APPLICATION PROCESS
(RESIDENTS ONLY)

Applications must be made on GoOutdoorsKansas.com.
Firearm and muzzleloader antelope permits are available to
Kansas residents through online lottery draw only. Application
for limited permits are due the second Friday in June. Applicants
who do not have internet access can apply by calling (620) 672-
5911. Each application includes a $12.50 nonrefundable
application fee charged at the time of application. Following the
draw, successful applicants will be charged the remaining permit
fees due. Unsuccessful applicants will be issued a preference
point for the next years’ draw using the nonrefundable
application fee and will not be charged the remaining permit fee.
A preference point can be purchased online without permit
application. Only one preference point may be obtained per year.

Applicants can view draw results online two to four weeks
after the close of the application period. Results are posted at
ksoutdoors.com at the same location as application. Successful
applicants should receive permits four to six weeks after
application deadline.

Unsuccessful applicants and those who purchased a
preference point may no longer purchase an over-the-counter
archery permit for antelope during the same year.

LICENSE
REQUIREMENTS

All individuals, regardless of land ownership or age, must
have in possession a valid Kansas permit to hunt pronghorn
antelope. In addition to the permit, a valid Kansas hunting
license is required, unless exempt by Kansas law; residents and
nonresidents hunting on Kansas land they own or operate do not
need a Kansas hunting license.

HUNTER EDUCATION

Youth 15 and younger may hunt without hunter education if
directly supervised by an adult 18 or older. Anyone 16 or older
who has not had hunter education may purchase two deferrals
called apprentice hunting licenses, for the same price as a
regular hunting license. The apprentice license is valid for 365
days from the date of purchase, and the holder must be under
the direct supervision of a licensed adult 18 or older. Hunter
education is not required while hunting one’s own land.

Otherwise, anyone born on or after July 1, 1957, must have
hunter education. Anyone under 27 years old must carry a
Kansas or other state-approved hunter education card while
hunting in Kansas. Youth must be 11 years old to be certified by
Kansas Hunter Education. Youth 12 and older who have
completed hunter education may hunt without  adult
supervision.

Duplicate certificates are provided at no cost at KDWP regional,
district and state park offices or by calling (620) 672-0773.

POST-HARVEST INSTRUCTIONS

At the time of purchase, hunters will have the option of paper carcass
tags or mobile/E-tag.

PAPER TAGS: Sign PERMIT prior to hunting
to validate it. After an animal is harvested, the
CARCASS TAG must be signed, dated and
attached to the animal in a visible manner
before the carcass is moved from the harvest
site.

Paper permits and tags purchased through
the internet must be printed on a desktop
printer at the time of purchase. To protect non-
waterproof paper tag, cut it from the permit,
place in a clear plastic bag and attach it to the
animal with a zip-tie or other secure manner.

The carcass tag must remain attached to the
animal during transport and kept with the meat
until it is consumed, given to another or
otherwise disposed of.

Hunters using paper tags can complete a
voluntary harvest report of big game animals if they wish to “bone-
out” in the field.

Go to: ksoutdoors.com/harvest-reporting and follow the online
instructions on how to complete the
harvest report for your animal.

MOBILE/E-TAGS: Hunters who choose
e-tags at time of purchase will keep permit
and tags on their mobile device through
the GoOutdoorsKS mobile app. After
harvest, open the “GoOutdoorsKS”
mobile app and follow the instructions on
the app for the e-tag appropriate for the
species/sex of harvest. An e-tag
confirmation number will work the same
as harvest reporting for a hunter wanting
to bone out an animal and transport only
meat from harvest site.

GoOutdoorsKS

SURVEYS: Hunters may be asked to complete online HARVEST
SURVEYS at the end of the season. Information received helps biologists
make decisions to manage a healthy game populations. A random
sample of hunters will be contacted, making it important to update your
address information each year when purchasing your permit/tags.
Hunters surveyed will receive an email or a postcard with a link to direct
them to an online survey. Questions about this survey or assistance in
completing surveys may be obtained through the KDWP Research and
Survey Office, (620) 342-0658. State law (K.S.A. 32-937) requires hunters
receiving a harvest report card to complete the survey.

SEASONS

ARCHERY
Sept. 20-28, 2025

MUZZLELOADER
Sept. 29 - Oct. 6, 2025

FIREARM
Oct. 3-6, 2025

APPLICATION PERIOD

(GoOutdoorsKansas.com)

ONLINE-ONLY APPLICATION PERIOD
FIREARM AND MUZZLELOADER:
May 13 - June 13, 2025

ONLINE and OVER THE COUNTER
ARCHERY ON SALE:
Aug. 5, 2025

Nonresidents are eligible for archery permits only.
Antelope permits are not transferable.

SHOOTING HOURS
1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset
Note: Sherman, Wallace, Greeley, and Hamilton counties
are on Mountain Daylight Time.
Legal shooting hours will vary accordingly.

BAG LIMIT
One antelope buck, doe, or fawn

Equal opportunity to benefit from programs described herein is
available to all persons without regard to race, color, gender,
sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, religion,
national origin, ancestry, age, military or veteran status, disability
status, marital or family status, genetic information or political
affiliation. Concerns of discrimination should be sent to KDWP,
1020 S Kansas Ave., Topeka, KS 66612. 06/25

FEES

FIREARM or MUZZLELOADER PERMIT
(includes application fee)

General ReSIAENt ..........ccovoviiiiiiiieieeeeee e $62.50
Resident Landowner/Tenant ............cccoeoveererieieenieneeeneenes $37.50
YOULN ottt $22.50
Nonresident TENANt ..........ccoveveveueeverereeeeereeeeeeeeceeeseseeeeeeaeaes $97.50
Preference POINt ........cooveveveeiieicicieiececeeeeeeee e $12.50
ARCHERY PERMIT
General Resident .........ccoevuivieieriieieieseeieeee e $52.50
Resident Landowner/Tenant ............ccoeeeeevieneeienieeeeieneenens $27.50
Resident YOUth .......o.ooveviviicieeiieecccee e $12.50
NONFESIACNE ...ttt $302.50
Nonresident YOuth ........ccccoeeieirieeiinieeiieeceeeeeeveees $102.50
Nonresident TENAN ...........c.oveveveieieriieieieieiereieieieieieieieeiese s $87.50

REPORT ILLEGAL ACTIVITY ANONYMOUSLY TO
OPERATION GAME THIEF
1-877-426-3843
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This publication is a summary of antelope hunting
regulations. The complete laws and regulations on
which this summary is based are available online at:
ksoutdoors.com/regulations.



PERMIT TYPES

RESIDENT

A resident is defined as a person who has maintained a permanent
abode in the state for 60 days prior to purchase. Domiciliary intent is
required, evidence of which may include where a person votes, pays
personal income taxes, or obtains a driver's license. Members of the
armed services on active duty who were Kansas residents at the time of
entering the service, and immediate family members living with them,
are considered residents regardless of duty station. Members of the
armed services on active duty and officially stationed in Kansas may
purchase resident licenses and permits, except for lifetime licenses. Any
holder of a Kansas lifetime hunting license who has moved from the
state may apply for permits as a resident. Any person who is a registered
full-time student in residence at a public or private secondary, post
secondary, or vocational school in Kansas may purchase resident
licenses and permits, except lifetime licenses. While hunting, the
student must carry evidence of being a full-time student residing in
Kansas.

LANDOWNER/TENANT

A landowner is any resident who owns 80 acres or more of Kansas
farm or ranch land. When applying for a landowner/tenant permit, land
owned must be in the unit applying for.

A tenant is any resident or nonresident who is actively engaged in the
agricultural operation of 80 acres or more of Kansas farm or ranch land
for the purpose of producing agricultural commodities or livestock and
(A) has a substantial financial investment in the production of

agricultural commodities or livestock on such farm or ranch land and
the potential to realize substantial financial benefit from such
production or, (B) is a bona fide manager having an overall
responsibility to direct, supervise and conduct such agricultural
operation and have the potential to realize substantial benefit from such
production in the form of salary, shares of such production or some
other economic incentive based upon such production. Evidence of
tenancy, if requested, shall be provided to the department and may
include but is not limited to, Natural Resource Conservation Service
records, Farm Service Agency records, or written agricultural contract
or lease documentation. Land must be located in the unit you are
applying for to qualify.

Members of the immediate family who are domiciled with a resident
landowner or tenant may apply for a resident big game permit as a
landowner or as a tenant, but at least 80 acres must be owned by such
landowner or operated by such tenant for each individual applying as a
landowner or as a tenant.

NONRESIDENT LANDOWNER
Any nonresident who owns 80 acres or more of Kansas farm or
ranch land.

NONRESIDENT

Anyone who doesn’t qualify in the definitions above.

YOUTH

All youth 15 and younger qualify for antelope permits at a reduced
price. Resident youth 15 and younger do not need a hunting license. All
nonresident youth 15 and younger must have a nonresident youth
hunting license.

ANTELOPE MANAGEMENT UNITS

There are three antelope management units for firearm and muzzleloader permits, and one management unit for
archery permits. A unit number is printed on each permit to designate legal hunting boundaries for that permit.
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PERMIT DESCRIPTIONS

ARCHERY
Bag limit: One (1) buck, doe, or fawn antelope

Archery permits are valid during archery season only. Permits are
unlimited (one per hunter) and may be purchased over-the-counter or
online by residents and nonresidents.

MUZZLELOADER
Bag limit: One buck, doe, or fawn antelope

Muzzleloader permits are valid in the unit specified on the permit
selected at the time of application. Muzzleloader permits are valid
during muzzleloader-only and regular firearm seasons using
muzzleloading equipment only. Only residents and nonresident tenants
may apply for this permit during the application period.

FIREARM
Bag limit: One buck, doe, or fawn antelope

Firearm permits are valid during the firearm season in the unit
specified on the permit selected at the time of application. Firearm
permits allow use of all legal hunting equipment for antelope. Only
residents and nonresident tenants may apply for this permit during
application period.

LANDOWNER/TENANT
Bag limit: One buck, doe, or fawn antelope

Half of the firearm and muzzleloader antelope permits in each unit
are set aside for landowner/tenants. Applicant must qualify as a
landowner or as a tenant in the unit or units for which the applicant
applies. Members of the immediate family who are domiciled with a
landowner or tenant may apply for a resident antelope permit as a
landowner or as a tenant, but at least 80 acres must be owned by such
landowner or operated by such tenant for each individual applying.
Equipment and unit restrictions listed on the permit apply.

OTHER PERMITS

DISABILITY ASSISTANCE PERMITS

Any person with a permanent physical or visual disability that
prevents that person from hunting safely, as certified by a physician,
may be eligible to obtain a permit to designate someone else to take
a legal limit of game for the permit holder.

A Kansas hunting license is required (unless exempt by Kansas
law) to herd or drive antelope for a permit holder. Hunters with a
permanent disability may hunt with bows with locking draws during
the archery season, as permitted under KAR 115-18-7, by application
and special permit.

For more information, or application, contact the Kansas
Department of Wildlife and Parks (620) 672-5911.

DUPLICATE PERMITS

In the event of loss or theft, a duplicate big game permit may be
obtained from any department office or license agent, for the fee of
$2.50. If you harvest any big game that is not edible, a duplicate permit
will not be issued.

BIG GAME
LEGAL EQUIPMENT

ARCHERY

Longbows, recurve bows, compound bows, and crossbows. No bow,
crossbow or arrow may have any electronic device attached that
controls the flight of the arrow. Devices that may be attached to a bow
or arrow shall include lighted pin, dot or holographic sights, illuminated
nocks, rangefinders, film or video cameras; and radio-frequency
location devices. Arrows used for hunting big game and turkeys must
be equipped with broadhead points that cannot pass through a ring 3/4-
inch in diameter when fully expanded. Non-broadhead-tipped arrows
may be in possession while hunting but may not be used to take or
attempt to take big game animals. Devices capable of dispensing lethal,
debilitating or immobilizing chemicals may not be used to take big
game animals. Handguns may be possessed during big game archery
seasons but may not be used to take big game.

FIREARMS

Centerfire rifles and handguns that are not fully automatic, while
using only tumble-upon-impact, hard-cast solid lead, soft point, hollow
point, or other expanding bullets; shotguns using only slugs.

MUZZLELOADERS

Muzzleloading rifles, pistols, and muskets that can be loaded only
through the front of the firing chamber with separate components and
that fire a bullet of .40 inches diameter or larger. Only tumble-upon-
impact, hard-cast solid lead, conical lead, or saboted bullets may be
used with muzzleloading rifles, pistols and muskets. Handguns may be
possessed during big game muzzleloader only seasons but may not be
used to take big game unless they are muzzleloading handguns.

Range-finding devices and optical scopes or sights that project no
visible light toward the target and do not electronically amplify visible
or infrared light may be used with any equipment.

Firearm permit holders may hunt with any legal
equipment during the firearm season. Muzzleloader
permit holders may only hunt with a muzzleloader, bow
or crosshow during the muzzleloader and firearm
seasons. Archery permit holders may only use archery
equipment during the archery season.




