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Summary

KANSAS ELK MANAGEMENT  
    Most elk in Kansas are found on the 100,000-acre Fort Riley Military 
Reservation where a free-ranging herd of wild elk provides limited hunting 
opportunities. Permits issued through a lottery drawing are divided 
between military personnel stationed on the fort and Kansas general resi-
dents, and are valid in elk management units 2, 2A and 3. Any-Elk and 
Antlerless-only Elk permits are allocated. The state is divided into three elk 
management units. No elk hunting is currently allowed in Unit 1. Unit 2 
includes parts of Clay, Dickinson, Riley and Geary counties. Unit 2A is the 
Fort Riley Reservation. Unit 3 is the remaining part of the state. 
    Once an applicant receives an Any-Elk permit from the draw, they are 
not eligible to apply for an Any-Elk permit again. An applicant who 
receives an Antlerless-only Elk permit in the draw is not eligible to apply 
for another Antlerless-only Elk permit for a five-year period. Unsuccessful 
applicants will receive a bonus point to increase their odds of being select-
ed in future lottery drawings. 
     Wild elk exist in Unit 3, but it is advisable to locate and obtain access 
to elk prior to applying for a permit. 
 
 

APPLICATION PROCESS 
(RESIDENTS ONLY) 

    Applications must be made on GoOutdoorsKansas.com. Elk permits 
are available through online lottery draw only. Applicants who do not 
have internet access can apply by calling (620) 672-5911. Each 
application includes a $12.50 nonrefundable application fee charged at 
the time of application. Following the draw, successful applicants will be 
charged the remaining permit fees due. Unsuccessful applicants will be 
issued a bonus point for the next years’ draw using the nonrefundable 
application fee and will not be charged the remaining permit fee. 
    Applicants can view draw results online two to four weeks after the 
close of the application period at ksoutdoors.com at the same location 
application was made. Successful applicants should receive permits four 
to six weeks after application deadline. 
 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS  
    Elk permits are available to Kansas residents, landowners, and ten-
ants only. All individuals, regardless of land ownership or age, must have 
in possession a valid Kansas permit and carcass tag to hunt elk. In addi-
tion to the permit, a valid Kansas hunting license is required, unless 
exempt by Kansas law; a hunting license is not required while hunting 
on Kansas land you own or operate for agricultural purposes.  
 
HUNTER EDUCATION 
    Anyone born on or after July 1, 1957, must have hunter education. 
Anyone under 27 years old must carry a Kansas or other state approved 
hunter education card while hunting. In Kansas, you must be 11 years old 
to be certified and may not hunt without adult supervision until age 12. 
    Exemptions include youth 15 and younger who may hunt without 
hunter education if directly supervised by an adult 18 or older. Anyone 
16 or older may purchase two deferrals of hunter education, called 
apprentice hunting licenses, for the same price as a regular hunting 
license. This license is valid one year from the date of purchase, and the 
holder must be under the direct supervision of a licensed adult 18 or 
older. Hunter education is not required while hunting one’s own land.  
    Duplicate certificates are provided at no cost at KDWP regional, dis-
trict and state park offices or by calling (620) 672-0773.

 FEES 

ANY-ELK PERMIT 
 

General Resident .................................................................. $302.50  
Resident Landowner/Tenant ................................................. $152.50   
Resident Youth (15 and younger) ......................................... $127.50   
Nonresident Tenant  .............................................................. $302.50    

ANTLERLESS-ONLY ELK PERMIT 
General Resident ................................................................... $152.50 
Resident Landowner/Tenant .................................................... $77.50 
Resident Youth (15 and younger) ............................................ $52.50 
Nonresident Tenant ................................................................ $152.50 

REPORT ILLEGAL ACTIVITY ANONYMOUSLY TO 
OPERATION GAME THIEF 

1-877-426-3843

SEASONS  
UNITS 2 AND 3 

Muzzleloader:  Sept. 1-30, 2025 
Archery:           Sept. 15 - Dec. 31, 2025 
Firearm:           Aug. 1-31, 2025 
                          Dec. 3-14, 2025 
                          Jan. 1 - March 15, 2026  

UNIT 2A (Fort Riley) 
Muzzleloader:  Sept. 1-30, 2025 
Archery:           Sept. 1-30, 2025 
Firearm Any-Elk:   Oct. 1 - Dec. 31, 2025 
Antlerless-only First Segment:      Oct. 1-31, 2025 
Antlerless-only Second Segment:  Nov. 1-30, 2025 
Antlerless-only Third Segment:    Dec. 1-31, 2025 
Extended Firearm:                         Jan. 1-31, 2026 

 

APPLICATION PERIOD 
(GoOutdoorsKansas.com)  

ONLINE-ONLY APPLICATION PERIOD 
UNIT 2A PERMITS: 
May 13 - June 13, 2025 

 
ONLINE and OVER THE COUNTER 

UNIT 2 & 3 ONLY PERMITS ON SALE: 
July 22, 2025 

 
 SHOOTING HOURS 

1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset 
Note: Sherman, Wallace, Greeley, and Hamilton counties  

are on Mountain Daylight Time.  
Legal shooting hours will vary accordingly. 

 
 BAG LIMIT 

One elk as permitted.

 
 

512 SE 25th Ave. 
Pratt, KS 67124 

Phone: (620) 672-5911 
Fax: (620) 672-3013 
www.ksoutdoors.com 

 

This publication is a summary of elk hunting 
regulations. The complete laws and regulations on 

which this summary is based are available online at: 
ksoutdoors.com/regulations.

POST-HARVEST INSTRUCTIONS 
 
At the time of purchase, hunters will have the option of paper carcass 
tags or mobile/E-tag. 
 
PAPER TAGS: Sign PERMIT prior to hunting 
to validate it. After an animal is harvested, the 
CARCASS TAG must be signed, dated and 
attached to the animal in a visible manner 
before the carcass is moved from the harvest 
site.  
    Paper permits and tags purchased through 
the internet must be printed on a desktop 
printer at the time of purchase. To protect non-
waterproof paper tag, cut it from the permit, 
place in a clear plastic bag and attach it to the 
animal with a zip-tie or other secure manner. 
    The carcass tag must remain attached to the 
animal during transport and kept with the meat 
until it is consumed, given to another or 
otherwise disposed of. 
    Hunters using paper tags can complete a 
voluntary harvest report of big game animals if they wish to “bone-
out” in the field.  
Go to: ksoutdoors.com/harvest-reporting and follow the online 
instructions on how to complete the 
harvest report for your animal. 
 
MOBILE/E-TAGS: Hunters who choose 
e-tags at time of purchase will keep permit 
and tags on their mobile device through 
the GoOutdoorsKS mobile app. After 
harvest, open the “GoOutdoorsKS” 
mobile app and follow the instructions on 
the app for the e-tag appropriate for the 
species/sex of harvest. An e-tag 
confirmation number will work the same 
as harvest reporting for a hunter wanting 
to bone out an animal and transport only 
meat from harvest site.  
 
SURVEYS: Hunters may be asked to complete online HARVEST 
SURVEYS at the end of the season. Information received helps biologists 
make decisions to manage a healthy game populations. A random 
sample of hunters will be contacted, making it important to update your 
address information each year when purchasing your permit/tags. 
Hunters surveyed will receive an email or a postcard with a link to direct 
them to an online survey. Questions about this survey or assistance in 
completing surveys may be obtained through the KDWP Research and 
Survey Office, (620) 342-0658. State law (K.S.A. 32-937) requires hunters 
receiving a harvest report card to complete the survey. 

Equal opportunity to benefit from programs described herein is 
available to all persons without regard to race, color, gender, 
sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, religion, 
national origin, ancestry, age, military or veteran status, disability 
status, marital or family status, genetic information or political 
affiliation. Concerns of discrimination should be sent to KDWP,  
1020 S Kansas Ave., Topeka, KS 66612.                                  06/25



PERMIT DESCRIPTIONS  
ANY-ELK 
Bag limit: One (1) bull, spike, cow, or calf elk 
    Unlimited resident and landowner/tenant Any-Elk permits for Unit 3 
are available online or over-the-counter. Unlimited Hunt-own-land Any-
Elk permits for Units 2 and 3 are available online or over-the-counter.   
    A limited number of Any-Elk permits for Units 2 and 2A (Ft. Riley) are 
available through lottery draw by online application (includes Unit 3.) 
Unit 2A permits are valid during any elk season with equipment legal for 
that season including the Extended Firearm season. 
 
 
ANTLERLESS-ONLY ELK 
Bag limit: One (1) Elk without a visible antler protruding from skull 
    Unlimited resident and landowner/tenant Antlerless-only Elk permits 
for Unit 3 are available online or over the counter. An unlimited number 
of Hunt-own-land Antlerless-only Elk permits for Units 2 and 3 are avail-
able online or over-the-counter. These permits are valid during any elk 
season with equipment legal for that season. 
    A limited number of Antlerless-only Elk permits, valid in Units 2 and 
2A (Ft. Riley), are available through lottery draw by online application 
(includes Unit 3.) Unit 2A Antlerless-only Elk permits are valid for the 
season segment printed on the permit including the Extended Firearm 
season. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

OTHER PERMITS  
FORT RILEY ACCESS PERMIT 
    All hunters, regardless of age, must be NRA-certified or have verifica-
tion of completing an approved hunter education course prior to pur-
chasing a Fort Riley Access permit for the purpose of hunting on Fort 
Riley. Fort Riley Access permits may be purchased online at www.fortri-
ley.isportsman.net for $27.50. For more information about access per-
mits, contact Fort Riley by phone at (785) 239-6211. Fort Riley military 
reservation or portions of it may be closed at any time, without prior 
notice, due to military activities. The military mission has precedence 
over any announced hunting seasons. 
 
DISABILITY ASSISTANCE PERMIT 
    A Kansas hunting license is required (unless exempt by Kansas law) 
to herd or drive big game for a permit holder. Any person with a perma-
nent physical or visual disability that prevents the person’s ability to 
hunt safely, as certified by a physician, may be eligible to obtain a permit 
to designate someone else to take a legal limit of game for the permit 
holder. For more information or application, call (620) 672-5911. 
 

DUPLICATE PERMITS 
    In the event of loss or theft, a duplicate big game permit may be 
obtained from any department office or license agent, for the fee of 
$2.50. If you harvest any big game that is not edible, a duplicate permit 
will not be issued.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

LEGAL EQUIPMENT  
ARCHERY 
    Longbows, recurve bows, compound bows, and crossbows. No bow, 
crossbow or arrow may have any electronic device attached that controls 
the flight of the arrow. Devices that may be attached to a bow or arrow 
shall include lighted pin, dot or holographic sights; illuminated nocks; 
rangefinders; film or video cameras; and radio-frequency location 
devices.  Arrows used for hunting big game and turkeys must be 
equipped with broadhead points that cannot pass through a ring 3/4-inch 
in diameter when fully expanded. Non-broadhead arrows may be in pos-
session while hunting but may not be used to take or attempt to take big 
game animals. Devices capable of dispensing lethal, debilitating or 
immobilizing chemicals may not be used to take big game animals. 
Handguns may be possessed during big game archery seasons but may 
not be used to take big game. 
 
FIREARMS 
   Centerfire rifles and handguns that are not fully automatic, while 
using only tumble-upon-impact, hard-cast solid lead, soft point, hollow 
point, or other expanding bullets; shotguns using only slugs. 
 
MUZZLELOADERS 
    Muzzleloading rifles or muskets that can be loaded only through the 
front of the firing chamber with separate components and that fire a bul-
let of .40 inches diameter or larger. Only tumble-upon-impact, hard-cast 
solid lead, conical lead, or saboted bullets may be used with muzzle-
loading rifles, pistols and muskets. Handguns may be possessed during 
big game muzzleloader only seasons but may not be used to take big 
game unless they are muzzleloading handguns. 
     Range-finding devices and optical scopes or sights that project no 
visible light toward the target and do not electronically amplify visible 
or infrared light may be used with any equipment.

PERMIT CLASSES  
RESIDENT 
    A resident is defined as a person who has maintained permanent 
abode in the state for 60 days prior to purchase. Domiciliary intent is 
required, evidence of which may include where a person votes, pays 
personal income taxes, or obtains a driver's license. Members of the 
armed services on active duty who were Kansas residents at the time of 
entering the service, and immediate family members living with them, 
are considered residents regardless of duty station. Members of the 
armed services on active duty and officially stationed in Kansas may 
purchase resident licenses and permits, except for lifetime licenses. Any 
holder of a Kansas lifetime hunting license who has moved from the 
state may apply for permits as a resident. Any person who is a registered 
full-time student in residence at a public or private secondary, post sec-
ondary, or vocational school located in Kansas may purchase resident 
licenses and permits, except lifetime licenses. While hunting, the stu-
dent must carry evidence of being a full-time student residing in Kansas. 
 
LANDOWNER/TENANT 
    A landowner is any resident who owns 80 acres or more of Kansas 
farm or ranch land. When applying for a landowner/tenant permit, land 
owned must be in the unit applying for.  
    A tenant is any resident or nonresident who is actively engaged in the 
agricultural operation of 80 acres or more of Kansas farm or ranch land 
for the purpose of producing agricultural commodities or livestock and 
(A) has a substantial financial investment in the production of agricultur-
al commodities or livestock on such farm or ranch land and the potential 
to realize substantial financial benefit from such production or, (B) is a 
bona fide manager having an overall responsibility to direct, supervise 
and conduct such agricultural operation and have the potential to real-
ize substantial benefit from such production in the form of salary, shares 
of such production or some other economic incentive based upon such 
production. Evidence of tenancy, if requested, shall be provided to the 
department and may include, but is not limited to, Natural Resource 
Conservation Service records, Farm Service Agency records, or written 
agricultural contract or lease documentation. Land must be in the unit 
applying. 
    Members of the immediate family who are domiciled with a resident 
landowner or tenant may apply for a resident big game permit as a 
landowner or as a tenant, but at least 80 acres must be owned by such 
landowner or operated by such tenant for each individual applying as a 
landowner or as a tenant. 
 
NONRESIDENT 
   Anyone who doesn’t qualify in the definitions above. Nonresidents are 
not eligible for Kansas elk permits. 
 
YOUTH 
    All resident youth 15 and younger qualify for elk permits at a reduced 
price. Resident youth 15 and younger do not need a hunting license.
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ELK MANAGEMENT UNITS 
No permits valid in Unit 1.
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