 
I will issue Furharvester cards and patches to only those persons who successfully complete the prescribed course. I further certify that 
all the above information is true and correct.
_________________________________________ ___________
APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE   DATE

Please Note: Criminal background checks are done on all applicants.


