Public Hunting Access & Your Land

WALK-IN HUNTING ACCESS
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WHAT IS IT?

The Walk-In Hunting Access pro-
gram makes private land available
for public hunting through a lease agreement between the Kansas De-
partment of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism and Kansas landowners. Par-
ticipating landowners receive payments which vary with the number of
acres, quality of habitat, and length of the lease access period. The de-
partment posts signs on the land, produces maps of the properties for
hunters, and patrols the areas. The WIHA program has been very suc-
cessful, growing each year since its start in 1995.

BENEFITS

There are several reasons to participate in addition to the lease pay-
ment. Many landowners own land far from their home or do not have
time to worry about who is hunting on their land. It may be more con-
venient for them to enroll their property in the WIHA program. The
department publishes detailed atlases of properties enrolled in the pro-
gram and hunters are asked not to contact landowners.

Conservation officers will periodically patrol WIHA properties much
like other public hunting areas. While incidents are a rarity, violators
will be ticketed or arrested for offenses such as vandalism, littering, or

WHO CAN QUALIFY

Almost anyone who owns or leases at least
80 contiguous acres of land can qualify.
This includes resident landowners, absentee
landowners, tenant farmers, estate manag-
ers, trust managers, and others who manage
privately owned land.

LAND QUALIFICATION

Much of the land enrolled in WIHA is Con-
servation Reserve Program (CRP) acres.
Although CRP is ideal for WIHA, land with
similar qualities and hunting opportunities

WIHA County
Payment Rate Tiers

Incentive

Urban Incentive

WIHA County Payment Rates

Standard: Up to $9.00/Acre
Standar Incentive: Up to $13.00/Acre
Urban Incentive: Up to $18.00/Acre
*Rates are dependant upon habitat quality and other factors

failing to comply with regulations.

The WIHA program provides hunters with a
place to hunt while leaving the land in pri-
vate ownership. Landowners can withdraw
from the program at any time, but will be
paid a prorated payment amount. Properties
withdrawn after atlas production will be
posted as no longer enrolled.

LIABILITY

Liability is a valid concern. However, state
law provides that private individuals who
lease their land to the state for

such as native

recreational purposes are im-

rangeland, weedy wheat
stubble, milo stubble, ripari-
an areas, and wetland areas
are also considered for
WIHA enrollment.

Applications are accepted

CONSIDERATIONS FOR MAXIMUM PAYMENT RATES:

The longer the lease period, the higher the payment rate
Is your land within an urban County or a County with low WIHA enrollment?
(See Map above)
Does your land offer above-average habitat quality for the County?
Does your land offer above-average waterfowl hunting opportunities?
Is your land located within an area of relatively high Wildlife populations?
Do you have at least (1) tract of land that is greater than 200 acres in size?

mune from damages or inju-
ries that result from ordinary
negligence.

RESTRICTIONS

Access is allowed by hunters
during the posted access peri-

year-round, however applica-
tions received after July 15
for Fall access and January 15 for Spring access each year may not re-
ceive consideration for enrollment until the following year. These
deadlines allow for posting the properties and production of the atlases
before access periods begin.

Once applications are received, department biologists review potential
properties and assess them for hunting opportunity. The size and loca-
tion of the property, and the likelihood that hunting will occur are also
taken into consideration. Once properties are selected for enroliment
participants have the option for either an annual or multi-year lease.

od only. Travel is limited to
foot traffic only. If valid safety concerns exist, hunting opportunities
can be limited to archery and shot shell only.

PAYMENTS

Maximum rates are identified in the map above. All rates are
negotiable based on access period, location, habitat quality and
diversity, and size of enrolled properties. Fall lease payments are
made around Dec.1 and spring-only leases receive payment around
May 1 each year.

If interested in enrolling your property, contact the appropriate regional office with your information and a legal
description of the properties you would like to have considered for enroliment, if available.
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