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 Article 7.-GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

32-701.  Definitions. As used in the wildlife and parks laws of this state, unless the context 
otherwise requires or specifically defined otherwise: 

(a)  "Big game animal" means any antelope, deer or elk. 
(b)  "Commission" means the Kansas wildlife and parks commission created by K.S.A. l992 

Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto. 
(c)  "Department" means the Kansas department of wildlife and parks. 
(d)  "Fish," as a verb, means take, in any manner, any fish. 

  (e)  "Furbearing animal" means any badger, beaver, bobcat, grey fox, lynx, marten, mink, 
muskrat, opossum,  otter, raccoon, red fox, spotted skunk, striped skunk, swift fox or weasel.  

(f)  "Furharvest" means: 
(1)  Take, in any manner, any furbearing animal; or 
(2)  trap or attempt to trap any coyote. 
(g)  "Game animal" means any big game animal, wild turkey or small game animal. 
(h)  "Game bird" means any grouse, partridge, pheasant, prairie chicken or quail. 
(i)  "Hunt" means: 
(1)  Take, in any manner, any wildlife other than a fish, bullfrog, furbearing animal or coyote; 

or 
(2)  take, in any manner other than by trapping, any coyote. 
(j)  "Motor vehicle" means a vehicle, other than a motorized wheelchair, which is self-

propelled. 
(k)  "Motorized wheelchair" means any self-propelled vehicle designed specifically for use by 

a physically disabled person that is incapable of a speed in excess of 15 miles per hour. 
(l)  "Nonresident" means any person who has not been a bona fide resident of this state for the 

immediately preceding 60 days. 
(m)  "On a commercial basis" means for valuable consideration. 
(n)  "Person" means any individual or any unincorporated association, trust, partnership, 

public or private corporation or governmental entity, including foreign governments, or any 
officer, employee, agent or agency thereof. 

(o)  "Private water fishing impoundment" means one or more water impoundments: 
(1)  Constructed by man rather than natural, located wholly within the boundary of the lands 

owned or leased by the person operating the private water impoundments; and 
(2)  entirely isolated from other surface water so that the impoundment does not have any 

connection either continuously or at intervals, except during periods of floods, with streams or 
other bodies of water so as to permit the fish to move between streams or other bodies of water 
and the private water impoundments, except that the private water impoundments may be 
connected with a stream or other body of water by a pipe or conduit if fish will be prevented at 
all times from moving between streams or other bodies of water and the private water 
impoundment by screening the flow or by other means.  

(p)  "Resident" means any person who has maintained the person's place of permanent abode 
in this state for a period of 60 days immediately preceding the person's application for any 
license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department.  Domiciliary intent is required to 
establish that a person is maintaining the person's place or permanent abode in this state.  Mere 
ownership of property is not sufficient to establish domiciliary intent.  Evidence of domiciliary 
intent includes, without limitation, the location where the person votes, pays personal income 
taxes or obtains a driver's license.  

(q)  "Secretary" means the secretary of wildlife and parks. 
(r)  "Small game" means any game bird, hare, rabbit or squirrel. 
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(s)  "Species" includes any subspecies of wildlife and any other group of wildlife of the same 
species or smaller taxa in common spatial arrangement that interbreed when mature. 

(t)  "Take" means harass, harm, pursue, shoot, wound, kill, molest, trap, capture, collect, 
catch, possess or otherwise take, or attempt to engage in any such conduct. 

(u)  "Wildlife" means any member of the animal kingdom, including, without limitation, any 
mammal, fish, bird, amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other invertebrate, and 
includes any part, product, egg or offspring thereof, or the dead body or parts thereof.  Wildlife 
does not include agricultural livestock (cattle, swine, sheep, goats, horses, mules and other 
equines) and poultry (domestic chickens, turkeys and guinea fowl). 

History: L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 1; L. 1992, ch. 166, sec. 1; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. l; L. 1995, 
ch. 164, sec. 1; L. 2004, ch. 99, sec. 1; Jan. 1, 2005. 
 
Source or prior law: 

32-104, 32-104a, 32-110a, 32-156, 32-157, 32-158, 32-167, 32-172a, 32-174, 32-311, 32-502, 
74-4509b. 
 

32-702. Policy Statement. It shall be the policy of the state of Kansas to protect, provide and 
improve outdoor recreation and natural resources in this state and to plan and provide for the 
wise management and use of the state's natural resources, thus contributing to and benefiting the 
public's health and its cultural, recreational and economic life.  For these purposes, the secretary, 
the commission and the department are hereby vested with the duties and powers hereinafter set 
forth. 

History:  L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 2; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-212, 74-4501, 74-4527. 
 
 CASE ANNOTATIONS 

1. Liability of parties involved with capsizing of Whippoorwill Showboat discussed; trial 
court erred in granting summary judgement for concessionaire. Griffin v. Rogers, 232 K. 168, 
170, 653, P.2d 463 (1982). 

2. Cited; condition in deed requiring use of donated land for specific purposes construed.  
Kinney v. Kansas Fish & Game Commn, 238 K. 375, 381, 710 P.2d 1290 (1985). 
 

32-703. State of ownership of wildlife.  The ownership of and title to all wildlife, both 
resident and migratory, in the state, not held by private ownerships, legally acquired, shall be, 
and are hereby declared to be in the state. 

History: L. 1911, ch. 198, sec. 11; R.S. 1923, 32-107. L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 3; July l. 
 
Source or prior law: 32-107. 
 

32-704.  Continuation of rules and regulations, fees.  (a) All rules and regulations of the 
secretary in effect on June 30, 1989, shall remain in full force and effect until amended or 
revoked. 

(b)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, all fees for issues of the 
department, whether fixed by the statute or rules and regulations, which are in effect on June 30, 
1989, shall remain in full force and effect until otherwise fixed by rules and regulations of the 
secretary. 

History: L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 194; July l. 
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32-705.  Severability.  If any provisions of this act or the application thereof to any person or 
circumstances is held invalid, the invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of 
this act which can be given effect without the invalid provisions or application and to this end 
the provisions of this act are severable. 

History: L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 195; July l. 
 
 Article 8. ORGANIZATION AND POWERS 
 

32-801. Establishment of department; secretary. (a)  In order to reorganize the 
administration, planning and regulation of the state's parks, wildlife and other natural resources, 
there is hereby established within the executive branch of government the Kansas department of 
wildlife and parks, which shall be administrated under the direction and supervision of a 
secretary of wildlife and parks who shall be appointed by the governor, with the consent of the 
senate as provided in K.S.A. 75-4315b and amendments thereto. 

(b)  The secretary shall be fully qualified by education, training and experience in wildlife, 
parks or natural resources, or a related field, and shall have a demonstrated executive and 
administrative ability to discharge the duties of the office of secretary.  The secretary shall serve 
at the pleasure of the governor.  The secretary shall be in the unclassified service under the 
Kansas civil service act and shall receive an annual salary to be fixed by the governor. 

(c)  The provisions of the Kansas governmental operations accountability law apply to the 
office of secretary of wildlife and parks and the Kansas department of wildlife and parks, and the 
office and department are subject to audit, review and evaluation under such law. 

History: L. 1987, ch. 417, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 4, L. 1992, ch. 116, sec. 26; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  75-3901. 
 

32-802.  Assistant secretaries; employees; offices; wildtrust program.  (a) The secretary 
shall appoint an assistant secretary for administration and an assistant secretary for operations.  
The assistant secretary for administration shall be fully qualified by education, training and 
experience in administration.  The assistant secretary for operations shall be fully qualified by 
education, training and experience in wildlife, parks or natural resources, or a related field.  Both 
assistant secretaries shall have a demonstrated executive and administrative ability to discharge 
the duties of the office of assistant secretary.  The assistant secretaries shall serve at the pleasure 
of the secretary.  The assistant secretaries shall be in the unclassified service under the Kansas 
civil service act and shall receive an annual salary fixed by the secretary with the approval of the 
governor.  The secretary also may appoint such other staff assistants and employees as are 
necessary to enable the secretary to carry out the duties of the office.  Except as otherwise 
provided in this section, K.S.A. 75-2935 and K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-801, and amendments 
thereto, such staff assistants and employees shall be within the classified service under the 
Kansas civil service act. 

(b)  The assistant secretaries and such other staff assistants and employees shall have such 
powers, duties and functions as are assigned to them by the secretary or are prescribed by law.  
The assistant secretaries, staff assistants and employees shall act for and exercise the powers of 
the secretary to the extent authority to do so is delegated by the secretary. 

(c)  The assistant secretary for administration shall maintain an office in Shawnee county, 
Kansas.  The assistant secretary for operations shall maintain an office in Pratt county, Kansas.  
The secretary may maintain offices and facilities to carry out the functions of the department in 
other locations in this state. 

(d)  The secretary shall supervise the wildtrust program which shall be responsible for the 
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receipt and expenditure of moneys through gifts and donations. 
History: L. 1987, ch. 417, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 5; July 1.  

 
Source or prior law:  75-3902. 
 

32-803.  Department and secretary continuation of fish and game commission. 
(a) Except as otherwise provided by law, whenever the Kansas fish and game commission, or 

words of like effect, is referred to or designated by a statute, contract or other document, such 
reference or designation shall be deemed to apply to the department. 

(b)  Except as otherwise provided by law, whenever the director of the fish and game 
commission, or words of like effect, is referred to or designated by a statute, contract or other 
document, such reference or designation shall be deemed to apply to the secretary. 

(c)  All rules and regulations of the Kansas fish and game commission or the director of the 
fish and game commission in existence on July l, l987, shall continue to be effective and shall be 
deemed to be duly adopted rules and regulations of the secretary until revised, amended, revoked 
or nullified pursuant to law. 

(d)  All orders and directives of the Kansas fish and game commission or the director of the 
fish and game commission in existence on the effective date of this order shall continue to be 
effective and shall be deemed to be orders and directives of the secretary until revised, amended 
or nullified pursuant to law. 

(e)  The secretary shall succeed to whatever right, title or interest the Kansas fish and game 
commission has acquired in any real property in this state, and the secretary shall hold the same 
for and in the name of the state of Kansas.  On and after July l, l987, whenever any statute, 
contract, deed or other document concerns the power or authority of the Kansas fish and game 
commission or the director of the fish and game commission to acquire, hold or dispose of real 
property or any interest therein, the secretary shall succeed to such power or authority. 

(f)  The department and the secretary, respectively, shall be continuations of the Kansas fish 
and game commission and the office of the director of the fish and game commission. 

History:  L. 1987, ch. 417, sec. 3; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 6; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  75-3903. 
 

32-804. Department and secretary continuation of park and resources authority. 
(a) Except as otherwise provided by law, whenever the state park and resources authority, or 

words of like effect, is referred to or designated by a statute, contract or other document, such 
reference or designation shall be deemed to apply to the department.  

(b)  Except as otherwise provided by law, whenever the director of the state park and 
resources authority, or words of like effect, is referred to or designated by a statute, contract or 
other document, such reference or designation shall be deemed to apply to the secretary. 

(c)  All rules and regulations of the state park and resources authority or the director of the 
state park and resources authority in existence on July l, l987, shall continue to be effective and 
shall be deemed to be duly adopted rules and regulations of the secretary until revised, amended, 
revoked or nullified pursuant to law. 

(d)  All orders and directives of the state park and resources authority or the director of the 
state park and resources authority in existence on the effective date of this order shall continue to 
be effective and shall be deemed to be orders and directives of the secretary until revised, 
amended or nullified pursuant to law. 

(e)  The secretary shall succeed to whatever right, title or interest the state park and resources 
authority has acquired in any real property in this state, and the secretary shall hold the same for 
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and in the name of the state of Kansas.  On and after July l, l987, whenever any statute, contract, 
deed or other document concerns the power or authority of the state park and resources authority 
or the director of the state park and resources authority to acquire, hold or dispose of real 
property or any interest therein, the secretary shall succeed to such power or authority. 

(f)  The department and the secretary, respectively, shall be continuations of the state park and 
resources authority and the director of the state park and resources authority. 

History: L. 1987, ch. 417, sec. 4; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 7; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  75-3904. 
 

32-805.  Wildlife and parks commission. (a) There is hereby created within and as a part of 
the department the Kansas wildlife and parks commission which shall be composed of seven 
members.  The governor shall appoint residents of this state to be members of the commission.  
One member of the commission shall be chosen from each fish and wildlife administration 
region as established by the department.  In the appointment of members of the commission, the 
governor shall give consideration to the appointment of licensed hunters, fishermen and 
furharvesters, park users and to nonconsumptive users of wildlife and park resources.  No more 
than a majority of the members shall be of the same political party.  Each member of the 
commission shall hold office for a term of four years and until a successor is appointed and 
qualified, except that in appointing the original commission members, the governor shall 
designate one member for a term ending July l, l988, one member for a term ending July l, l989, 
and two members for terms ending July l, l990.  The governor shall fill any vacancy on the 
commission prior to the expiration of a term by appointment for the unexpired term. 

(b)  Each member of the commission shall take and subscribe an oath or affirmation as 
required by law before taking office. 

(c)  The governor may remove a commissioner after opportunity for a hearing in accordance 
with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.  If the commissioner is removed, 
the governor shall file in the office of the secretary of state a complete statement of all charges 
made against such commissioner and the governor's findings thereon, together with a complete 
record of the proceedings. 

(d)  The commission shall have such powers, duties and functions as prescribed by law.  
Other than rules and regulations pertaining to personnel matters of the department, the secretary 
shall submit to the commission all proposed rules and regulations.  The commission shall either 
approve, modify and approve, or reject such proposed rules and regulations.  The secretary shall 
adopt such rules and regulations so approved or so modified and approved.  Fees established for 
licenses, permits, stamps and other issues of the department shall be subject to the approval of 
the commission.  It also shall be the duty of the commission to serve in an advisory capacity to 
the governor and the secretary in the formulation of policies and plans relating to the department. 

(e)  The governor shall designate one commission member to serve as chairperson of the 
commission. Members of the commission attending meetings of the commission, or attending a 
subcommittee meeting thereof authorized by the commission, shall be paid compensation, 
subsistence allowances, mileage and other expenses as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and 
amendments thereto.  A majority of the members of the commission shall constitute a quorum 
for the transaction of business.  Meetings may be called by the chairperson and shall be called on 
the request of a majority of the members of the commission. 

History: L. 1987, ch. 417, sec. 5; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 8; L. 2007, ch.   , sec. 2; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3301, 74-4504, 75-3905. 
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32-806.  Organization of department; policies governing administration; accounting for 
compensation from leases of real property.  The secretary of wildlife and parks may organize 
the Kansas department of wildlife and parks in the manner the secretary deems most efficient, so 
long as the same is not in conflict with the provisions of this order or with the provisions of law, 
and the secretary may establish policies governing the transaction of business of the department 
and the administration of the department. The secretary shall cause any compensation received 
by the department of wildlife and parks, whether monetary, in-kind or otherwise, from leases of 
real property under the control and jurisdiction of the secretary to be accounted for and reflected 
in the budget of the department of wildlife and parks. 

History:  L. 1987, ch. 417, sec. 6; L. 1998, ch. 40, sec. 1; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  75-3906. 

 
32-807.  Powers of secretary. The secretary shall have the power to: 
(a) Adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto, such rules 

and regulations as necessary to implement, administer and enforce the provisions of the wildlife 
and parks laws of this state; 

(b)  enter into such contracts and agreements as necessary or incidental to the performance of 
the powers and duties of the secretary. 

(c)  employ or contract for, and fix the compensation of, consulting engineers, attorneys, 
accountants and construction and financial experts, all of whom shall be in the unclassified 
service under the Kansas civil service act; 

(d)  designate an official seal and alter it at the secretary's pleasure; 
(e)  sue, be sued, plead and be impleaded in the name of the department; 
(f)  purchase, lease, accept gifts or grants of or  otherwise acquire in the name of the state 

such water, water rights, easements, facilities, equipment, moneys and other real and personal 
property, and interests therein, including any property abandoned on department lands and 
waters, and maintain, improve, extend, consolidate, exchange and dispose of such property, as 
the secretary deems appropriate to carry out the intent and purposes of the wildlife and parks 
laws of this state; 

(g)  acquire, establish, develop, construct, maintain and improve state parks, state lakes, 
recreational grounds, wildlife areas and sanctuaries, fish hatcheries, natural areas, physical 
structures, dams, lakes, reservoirs, embankments for impounding water, roads, landscaping, 
habitats, vegetation and other property, improvements and facilities for the purposes of wildlife 
management, preservation of natural areas and historic sites and providing recreational or 
cultural opportunities and facilities to the public and for such other purposes as suitable to carry 
out the intent and purposes of wildlife and parks laws of this state; 

(h)  operate and regulate the use of state parks, state lakes, recreational grounds, wildlife areas 
and sanctuaries, fish hatcheries, natural areas, historic sites and other lands, waters and facilities 
under the jurisdiction and control of the secretary, so as to promote the public health, safety and 
decency and the purposes for which such lands, waters and facilities are maintained and operated 
and to protect and safeguard such lands, waters and facilities, including but not limited to: 

(l)  Regulating the demeanor, actions and activities of persons using or within such lands, 
waters and facilities; 

(2)  providing for the inspection of boats, the issuance of permits for operation of watercraft 
of all kinds and the charging and collection of fees for the inspection and operation of such craft; 

(3)  prescribing the type, style, location and equipment of all wharves, docks, anchorages, 
pavilions, restaurants and other structures or buildings which may be constructed along the 
shores or upon the water of any body of water or land controlled by the department, and 
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providing for the licensing, inspection and supervision of such structures or buildings; 
(4)  granting and imposing charges for permits and for all commercial uses or purposes for 

which any of the properties of the department may be used; 
(5)  charging fees to use special facilities provided for the public or giving written 

authorization to lessees of the department to charge such fees; and  
(6)  operating renting or leasing any such lands, waters and facilities which in the judgment of 

the secretary are necessary or desirable for the use and pleasure of visitors or for management of 
such lands, waters and facilities and fixing and collecting reasonable fees, tolls, rentals and 
charges for the use or operation thereof.  All contracts or leases for the exercise of any 
concession shall be entered into only upon the basis of sealed proposals which shall be made and 
let by the secretary except that:  (A) Where a concessionaire has an existing lease with the 
secretary or any agency of the federal government which the secretary desires to renew, 
renegotiate or acquire and sublease, such lease or sublease may be negotiated directly in 
accordance with rules and regulations of the secretary and without compliance with the 
requirements hereinbefore specified; (B) any such contract or lease for a term of 30 days or less 
may be made by the secretary directly in accordance with rules and regulations of the secretary; 
and (C) the secretary shall have authority to reject any or all proposals; 

(i)  have exclusive administrative control over state parks, state lakes, recreational areas, 
wildlife areas and sanctuaries, fish hatcheries, natural areas and other lands, waters and facilities 
under the jurisdiction of the secretary; 

(j)  provide for protection against fire and storm damage to the lands, waters and facilities 
under the jurisdiction of the secretary; 

(k)  contract with the federal government pursuant to public law 89-72 in order to acquire 
land by purchase, lease, agreement or otherwise on El Dorado and Hillsdale reservoir project 
lands; 

(l)  apply for, receive and accept from any federal agency any federal grants available for the 
purposes of the wildlife and parks laws of this state; 

(m)  have authority, control and jurisdiction over all matters relating to the development and 
conservation of wildlife and recreation resources of the state insofar as it pertains to forests, 
woodlands, public lands, submarginal lands, prevention of soil erosion, habitats and the control 
and utilization of waters, including all lakes, streams, reservoirs and dams except that this 
subsection shall not prohibit any political subdivision of the state or private corporation from 
having full control of any lake now constructed and owned by it; 

(n)  conduct research in matters relating to the purposes of the wildlife and parks laws of this 
state and disseminate information relating thereto for the public use and benefit; 

(o)  publicize to the citizens of this and other states the natural resources and facilities existing 
in Kansas and encourage people to visit Kansas by disseminating available information as to the 
natural resources and recreational advantages of the state; 

(p)  develop public recreation as related to natural resources and implement a state 
recreational plan which may include, but shall not be limited to, the general location, character 
and extent of state lands, waters and facilities  for public recreational purposes and methods for 
better use of lands, waters and facilities which are within the scope of the plan or the purpose of 
the wildlife and parks laws of this state but, before implementation of such plan or any part 
thereof, the secretary shall submit it to any state agency affected thereby for such agency's advice 
and recommendations; 

(q)  provide for the preservation, protection, introduction, distribution, restocking and 
restoration of wildlife, and the public use thereof, in this state, including, but not limited to: 

(l)  Establishing, by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-
805 and amendments thereto, open seasons when wildlife may be taken or transported in the 
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state of Kansas, or in any part or area of the state designated by counties, major streams, federal 
impoundments or federal, state or county highways, or by other recognizable boundaries, which 
open seasons may be established for a specified time in one year only or for a specified time in 
an indefinite number of years and which open seasons on migratory birds shall not extend 
beyond or exceed those in effect under federal laws and regulations; 

(2)  establishing, by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-
805 and amendments thereto, the number of wildlife which may be taken by a person, as the 
legal limit for any one calendar day and for the open season, which limit on migratory fowl shall 
not extend beyond or exceed those limits in effect under federal laws and regulations; 

(3)  establishing, by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-
805 and amendments thereto, the legal size limits of fish or frogs which may be taken; 

(4)  establishing, by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-
805 and amendments thereto, the conditions, procedure and rules under which any person may 
sell, purchase, buy, deal or trade in wildlife in the state of Kansas; and  

(5)  capturing, propagating, transporting, selling, exchanging, giving or distributing any 
species of wildlife, by any means or manner, needed for stocking or restocking any lands or 
waters in this state, except that the power to capture any species of wildlife for any purpose shall 
not apply to private property except by permission of the owners of the property or in the case of 
an emergency threatening the public health or welfare; 

(r)  establish, by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-805 
and amendments thereto, the period of time that a license, permit, stamp or other issue of the 
department shall be effect, unless such period is otherwise established by law, and provisions for 
acceptance of any issue of the department before its effective date as a valid issue if the secretary 
determines such acceptance best serves the public good; 
and 

(s)  do such other acts and things as necessary and proper to carry out the intent and purpose 
of the wildlife and park laws of this state and to better protect, conserve, control, use, increase, 
develop and provide for the enjoyment of the natural resources of this state. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 9; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 2; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  

32-101, 32-152, 32-160, 32-164, 32-178, 32-189, 32-214, 32-215, 32-216, 32-221, 32-222, 
32-224, 74-3302, 74-3302c, 74-3308, 74-4507, 74-4509, 74-4510, 74-4543. 
 

32-808.  Provides for conservation officers and employees; training requirements; 
powers and authority.  (a) The secretary shall employ conservation officers and other 
employees, regardless of title, to exercise law enforcement authority as provided in subsection 
(b), if such officers and other employees successfully complete the required course of instruction 
for law enforcement officers approved by the Kansas law enforcement training center pursuant to 
K.S.A. 74-5607a and amendments thereto, and employees appointed on a provisional or 
probationary basis for a period of not more than one year, except that such provisional or 
probationary employee shall meet at least the criteria on appointment specified in K.S.A. 74-
5605 and amendments thereto, and shall not be issued a firearm until such employee has been 
instructed and trained in the use thereof by the department.  An employee appointed on a 
provisional or probationary basis, who does not receive the certificate required under subsection 
(a) of K.S.A. 74-5607a and amendments thereto, within one year following the date of the 
person's original appointment shall not have authority to enforce the laws of the state as provided 
in subsection (b).  The secretary may appoint conservation officers and employees of the 
department, including appointment in the capacity as deputy conservation officers, and may 
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appoint Kansas law enforcement officers temporarily assigned by their employer to the 
department.  All deputy conservation officer appointments shall be on a voluntary basis and shall 
expire on December 3l following the date of any such appointment. 

(b)  Conservation officers, deputy conservation officers and other employees who have 
completed the course of instruction as provided in subsection (a), provisional or probationary 
employees who have met the requirements of subsection (a) and any other Kansas law 
enforcement officers authorized to enforce the laws of the state of Kansas shall have the power 
and authority to: 

(l)  Enforce all statutory provisions of chapter 32 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated or any 
rules and regulations promulgated thereunder, or any other laws of the state anywhere within the 
state, including but not limited to chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments 
thereto, except that nothing in this act shall grant conservation officers, deputy conservation 
officers and other employees authority that supersedes that of the local law enforcement 
authority having jurisdiction over the matter.  The secretary shall establish a policy under which 
the department's officers and other employees primarily direct such officers' and employees' 
efforts toward the protection, conservation and management of natural resources of this state and 
the provision of safe and orderly lands controlled by the department.  Such officers shall also 
have the powers of arrest set forth in K.S.A. 22-2401, and amendments thereto, and are 
empowered to make arrests, pursuant to K.S.A. 22-2307, and amendments thereto, as required by 
any policy adopted by the secretary. A conservation officer acting under authority of this 
subsection shall be considered an employee of the department and shall be subject to its 
direction, benefits and legal protection. 

(2)  Serve anywhere within the state warrants issued for the examination, investigation or trial 
of all violations of all laws of the state as provided in subsection (b). 

(3)  Carry firearms or weapons, concealed or otherwise, in the performance of their duties but 
only if the officer or employee has completed the required course of instruction for law 
enforcement officers at the Kansas law enforcement training center, unless otherwise qualified 
pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5608a and amendments thereto or as to a provisional or probationary 
employee who has met the requirements of subsection (a). 

History:  L. 1927, ch. 221, sec. 5; L. 1939, ch. 290, sec. 2; L. 1943, ch. 173, sec. 1; L. 1945, 
ch. 307, sec. 1; L. 1947, ch. 400, sec. 1; L. 1949, ch. 414, sec. 1; L. 1953, ch. 369, sec. 1; L. 
1959, ch. 320, sec. 1; L. 1961, ch. 389, sec. 2; L. 1967, ch. 443, sec. 13; L. 1969, ch. 211, sec. 1; 
L. 1974, ch. 361, sec. 67; L. 1978, ch. 332, sec. 30; L. 1982, ch. 315, sec. 1; L. 1985, ch. 250, 
sec. 1; L. 1985, ch. 251, sec. 1; L. 1985, ch. 252, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 10; L. 1993, ch. 
150, sec. 1; L. 1997, ch. 168, sec. 8; May 22. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3302. 
 CASE ANNOTATIONS 

l. Right to condemn property on which duck hunting to be permitted determined.  Ottawa 
Hunting Ass'n v. State, 178 K. 460, 463, 389 P. 2d 754. 
 

32-809.  State agricultural production fund.  (a) Unless otherwise provided by law, all 
moneys received from agricultural production on state-owned property under the control and 
jurisdiction of the secretary of wildlife and parks shall be remitted in accordance with the 
provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto, to the state treasurer.  The state treasurer 
shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury and credit it to the state agricultural 
production fund, which is hereby created in the state treasury. 

(b) The department of wildlife and parks shall establish separate accounts of the state 
agricultural production fund for each state-owned property under the control and jurisdiction of 
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the secretary of wildlife and parks.  Such accounts shall be used for costs and expenses 
associated with management practices as determined for each property. 

(c) All expenditures from the state agricultural production fund shall be made in accordance 
with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to 
vouchers approved by the secretary of wildlife and parks.      

History:  L. 1998, ch. 40, sec. 2; July 1. 
 

32-810 to 32-823.  Reserved. 
 
 INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS 
 

32-824.  Federal assistance for land and water conservation; department official agency. 
 The state of Kansas hereby designates the department as the official state agency to apply for, 
accept, administer and disburse federal assistance and benefits under the provisions of the -land 
and water conservation fund act of l965 (78 Stat. 897, P.L. 88-578), as amended. 

History: L. 1965, ch. 453, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 11; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4532, 74-4533. 
 

32-825.  Same; powers of department. The department, as the administrative agency of the 
state for such federal assistance and benefits as may be available under the land and water 
conservation fund act of l965, shall have the right and is authorized and empowered to: 

(a)  Apply for such assistance and benefits as may be available to the state under such act, and 
the state treasurer is hereby authorized and empowered to receive and disburse such moneys 
upon proper voucher by the department. 

(b)  develop, operate, and maintain outdoor recreation areas and facilities of the state and 
acquire land, water and interest in land and water for such areas and facilities, the title of such 
land, water or interest to be in the state of Kansas; 

(c)  enter into contracts and agreements with individuals, political subdivisions, governmental 
agencies and the United States or any appropriate agency thereof; 

(d)  keep financial and other records relating thereto and furnish appropriate officials and 
agencies of the state and of the United States such reports and information as may be reasonably 
necessary to enable such officials and agencies to perform their duties under such act; 

(e)  coordinate its activities with and represent the interests of all individuals, agencies and 
political subdivisions of the state, subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-824, 32-825 
and 32-826, in the planning, development, and maintenance of outdoor recreation resources and 
facilities within the state; and  (f)  do and perform such other acts as may be necessary to 
comply with federal requirements in securing for the state the assistance and benefits provided 
by the land and water conservation fund act of l965. 

History: L. 1965, ch. 453, sec. 3; L. 1988, ch. 301, sec. 17; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 12; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4534. 
 

32-826.  Same; restrictions.  The department shall make no commitment nor enter into any 
agreement pursuant to the exercise of authority under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-824 and 32-825 
until it has determined that sufficient funds are available to it for meeting the state's share, if any, 
of project costs.  The department may enter into and administer agreements with the United 
States or any appropriate agency thereof, for planning, acquisition, and development projects 
involving participating federal-aid funds on behalf of any subdivision or subdivisions of this 
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state, except that such subdivision or subdivisions shall be required to give necessary assurance 
to the department that they have available sufficient funds to meet their share, if any, of the cost 
of the project and that the acquired or developed areas will be operated and maintained at the 
expense of such subdivision or subdivisions for public outdoor recreation use. 

History: L. 1965, ch. 451, sec. 4; L. 1988, ch. 301, sec. 18; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 13; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4535. 
 

32-827.  Federal assistance for development of natural resources; department official 
agency. 

The department is hereby designated as the agency of the state of Kansas for the purpose of 
making application for and procuring aid from the federal government in all matters pertaining to 
the development of natural resources insofar as it pertains to the control and utilization of waters, 
prevention of soil erosion and flood control and is authorized and empowered to act for and 
represent the state of Kansas in making application for and securing such labor, aid and projects 
as may be offered, designated, required or made available by the federal government. 

The department shall have charge of all funds which may be procured for the purposes 
specified by this section and shall have charge of all projects constructed with such funds, except 
that this section shall not prohibit any political subdivision of the state now qualified to obtain 
loans or grants from the federal government from making applications for and receiving such 
loans or grants. 

History: L. 1933, ch. 108, sec. 1 (Special Session); L. 1935, ch. 268, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, 
sec. 14; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3308. 
 

32-828.  Assent to wildlife restoration act; use of fees. (a) The state of Kansas hereby 
assents to the provisions of the wildlife restoration act (l6 U.S.C. 669 et seq.), as amended.  The 
secretary is hereby authorized and directed to perform such acts as necessary to the conduct and 
establishment of cooperative wildlife restoration projects, as defined in such act, in compliance 
with such act and with rules and regulations promulgated by the secretary of the interior 
thereunder.  The state treasurer is hereby authorized to receive and disburse all money 
apportioned to the state in accordance with the provisions of such act. 

(b) No moneys accruing to the state of Kansas from fees paid for hunting or furharvester 
licenses, permits or stamps shall be used for any purpose other than the administration of the 
department and the protection, propagation, preservation, management and investigation of 
wildlife. 

History: L. 1938, ch. 67, sec. l; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 15; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3314, 74-3320. 
 

32-829.  Assent to fish restoration and management projects act; use of fees.  (a) The 
state of Kansas hereby assents to the provisions of the fish restoration and management projects 
act (l6 U.S.C. 777 et seq.), as amended.  The secretary is hereby authorized and directed to 
perform such acts as necessary to the conduct and establishment of cooperative fish restoration 
projects, as defined in such act, in compliance with such act and rules and regulations 
promulgated by the secretary of the interior thereunder.  The state treasurer is hereby authorized 
to receive and disburse all moneys apportioned to the state in accordance with the provisions of 
such act. 
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(b) No moneys accruing to the state of Kansas from fees paid for fishing licenses, permits or 
stamps shall be used for any purpose other than the administration of the department and the 
protection, propagation, preservation, management and investigation of wildlife. 

History: L. 1951, ch. 284, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 16; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3320. 
 

32-830.  Local governments; conveyances to department.    Notwithstanding any contrary 
provision of law, all state agencies and all counties, cities, townships and other political 
subdivisions are hereby authorized to lease, lend, grant or convey to the department at the 
request of the secretary any lands or facilities which may be necessary or convenient to the 
effectuation of the purposes of the department.  Such lease, loan, grant or conveyance shall be 
upon such terms and conditions as the proper authorities of such agencies, counties, cities, 
townships and political subdivisions deem reasonable and fair and no advertisement, order of 
court or other action or formality shall be necessary, other than the regular and formal action of 
the authorities concerned. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 12; L. 1969, ch. 374, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 17; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4512. 
 

32-831.  Cooperation with state and local agencies.  In carrying out its functions and duties, 
the department shall cooperate and coordinate its activities with the state department of 
economic development and with all other state agencies and such municipal, county and 
township planning boards and commissions as are concerned with matters under the supervision 
of the department.  The department may also cooperate and coordinate its activities with federal 
agencies and with other states.   

All state agencies shall, upon request, furnish to the department, within a reasonable time, 
such available information as it shall require in the performance of its duties and functions. 

The state department of transportation may construct, reconstruct, maintain and improve, in 
cooperation with and under the supervision of the department, access and service roads, trails 
and parking areas, including necessary bridges within and adjacent to lands and waters, under the 
supervision and control of the department.  The secretary is vested with and shall exercise 
jurisdiction over the use of all such roads, trails and parking areas and shall adopt and enforce 
reasonable rules and regulations regarding their use. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. ll; L. 1963, ch. 407, sec. 10; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 18; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4511. 
 

32-832.  Cooperation with citizen-support organizations.  (a) The Kansas department of 
wildlife and parks is authorized to cooperate with and assist citizen-support organizations.  For 
the purposes of this act, the term "citizen-support organization" means an organization which: 

(1) Is a bona fide not for profit organization exempt from the payment of federal income 
internal revenue code of 1986, as in effect on January 1, 1990; 

(2) does not engage in, and has no officer, director or member who engages in, any prohibited 
transaction, as defined by section 503(b) of the internal revenue code of 1986, as in effect on 
January 1, 1990; 

(3) is domiciled in this state; 
(4) the secretary determines its activities are conducted in a manner consistent with the goals, 

objectives and programs of the department and state policies as established by K.S.A. 32-702 
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and amendments thereto; and  
(5) provide equal employment and membership opportunities to all persons regardless of race, 

color, national origin, religion, sex or age. 
(b) The secretary may assist organizers of a citizen-support organization with its creation.  

The secretary may authorize any citizen-support organization to use under such conditions as the 
secretary may prescribe, department property, facilities or personnel to pursue the goals, 
objectives and purposes of the department. 

(c) A citizen-support organization which uses department property, facilities or personnel 
shall provide for an disclose to the secretary an annual audit of its financial records and accounts 
in such manner and at such times  as may be required by the secretary. 

(d) A citizen-support organization which receives funding from the department shall not use 
such funding for purposes of lobbying as defined by K.S.A. 46-225 and amendments thereto. 

History:  L. 1990, ch. 137, sec. 1; May 17. 
 
  32-833.  Authority to purchase land; conditions and limitations.  (a) (1) Notwithstanding 
the provisions of subsection (f) of K.S.A. 32-807, and amendments thereto, or any other 
provisions of law to the contrary, the secretary of wildlife and parks shall not purchase any land 
unless: 
  (A) The secretary of wildlife and parks has certified that the land proposed to be purchased is in 
compliance with the provisions of article 13 of chapter 2 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and 
amendments thereto, concerning control and management of noxious weeds after consultation 
with the county weed supervisor and has developed a written plan for controlling and managing 
noxious weeds on the land to be purchased; 
  (B) the secretary of wildlife and parks shall agree to make payment of moneys in lieu of taxes 
comparable to the ad valorem tax payments of surrounding lands for any land purchased which is 
exempt from the payment of ad valorem taxes under the laws of the state of Kansas; and  
  (C) the secretary of wildlife and parks has developed a management plan for the property 
proposed to be purchased. 
  (2) In addition to the requirements prescribed by this section and otherwise by law, any 
proposed purchase of a tract or tracts of land which are greater than 640 acres in the aggregate 
shall be subject to approval by act of the legislature, either as a provision in an appropriation act 
pertaining to the specific property to be purchased or by any other act of the legislature that 
approves the acquisition of the specific property pro- 
posed to be purchased. 
  (3) The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to any purchase of land owned by a private 
individual by the secretary if such purchase price is an amount which is less than such land’s 
appraised valuation. 
  (b) (1) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (f) of K.S.A. 32-807, and amendments 
thereto, or any other provisions of law to the contrary, the secretary of wildlife and parks shall 
adopt guidelines and procedures prescribing public notice requirements that the secretary shall 
comply with before the selling of any land which shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following: 
  (A) A written notice shall be posted in a conspicuous location on such land stating the time and 
date of the sale, or the date after which the land will be offered for sale, and a name and 
telephone number of a person who may be contacted concerning the sale of such land; 
  (B) the secretary shall cause to be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the county 
the land is located once a week for three consecutive weeks, the secretary’s intent to sell the land 
which shall include a legal description of the land to be sold, the time and date of the sale or the 
date after which the land will be offered for sale, the general terms and conditions of such sale, 
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and a name and telephone number of a person who may be contacted concerning the sale of such 
land; and 
  (C) the secretary shall publish in the Kansas register public notice of the secretary’s intent to 
sell the land which shall include a legal description of the land to be sold, the time and date of 
the sale or the date after which the land will be offered for sale, the place of the sale, the general 
terms and conditions of such sale, and a name and telephone number of a person who may be 
contacted concerning the sale of such land. 
  (2) The secretary shall have the land appraised by three disinterested 
persons. In no case shall such land be sold for less than the average of its appraised value as 
determined by such disinterested persons. 
  (3) The secretary shall list such land with a real estate agent who is licensed by the Kansas real 
estate commission as a salesperson under the real estate brokers’ and salespersons’ license act, 
and who shall publicly advertise that such land is for sale. 
  (4) Prior to closing the transaction on a contract for the sale of such land, the secretary shall 
cause a survey to be conducted by a licensed land surveyor. Such survey shall establish the 
precise legal description of such land and shall be a condition precedent to the final closing on 
such sale. 
  (c) Any disposition of land by the secretary shall be in the best interest of the state. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 150, sec. 5; July 1. 
 

32-834 to 32-836.  Reserved. 
 
 LANDS 
 

32-837.  State Parks. (a) The following parks have been designated as a part of the state park 
system:  (1) Kanopolis-Mushroom Rock state park in Ellsworth county; (2) Cross Timbers state 
park at Toronto Lake in Woodson county; (3) Fall River state park in Greenwood county; (4) 
Cedar Bluff state park in Trego county; (5) Tuttle Creek state park in Pottawatomie and Riley 
counties; (6) Pomona state park in Osage county; (7) Cheney state park in Kingman and Reno 
counties; (8) Lake Crawford state park in Crawford county; (9) Lovewell state park in Jewell 
county; (10) Lake Meade state park in Meade county; (11) Prairie Dog state park in Norton 
county; (12) Webster state park in Rooks county; (13) Wilson state park in Russell county; (14) 
Milford state park in Geary county; (15) Lake Scott state park in Scott county; (16) Elk City 
state park in Montgomery county; (17) Perry state park in Jefferson county; (18) Glen Elder state 
park in Mitchell county; (19) El Dorado state park in Butler county; (20) Eisenhower state park 
in Osage county; (21) Clinton state park in Douglas and Shawnee counties; (22) Sand Hills state 
park in Reno county; (23) Hillsdale state park in Miami county; and (24) Kaw River state park in 
Shawnee county.  

(b) No state park named in subsection (a) shall be removed from the state park system without 
legislative approval. 

(c) The hours that Kaw River state park in Shawnee county is open to the public may be 
limited to those hours that parks of the city of Topeka are open, except that such state park shall 
be open at all hours for prescheduled events. 

History: L. 1969, ch. 374, sec. 1; L. 1971, ch. 252, sec. 1; L. 1973, ch. 317, sec. 1; L. 1974, 
ch. 330, sec. 1; L. 1981, ch. 305, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 23; L. 1990, ch. 138, sec. 2; L. 
2002, ch. 64, sec. 3; L. 2004, ch. 130, sec. 1; L. 2007, ch.     , sec. 1; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4501a. 
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32-838. Reserved. 
 

32-838a.  Cross Timbers state park; name.  The name of Toronto state park in Woodson 
county is hereby changed to Cross Timbers state park at Toronto Lake. 

History: L. 2002; ch. 64, sec. 2, April 25. 
 

32-839.  Steve Lloyd Wetlands designated.  The Cane Creek area within stage 1 of the 
Milford Lake wetlands wildlife habitat restoration project, in Clay county, near the city of 
Wakefield, is hereby designated as the Steve Lloyd Wetlands.  The secretary of wildlife and 
parks shall cause placement of suitable signs and an observation deck to indicate the area is the 
Steve Lloyd Wetlands.  The secretary may accept and administer gifts and donations for the 
purpose of obtaining and installing such signs and observation deck. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 49, sec. 2; April 9. 
 

32-840.  Eminent domain. (a) The secretary, in the name of the state of Kansas, may exercise 
the right of eminent domain in accordance with the eminent domain procedure act (K.S.A. 26-
50l et seq. and amendments thereto) for the purpose of acquiring lands, water and water rights 
necessary to: 

(l) Carry out the provisions of the wildlife and parks laws of this state and the purposes for 
which the department is created; or 

(2) protect, add to and improve state parks, state lakes, recreational areas, wildlife areas and 
sanctuaries, natural area, fish hatcheries and other lands, waters and facilities provided for by 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-807. 

(b) The taking, using and appropriating of property as authorized by subsection (a)(2) for the 
purposes of protecting lands, waters and facilities and their environs and preserving the view, 
appearance, light, air, health and usefulness thereof by reselling such property  with such 
restrictions in the deeds of resale as will protect the property taken for such purposes is hereby 
declared to be taking, using and appropriating of such property for public use.  The proceeds 
arising from the resale of any property so taken shall be used by the secretary for the purpose of 
improving lands, waters and facilities under the jurisdiction and control of the secretary. 

(c) Upon request of the secretary, the attorney general shall proceed by proper action to 
acquire by condemnation all lands, or rights therein or thereon, and all water or water rights 
required by the department pursuant to this section. 

History: L. 1927, ch. 221, sec. 7; L. 1943, ch. 172, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 19; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  L. 1925, ch. 257, sec. 3; 32-213, 32-221, 32-222, 74-4510. 
 
 CASE ANNOTATIONS 

l. Section cited in determining condemnation of property for public use, and compensation 
therefor. State v. Nelson, 126 K. l, 266 P. 107. 

2. Cities in construing and applying 26-201, 26-202. State v. Boicourt Hunting Ass'n. 177 K. 
637, 638, 282 P.2d 395. 

3. Condemning property for preserve and duck hunting; public or private use.  Ottawa 
Hunting Ass'n. v. State, 178 K. 460, 461, 463, 289 P.2d 754. 

4. Condemnation procedure governed by 26-201 to 26-210. State v. Boicourt Hunting Ass'n. 
183 K. 187, 189, 326 P.2d. 277. 
 

32-841.  Donated lands; remission of taxes.  Whenever any person donates or has donated 
real estate to the state of Kansas for use as a state park upon which real estate taxes have been 
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levied and assessed and upon which penalties and charges have accrued, the board of county 
commissioners of the county in which such real estate is situated is hereby authorized and 
directed to remit and cancel all such taxes, penalties and charges. 

History: L. 1933, ch. 124, sec. 1; (Special Session); L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 20; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-223. 
 

32-842.  Acquisition of land under fish and wildlife coordination act; notice and hearing. 
(a) Prior to acquiring land under a license with the United States army corps of engineers 
pursuant to the fish and wildlife coordination act, the secretary shall give notice of the proposed 
acquisition to the board of commissioners of every county in which such land is located.  The 
board of county commissioners shall call and hold a public hearing on the proposed acquisition.  
If the land is located in two or more counties, a joint public hearing may be held if approved by a 
majority of the boards of county commissioners of such counties.  Notice of the time, date and 
location of the hearing shall be published once each week for two consecutive weeks in the 
official county newspaper.  The second publication shall be no sooner than l0 days prior to the 
public hearing.  At such hearing, the secretary or the secretary's designee shall give a description 
of the land proposed to be acquired and the reasons for the acquisition.  After the public hearing, 
the secretary may enter into the license to acquire the land. 

(b)  The provisions of this section shall not apply to land acquired pursuant to the wildtrust 
program nor to license entered into with respect to Hillsdale reservoir project lands. 

History: L. 1984, ch. 275, sec. 1; L. 1988, ch. 299, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 21; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3308a. 
 

32-843. Same; legislative approval.  (a) On or before the 30th calendar day of each regular 
legislative session, the secretary shall transmit to the state house of representatives, the state 
senate and the secretary of state copies of each license entered into with the United States army 
corps of engineers pursuant to the fish and wildlife coordination act since the 30th day of the 
immediately preceding regular legislative session.  The copies transmitted to the secretary of 
state shall be available for public inspection during regular business hours.  At any time after the 
30th calendar day of the regular legislative session when a license is transmitted as provided in 
this session, the legislature may disapprove and revoke such license by adoption of a concurrent 
resolution so providing.  No such license shall be subject to revocation by the legislature after 
the 90th calendar day of such regular legislative session.     
  (b)  The provisions of this section shall not apply to licenses entered into with respect to 
Hillsdale reservoir project lands. 

History: L. 1984, ch. 275, sec. 2; L. 1988, ch. 299, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 22; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3308b. 
 
   32-844. Real estate transactions proposed or entered into; report to legislature. (a) The secretary 
of wildlife and parks shall submit a report to the legislature at the beginning of each regular session 
detailing all real estate transactions which are proposed or agreements which have been entered into 
between the department of wildlife and parks and any other party, other than another state agency, which 
relate to any acquisition or disposition of any real estate, or interest in real estate, by the department of 
wildlife and parks or any such contracting party. 
   (b)(1)  With regard to executed agreements, the report required by this section shall include for each 
such acquisition to be reported: (A) The legal description of the real estate or interest acquired; (B) the 
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purchase price; (C) if appropriation of state moneys is required for the acquisition, the appraised value of 
the real estate or interest acquired; and (D) if the real estate or interest therein will remain subject to ad 
valorem property taxation. 
   (2)  With regard to proposed real estate transactions, the report required by this section shall include 
for each such proposed transaction to be reported: (A) The legal description of the real estate or interest 
acquired; (B) if appropriation of state moneys is required for the proposed transaction, the appraised 
value of the real estate or interest proposed to be acquired; and (C) if the real estate or interest therein 
will remain subject to ad valorem property taxation. 
   (c)  The reporting requirements of this section shall not apply to real estate or interest therein acquired 
under the wildtrust program until such time as the deeds are filed for record. 
   (d)  Agreements which have been entered into and are required to be reported pursuant to this section 
shall be published in the Kansas register within 30 days of the execution of any such agreement. 
   History: L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 18; L. 2006, ch. 150, sec. 6; July l. 
  
   32-845 to 32-849.  Reserved. 
 
   32-845.  Contracts with federal agencies; legislative approval, when.  (a)  Neither the 
department of wildlife and parks, nor any officer or employee of the state on behalf of the 
department, shall enter into any contract for the acquisition or lease of real estate with the corps 
of engineers or the bureau of reclamation which will require any future appropriation unless the 
contract is first approved by the legislature as provided by subsection (b). 

(b)  A contract subject to the provisions of subsection (a) shall be approved by the legislature 
by: 

(1)  Law or concurrent resolution; or 
(2)  approval of the contract by the legislative coordinating council. 
(c)  Any contract entered into without approval of the legislature when required by this 

section is null and void. 
(d)  The provisions of this section shall not apply to contracts requiring future appropriations 

of only: (1) Moneys that are received from the corps of engineers or the bureau of reclamation or 
from a private source; or (2) moneys to be expended in response to a major disaster declared by 
the president of the United States.  In addition, the provisions of this section shall not apply to 
lease renewals with the corps of engineers or bureau of reclamation, except the department shall 
notify the chairperson, vice-chairperson and ranking minority member of both the house and 
senate energy and natural resources committees on or before the first day of a legislative session 
of any such lease renewals pending for that calendar year. 

(e) As used in this section, "future appropriation" means an appropriation for a fiscal year 
commencing more than one year after the date the contract is entered. 

History:  L. 1996. ch. 107, sec. 1; July 1.  
 

32-846.  Approval of agreement and lease for Milford Lake wetlands.  (a) Pursuant to 
K.S.A. 32-845 and amendments thereto, the legislature hereby approves the department of 
wildlife and parks' entering into a project cooperative agreement and related lease with the U.S. 
department of the army to modify and restore approximately 2,550 acres of permanent and 
seasonal wetland habitat located on the Republican River floodplain within the flood control 
pool of Milford Lake subject to the following: 
The proposed project shall be developed in the following three stages and moneys to pay the 
nonfederal share of project costs for each stage shall be secured before commencement of such 
stage: (1) Stage 1, in the areas of Lower Refuge, Cane Creek, Mall Creek and Smith Bottoms, 
totaling approximately 1,030 acres; (2) stage 2, in the areas of Quimby Creek, Smith Bottoms 
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addition, Beichter Bottoms, East Broughton 1 and 3 and West Broughton 1 and 2, totaling 
approximately 895 acres; and (3) stage 3, in the areas of West Broughton 3 and 4, Martin, East 
Broughton 2 and 4 and Sugar Bowl, totaling approximately 415 acres. 

(b)  The department of wildlife and parks is hereby authorized to assume costs associated with 
the operation, maintenance, repair, replacement and rehabilitation of the area in each stage of the 
Milford Lake wetlands wildlife habitat restoration project after completion of such stage by the 
U.S. department of the army.  Such costs shall be paid from wildlife-related fee funds of the 
department and from any nonstate moneys available for that purpose. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 49, sec. 1; L. 1999, ch. 73, sec. 1; April 15. 
 

32-847 to 32-849.  Reserved. 
 

32-850.  Mineral leases; authorization. The secretary is hereby authorized to lease any of 
the lands under the secretary's control, the title of which is vested in the state of Kansas, for the 
production of oil, gas or other minerals, which the secretary deems valuable for that purpose.  
All such leases shall be on such terms and conditions as the secretary prescribes, except that such 
leases shall not be for a period of more than 10 years, and so long as oil, gas or other minerals 
are produced in paying quantities thereon. 

History: L. 1945, ch. 313, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 49; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3315. 
 

32-851.  Same; procedure.  Before entering into any such oil, gas or other mineral lease, the 
secretary shall give not less than 30 days' public notice in the Kansas register of the intention to 
enter the lease.  Leases shall be made only upon competitive bids and shall be awarded to the 
highest responsible bidder.  The right to reject any and all bids for leases shall be reserved by the 
secretary. 

History: L. 1945, ch. 313, sec. 2; L. 1981, ch. 324, sec. 23; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 50; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3316. 
 

32-852:  Same; liability for damages.  The lessee, under any oil, gas or other mineral lease 
executed by the secretary, shall be liable in damages to any surface lessee and to the state for any 
and all injury, damages or loss, caused by any negligent act or omission of the lessee, to any 
property of the surface lessee or to any property of the state located upon or used in connection 
with the lands subject to the mineral lease. 

History: L. 1945, ch. 313, sec. 3; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 51; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3317. 
 

32-853.  Same; restriction as to uses or occupancy.  All leases entered pursuant to K.S.A. 
1989 Supp. 32-850 through 32-852, and the uses or occupancy thereunder, shall not interfere 
materially with the purposes for which the lands subject to the mineral lease were granted to the 
state of Kansas. 

History: L. 1945, ch. 313, sec. 4; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 52; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3318. 
 

32-854.  Same; disposition of proceeds.  The rentals, delay rentals, bonuses, royalties and all 
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proceeds from mineral leases and production shall be remitted to the state treasurer in 
accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto.  Upon receipt of 
each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to 
the credit of the wildlife fee fund or the park fee fund, as directed by the secretary. 

History: L. 1945, ch. 313, sec. 5; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 53; L. 2001, ch. 5, sec. 98; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3319.  
 

32-855, 32-856.  Reserved. 
 

32-857.  Revenue bonds; authority to issue. (a) The secretary shall have power and is 
hereby authorized to issue negotiable bonds of the department, from time to time, in anticipation 
of the collection of revenues of a specific project or a dedicated revenue source, for the purpose 
of constructing, acquiring, reconstructing, improving, bettering or extending any properties 
which the secretary is authorized to acquire, maintain or operate hereunder and may pledge to 
the payment of the interest on and principal of such bonds all income received from operation of 
the specific project or from the dedicated revenue source.  There may be included, in the cost for 
which bonds are to be issued, reasonable allowances for legal, engineering and fiscal services, 
interest during construction and for six months after the estimated date of completion of 
construction and other incidental expenses.  Such bonds shall be authorized by resolution of the 
secretary and may be issued in one or more series, may bear such date or dates, may mature at 
such time or times not exceeding 40 years from their respective dates, may bear interest at such 
rate or rates not exceeding the maximum rate of interest prescribed by K.S.A. l0-l009 and 
amendments thereto, may be in such form either coupon or registered, may be executed in such 
manner, may be payable in such medium of payment, at such place or places, and be subject to 
such terms of redemption, with or without premium, and may contain such terms, covenants and 
conditions as such resolution or subsequent resolution may provide.  Such bonds may be issued 
for money or property and may be sold in such manner and upon such terms as the secretary 
determines, except that the interest cost to maturity of the bonds shall not exceed the maximum 
rate of interest prescribed by K.S.A. l0-l009 and amendments thereto, payable semiannually.  
Pending all preparations of the definitive bonds, interim receipts or certificates in such form and 
with such provisions as secretary determines may be issued to the purchaser or purchasers of 
bonds sold pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864.  Such bonds and interim 
receipts and certificates shall be fully negotiable within the meaning of and for all purposes of 
the uniform negotiable instruments law of this state. 

(b)  Any resolution authorizing the issuance of bonds under this section may contain 
covenants, including but not limited to:  (l) The purpose or purposes to which the proceeds of the 
sale of bonds may be applied, and the deposit, use and disposition thereof; (2) the use, deposit, 
securing of deposits and disposition of the   revenues of the department in connection with a 
project, including the creation and maintenance of reserves; (3) the issuance of additional bonds 
payable from the revenues of the same project of the department or specified revenue source 
dedicated by the secretary; (4) the operation and maintenance of the project under the 
jurisdiction and control of the secretary; (5) the insurance to be carried thereon, and the use, 
deposit and disposition of insurance moneys; (6) books of account and the inspection and audit 
thereof and the accounting methods of the department; (7) the nonrendering of any free service 
by the department; and (8) the preservation of the properties of the department, so long as any of 
the bonds remain outstanding, from any mortgage, sale, lease or other encumbrance not 
specifically permitted by the terms of the resolution. 

(c) In the discretion of the secretary, any bonds issued under the provisions of this section 
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may be secured by a trust indenture by and between the secretary and a corporate trustee, which 
may be any trust company or bank having the powers of a trust company within the state.  Any 
such trust indenture may pledge or assign the revenues from the operation of a specific project of 
the department or specified revenue source dedicated by the secretary for which bonds are 
issued, but shall not convey or mortgage any properties except such revenues.  Any such trust 
indenture or any resolution providing for the issuance of such bonds  may contain such 
provisions for protecting and enforcing the rights and remedies of the bondholders as may be 
reasonable and proper and not in violation of law, including covenants setting forth the duties of 
the department in relation to the acquisition of property; the construction, improvement, 
maintenance, repair, operation and insurance of the improvements in connection with which such 
bonds have been authorized; the custody, safeguarding and application of all moneys; and 
provisions for the employment of consulting engineers in connection with the construction or 
operation of such improvements.  It shall be lawful for any bank or trust company incorporated 
under the laws of the state, which may act as depository of the proceeds of bonds or of revenues, 
to furnish such indemnifying bonds or to pledge such securities as may be required by the 
secretary.  Any such trust indenture may set forth the rights and remedies of the bondholders and 
of the trustee and may restrict the individual right of action by bondholders as is customary in 
trust agreement or trust indentures securing bonds and debentures of corporations.  In addition to 
the foregoing, any such trust indenture may contain such other provisions as the secretary may 
deem reasonable and proper for the security of the bondholders.  All expenses incurred in 
carrying out the provisions of any such trust indenture may be treated as a part of the cost of 
operation of the improvements for which the bonds are authorized. 

(d)  Moneys received pursuant to the authority of this section, whether as proceeds from the 
sale of bonds, as revenues from the operations of the properties or as specified revenue sources 
dedicated by the secretary, shall be deemed to be trust funds, to be held and applied solely as 
provided in K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864.  The resolution authorizing the issuance 
of bonds of any issue, or the trust indenture securing such bonds, shall provide that any officer to 
whom, or any bank or trust company to which, such money shall be paid shall act as trustee of 
such moneys and shall hold and apply the same for the purpose hereof, subject to such 
regulations as K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864 and such resolution or trust indenture 
may provide.  The secretary is authorized to issue bonds only in connection with a specific 
project and, unless otherwise provided by law, authorized to pledge for the payment of such 
bonds and interest thereon only the revenues derived from the operation of the specific project 
for which the bonds are issued or specific revenues pledged in the resolution issued by the 
secretary for the payment of such bonds and interest thereon for the specific project for which 
the bonds were issued. 

(e)  Bonds may be issued under the provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864 
without obtaining the consent of any department, division, commission, board, bureau or agency 
of the state and without any other proceedings or the happening of any other conditions or things 
than those proceedings, conditions or things which are specifically required by K.S.A. 1989 
Supp. 32-857 through 32-864. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 18; L. 1963, ch. 409, sec. 8; L. 1970, ch. 64, sec. 87; L. 1989, 
ch. 118, sec. 24; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4518. 
 

32-858:  Same; disposition of proceeds. (a) All moneys derived from the sale of bonds as 
provided in K.S.A. 32-857 through 32-864, and amendments thereto, shall be paid into the state 
treasury and the state treasurer shall credit the same to a special account for the use of the 
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department to pay the cost of the specific public improvement or project for which the bonds 
were issued as shown by the bond indenture executed in connection with the issuance of the 
bonds.  If moneys derived from the sale of bonds exceed the amount necessary to complete the 
specific public improvement or project for which the bonds were issued, the secretary shall have 
power by resolution to direct the state treasurer to transfer any surplus from the special account 
to another account in the department's fee funds for the purpose of retiring the bonds.  Upon 
making any such transfer the state treasurer shall notify the director of accounts and reports and 
the secretary thereof, who shall make the proper entries in the records of their respective offices 
to show such transfer. 

(b)  On or before the 10th of each month, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer 
from the state general fund to the special account established in subsection (a), interest earnings 
based on: 

(1)  The average daily balance of moneys in the special account established in subsection (a) 
for the preceding month; and  

(2)  the net earnings rate of the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding month. 
(c)  The director of accounts and reports, upon the presentation of properly itemized and 

executed vouchers, approved by the secretary, is hereby authorized to draw warrants on the state 
treasurer against the special account created under this section. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 15; L. 1963, ch. 409, sec. 7; L. 1975, ch. 404, sec. 6; L. 1987, 
ch. 295, sec. 9; L. 1989, ch. 48, sec. 93; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 25; L. 1989, ch. 274, sec. 4; L. 
1992, ch. 272, sec. 2; L. 1996, ch. 253, sec. 1; May 23. 
 
Source or prior law: 74-4515. 
 

32-859.  Same; form; validity; negotiability; replacement. (a) The bonds shall be signed by 
the secretary or shall bear the secretary's facsimile signature, and any coupons attached thereto 
shall bear the facsimile signature of the secretary.  Bonds bearing the signatures of officers in 
office on the date of the signing thereof shall be valid and binding obligations, notwithstanding 
that before the delivery thereof any or all the persons whose signatures appear thereon shall have 
ceased to hold such office.  The validity of such bonds shall not be dependent on nor affected by 
the validity or regularity of any proceedings relating to the acquisition, purchase, construction, 
reconstruction, improvement, betterment, or extension of the properties for which the bonds are 
issued.  The resolution authorizing the bonds may provide that the bonds shall contain a recital 
that they are issued pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864, which recital shall be 
conclusive evidence of their validity and of the regularity of their issuance. 

(b) All bonds issued under the provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864 shall 
have and are hereby declared to have all the qualities and incidents of negotiable instruments 
under the uniform negotiable instruments law of this state. 

(c) The secretary may provide for the replacement of any bonds which are mutilated, 
destroyed or lost. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 19; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 26; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-44519, 74-4521. 

 
32-860.  Same; pledge of revenues. (a) The secretary shall, by rules and regulations adopted 

in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp.32-805 and amendments thereto, prescribe and collect 
reasonable rates, fees, tolls or charges for the services, facilities and commodities rendered and 
provided at each specific project of the department, the revenues of which have been pledged to 
the payment of bonds issued under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864 and shall revise 
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such rates, fees, tolls or charges from time to time whenever necessary to insure that the 
revenues to be derived therefrom shall be fully sufficient to pay principal of and interest on such 
bonds.  The gross revenues derived by the department from the operation of any part of parts of a 
specific project of the department may be pledged to the payment of such principal and interest.  
It is specifically provided that the department may, on any land under its control, erect and 
operate or lease cabins, hotels, lodges, restaurants and other facilities for the public and make use 
of the recreational  facilities surrounding such improvements. 

(b) The secretary may, in conjunction with any bonds issued for the erection, extension or 
improvement of any lodges, hotels, cabins, restaurants or other facilities in connection with a 
specific project, secure leases from competent and reliable individuals or corporations, which 
leases will provide for rental incomes sufficient to meet the requirements of principal, interest, 
insurance and maintenance of the property to be constructed.  The determination of the secretary 
that the rental rates from any such lease are sufficient to meet the requirements of principal, 
interest, insurance and maintenance shall be final and conclusive.  All personal property deemed 
necessary by the secretary to equip such cabins, hotels, lodges and restaurants may be purchased 
by the department through the purchasing division of the state department of administration.  
The secretary shall have the power to reject any and all bids.  All revenues which may be 
received by the secretary for the use of such buildings, in whole or in part, shall be regarded as 
are other revenues of the project and shall be subject to pledge to the payment of any bonds 
issued in connection therewith.  Each bond shall recite in substance that such bond and the 
interest thereon is payable from the revenues pledged to the payment thereof and that such bond 
does not constitute a debt of the state of Kansas or of the secretary of department within the 
meaning of any constitutional or statutory limitation.         

(c)  The department may collect rates, fees, tolls or charges for the use of specific projects 
which shall have been improved by funds acquired through bond issuance and such rates, fees, 
tolls or charges may be pledged for the payment of bonds and interest, except that no tolls or 
charges shall be imposed by the secretary for the use of highways or bridges unless constructed 
as a part of the bond project. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 20; L. 1963, ch. 409, sec. 9; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 27; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4520. 
 

32-861.  Same; default on payment; remedies.  It may be provided in any resolution 
authorizing bonds under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864 that, in the event of a default 
in the payment of principal of or interest on the bonds or in the performance of any agreement or 
covenant contained in the resolution, and if such default continues for a prescribed period, the 
holders of a specified percentage of the outstanding bonds, or a trustee acting in their behalf, for 
the equal and proportionate benefit of the holders of all the bonds and with or without possession 
thereof may: 

(a)  By mandamus or other suit, action or proceeding at law or in equity, enforce all rights of 
the holders of such bonds.; 

(b)  bring suit upon the defaulted bonds and interest thereon.; 
(c)  by action or suit in equity require the secretary to act as if the secretary were the trustee or 

any express trust for the bondholders; 
(d)  by action or suit in equity enjoin any acts which may be unlawful or in violation of the 

rights of the holders of the bonds; 
(e)  after such notice to the secretary as the resolution may provide, declare the principal of all 

of the bonds due and payable; and 
(f)  apply as a matter of right for the appointment of a receiver who may enter and take 
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possession of the specific project of the department and operate and maintain the same and fix, 
collect and receive fees and charges for the use thereof and services rendered thereby, sufficient 
to provide revenue adequate to carry out all of the provisions of the bond resolution and the costs 
and disbursement of the proceeding and of the receiver. 

Subject to the provision of the constitution of the state of Kansas, the district court of the 
county in which any of the real estate controlled and operated by the department is located shall 
have jurisdiction of any suit, action or proceeding provided for by this section and of all property 
involved therein. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 21; L. 1963, ch. 409, sec. 10; L. 1983, ch. 49, sec. 95; L. 1989, 
ch. 118, sec. 28; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4521. 
 

32-862.  Same; tax exemptions.  The exercise of the powers granted by K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 
32-857 through 32-864 will be in all respects for the benefit of the people of the state, for the 
increase of their prosperity and for the improvement of their health and living conditions, and as 
the operation and maintenance of projects by the department will constitute the performance of 
essential governmental functions, the department shall not be required to pay any taxes or 
assessments upon the income derived from any project or property acquired or used by the 
department under the provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864.  Any bonds 
issued under the provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864, their transfer and the 
income therefrom, (including any profit made on the sale thereof), shall at all times be free from 
taxation within the state. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 22; L. 1975, ch. 495, sec. 18; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 29; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4522. 
 

32-863.  Same; investment.  Bonds issued by the secretary under the provisions of K.S.A. 
1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864  are hereby made securities in which all insurance 
companies, trust companies, banking associations, investment companies, executors, 
administrators, trustees and other fiduciaries may properly and legally invest funds, including 
capital in their control or belonging to them.  Such bonds are hereby made securities which may 
properly and legally be deposited with and received by any state or municipal officer or any 
agency or political subdivision of the state for any purpose for which the deposit of bonds or 
obligations of the state is now or may hereafter be authorized by law. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 23; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 30; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4523. 
 

32-864.  Same; refunding revenue bonds authorization.  The secretary is hereby authorized 
to provide by resolution for the issuance of revenue refunding bonds of the department for the 
purpose of refunding any bonds then outstanding which have been issued under the provisions of 
1989 Supp. 32-857 through 32-864, including the payment of any redemption premium thereon 
and any interest accrued or to accrue to the date of redemption of such bonds, and, if deemed 
advisable by the secretary, for the additional purpose of constructing improvements, extensions 
or enlargements of the specific project in connection with which the bonds to be refunded have 
been issued.  The issuance of such bonds, the maturities and other details thereof, the rights of 
the holders thereof and the rights, duties and obligations of the secretary and the department in 
respect of the same shall be governed by the provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-857 through 
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32-864 insofar as applicable. 
History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 24; L. 1963, ch. 409, sec. 11; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 31; July l. 

 
Source or prior law:  74-4524. 
 

32-865, 32-866.  Reserved. 
 

32-867.  Resort bonds; definitions.  As used in K.S.A. 32-867 through 32-873 and sections 1 
through 4, and amendments thereto, unless the context otherwise requires: 

(a)  "Resort" means the comprehensive collection of land, buildings and facilities authorized 
to be acquired, constructed and operated for the use of the public for vacation, convention or 
recreational purposes. 

(b)  "Facilities" means and includes, but is not limited to, any building, drive, access road, air 
strip, restaurant, lodge, pavilion, tennis court, golf course, parking lot, beach, bathhouse, dock or 
other improvement or any equipment necessary, in the opinion of the secretary, for use in 
connection with the acquisition, construction, operation or management of a resort authorized by 
K.S.A. 32-867 through 32-873 or sections 1 through 4, and amendments thereto. 

(c)  "Site" means a geographical location selected by the secretary pursuant to section 4, and 
amendments thereto, for installation of a resort. 

History: L. 1972, ch. 298, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 32; L. 1998, ch. 92, sec. 5; April 16. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4537, 74-4539. 
 

32-868.  Same; resort sites. The secretary may select sites and lease or acquire, construct, 
equip and operate, or cause to be operated, resorts for the use and enjoyment of the public upon 
sites to be selected in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-867 through 32-
873. 

History: L. 1972, ch. 298, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 33; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4538. 
 

32-869.  Same; amount of bonds authorized; payment.  The Kansas development finance 
authority is hereby authorized to issue pursuant to K.S.A. 32-857 through 32-864, and 
amendments thereto, revenue bonds in an amount or amounts not to exceed $30,000,000 for any 
one resort.  The proceeds from the sale of such bonds shall be used, together with any other 
funds available for such purpose, to construct and equip a resort on state-owned or leased 
property under the jurisdiction of the department of wildlife and parks.  The bonds, and interest 
thereon, issued pursuant to this section shall be payable by the private sector developer from 
revenues to include, but not limited to, resort charges, rentals and fees, such payment to be in 
lieu of lease payments and shall never be deemed to be an obligation or indebtedness of the state 
within the meaning of section 6 of article ll of the constitution of the state of Kansas. 

History: L. 1972, ch. 298, sec. 3; L. 1982, ch. 316, sec. 3; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 34; L. 1998, 
ch. 92, sec. 6; April 16. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4539. 
 

32-870. Same; zoning regulations subject to secretary's approval.  Upon acquisition of a 
site for a resort as authorized by K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-867 through 32-873, the secretary shall 
have submitted for the secretary's approval or disapproval any proposed zoning ordinance, 
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zoning changes, changes in height or setback requirements, or any other variance or exception to 
existing zoning regulations, plans or ordinances of any local subdivision of government affecting 
land located within one mile of the boundaries of the resort site acquired.  Such proposed 
ordinance, change, variance or exception shall be submitted in writing by the governing body of 
the local subdivision of government having authority to adopt or make such ordinance, change, 
variance or exception by mailing notice thereof to the office of the secretary in Topeka.  If the 
secretary has not disapproved such proposed ordinance, change, variance or exception within 90 
days from the date such written notice was received by the secretary as herein provided, such 
proposed ordinance, change, variance or exception shall be  deemed to be approved.  If 
disapproved by the secretary, the proposed ordinance, change, variance or exception shall be 
void and the secretary shall be authorized to maintain an action to enforce the secretary's order. 

History: L. 1972, ch. 298, sec. 4; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 35; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4540. 
 

32-871.  Same; site selection.  The secretary shall select sites for resorts which are adjacent 
to existing or proposed federal reservoirs and are determined to be most feasible from evidence 
gathered by the secretary in support of the sale of bonds as authorized by K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-
867 through 32-873.  The secretary may contract for a feasibility study as an aid in determining 
the location of a site.  In determining the exact location of a site prior to acquisition the secretary 
shall consider, among other factors, ready access from both nearby interstate or interstate 
connected controlled access highways and public transportation systems and facilities. 

History: L. 1972, ch. 298, sec. 5; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec . 36; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4541. 
  

32-872.  Same; acquisition of site; construction and operation of resort. Upon selection of 
any resort site, the secretary shall proceed with acquisition of the site and construction and 
operation of the resort under authority of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-867 through 32-873 and, in aid 
thereof, shall have and exercise all the powers, privileges and immunities granted by law. 

History: L. 1972, ch. 298, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 37; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4542. 
 

32-873.  Same; legislative approval of site.   Notwithstanding the provisions of K.S.A. 32-
867 through 32-872,  the selection of any site by the secretary of wildlife and parks and secretary 
of commerce pursuant to K.S.A. 32-874d, and amendments thereto, shall not become final, nor 
shall any revenue bonds be issued for the resort development, until the site so selected and the 
amount of the bonds proposed to be issued have been approved by the legislature or the state 
finance council acting on this matter which is hereby characterized as a matter of legislative 
delegation and subject to the guidelines prescribed in subsection (c) of K.S.A. 75-3711c, and 
amendments thereto. 

History: L. 1972, ch. 298, sec. 8; L. 1975, ch. 428, sec. 4; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 38; L. 1998, 
ch. 92, sec. 7; L. 2003, ch. 154, sec. 8; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4544. 
 

32-874.  Lake resorts; feasibility study.  (a) The secretary of the Kansas department of 
commerce and housing and the secretary of wildlife and parks, together, shall direct and 
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implement a feasibility study regarding the potential of developing lake resorts in Kansas.  The 
study shall consider ready access from nearby interstate and interstate connected controlled 
access highways, public transportation systems, facilities and any other factors that may affect 
tourism to a given site.  The study shall consider only sites at existing state parks or lakes. 

(b)  The feasibility study shall be completed by January 1, 1998, with a joint report on the 
study's results and recommendations derived therefrom to be presented to the legislature, house 
committee on tourism, senate committee on transportation and tourism and to the governor 
during the 1998 legislative session.  

History:  L. 1997, ch. 171, sec. 4; July 1. 
 

32-874a.  Same; incentive plan.  The feasibility study required under K.S.A. 32-874, and 
amendments thereto, being completed, the secretary of commerce, the secretary of wildlife and 
parks and the secretary of transportation will develop an incentive plan outlining the state of 
Kansas' commitment toward building a lake resort which shall include, but not limited to, 
infrastructure improvements, utility improvements and tax incentives to be offered for sites at, 
including, but not limited to the six state parks selected in the feasibility study reported to the 
1998 legislature:  Cheney, Clinton, El Dorado, Hillsdale, Perry and Milford. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 92, sec. 1; L. 2003, ch. 154, sec. 9; July 1. 
 

32-874b.  Same; negotiations with lake resort communities.  Once the state incentive 
packages are agreed upon, the secretary of wildlife and parks, under K.S.A. 32-807, 32-830 and 
32-831, and amendments thereto, and the secretary of commerce under K.S.A. 74-5005, and 
amendments thereto, will take the incentive package for each lake resort site to communities 
adjacent to each state park, revealing what the state is willing to commit to the development of a 
lake resort near each lake resort community and negotiate and determine what each community 
is willing to offer as an incentive to have the lake resort develop near its community. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 92, sec. 2; L. 2003, ch. 154, sec. 10; July 1. 
 

32-874c.  Same; negotiations with federal agencies.  The secretary of wildlife and parks, if 
necessary, shall negotiate and contract with the United States corps of engineers, bureau of 
reclamation, or other federal agency under K.S.A. 32-824, 32-825, 32-826 and 32-845, and 
amendments thereto, regarding a selected site and seek the necessary legislative approval under 
K.S.A. 32-843, and amendments thereto. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 92, sec. 3; April 16. 
 

32-874d.  Same; requests for proposals, advertisement, negotiations with developers.  (a) 
When the incentive packages for each of the lake resorts is determined, the secretary of wildlife 
and parks and the secretary of commerce shall develop requests for proposals which include the 
incentive packages for each site.  The proposals received from developers under subsection 
(h)(6) of K.S.A. 32-807, and amendments thereto, shall be sealed. 

(b)  The department of wildlife and parks and the department of commerce shall advertise for 
proposal plans with bids for development of sites selected under K.S.A. 32-867, 32-868, 32-871 
and 32-872, and amendments thereto.  Advertisements for proposals with bids shall be published 
in the Kansas register and once each week for two consecutive weeks in a newspaper having 
general circulation in the community at least 60 days before the time for receiving the proposals 
with bids.  The advertisement shall also be posted on readily accessible bulletin boards in all 
offices of the two departments and on the information network of Kansas.  The advertisement 
shall identify the area to be developed, the purpose of the development and shall identify the area 
to be developed, the purpose of the development and shall state that such further information as 
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is available may be obtained from either departments' office in Topeka. 
The two secretaries shall consider all proposals with bids submitted, the financial and legal 

ability of the private sector developers making such proposals with bids to carry them out and 
may negotiate with any private sector developer for a proposal with bid.  The secretaries may 
accept such proposal with bid as it deems to be in the public interest and in furtherance of the 
purposes of this act. 

(c)  Once proposals are received from developers wishing to contract for building the resort, 
the secretary of wildlife and parks utilizing powers and authority granted under K.S.A. 32-807, 
32-862, 32-863 and 32-867 through 32-872, and amendments thereto, and the secretary of 
commerce under K.S.A. 74-5005, and amendments thereto, shall select, negotiate and contract 
for the construction of a lake resort which shall be operated as a private concession and 
developed with private funding to include, but not limited to, the issuance of revenue bonds 
under K.S.A. 32-857 through 32-864, and amendments thereto. 

(d)  The secretary of wildlife and parks and the secretary of commerce may engage a private 
consultant to assist in the development of a contract for the selected site.  Consistent with the 
powers and authority granted to the secretary of wildlife and parks, the secretary may waive any 
relevant park fees, obtain revenue from the resort and resort facilities and include penalty 
provisions in the contract regarding nonperformance by the operator and developer of the resort. 

(e)  The secretary of wildlife and parks and the secretary of commerce shall not seek approval 
under K.S.A. 32-873, and amendments thereto, until the requirements of subsections (a) through 
(d) are satisfied. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 92, sec. 4; L. 2003, ch. 154, sec. 11; July 1. 
 

32-874e.  Same; joint report to legislature.  The secretary of wildlife and parks and the 
secretary of commerce shall present a joint report concerning negotiations, site selection, and 
status of the resort to the legislature, house committee on tourism, senate committee on 
transportation and tourism and to the governor during the 1999 legislative session. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 92, sec. 9; L. 2003, ch. 154, sec. 12; July 1. 
 

32-875.  Reserved. 
 

32-876.  Hatchery bonds; definitions.  As used in K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 through 32-
885, unless the context otherwise requires: 

(a)  "Hatchery" means a fish hatchery constructed, maintained, operated, equipped and 
stocked pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 through 32-885. 

(b)  "Revenue bonds" means bonds issued pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 through 32-
885 and payable as to both principal and interest out of the income derived from hatchery stamps 
and, in the discretion of the secretary, out of the proceeds of any grant-in-aid which may be 
received from any source. 

(c)  "Hatchery stamps" means stamps, punches or any other method of identification of the 
form and design selected and prescribed in accordance with the rules and regulations adopted by 
the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 173, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 39; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-601. 
 

32-877.  Same; hatchery stamps to pay bonds.  (a) For the purposes of paying the principal 
of and interest on revenue bonds issued and sold pursuant to K.S.A. 32-876 through 32-885, and 
amendments thereto, the secretary shall issue and sell hatchery stamps which shall be affixed to 
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all fishing licenses issued by the secretary.  The fee for each stamp issued shall be fixed by rules 
and regulations adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments 
thereto. 

(b)  If hatchery stamps have been issued by the secretary, no person required to purchase a 
fishing license shall fish within this state without first procuring a hatchery stamp and having it 
in possession while fishing. 

(c)  All moneys collected from the issuance and sale of hatchery stamps in excess of the 
amount required to pay the principal of and interest and premium, if any, on the revenue bonds 
shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and 
amendments thereto.  Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the 
entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the wildlife fee fund. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 174, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 40; L. 1994, ch. 61, sec. 1; L. 2001, 
ch. 5, sec. 99; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-602. 
 

32-878.  Same; bonds authorized; pledge of revenues; covenants and agreements. (a) The 
secretary is hereby authorized to issue and sell revenue bonds of the department for the purpose 
of paying all or part of the cost of acquiring a site, constructing, reconstructing, improving, 
expanding, equipping and stocking a fish hatchery.  The revenue bonds may be issued from time 
to time and sold in amounts which the secretary deems necessary for such purposes. 

(b)  Prior to the issuance of the revenue bonds, the secretary shall: 
(l)  Pledge the gross revenues derived from the sale of hatchery stamps to the payment of the 

principal of and interest on the revenue bonds; 
(2)  pledge to create and maintain (A) revenue bond funds adequate to promptly pay both the 

principal of and interest on the revenue bonds when they become due and (B) a reasonable 
reserve fund; 

(3)  determine an interest rate to be paid on the principal of the revenue bonds not in excess of 
the maximum rate of interest prescribed by K.S.A. l0-l009 and amendments thereto; 

(4) determine that the revenue bonds will be term or serial bonds maturing not later than 40 
years from their date; 

(5)  fix the purchase price of hatchery stamps in an amount necessary to sell the revenue 
bonds and assure the prompt payment of the principal of and interest on the revenue bonds as 
they become due, and sell the revenue bonds in the manner provided by K.S.A. l0-l06 and 
amendments thereto at not less than 90% of the par value thereof; 

(6)  register the revenue bonds with the state treasurer. 
(c)  Prior to the issuance of the revenue bonds, the secretary may: 
(l)  Pledge the proceeds of any grant-in-aid, gift donation, bequest, or other such fund, or the 

income from any of such sources obtained by the department directly or in trust, to the payment 
of the principal of and interest on the revenue bonds; 

(2)  covenant or contract in the resolution authorizing the issuance of revenue bonds, any and 
all matters consistent with the authority granted herein necessary and convenient in the 
determination of the secretary to sell the revenue bonds and obtain the most favorable interest 
rate thereon, including but not limited to, maturities, priority of liens, number of issuances, 
special funds for security, redemption privileges, security agreements, trust indentures, paying 
agencies, registration provisions and conversion privileges. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 173, sec. 3; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 41; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-603. 
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32-879.  Same; bonds not state indebtedness; contracts binding.  (a) Revenue bonds issued 

under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 through 32-885, including refunding revenue bonds, shall be 
special obligations of the department in accordance with their terms and shall not constitute an 
indebtedness of the state of Kansas, the department or the secretary, nor shall they constitute 
indebtedness within the meaning of any constitutional or statutory provision limiting the 
incurring of indebtedness. 

(b)  All contracts, agreements and covenants contained in the resolution authorizing the 
issuance of revenue bonds shall be binding in all respects upon the department, its officials, 
agents, employees and successors.  Such agreements, contracts and covenants shall be 
enforceable by appropriate legal action brought pursuant to the terms of the resolution 
authorizing the issuance of revenue bonds 

History:  L. 1982, ch. 173, sec. 4; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 42; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-604. 
 

32-880.  Same; refunding revenue bonds authorized.  The secretary may issue revenue 
bonds for the purpose of refunding revenue bonds issued under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 
through 32-885 pursuant to the terms and authority of K.S.A. l0-ll6a and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 173, sec. 5; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 43; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-605. 
 

32-881.  Same; disposition of bond proceeds.  The proceeds derived from the sale of all 
revenue bonds issued under K.S.A. Supp. 32-876 through 32-885, and amendments thereto,  
shall be deposited to the credit of the department in a bank, banks or depositories designated by 
the secretary and kept in a separate fund and used solely for the purpose for which the revenue 
bonds are authorized.  The secretary is authorized to make all contracts and execute all 
instruments which the secretary deems necessary or advisable for the purpose of acquiring a site, 
constructing, reconstructing, improving, expanding, equipping and stocking a fish hatchery, and 
to provide for the manner of disbursement of the funds for such purposes.  Except as provided by 
subsection (c) of K.S.A. 32-877 and amendments thereto, nothing contained in K.S.A. Supp. 32-
876 through 32-885, and amendments thereto, shall be construed as placing in the state treasury 
any moneys collected under such sections or requiring such action, and the legislature hereby 
declares that funds deposited under this section shall not be subject to the provisions of section 
24 of article 2 of the Kansas constitution. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 173, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 44; L. 1994, ch. 61, sec. 2; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-606. 
 

32-882.  State; tax exemption. The revenue bonds issued under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 
through 32-885 and any refunding revenue bonds authorized to be issued under such sections, 
and the income derived therefrom, are and shall be exempt from all state, county and municipal 
taxation in the state of Kansas, except Kansas inheritance taxes. 

History:  L. 1982, ch. 173, sec. 7; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 45; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-607. 
 

32-883.  Same; investment. Revenue bonds authorized under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 
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through 32-885 shall be proper and legal investment securities for any investment funds of the 
state of Kansas or any department, agency or institution thereof, or any county, municipal or 
other public corporation or political subdivision created pursuant to the laws of the state of 
Kansas.  Banks, trust companies and insurance companies organized under the laws of the state 
of Kansas and the Kansas public employees retirement system may legally and properly 
purchase revenue bonds issued under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 through 32-885, and they are 
hereby deemed and approved as collateral security for the deposit of any and all funds and for 
the investment of all trust funds under the jurisdiction of the laws of the state of Kansas. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 173, sec. 8; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 46; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-608. 
 

32-884.  Same; authority and powers conferred by act. K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 
through 32-885 constitute full and complete authority for the purposes set out in such 
sections, and no procedure or proceedings other than those required by such sections shall 
be necessary for the performance of the provisions thereof.  The powers conferred by K.S.A. 
1989 Supp. 32-876 through 32-885 shall be in addition and supplemental to and not in 
substitution for, and the limitations imposed by such sections shall not affect, the powers 
conferred on the secretary by any other law. 

History:  L. 1982, ch. 173, sec. 9; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 47; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-609. 
 

32-885.  Same; notice of intent to issue; actions to contest validity limited. Prior to the 
issuance of any revenue bonds under authority of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-876 through 32-885 and 
after the adoption of a resolution authorizing any revenue bonds under such sections, the 
secretary shall cause to be published once in the Kansas register a notice to all persons interested 
that the secretary has determined to issue revenue bonds under authority of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 
32-876 through 32-885. The notice shall state the amount or maximum amount of revenue bonds 
to be issued pursuant to such resolution, together with a brief statement of the purposes for 
which the proceeds are to be used, and further, that unless an action to contest the legality of the 
proposed revenue bonds is filed in a court of law within 30 days from the date of such 
publication, the right to contest the legality of any revenue bonds issued in compliance with the 
proceedings taken by the secretary prior to the date of such publication and the right to contest 
the validity of the provisions of such proceedings shall cease to exist and no court shall 
thereafter have authority to inquire into such matters.  After the expiration of the 30 days, no one 
shall have any right to commence an action contesting the validity of such revenue bonds or the 
provisions of such proceedings and all revenue bonds shall be conclusively presumed to be legal, 
and no court shall thereafter have authority to inquire into such matters. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 173, sec. 10; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 48; July l. 
Source or prior law:  32-610. 
   

32-886.  Family oriented lodging sites in state parks.  (a) Contingent upon a favorable 
response from federal agencies regarding development of shared resources, the secretary of the 
department of wildlife and parks shall identify and select sites suitable for the development of 
commercial, family oriented lodging areas at the following state parks:  Clinton, Hillsdale, 
Kanopolis, El Dorado, Cheney, Wilson, Milford, Tuttle Creek, Pomona and such other state 
parks as the secretary deems appropriate. 

(b)  Such identification and selection of the sites shall take into consideration the mission of 
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the facility, the environmental considerations and the availability of needed utilities. 
(c)  Family oriented lodging shall not include the development of lake resorts. 
History: L. 1997, ch. 99, sec. 1; July 1. 

 
32-887.  Same; leases for improvements and development.  The secretary of the 

department of wildlife and parks is then authorized to negotiate for a long-term lease with a 
private sector developer for improvement and development of any selected state park site.  All 
such leases shall be on such terms as the secretary prescribes and adhere to the purposes and 
considerations of section 1 and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 1997, ch. 99, sec. 2; July 1. 
  

32-888.  Same; proposals for bids; advertising thereof; negotiations.  The department of 
wildlife and parks shall advertise for proposal plans with bids for development of sites selected 
under section 1 and amendments thereto.  Advertisements for proposals with bids shall be 
published once each week for two consecutive weeks in a newspaper having general circulation 
in the community at least 60 days before the time for receiving the proposals with bids.  The 
advertisement shall also be posted on readily accessible bulletin boards in all offices of the 
department.  The advertisement shall identify the area to be developed, the purpose of the 
development and shall state that such further information as is available may be obtained from 
the department's office in Topeka. 

The secretary shall consider all proposals with bids submitted, the financial and legal ability 
of the private sector developers making such proposals with bids to carry them out and may 
negotiate with any private sector developer for a proposal with bid.  The secretary may accept 
such proposal with bid as it deems to be in the public interest and in furtherance of the purposes 
of this act. 

History: L. 1997, ch. 99, sec. 3; July 1. 
 

32-889.  Same; property tax exemption; payments in lieu of taxes, disposition.  All 
improvements of the selected state park site shall be exempt from ad valorem property tax but 
the owner or owners of the improvements shall be required to make a contract or contracts for 
payment of service charges in lieu of the ad valorem property tax in an amount equal to the value 
of the improvements as assessed by the county appraiser under the then existing tax process 
times 100 mills.  All in lieu of moneys received will be divided equally between the county of 
location and the parks fee fund, established under K.S.A. 32-991, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 1997, ch. 99, sec. 4; July 1. 
 
 Article 9.-LICENSES, PERMITS, STAMPS & OTHER ISSUES 
  
 PARKS 
  32-901.  Park and recreation motor vehicle permits; posting of information. (a)  Except 
as otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a valid park and 
recreation motor vehicle permit is required to use a motor vehicle in any state park, or any 
portion thereof, or in any other area designated by the secretary pursuant to subsection (f), which 
is posted in accordance with subsection (g). 

(b)(l)  The secretary shall issue annual and temporary park and recreation motor vehicle 
permits. 

(2)  The annual permit shall be issued to certificate of titleholders for each calendar year as 
provided in K.S.A. 32-983, 32-984 and 32-985, and amendments thereto, and shall not be 
transferable.  An additional vehicle permit may be issued to the owner of an original annual 
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permit.  The fee for an annual permit and the fee for an additional vehicle permit shall be fixed 
by the secretary by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and 
amendments thereto.  The fee for an annual permit for a motor vehicle of any Kansas resident 
certificate of title holder who is 65 or more years of age or who is a person with a disability and 
displays a special license plate or placard issued pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1, 125 and amendments 
thereto shall be an amount equal to 2 the fee fixed by the secretary for other annual park and 
recreation motor vehicle permits, except a nonresident regardless of age shall pay the full fee.  A 
duplicate permit may be issued upon proof of loss of the original permit for the remainder of the 
calendar year for a fee fixed by the secretary by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with 
K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto.  If the motor vehicle for which an annual permit has 
been issued is sold or traded during the calendar year for which the permit was issued and the 
original permit is surrendered to the department, a new permit effective for the remainder of the 
calendar year may be issued to the person who sold or traded the motor vehicle for a fee fixed by 
the secretary by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and 
amendments thereto.  Before any duplicate or new permit is issued, the purchaser thereof must 
show by evidence that the purchaser was issued the original permit and that the purchaser is the 
holder of a valid certificate of title to the motor vehicle for which the duplicate or new permit is 
issued. 

(3)  A temporary permit shall be issued for a day, shall be issued for a specific vehicle and 
shall not be transferable.  The fee for such a temporary permit shall be fixed by the secretary by 
rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto.  The 
fee for a temporary permit for a motor vehicle of any Kansas resident certificate of title holder 
who is 65 or more years of age or who is a person with a disability and displays a special license 
plate or placard issued pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1, 125 and amendments thereto shall be an amount 
equal to 2 the fee fixed by the secretary for other temporary park and recreation motor vehicle 
permits, except a nonresident regardless of age shall pay the full fee. 

(c)  The provisions of subsection (a) do not apply to: 
(l) A motor vehicle used in the operation or maintenance of state parks or other areas under 

the secretary=s control, emergency motor vehicles, state-owned motor vehicles, law enforcement 
motor vehicles or private or government motor vehicles being operated on official business for a 
governmental agency; 

(2) a motor vehicle of a nonresident who secures a special fee, license or permit required by 
rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and 
amendments thereto, relating to the use of the park or other area; 

(3)  a motor vehicle for which a special permit or pass has been issued pursuant to subsection 
(d); 

(4)  a motor vehicle in a state park or other area to which subsection (d) applies on dates 
designated pursuant to subsection (e); or 

(5)  a motor vehicle in an area or at a time not designated pursuant to subsection (f) as an area 
or time which requires a permit. 

(d)  The secretary may issue a special permit or pass for a motor vehicle used for the purpose 
of sightseeing, attending a church service, attending an approved special event by members of 
the news media or emergency reasons, as provided by rules and regulations adopted by the 
secretary in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto. 

(e)  The secretary may designate by resolution two days each calendar year during which 
persons may use motor vehicles in state parks and other areas under the secretary's control 
without having a valid park and recreation motor vehicle permit. 

(f)  The secretary shall designate the state parks and other areas under the secretary's control, 
or portions thereof, and the time periods in which motor vehicle permits shall be required 
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hereunder.  The secretary shall cause signs to be posted and maintained at the entrances to all 
such designated state parks or other areas, or portions thereof, which signs shall display a legend 
that a motor vehicle entering and using the state park or area, or portion thereof, is required to 
display on the motor vehicle a permit of the type described in this section. 

(g)  All fees, licenses and other charges, and rules and regulations relating to the use of and 
conduct of persons in a state park or other area under the secretary's control, or any facility 
therein, shall be posted in a convenient and conspicuous place in each such park, area or facility. 
 Except as otherwise provided in this section, each and every person using any such park, area or 
facility shall be charged the same fees, licenses and every other charge. 

History: L. 1965, ch. 444, sec. 2; L. 1966, ch. 39, sec. 1 (Budget Session); L. 1972, ch. 296, 
sec. 1; L. 1973, ch. 319, sec. 1; L. 1976, ch. 341, sec. 1; L. 1977, ch. 270, sec. 2; L. 1980, ch. 
237, sec. 1; L. 1981, ch. 305, sec. 3; L. 1982, ch. 316, sec. 1; L. 1984, ch. 287, sec. 1; L. 1986, 
ch. 291, sec. 1; L. 1987, ch. 138, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 54; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 3; L. 
2000, ch. 165, sec. 1; Jan. 1, 2001. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4509b, 74-4509e. 
 

32-902 to 32-905.  Reserved. 
 
 WILDLIFE 

 
32-906.  Fishing licenses.  (a)  Except as otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations 

of the secretary, a valid Kansas fishing license is required to fish or to take any bullfrog in this 
state. 

(b)  The provisions of subsection (a) do not apply to fishing by: 
(l)  A person, or a member of a person's immediate family domiciled with such person, on 

land owned by such person or on land leased or rented by such person for agricultural purposes; 
(2)  a resident of this state who is less than l6 years of age or who is 65 or more years or age; 
(3) a nonresident who is less than 16 years of age; 
(4)  a person fishing in a private water fishing impoundment unless waived pursuant to K.S.A. 

32-975 and amendments thereto; 
(5)  a resident of an adult care home, as defined by K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto, 

licensed by the secretary of aging; 
(6)  an inmate in an honor camp operated by the secretary of corrections, pursuant to an 

agreement between the secretary of corrections and the secretary of wildlife and parks; 
(7)  a person on dates designated pursuant to subsection (f); 
(8) a person fishing under a valid institutional group fishing license issued pursuant to 

subsection (g); or 
(9) a participant in a fishing clinic sponsored or cosponsored by the department, during the 

period of time that the fishing clinic is being conducted. 
(c)  The fee for a fishing license shall be the amount prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 32-988 

and amendments thereto. 
(d)  Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a fishing 

license is valid throughout the state. 
(e)  Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a fishing 

license is valid from the date of issuance and expires on December 3l following its issuance, 
except that the secretary may issue a: 

(l)  Permanent license pursuant to K.S.A. 32-929 and amendments thereto;  
(2)  lifetime license pursuant to K.S.A. 930 and amendments thereto; 
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(3)  nonresident fishing license valid for a period of five days; and 
(4)  resident or nonresident fishing license valid for a period of 24 hours. 
(f)  The secretary may designate by resolution two days each calendar year during which  

persons may fish by legal means without having a valid fishing license. 
(g)  The secretary shall issue an annual institutional group fishing license to each facility 

operating under the jurisdiction of or licensed by the secretary of social and rehabilitation 
services and to any veterans administration medical center in the state of Kansas upon 
application by such facility or center to the secretary of wildlife and parks for such license.  

All applications for facilities under the jurisdiction of the secretary of social and rehabilitation 
services shall be made with the approval of the secretary of social and rehabilitation services and 
shall provide such information as the secretary of wildlife and parks requires.  All applications 
for any veterans administration medical center shall be made with the approval of the director of 
such facility and shall provide such information as the secretary of wildlife and parks requires.  
Persons who have been admitted to and are currently residing at the facility or center, not to 
exceed 20 at any one time, may fish under an institutional group fishing license within the state 
while on a group trip, group outing or other group activity which is supervised by the facility or 
center.  Persons fishing under an institutional group fishing license shall not be required to 
obtain a fishing license but shall be subject to all other laws and to all rules and regulations 
relating to fishing.  

The staff personnel of the facility or center supervising the group trip, group outing or other 
group activity shall have in their possession the institutional license when engaged in supervising 
any activity requiring the license.  Such staff personnel may assist group members in all aspects 
of their fishing activity. 

(h) The secretary may issue a special nonprofit group fishing license to any community, civic 
or charitable organization which is organized as a not-for-profit corporation, for use by such 
community, civic or charitable organization for the sole purpose of conducting group fishing 
activities for handicapped or developmentally disabled individuals.  All applications for a special 
nonprofit group fishing license shall be made to the secretary or the secretary's designee and 
shall provide such information as required by the secretary. 

Handicapped or developmentally disabled individuals, not to exceed 20 at any one time, may 
fish under a special nonprofit group fishing license while on a group trip, outing or activity 
which is supervised by the community, civic or charitable organization.  Individuals fishing 
under a special nonprofit group fishing license shall not be required to obtain a fishing license 
but shall be subject to all other laws and rules and regulations relating to fishing. 

The staff personnel of the community, civic or charitable organization supervising the group 
trip, outing or activity shall have in their possession the special nonprofit group fishing license 
when engaged in supervising any activity requiring the special nonprofit group fishing license.  
Such staff personnel may assist group members in all aspects of their fishing activity. 

History: L. 1985, ch. 129, sec. 1; L. 1988, ch. 131, sec. l; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 55; L. 1995, 
ch. 164, sec. 2; L. 2000, ch.165, sec. 2; L. 2001, ch. 17, sec. 1; L. 2003, ch. 149, sec. 1; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law: 

32-104, 32-104a, 32-104b, 32-104n, 32-104o, 32-104p, 32-172a, 32-172b, 32-187. 
 

32-907 to 32-910.  Reserved. 
 

32-911.  Furharvester licenses.  (a)  Except as otherwise provided by law or rules and 
regulations of the secretary, a valid Kansas furharvester license is required to: 

(l)  Furharvest in this state; or 
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(2)  sell, ship or offer for sale or shipment any furbearing animal or its raw fur, pelt, skin or 
carcass. 

(b)  The provisions of subsection (a)(l) do not apply to furharvesting by: 
(l)  A person, or a member of a person's immediate family domiciled with such person, on 

land owned by such person or on land leased or rented by such person for agricultural purposes; 
(2)  a resident of this state who is less than l4 years of age and is accompanied by a person 

holding a valid furharvester license; 
(3)  a nonresident participating in a field trial for dogs, recognized by rules and regulations 

adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto; 
or 

(4)  a person authorized pursuant to subsection (g). 
(c)  The fee for a furharvester license shall be the amount prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 

Supp. 32-988 and amendments thereto. 
(d)  The provisions of subsection (a)(2) shall not apply to nonresidents selling to Kansas-

licensed fur dealers furbearing animals or their raw furs, pelts, skins or carcasses legally taken in 
another state if such nonresident has been issued and is in possession of a valid license 
permitting the taking or selling of such animals, furs, pelts, skins or carcasses in the issuing state. 

(e)  Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a furharvester 
license is valid throughout the state. 

(f)  Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a furharvester 
license is valid from the date of issuance and expires on December 3l following its issuance, 
except that a permanent license may be issued by the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 
32-929 and amendments thereto and a lifetime license may be issued by the secretary pursuant to 
K.S.A. 32-930 and amendments thereto. 

(g)  The secretary shall adopt rules and regulations in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-
805 and amendments thereto which authorize individuals not holding a valid furharvester license 
to accompany a person holding such a license. 

History: L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 56; L. 1999, ch. 120, sec. 1; July 1.  
 
Source or prior law:  32-104, 32-104a, 32-104b. 
 

32-912.  Furharvester education; certificate of competency. 
No person born on or after July l, l966, shall furharvest in this state on land other than such 
person's land unless the person has been issued a furharvester certificate of competency.  If such 
person is required by law to obtain a furharvester license, the person shall attest to or exhibit 
proof of possession of a valid furharvester certificate of competency to the person issuing the 
license at the time of purchasing the license.  If such person is not required by law to obtain a 
furharvesting license, the person shall be in possession of such certificate while furharvesting. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 175, sec. 1; L. 1987, ch. 142, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 57; L. 2001, 
ch. 13, sec. 1; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-106b. 
 

32-913.  Same; instruction requirements; designation of persons to issue certificates.  
The secretary shall prescribe a course of instruction of not less than a total of six hours 
concerning the ethical, humane, safe and selective furharvesting and handling of furbearing 
animals and coyotes.  The secretary shall designate those persons who shall issue furharvester 
certificates of competency to each person who successfully completes such course of instruction, 
and such designation and certificate shall be valid until revoked by the secretary.    
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History: L. 1982, ch. 175, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 58; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-106c. 
           

32-914. Same; courses of instruction; certificates from other jurisdictions.  (a)  The 
secretary shall institute and coordinate a statewide course of furharvester education and, in so 
doing, may cooperate with local subdivisions of government or with any reputable individual or 
organization.  The secretary, using department personnel or other persons, may conduct such 
courses in furharvester education and issue furharvester certificates of competency on a 
temporary basis at times when and in areas where other competent agencies are unable or 
unwilling to meet the demand for instruction. 

(b)  Any similar certificate issued outside the state of Kansas by a governmental agency or a 
public or private association or club in compliance with an approved governmental program 
having as its objective the promotion of furharvester education shall be accepted as complying 
with the requirements of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-912. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 175, sec. 3; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 59; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-106d. 
 

32-915 to 32-917.  Reserved. 
 

32-918. (a) Upon request of the secretary of social and rehabilitation services, the secretary of 
wildlife and parks shall not allow any license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department 
of wildlife and parks to be purchased by any applicant except as provided in this section.  The 
secretary of social and rehabilitation services may make such a request by providing the 
secretary of wildlife and parks, on a quarterly basis, a listing of names and other information 
sufficient to allow the secretary of wildlife and parks to match applicants against the list with 
reasonable accuracy.  The secretary of social and rehabilitation services may include an 
individual on the listing if, at the time the listing is compiled, the individual owes arrearages 
under a support order in a title IV-D case or has failed, after appropriate notice, to comply with 
an outstanding warrant or subpoena directed to the individual in a title IV-D case.  The secretary 
of social and rehabilitation services shall include an individual on the listing if, at the time the 
listing is compiled, the individual owes arrearages under a support order, as reported to the 
secretary of social and rehabilitation services by the court trustee or has failed, after appropriate 
notice, to comply with a subpoena directed to the individual by the court trustee and as reported 
to the secretary of social and rehabilitation services by the court trustee.  

(b) If any applicant for a license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department of 
wildlife and parks is not allowed to complete a purchase pursuant to this section, the vendor of 
the license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department of wildlife and parks shall 
immediately deliver to the applicant a written notice, furnished by the state of Kansas, stating the 
basis for the action and how the applicant may dispute the action or request other relief.  Such 
notice shall inform the applicant who owes arrearages in an IV-D case to contact social and 
rehabilitation services and in a non-IV-D case to contact the court trustee. 

(c) Immediately upon receiving a release executed by an authorized agent of the secretary of 
social and rehabilitation services or the court trustee, the secretary of wildlife and parks may 
allow the applicant to purchase any license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department of 
wildlife and parks.  The applicant shall have the burden of obtaining and delivering the release. 
The secretary of social and rehabilitation services or the court trustee may limit the duration of 
the release. 
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(d) Upon request the secretary of social and rehabilitation services shall issue a release if, as 
appropriate: 

(1) The arrearages are paid in full or a tribunal of competent jurisdiction has determined that 
no arrearages are owed; 

(2) an income withholding order in the case has been served upon the applicant’s current 
employer or payor; 
     (3) an agreement has been completed or an order has been entered setting minimum payments 
to defray the arrearages, together with receipt of the first minimum payment;  
     (4) the applicant has complied with the warrant or subpoena or the warrant or subpoena has 
been quashed or withdrawn; or 
     (5) the court trustee notifies the secretary of social and rehabilitation services that the 
applicant has paid the arrearages in full or has complied with the subpoena or the subpoena has 
been quashed or withdrawn. 
     (e) Individuals previously included in a quarterly listing may be omitted from any subsequent 
listing by the secretary of social and rehabilitation services.  When a new listing takes effect, the 
secretary of wildlife and parks may allow any individual not included in the new listing to 
purchase any license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department of wildlife and parks, 
whether or not the applicant had been included in a previous listing. 
     (f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require or permit the secretary of wildlife and 
parks to determine any issue related to a child support order or related to the title IV-D case, 
including questions of mistaken identity or the adequacy of any notice provided pursuant to this 
section.  In a title IV-D case, the secretary of social and rehabilitation services shall provide an 
opportunity for fair hearing pursuant to K.S.A. 75-3306, and amendments thereto, to any person 
who has been denied any license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department of wildlife 
and parks pursuant to this section, provided that the person complies with the requirements of the 
secretary of social and rehabilitation services for requesting such fair hearing.  In a non-IV-D 
case, the applicant shall contact the court trustee. 
     (g) The term ‘‘title IV-D’’ has the meaning ascribed thereto in K.S.A. 32-930, and 
amendments thereto. 
     (h) The secretary of social and rehabilitation services and the secretary of wildlife and parks 
may enter into an agreement for administering the provisions of this section. 
     (i) The secretary of social and rehabilitation services and the secretary of wildlife and parks 
may each adopt rules and regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of this section. 
     (j) Upon receipt of such list, the secretary of wildlife and parks shall send by first class mail, a 
letter to any new individual on the listing who has a current license, permit, stamp, tag or other 
issue of the department of wildlife and parks informing such individual of the provisions of this 
section. 
   History:  L. 2006, ch. 208, sec. 9; L. 2007, ch.     , sec. 4; July 1. 
 
    32-919.  Hunting licenses. (a) Except as otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations 
of the secretary, a valid Kansas hunting license is required to hunt in this state. 

(b)  The provisions of subsection (a) do not apply to hunting by: 
(1)  A person, or a member of a person's immediate family domiciled with such person, on 

land owned by such person or on land leased or rented by such person for agricultural purposes;  
(2)  a resident of this state who is less than 16 years of age or who is 65 or more years of age; 
(3)  a nonresident participating in a field trial for dogs, recognized by rules and regulations 

adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto; 
(4)  a person who holds a valid permit issued to such person pursuant to subsection (f) and 

who hunts only waterfowl; or 
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(5)  a person hunting only moles or gophers. 
(c)  The fee for a hunting license shall be the amount prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 32-988 

and amendments thereto. 
(d)  Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a hunting 

license is valid throughout the state, except that the secretary may issue a special controlled 
shooting area license which is valid only for licensed controlled shooting areas. 

(e)  Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a hunting 
license is valid from the date of issuance and expires on December 31 following its issuance, 
except that: 

(1)  The secretary may issue a permanent license pursuant to K.S.A. 32-929 and amendments 
thereto;  

(2)  the secretary may issue a lifetime license pursuant to K.S.A. 32-930 and amendments 
thereto. 

(f)  A 48-hour waterfowl permit may be issued which authorizes hunting of waterfowl in this 
state subject to all other provisions of law and rules and regulations of the secretary.  The fee for 
such permit shall be the amount prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 32-988 and amendments thereto.  
Such permit is valid throughout the state, is valid from the time designated on the permit and 
expires 48 hours after such time.  Purchase of such permit shall not affect the requirement to 
purchase any federal migratory bird hunting and conservation stamp or state migratory 
waterfowl habitat stamp. 

History: L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 60; L. 2000, ch. 165, sec. 3; Jan. 1, 2001. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-104, 32-104a, 32-104b, 32-158. 
 

32-920.  Hunter education; certificate of completion.  (a) Except as provided by 
subsections (d) and (e), no person who is born on or after July l, l957, and is 16 or more years of 
age shall hunt in this state on land other than such person's own land unless the person has been 
issued a certificate of completion of an approved hunter education course.  If such person is 
required by law to obtain a hunting license, the person shall attest to or exhibit proof of 
completion of such course to the person issuing the license at the time of purchasing the license. 
 If such person is not required by law to obtain a hunting license, is less than 27 years of age but 
16 or more years of age or is less than 16 but 12 or more years of age and hunting without adult 
supervision, the person shall be in possession of the person's certificate of completion of such 
course while hunting.  A person may purchase for another person, under rules and regulations 
adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto, a lifetime 
hunting or combination hunting and fishing license without the license recipient's first having 
been issued a certificate of completion of an approved hunter education course. 

(b) A person less than 12 years of age shall not hunt unless under the direct supervision of an 
adult who is 18 or more years of age. 

(c) A person who is 12 or more years of age but less than 16 years of age and who has not 
been issued a certificate of completion of an approved hunter education course shall not hunt 
unless under the direct supervision of an adult who is 18 or more years of age. 

(d)  A person who is 16 or more years of age may obtain a one-time deferral of completion of 
hunter education that is valid until the end of the current license year.  Such person may purchase 
an apprentice hunting license but shall not hunt unless under the direct supervision of a licensed 
adult who is 18 or more years of age.  

(e) Completion of an approved hunter education course shall not be required to obtain a 
special controlled shooting area hunting license valid only for licensed controlled shooting areas. 

History:  L. 1972, ch. 158, sec. 1; L. 1981, ch. 175, sec. 10; L. 1983, ch. 133, sec. l; L. 1985, 



 
 39 

ch. 136, sec. 1; L. 1987, ch. 142, sec. 2; L. 1987, ch. 145, sec. 1; L. 1987, ch. 141, sec. 2; L. 
1989, ch. 118, sec. 61; L. 2000, ch. 72, sec. 1; L. 2000, ch. 159, sec. 4; L. 2002, ch. 96, sec. 1; L. 
2004, ch. 99, sec. 2; L. 2005, ch. 124, sec. 3; L. 2007, ch.     , sec. 4; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-401. 
 
 CASE ANNOTATIONS 

1. Comparative negligence statute (60-258a) applies where injury results from proscribed 
sales of explosives (21-402a). Arredondo v. Duckwall Stores, Inc., 227 K. 842, 850, 610 P.2d 
1107. 
 

32-921.  Same; instruction requirements; designation of persons to issue certificates. (a) 
The secretary shall prescribe a course of instruction in hunter education.  Except as provided in 
subsection (c), such course of instruction shall be not less than a total of 10 hours and shall be for 
persons 11 or more years of age. 

(b)  The secretary shall designate those persons who shall issue a certificate of completion of 
an approved hunter education course to each person who successfully completes such course of 
instruction, and such designation and certificate shall be valid until revoked by the secretary. 

(c) The secretary may prescribe a special course of instruction of less than a total of 10 hours 
for persons residing in other jurisdictions and entering this state to hunt.  The secretary shall 
issue a certificate of completion of an approved special hunter education course to each person 
who successfully completes such special course of instruction.  Such certificate shall be valid 
only within the state through January 31 of the calendar year following completion of the course. 
 Persons taking such special course of instruction shall submit to the department a sum of $25 
upon registering for the course, of which the department shall remit $20 to the instructor. 

History: L. 1972, ch. 158, sec. 2; L. 1985, ch. 136, sec. 3; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 62; L. 2004, 
ch. 99, sec. 3; Jan. l, 2005. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-402. 
 

32-922.  Same; courses of instruction; certificates from other jurisdictions. (a) The 
secretary shall institute and coordinate a statewide course of instruction in hunter education and, 
in so doing, may cooperate with local subdivisions of government, with reputable individuals, or 
with any reputable organization having hunter education as one of its objectives. 

(b)  The secretary using department personnel or other persons, may conduct such courses in 
hunter education and issue certificates of completion of an approved hunter education course on 
a temporary basis at times when and in areas where other competent agencies are unable or 
unwilling to meet the demand for instruction. 

(c)  Any similar certificate issued outside the state of Kansas by a governmental agency, or by 
a public or private association or club, in compliance with an approved governmental program 
having hunter education as one of its objectives shall be accepted as complying with the 
requirements of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-920. 

History:  L. 1972, ch. 158, sec. 3; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 63; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-403. 
 

32-923.  Same; issuance of certificate; fee.  The secretary shall issue a certificate of 
completion of an approved hunter education course to any resident of this state upon submission 
of evidence of successful completion of a hunter education course approved the secretary prior to 
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July l, l973, and such other information as requested by the secretary and upon payment of such 
fee as may be prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988. 

History: L. 1982, ch. 172, sec. 1; L. 1983, ch. 133, sec. 2; L. 1985, ch. 136, sec. 2; L. 1989, 
ch. 118, sec. 64; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-405. 
 

32-924.  Same; liability insurance for persons conducting course. 
The committee on surety bonds and insurance, within the limitations of appropriations made 
therefor, shall purchase such liability insurance as it deems necessary for the protection of 
persons engaged in conducting an approved hunter education course against any liability for 
injuries or damages arising from the conducting of such course of instruction by such persons. 

History: L. 1979, ch. 276, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 65; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-404. 
 

32-925 to 32-928.  Reserved. 
 

32-929.  Permanent licenses, American Indians.  (a) Subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 32-
912 and 32-920, and amendments thereto, the secretary or the secretary's designee shall issue, 
free of charge, a permanent license to hunt, fish and furharvest to any person residing in the state 
who submits to the secretary satisfactory proof that the person: (1) is at least l/16 Indian by blood 
and (2) maintains enrollment on a tribal membership roll maintained by  a federally recognized 
tribe.  Any such person hunting, fishing or furharvesting in this state shall be subject to the 
provisions of all rules and regulations relating to hunting, fishing or furharvesting. 

(b) For the purposes of this section, a federally recognized tribe means an American Indian 
group that has petitioned for and obtained recognition by the United States department of the 
interior under the standards set out in 25 C.F.R. Part 83, as amended. 

History:  L. 1971, ch. 142, sec. l; L. 1973, ch. 179, sec. 1; L. 1978, ch. 152, sec. 16; L. 1989, 
ch. 118, sec. 66; L. 1995, ch. 164, sec. 3; Apr. 27. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-104l. 
 

32-930.  Lifetime hunting and fishing licenses. (a) Except as provided in subsection (c), the 
secretary or the secretary's designee is authorized to issue to any Kansas resident a lifetime 
fishing, hunting or furharvester or combination hunting and fishing license upon proper 
application made therefor to the secretary or the secretary's designee and payment of a license 
fee as follows:  (1)  A total payment made at the time of purchase in the amount prescribed 
pursuant to K.S.A. 32-988 and amendments thereto; or (2) payment may be made over a two-
year period in eight quarter-annual installments in the amount prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 32-
988 and amendments thereto.  If payment is in installments, the license shall not be issued until 
the final installment has been paid.  A person making installment payments shall not be required 
to obtain the appropriate annual license, and each installment payment shall be deemed to be 
such an annual license of a period of one year following the date of the last installment payment 
made.  If an installment payment is not received within 30 days after it is due and owing, the 
secretary may consider the payments in default and may retain any payments previously 
received.  Any lifetime license issued to a Kansas resident shall not be made invalid by reason of 
the holder thereof subsequently residing outside the state of Kansas.  Any nonresident holder of a 
Kansas lifetime hunting or combination hunting and fishing license shall be eligible under the 
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same conditions as a Kansas resident for a big game or wild turkey permit upon proper 
application to the secretary.  Any nonresident holder of a lifetime fishing license issued before 
July l, l989, shall be eligible under the same conditions as a Kansas resident for a big game or 
wild turkey permit upon proper application to the secretary. 

(b) For the purposes of subsection (a), the term Aresident@ shall have the meaning defined in 
K.S.A. 32-701, and amendments thereto, except that a person shall have maintained that person=s 
place of permanent abode in this state for a period of not less than one year immediately 
preceding the person=s application for a lifetime fishing, hunting or furharvester or combination 
hunting and fishing license. 

(c) (1)  Upon request of the secretary of social and rehabilitation services, the secretary of 
wildlife and parks shall not issue a lifetime fishing, hunting or furharvester or combination 
hunting and fishing license to an applicant except as provided in this subsection.  The secretary 
of social and rehabilitation services may make such a request if, at the time of the request, the 
applicant: 

(A)  owed arrearages under a support order in a title IV-D case being administered by the 
secretary of social and rehabilitation services; 

(B)  had outstanding a warrant or subpoena, directed to the applicant, in a title IV-D case 
being administered by the secretary of social and rehabilitation services. 

(C)  owes arrearages under a support order, as reported to the secretary of social and 
rehabilitation services by the court trustee; or 

(D)  has failed, after appropriate notice, to comply with a subpoena directed to the individual 
by the court trustee as reported to the secretary of social and rehabilitation services by the court 
trustee. 

(2)  Upon receiving a release from an authorized agent of the secretary of social and 
rehabilitation services or the court trustee, the secretary of wildlife and parks may issue the 
lifetime fishing, hunting or furharvester or combination hunting and fishing license.  The 
applicant shall have the burden of obtaining and delivering the release. 

(3)  The secretary of social and rehabilitation services shall issue a release upon request if, as 
appropriate: 

(A) The arrearages are paid in full or a tribunal of competent jurisdiction has determined that 
no arrearages are owed; 

(B)  an income withholding order has been served upon the applicant's current employer or 
payor; 

(C)  an agreement has been completed or an order has been entered setting minimum 
payments to defray the arrearages, together with receipt of the first minimum payment;  

(D) the applicant has complied with the warrant or subpoena or the warrant or subpoena has 
been quashed or withdrawn; or 

(E)  the court trustee notifies the secretary of social and rehabilitation services that the 
applicant has paid the arrearages in full or has complied with the subpoena or the subpoena has 
been quashed or withdrawn. 

(d)(1)  Upon request of the secretary of social and rehabilitation services, the secretary of 
wildlife and parks shall suspend a lifetime fishing, hunting or furharvester or combination 
hunting and fishing license to a licensee as provided in this subsection.  The secretary of social 
and rehabilitation services may make such a request if, at the time of the request, the applicant 
owed arrearages under a support order or had outstanding a warrant or subpoena as stated in 
subsection (c)(1). 

(2)  Upon receiving a release from an authorized agent of the secretary of social and 
rehabiliatation services or the court trustee, the secretary of wildlife and parks may reinstate the 
lifetime fishing, hunting or furharvester or combination hunting and fishing license.  The 
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licensee shall have the burden of obtaining and delivering the release. 
(3)  The secretary of social and rehabilitation services shall issue a release upon release upon 

request if the requirements of subsection (c)(3) are met. 
(e)  Nothing in subsection (c) or (d) shall be construed to require or permit the secretary of 

wildlife and parks to determine any issue related to a child support order or related to the title 
IV-D case including to resolve questions of mistaken identity or determine the adequacy of any 
notice relating to subsection (c) or (d) that the secretary of wildlife and parks provides to the 
applicant. 

(f)  "Title IV-D" means part D of title IV of the federal social security act (42 U.S.C. sec. 651 
et.seq.) and amendments thereto, as in effect on December 31, 2001, relating to child support 
enforcement services. 

(g)  The secretary, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto, may adopt 
rules and regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of this section. 

History:  L. 1982, ch. 171, sec. l; L. 1987, ch. 140, sec. 1; L. 1987, ch. 295, sec. 3; L. 1987, 
ch. 141, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 48, sec. 84; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 67; L. 1997, ch. 182, sec. 61; L. 
1999, ch. 120, sec. 2; L. 2002, ch. 5, sec. 1; L. 2004, ch. 99, sec. 4; L. 2007, ch.     , sec. 5; July 
1. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-104m. 
 

32-931.  Handicapped hunting and fishing permit.  (a)  Whenever a disabled person is 
unable by reason of physical infirmity to hunt and fish in the normal manner, the secretary may 
issue a handicapped hunting and fishing permit upon receipt of the fee prescribed pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988, permitting such person to hunt and fish from land or water vehicles, 
but such permit shall not authorize any person to shoot from any highway, as defined in K.S.A. 
8-1424 and amendments thereto. 

(b)  The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments 
thereto, rules and regulations necessary to implement this section. 

History:  L. 1974, ch. 173, sec. 3; L. 1978, ch. 152, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 68; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-154d. 

 
32-932.  Physical disability, crossbow permits. (a) Any person having a permanent 

disability to the extent that such person cannot physically use a conventional long bow or 
compound bow, as certified by a person licensed to practice the healing arts in any state, shall be 
authorized to hunt and take deer, antelope, elk or wild turkey with a crossbow. 

(b)  The secretary of wildlife and parks shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and 
amendments thereto rules and regulations requiring permits to hunt deer, antelope, elk or wild 
turkey pursuant to subsection (a) and providing for the approval of applicants for such permits 
and the issuance thereof.  In addition, the secretary may adopt rules and regulations limiting the 
times and areas for hunting and taking deer, antelope, elk and wild turkey and limiting the 
number of deer, antelope, elk and wild turkey which may be taken pursuant to subsection (a). 

(c)  Falsely obtaining or using a permit authorized by this section is a class C misdemeanor. 
History:  L. 1989, ch. 117, sec. 1; L. 1997, ch. 127, sec. 1; L. 2002, ch. 96, sec. 2; July l. 

 
32-933.  Physical or visual disability; assistance permit.  (a) Any person having a 

permanent physical or visual disability such that the person cannot safely hunt or fish in 
accordance with law and rules and regulations of the department, as certified by a person 
licensed to practice the healing arts in any state or a person licensed to practice optometry in any 
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state, shall be eligible to obtain a disability assistance permit.  The permit shall allow the 
permitholder to designate another person to take, on behalf of and while accompanied by the 
permitholder, the permitholder's legal limit of game or fish.  The person designated by the 
permitholder shall not be required to hold any licenses, permits, stamps or any other issues of the 
department otherwise required for the activity being engaged in but shall remain subject to all 
other laws and rules and regulations of the department for the activity being engaged in.  The 
permitholder shall accompany into the field and be in close proximity to the person designated 
by the permitholder.  The person designated by the permitholder shall not be a person whose 
fishing, hunting or furharvesting license is currently suspended, restricted or revoked.  On the 
determination of the secretary, the disability assistance permit may designate the hunting or 
fishing activity for which assistance to the permitholder may be provided. 

(b)  The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto, 
rules and regulations providing for the approval of applicants for permits pursuant to subsection 
(a) and for the issuance of such permits. 
  (c)  Falsely obtaining or using a permit authorized by this section is a class C misdemeanor. 
  History:  L. 1997, ch. 127, sec. 2; L. 2002, ch. 96, sec. 3; L. 2004, ch. 75, sec. 1; July 1. 
 

32-934 to 32-936.  Reserved. 
 

32-937.  Big game permits. (a) When used in this section: 
(1)  "Landowner" means a resident owner of farm or ranch land of 80 acres or more located in 

the state of Kansas. 
(2)  "Tenant" means an individual who is actively engaged in the agricultural operation of 80 

acres or more of Kansas farm or ranch land for the purpose of producing agricultural 
commodities or livestock and who: (A) Has a substantial financial investment in the production 
of agricultural commodities or livestock on such farm or ranch land and the potential to realize 
substantial financial benefit from such production; or (B) is a bone fide manager having an 
overall responsibility to direct, supervise and conduct such agricultural operation and has the 
potential to realize substantial benefit from such production in the form of salary, shares of such 
production or some other economic incentive based upon such production. 

(3)  "Regular season" means a statewide big game hunting season authorized annually which 
may include one or more seasons restricted to specific types of equipment. 

(4)  "Special season" means a big game hunting season in addition to a regular season 
authorized on an irregular basis or at different times of the year other than the regular season. 

(5)  "General permit" means a big game hunting permit available to Kansas residents not 
applying for big game permits as a landowner or tenant. 

(6)  "Nonresident landowner" means a nonresident of the state of Kansas who owns farm or 
ranch land of 80 acres or more which is located in the state of Kansas. 

(7)   "Nonresident permit" means a big game hunting permit available to individuals who are 
not Kansas residents. 

(b)  Except as otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary and in 
addition to any other license, permit or stamp required by law or rules and regulations of the 
secretary, a valid big game permit and game tags are required to take any big game in this state. 

(c)  The fee for big game permits and game tags shall be the amount prescribed pursuant to 
K.S.A. 32-988, and amendments thereto. 

(d)  A big game permit and game tags are valid throughout the state or such portion thereof as 
provided by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 
and amendments thereto. 

(e)  Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a big game 
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permit and game tags are valid from the date of issuance and shall expire at the end of the season 
for which issued. 

(f)  The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto, 
rules and regulations for each regular or special big game hunting season and for each 
management unit regarding big game permits and game tags.  The secretary is hereby authorized 
to issue big game permits and game tags pertaining to the taking of big game.  Separate big game 
permits and game tags may be issued for each species of big game.  No big game permits or 
game tags shall be issued until the secretary has established, by rules and regulations adopted in 
accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto, a regular or special big game hunting 
season. 

(g)  The secretary may authorize, by rule and regulation adopted in accordance with K.S.A. 
32-805, and amendments thereto, landowner or tenant hunt-on-your-own-land big game permits. 
 Such permits and applications may contain provisions and restrictions as prescribed by rule and 
regulation adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto. 

(h)  The secretary may authorize, by rule and regulation adopted in accordance with K.S.A. 
32-805 and amendments thereto, special landowner or tenant hunt-on-your-own-land deer 
permits.  Such special permits shall not be issued to landowners or tenants in possession of a 
hunt-on-your-own-land deer permit as authorized in subsection (g).  The special permits shall be 
transferable to any immediate family member of the landowner or tenant, whether or not a 
Kansas resident, or the permit may be retained for use by the landowner or tenant.  The special 
permits shall be transferable through the secretary at the request of the landowner or tenant and 
by paying the required fee for a general deer permit.  The special permits and applications may 
contain provisions and restrictions as prescribed by rule and regulation adopted by the secretary 
in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto.  For the purposes of this subsection, 
"member of the immediate family" means lineal or collateral ascendants or descendants, and 
their spouses. 

(i)  Fifty percent of the big game permits authorized for a regular season in any management 
unit shall be issued to landowners or tenants, provided that a limited number of big game permits 
have been authorized and landowner or tenant hunt-on-your-own-land big game permits for that 
unit have not been authorized.  A landowner or tenant is not eligible to apply for a big game 
permit as a landowner or as a tenant in a management unit other than the unit or units which 
includes such landowner's or tenant's land.  Any big game permits not issued to landowners or 
tenants within the time period prescribed by rule and regulation may be issued without regard to 
the 50% limitation. 

(j)  Members of the immediate family who are domiciled with a landowner or tenant may 
apply for a resident big game permit as a landowner or as a tenant, but the total number of 
landowner or tenant hunt-on-your-own-land or special hunt-on-your-own-land permits issued to 
a landowner or tenant and a landowner's or tenant's immediate family for each big game species 
shall not exceed one permit for each 80 acres owned by such landowner or operated by such 
tenant.  The secretary may require proof of ownership or tenancy from individuals applying for a 
big game permit as a landowner or as a tenant. 

(k)  The secretary may issue permits for deer to non-resident landowners, but any such permit 
shall be restricted to hunting only on lands owned by the nonresident landowner.  

(l)  The secretary may issue deer hunting permits to nonresidents, subject to the following 
limitations: 

(1)  The total number of nonresident deer firearm permits of each type specified by rules and 
regulations that may be issued for a deer season in a management unit and which may be used to 
take antlered deer shall for the year 2004, not be less than 7% nor more than 14%; for the year 
2005, not be less than 8% nor more than 16%; for the year 2006, not be less than 9% nor more 
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than 18%; and for any year thereafter, not be less than 10% nor more than 20%, of the total 
number of resident deer firearm permits of such type authorized for such season in such 
management unit; and 

(2)  the total number of nonresident deer archery permits of each type specified by rules and 
regulations that may be issued for a deer season in a management unit and which may be used to 
take antlered deer shall for the year 2004, not be less than 9.5% nor more than 19%; for the year 
2005, not be less than 10.5% nor more than 21%; for the year 2006, not be less than 11.5% nor 
more than 23%; and for any year thereafter, not be less than 12.5% nor more than 25%, of the 
total number of resident deer archery permits of such type authorized for such season in such 
management unit. 

Nonresident deer permits may be restricted to a particular deer species without regard to 
resident deer permit species restrictions, or lack thereof. 

If an unlimited number of resident deer permits that may be used to take antlered deer is 
authorized for a deer season or management unit, the percentage limitations of subsections (l)(1) 
and (l)(2) shall be based upon the total number of resident firearm permits that may be used to 
take antlered deer and the total number of archery permits that may be used to take antlered deer, 
respectively, issued in the management unit during the most recent preceding similar season. If 
in a management unit there are an unlimited number of resident permits that may be used to take 
only antlerless deer, the secretary, in the secretary's discretion and in accordance with rules and 
regulations, may authorize the issuance of an unlimited number of nonresident permits that may 
be used to take only antlerless deer. 

(m)  Any nonresident deer hunting permits authorized under subsection (l) that remain 
unissued due to an insufficient number of nonresident applications as of a deadline determined 
by the secretary, shall be made available to residents. 

(n)  The secretary shall issue nonresident deer permits pursuant to subsection (l) to 
landowners and tenants applying for such permits, except that the total number of nonresident 
deer permits of each type specified by rules and regulations that may be issued to landowners 
and tenants for a deer season in a management unit shall not exceed 50% of the total number of 
nonresident deer permits of such a type authorized for such season in such management unit.  A 
nonresident deer permit obtained by a landowner or tenant shall retain the permit=s nonresident 
and species designation, except that such permit shall only be valid within a designated county 
and one additional county where the qualifying landowner=s or tenant=s lands are located.  The 
permit shall be transferable, with or without consideration, to any resident or nonresident 
through the secretary at the request of the landowner or tenant.  A landowner or tenant 
purchasing a nonresident deer permit pursuant to this subsection shall pay the established fee for 
a nonresident deer permit.  

The provisions of this subsection shall expire on June 30, 2007. 
(o) On or before January 31, 2005: 
(1) The secretary, by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and 

amendments thereto, shall establish not less than nine archery management units for deer.  To the 
extent possible, boundaries of firearm management units for deer.  To the extent possible, 
boundaries of firearm management units for deer shall be used in establishing the boundaries of 
such archery management units. 

(2) The secretary shall submit to the house standing committee on tourism and parks and the 
senate standing committee on natural resources a report regarding the archery management units 
established pursuant to subsection (o)(1).  

(p)  A big game permit shall state the species, number and sex of the big game which may be 
killed by the permittee.  The secretary may furnish an informational card with any big game 
permit and, at the conclusion of the open season, each permittee receiving such card shall return 
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the card to the department, giving such information as is called for on the card. 
(q)  The permittee shall permanently affix the game tag to the carcass of any big game 

immediately after killing and thereafter, if required by rules and regulations, the permittee shall 
immediately take such killed game to a check station as required in the rules and regulations, 
where a check station tag shall be affixed to the game carcass if the kill is legal.  The tags shall 
remain affixed until the carcass is consumed or processed for storage. 

(r)  The provisions of this section do not apply to big game animals sold in surplus property 
disposal sales of department exhibit herds or big game animals legally taken outside this state. 

History:  L. 1963, ch. 245, sec. 4; L. 1965, ch. 270, sec. 1; L. 1969, ch. 214, sec. 2; L. 1973, 
ch. 178, sec. 4; L. 1975, ch. 227, sec. l; L. 1978, ch. 152, sec. 11; L. 1981, ch. 176, sec. 3; L. 
1981, ch. 178, sec. 1; L. 1981, ch. 179, sec. 1; L. 1985, ch. 135, sec. 1; L. 1986, ch. 149, sec. 3; 
L. 1986, ch. 151, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 69; L. 1990, ch. 139, sec. 1; L. 1994, ch. 245, sec. 
l; L. 1997, ch. 127, sec. 3; L. 1998, ch. 180, sec. 1; L. 1999, ch. 98, sec. 1; L. 2000, ch. 104, sec. 
1; L. 2000, ch. 159, sec. 5; L. 2002, ch. 96 sec. 4; L. 2003, ch. 121, sec. 1; L. 2004, ch. 99, sec. 5; 
Jan. 1, 2005. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-110a, 32-178, 32-179. 
 

32-938.  Same; refund of fees to certain military personnel.  The department of wildlife 
and parks may reissue big game or turkey limited draw permits to military personnel forced to 
forfeit their limited draw permit due to deployment in the event of armed conflict or war upon 
application and payment of the prescribed fee to the department and sufficient proof of such 
deployment.  The permit, if reissued, shall be the same type, season and species permit that was 
forfeited and shall be valid during the next available hunting season upon return from the armed 
conflict or war by the applicant. 
  History: L. 1991, ch. 105, sec. 1; L. 2004, ch. 99, sec. 6; July 1.     
 

32-939.  Migratory waterfowl habitat stamp. (a) As used in this section, "migratory 
waterfowl" means any wild goose, duck or merganser.   

(b)  Except as otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary and in 
addition to any other license, permit or stamp required by law or rules and regulations of the 
secretary, a valid state migratory waterfowl habitat stamp is required to hunt any migratory 
waterfowl in this state. 

(c)  The provisions of subsection (b) do not apply to hunting, by legal means, by a person not 
required by K.S.A. 32-919 to hold a hunting license. 

(d)  The stamp required by this section is valid throughout the state. 
(e)  The stamp required by this section is valid from the date of issuance and expires at 12 

midnight on June 30 following its issuance. 
(f)  Each migratory waterfowl habitat stamp shall be validated by the signature of the stamp 

holder written across the face of such stamp. 
History: L. 1987, ch. 135, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 70; L. 1997, ch. 108, sec. 1; July 1. 

 
Source or prior law:  32-1,110, 32-1,lll 
 

32-940.  Reserved.  
 

32-941.  Commercial harvest permits. (a) Except as otherwise authorized by law or rules 
and regulations of the secretary, a commercial harvest permit is required, in addition to any other 
license, permit or stamp required by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, to take any 
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wildlife in this state on a commercial basis. 
(b)  Subsection (a) does not apply to: 
(1)  A person acting within the scope of a valid furharvester or valid fur dealer license issued 

to such person; or 
(2)  a private water fishing impoundment. 
(c)  Subject to the requirements of law and rules and regulations of the secretary, a person 

may obtain a commercial harvest permit from the secretary or the secretary's designee by making 
application and paying the fee prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-988, and 
amendments thereto. 

(d)  The area and period of time for which a commercial harvest permit is valid shall be in 
accordance with rules and regulations of the secretary. 

(e) Any person having a valid hunting license or any person not required to have a hunting 
license pursuant to K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-919, and amendments thereto, may annually obtain a 
special permit to harvest prairie rattlesnakes on a commercial basis upon payment of the fee 
prescribed therefor by K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-988, and amendments thereto.  Any person may 
annually obtain a special nonfirearm permit to harvest prairie rattlesnakes on a commercial basis 
upon payment of the fee prescribed therefor by K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-988, and amendments 
thereto.  

(f)  The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-805 and amendments 
thereto, rules and regulations necessary to implement, administer and enforce the provisions of 
this section and to govern the taking of wildlife on a commercial basis except that, for calendar 
year 1993, the following provisions shall govern the commercial taking, selling, buying, trading 
and possession of prairie rattlesnakes: 

(1)  The harvest and possession of prairie rattlesnakes for commercial purposes shall occur 
only between the effective date of this act and June 30; 

(2)  the possession limit shall not exceed 30 prairie rattlesnakes; 
(3)  prairie rattlesnakes may be taken only by hand, snake hook or snake catchers; 
(4)  prairie rattlesnakes legally taken by a commercial prairie rattlesnake harvest permittee 

may be sold to: (A) A commercial prairie rattlesnake dealer; (B) a person legally authorized by 
another state to purchase prairie rattlesnakes; or (C) any other person if the prairie rattlesnakes 
are not purchased for resale or sold; 

(5)  any person desiring to purchase prairie rattlesnakes for resale or export from the state 
shall obtain a commercial prairie rattlesnake dealer permit; 

(6)  a commercial prairie rattlesnake dealer may possess and sell legally acquired prairie 
rattlesnakes without regard to time or numbers; 

(7)  the cost of a commercial prairie rattlesnake harvest permit for any person in possession of 
a valid hunting license issued to such person or any person not required to have a hunting license 
pursuant to K.S.A. 32-919 and amendments thereto shall be $5; 

(8)  the cost of a commercial prairie rattlesnake harvest permit for any person without a valid 
hunting license shall be $20; 

(9)  the cost of a commercial prairie rattlesnake dealer permit shall be $50; and  
(10)  commercial prairie rattlesnake harvest permittees and commercial prairie rattlesnake 

dealer permittees shall report permit activities if requested by the department. 
(g)  Rules and regulations adopted by the secretary pursuant to this section may include, with 

regard to fishing on a commercial basis, establishment and designation of: 
(1)  Certain portions of the Missouri river bordering on this state and certain streams, lakes 

and impoundments, or parts thereof, in this state to be open to commercial fishing for such 
period of time as the secretary specifies; 

(2)  methods and equipment for the taking of fish on a commercial basis; 
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(3)  inspections and frequency of inspections; 
(4)  size and specifications of seines, nets, traps and other commercial fishing equipment and 

methods of tagging such equipment; 
(5)  procedures for handling, sale or exchange of fish taken on a commercial basis; 
(6)  species of fish subject to commercial fishing and any size or number restrictions; and 
(7)  a bonding requirement for commercial fishing. 
The secretary may limit commercial fishing to contract only, and the contractor shall provide 

such reports and information as required by the secretary.  In addition to any other penalty 
prescribed by law for a violation of law or rules and regulations of the secretary pertaining to 
commercial fishing, the secretary may revoke a commercial fishing contract or refuse to issue 
such contract. 

History: L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 72;  L. 1993, ch. 139, sec. 1; April 15. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-183, 32-185, 32-188. 
 

32-942.  Fur dealer licenses. (a) Except as otherwise provided by law or rules and 
regulations of the secretary, a valid fur dealer license is required to buy, purchase or trade in raw 
furs, pelts, skins or carcasses of furbearing animals. 

(b)  Any person may secure a fur dealer license from the secretary or the secretary's designee 
by making application and paying the fee prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988. 

(c)  Any person who buys, purchases or trades in raw furs, pelts, skins or carcasses of 
furbearing animals shall keep a complete up-to-date record, upon forms provided by the 
secretary, of such information as required by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in 
accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto. 

(d)  The secretary may establish, by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. 
l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto, conditions and procedures under which a person 
may buy, purchase or trade in raw furs, pelts, skins or carcass of furbearing animals. 

History:  L. 1943, ch. 171, sec. 8; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 73; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-145, 32-163. 
 

32-943.  Controlled shooting areas; definitions.  As used in K.S.A. 32-943 through 32-950, 
and amendments thereto, unless the context otherwise requires:   

(a)  "Game bird" means pheasant, quail, partridge, hand-raised mallard duck, prairie chicken, 
grouse, exotic game bird or any other bird, except wild turkey, hunted by sportspersons. 

(b)  "Propagated" means birds which are pen raised, birds raised from eggs purchased for 
purposes of raising such birds, chicks and full-grown birds purchased to be released in the area, 
as well as birds hatched from eggs produced on the area. 

History:  L. 1955, ch. 230, sec. l; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 74;  L. 1999, ch. 16, sec. 1; L. 2004, 
ch. 99, sec. 7; Jan. l, 2005. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-311. 
 

32-944.  Same; land requirements.  Any person owning, holding or controlling, by lease or 
otherwise, for a term of five or more years, any contiguous tract of land having an area of not 
less than 160 acres nor more than l,280 acres, who desires to establish a controlled shooting area 
to propagate and shoot game birds thereon shall make application to the secretary for a license to 
operate a controlled shooting area.  If the controlled shooting area is to be used exclusively for 
the propagation and shooting of hand-raised mallard ducks, the area licensed may be less than 
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the 160 acres required above.  The application shall be accompanied by the fee prescribed 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988 and amendments thereto. 

History:  L. 1955, ch. 230, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 75; L. 1990, ch. 140, sec. 1; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-312. 
 

32-945.  Controlled shooting areas; license. (a)  Upon receipt of a new application for a 
license to operate a controlled shooting area, the secretary shall inspect: 

(l)  The proposed licensed area described in such application; 
(2)  the premises and facilities where game birds are to be propagated, raised and liberated; 
(3)  the cover for game birds on such area; and 
(4)  the ability of the applicants to operate a controlled shooting area. 
(b) Upon receipt of a renewal application for a license to operate a controlled shooting area, 

the secretary may inspect as provided in subsection (a). 
(c)  If the secretary finds that the area contains not less nor more than the number of acres 

required by K.S.A. 32-944 and amendments thereto, is contiguous and has the proper 
requirements and facilities for the operation of a controlled shooting area and that the issuing of 
the license will otherwise be in the public interest, the secretary may approve the application and 
issue the controlled shooting area license. 

(d)  A controlled shooting area license expires on June 30 of the operational year for which 
issued. 

(e)  The secretary shall limit controlled shooting areas so that the total acreage licensed as 
controlled shooting areas in a county does not exceed 3% of the total acreage of such county. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 230, sec. 3; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 76; L. 1990, ch. 140, sec. 2; L. 1993, 
ch. 185, sec. 4; L. 1998, ch. 180, sec. 2; L. 2000, ch. 94, sec. 1; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-313, 32-314, 32-321. 
 

32-946.  Same; shooting season; hunting licenses.  No person shall take any game bird upon 
a controlled shooting area by shooting in any manner except between September l and March 3l, 
both dates inclusive, of each year.  Controlled shooting area licensees may assess charges to 
persons hunting on the controlled shooting area, and such charges may include a fee per bird 
taken.  Every person hunting on a controlled shooting area shall possess a valid hunting license 
or controlled shooting area hunting license, if required by law. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 230, sec. 9; L. 1959, ch. 192, sec. l; L. 1969, ch. 216, sec. 2; L. 1989, 
ch. 118, sec. 77; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-319, 32-324. 
 

32-947.  Same; special deer permits.  (a)  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (g) 
of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-937, the secretary may issue to the licensee of a private membership 
licensed controlled shooting area special permits and game tags for the taking of deer for 
purchase by persons who are permitted by the licensee to hunt on such area.  The fee for each 
such permit shall be as prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988.  No permit or game tag 
issued to a licensee pursuant to this subsection shall be resold by such licensee at a price which 
exceeds the amount the licensee paid for such permit or game tag. 

(b)  The provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-937, and rules and regulations adopted 
thereunder, shall be applicable to any person to whom a special permit is issued pursuant to 
subsection (a).  Nothing in this section shall be construed as changing the distribution formula 
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for big game permits established by K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-937. 
(c)  The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments 

thereto, such rules and regulations as necessary to implement this section. 
History: L. 1988, ch. 129, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 78; July 1. 

 
Source or prior law:  32-326. 
 

32-948.  Same; rules and regulations. The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 
1989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto, rules and regulations for implementing, 
administering and enforcing the provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-943 through 32-950, 
including but not limited to signing requirements, tagging and banding requirements for released 
or harvested game birds, harvest restrictions, release requirements and reporting requirements. 

History:  L. 1955, ch. 230, sec. ll; L. 1959, ch. 193, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 79; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-315, 32-316, 32-317, 32-318, 32-321. 
 

32-949.  Same; actions against license.  The secretary may suspend, revoke, refuse to issue 
or refuse to renew any controlled shooting area license if the secretary finds that the licensed 
area, or the operator thereof, is not complying or does not comply with the provisions of K.S.A. 
1989 Supp. 32-943 through 32-950 or that the area is being operated in an unlawful or illegal 
manner.  Orders under this section and proceedings thereon shall be subject to the provisions of 
the Kansas administrative procedure act. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 230, sec. 12; L. 1988, ch. 356, sec. 71; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 80; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-322. 
 

32-950.  Same; judicial review of actions against license.    Any action of the secretary 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-949  is subject to review in accordance with the act for 
judicial review and civil enforcement of agency actions upon the petitioner's filing, with the 
clerk of the reviewing court, a bond with two or more sufficient sureties, conditioned on the 
payment of all costs of the review if the decision of the secretary is sustained. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 230, sec. 13; L. 1986, ch. 318, sec. 27; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 81; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-323. 
 

32-951.  Game breeder permit. (a) Except as provided further, a game breeder permit is 
required to engage in the business of raising and selling game birds, game animals, furbearing 
animals or such other wildlife as required by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in 
accordance with the K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto. 

(b)  Any person who desires to engage in the business described in subsection (a) may apply 
to the secretary for a game breeder permit.  The application shall give the name and residence of 
the applicant, the description of the premises, the number and kind of birds or animals which it is 
proposed to propagate and any other information required by the secretary.  The fee prescribed 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-988 and amendments thereto shall accompany the application. 

(c)  If the secretary determines that the application is made in good faith and that the premises 
are suitable for engaging in the business described in subsection (a), the secretary may issue such 
permit. The permit shall expire on June 30 of each year.  

(d)  Game Breeders shall make such reports of their activities to the secretary as required by 
rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-805 and 
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amendments thereto.  In addition to any other penalty prescribed by law, failure to make such 
reports or to comply with the laws of the state of Kansas or rules and regulations of the secretary 
shall be grounds for the secretary to refuse to issue, refuse to renew, suspend or revoke such 
permit. 

(e)  The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-805 and amendments 
thereto, such rules and regulations as necessary to implement the provisions of this section. 

(f)  Any person who is engaged in the business of raising domesticated deer shall not be 
required to have a game breeder permit as required by this section.  As used in this section, 
"Domesticated deer" means any member of the family cervidae which was legally obtained and 
is being sold or raised in a confined area for breeding stock; for any carcass, skin or part of such 
animal; for exhibition; or for companionship. 

(g)  The secretary, on a quarterly basis, shall transmit to the livestock commissioner a current 
list of persons issued a game breeder permit issued pursuant to this section who are raising or 
selling any member of the family cervidae. 

(h)  Any person holding a game breeder permit from the secretary is hereby authorized to 
recapture any game bird that such game breeder is permitted to raise or sell whenever any such 
game bird has escaped from confinement for any reason.  The authorized area for such recapture 
is hereby limited to a one-quarter mile radius of the game breeder’s operation from which the 
escape from confinement occurred, provided the game breeder has the prior approval of the 
owner of the land upon which the recapture will occur and has notified the department prior to 
the recapture.     

History: L. 1943, ch. 171, sec. 4; L. 1978, ch. 152, sec. 7; L. 1987, ch. 138, sec. 3; L. 1989, 
ch. 118, sec. 82; L. 1991, ch. 106, sec. 1; L. 1993, ch. 143, sec. 4; L. 2007, ch.   , sec. 1; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-124, 32-125, 32-159. 
 

32-952.  Scientific, educational or exhibition permit.  (a) A scientific, educational or 
exhibition permit is required to collect, for scientific, educational or exhibition purposes, any 
wildlife protected by law or rules and regulations of the secretary. 

(b)  Any person who desires to engage in any activity described in subsection (a) shall apply 
to the secretary for a scientific, educational or exhibition permit.  The fee prescribed pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988 shall accompany the application.  Upon receipt of the application and 
fee, the secretary may issue to the applicant a scientific, educational or exhibition permit to 
collect specimens of wildlife protected by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, subject to 
rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and 
amendments thereto. 

(c)  Wildlife protected by law or rules and regulations of the secretary may be possessed at 
any time by a person holding a scientific, educational or exhibition permit and may be shipped or 
transported within or without the state, by permission of the secretary.  Application for shipment 
or transportation shall state the name and address of the person causing the shipping or 
transporting, the purposes for shipping or transporting, the number and kinds of specimens to be 
shipped, whether living or dead, and the name and address of the person to whom shipped or 
transported. 

(d)  The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments 
thereto, such rules and regulations as necessary to implement this section. 

History:  L. 1911, ch. 198, sec. 25; L. 1913, ch. 199, sec. 4; L. 1921, ch. 196, sec. 12; R.S. 
1923, 32-123; L. 1978, ch. 152, sec. 5; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 83; July. 
 
Source or prior law:  L. 1897, ch. 135, sec. 4; 32-123. 
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32-953.  Rehabilitation permit. (a) Except as otherwise provided by law or rules and 

regulations of the secretary, a rehabilitation permit is required to perform wildlife rehabilitation 
services. 

(b)  The provisions of subsection (a) do not apply to a licensed veterinarian. 
(c)  Any person who desires to perform wildlife rehabilitation services may apply to the 

secretary for a rehabilitation permit.  The fee prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988 
shall accompany the application.  If the secretary determines that the applicant possesses 
adequate facilities for and knowledge of wildlife rehabilitation, the secretary may issue a 
rehabilitation permit under such terms as the secretary considers necessary. 

(d)  The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments 
thereto, such rules and regulations as necessary to implement the provisions of this section. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 84; July l. 
 

32-954.  Field trial permit or commercial dog training permit.  (a) A field trial permit or 
commercial dog training permit is required to use wild or pen-raised game birds, game animals, 
coyotes, furbearing animals or other wildlife in a field trial or in training dogs on a commercial 
basis. 

(b)  Any person who desires to engage in any activity described in subsection (a) may apply 
to the secretary for a field trial permit or commercial dog training permit.  The fee prescribed 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988 shall accompany the application.  Upon receipt of the 
application and fee, the secretary may issue the requested permit to the applicant. 

(c)  Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a field trial 
permit or commercial dog training permit is valid from the date issued and expires on December 
31 following its issuance. 

(d)  The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp.32-805 and amendments 
thereto, such rules and regulations as necessary to implement this section.  The secretary may 
adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto, rules and 
regulations providing for the use of wild or pen-raised game birds, game animals, coyotes, 
furbearing animals or other wildlife in field trials and in training dogs, establishing conditions 
and restrictions regulating such use and providing for the hunting, shooting and taking of banded 
pen-raised game birds for a certain time on a specified area by a dog trainer or by participants in 
a field trial event sponsored by a recognized group. (e)  In addition to any other penalty 
prescribed by law, failure to comply with the wildlife laws of this state or rules and regulations 
of the secretary shall be grounds for the secretary to refuse to issue, refuse to renew, suspend or 
revoke a field trial permit or commercial dog training permit. 

History:  L. 1963, ch. 250, sec. 2; L. 1969, ch. 213, sec. 2; L. 1979, ch. 117, sec. 3; L. 1989, 
ch. 118, sec. 85; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-174, 32-175. 
 

32-955.  Wildlife damage control permit. (a)  A valid wildlife damage control permit is 
required to use sodium fluoroacetate, commonly called formula l080.  Such permit may be 
obtained from the secretary and shall be signed by the secretary and the extension specialist in 
wildlife damage control at Kansas state university.  No such permit shall be issued until the 
extension specialist in wildlife damage control approves and recommends the use of sodium 
fluoroacetate. 

(b)  The secretary may, be rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. l989 
Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto, require wildlife damage control permits for wildlife 
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damage control by use of poison, poisonous gas, smoke or ferrets or by use of any smoke gun or 
other device for forcing smoke or any other asphyxiating or deadly gas or liquid into the holes, 
dens, runways or houses of wildlife. 

(c)  A permit may be issued pursuant to this section upon application to the secretary and 
payment of the fee prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988. 

(d)  The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments 
thereto, rules and regulations to administer, implement and enforce the provisions of this section. 

History: L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 96; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-156. 
 

32-956.  Wildlife importation permits. (a) The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with 
K.S.A. l992 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto, rules and regulations concerning the 
prohibition of certain wildlife from the waters and lands in this state.  Such rules and regulations: 

(1) Shall contain a list consisting of wildlife prohibited; 
(2) shall provide for certain exemptions concerning the use of such wildlife for an 

experimental, scientific or display purpose and for the issuance of wildlife importation permits 
therefor; and 

(3) may provide for certain exemptions concerning the use of such wildlife for such other 
purposes as authorized by the secretary under such conditions and restrictions as the secretary 
deems necessary and for the issuance of wildlife importation permits therefor. 

(b) A fee may be prescribed for wildlife importation permits pursuant to K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 
32-988 and amendments thereto.  

History:  L. 1976, ch. 201, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 95; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 5; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-108a, 32-111a, 32-115a, 32-145, 32-164a. 
 

32-957.  Nongame and endangered species conservation act; title. K.S.A. 32-957 through 
32-963, 32-1009 through 32-1012, 32-1033 and sections 3 and 4, and amendments thereto, shall 
be known and may be cited as the nongame and endangered species conservation act. 

History: L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. l; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 88; L. 1997, ch. 113, sec. 1; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-501. 
 

32-958.  Same; definitions.  As used in the nongame and endangered species conservation 
act: 

(a)  "Conserve," "conserving" and "conservation" mean the use of all methods and procedures 
for the purposes of increasing the number of individuals within species and populations of 
wildlife up to the optimum carrying capacity of their habitat and maintaining such numbers.  
Such methods and procedures include, but are not limited to, all activities associated with 
scientific resources management such as research, census, law enforcement, habitat acquisition 
and maintenance, propagation, live trapping, transplantation, regulated taking and, when and 
where appropriate, the periodic or total protection of species or populations of wildlife.  With 
respect to threatened species and endangered species, the terms mean the use of all methods and 
procedures, including but not limited to those described above, which are necessary to bring any 
threatened or endangered species to the point at which the methods, procedures and measures 
provided for such species pursuant to the nongame and endangered species conservation act are 
no longer necessary. 

(b)  "Ecosystem" means a system of living organisms and their environment, each influencing 
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the existence of the other and both necessary for the maintenance of life. 
(c)  "Endangered species" means any species of wildlife whose continued existence as a 

viable component of the state's wild fauna is determined to be in jeopardy.  That term also 
includes any species of wildlife determined to be an endangered species pursuant to Pub. L. No. 
93-205 (December 28, l973), the endangered species act of l973, and amendments thereto. 

(d)  "Nongame species" means any species of wildlife not legally classified a game species, 
furbearer, threatened species or an endangered species by statute or by rule and regulation 
adopted pursuant to statute. 

(e)  "Optimum carrying capacity" means that point at which a given habitat can support 
healthy populations of wildlife species, having regard to the total ecosystem, without 
diminishing the ability of the habitat to continue that function. 

(f)  "Threatened species" means any species of wildlife which appears likely, within the 
foreseeable future, to become an endangered species.  That term also includes any species of 
wildlife determined to be a threatened species pursuant to Pub. L. No. 93-205 (December 28, 
l973), the endangered species act of l973, and amendments thereto. 

(g)  "Wildlife" means any member of the animal kingdom, including, without limitation, any 
mammal, fish, bird, amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other invertebrate, and 
includes any part, product, egg or offspring thereof, or the dead body or parts thereof. 

History: L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 89; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-502. 
 

32-959.  Same; nongame species. (a)  The secretary shall conduct investigations on nongame 
species in order to develop information relating to population, distribution, habitat needs, 
limiting factors and other biological and ecological data to determine conservation measures 
necessary for their continued ability to sustain themselves successfully.  On the basis of such 
information and determinations, the secretary shall adopt rules and regulations pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-963 which contain a list of the nongame species deemed by the secretary 
to be in need of conservation and shall develop conservation programs pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 
Supp. 32-962 which are designed to insure the continued ability of such nongame species to 
perpetuate themselves successfully.  The secretary shall conduct ongoing investigations of 
nongame species. 

(b)  The secretary shall adopt such rules and regulations pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-
963 which establish limitations relating to taking, possessing, transporting, exporting, 
processing, selling, offering for sale or shipping as are deemed necessary by the secretary to 
conserve such nongame species. 

History:  L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. 3; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 90; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-503. 
 

32-960.  Same; threatened or endangered species. (a)  The secretary shall determine 
whether any species of wildlife indigenous to the state is a threatened species or an endangered 
species in this state because of any of the following factors: 

(l)  The present or threatened destruction, modification or curtailment of its habitat or range; 
(2)  the overutilization of such species for commercial, sporting, scientific, educational or 

other purposes; 
(3)  disease or predation; 
(4)  the inadequacy of existing regulatory mechanisms; or 
(5)  the presence of other natural or man-made factors affecting its continued existence within 
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this state. 
(b)(l)  The secretary shall make the determinations required by subsection (a) on the basis of 

the best scientific, commercial and other data available to the secretary and after consultation, as 
appropriate, with federal agencies, other interested state agencies and interested persons and 
organizations. 

(2)  In determining whether any species of wildlife is a threatened species or an endangered 
species in this state, the secretary shall take into consideration those actions, if any, being carried 
out or about to be carried out by the federal government, by other states, by other agencies of this 
state or political subdivisions thereof, or by nongovernmental persons or organizations which 
may affect the species under consideration. 

(3)  Species of wildlife which occur in this state and which have been determined to be 
threatened species or endangered species pursuant to Pub. L. No. 93-205 (December 28, l973), 
the endangered species act of l973, and amendments thereto, shall receive full consideration by 
the secretary to determine whether each such species is a threatened or an endangered species in 
this state. 

(c)(l)  The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto, 
rules and regulations pursuant to K.S.A. 32-963 and amendments thereto which contain a list of 
all species of wildlife indigenous to this state which have been determined to be endangered 
species pursuant to this section and a list of all such species which have been determined to be 
threatened species pursuant to this section.   Each list shall refer to the species contained therein 
by their scientific and common names, if any, and shall specify with respect to each such species 
the portion of the range of such species within this state in which it is threatened or endangered. 

(2)  The secretary may not add a species to nor remove a species from any such list unless the 
secretary has first: 

(A)  Published a public notice of such proposed action; 
(B)  notified the governor of any state which shares a common border with this state and in 

which the subject species is known to occur that such action is being proposed; and  
(C)(i) in cases where the secretary determines that an emergency situation exists, published a 

public notice that such an emergency situation exists, together with a summary of facts that 
support such determination; or (ii) in all other cases, conducted public informational meetings to 
coincide with the scientific review outside the agency which will recommend action with regard 
to the addition of the species to or removal of the species from the list.  All documents within the 
control and custody of the secretary that pertain to adding the species to or removing the species 
from the list shall be made available to the public in a local repository, such as a public library, 
courthouse or regional office of the department.  The secretary shall also mail a notice of the 
proposed addition of the species to or removal of the species from the list to federal and state 
agencies and local and tribal governments that are or may be affected by results of the review 
and to all individuals and organizations that have requested notification of department action 
regarding the administration of this act.  The secretary shall also issue news releases to publicize 
the proposed addition of the species to or removal of the species from the list. 

(3)  Upon the petition of an interested person, the secretary shall conduct a review of any 
listed or unlisted species of wildlife proposed to be removed from or added to either of the lists 
adopted pursuant to this subsection (c), but only if the secretary makes a determination and 
publishes a public notice that such person has presented substantial evidence which warrants 
such a review.  Once the secretary has made a determination that a review is warranted, the 
process described in subsection (c)(2), including the conducting of a public information meeting, 
shall apply. 

(d)  Every five years the secretary shall conduct a review of the species listed pursuant to this 
act (except for those species listed pursuant to the federal endangered species act of 1973, as 
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amended) and shall submit any proposed changes in the listings to the following for 
consideration: (1) Federal and state agencies and local and tribal governments that are or may be 
affected by results of the change; and (2) all individuals and organizations that have requested 
notification of departmental action regarding administration of this act.  After at least 90 days for 
comment by the agencies, governments, individuals and organizations to which the proposed 
changes are submitted, the secretary shall submit to the commission proposed rules and 
regulations making any changes that the secretary determines should be made in the listings. 

History:  L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. 4; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 91; L. 1997, ch. 113, sec. 2; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-504.   
 

32-960a.  Same; recovery plans; advisory committees, duties.  (a) On or before January 1, 
1998, the secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto, rules 
and regulations establishing procedures for developing and implementing recovery plans for all 
species listed as in need of conservation, threatened or endangered.  The secretary shall give 
priority to development of recovery plans for particular species based on a cumulative 
assessment of the scientific evidence available.  Based on the priority ranking, the secretary shall 
develop and begin implementation of recovery plans for at least two listed species on or before 
January 1, 1999. 

(b) Whenever a species is added to the list of threatened or endangered species, the secretary 
shall establish a volunteer local advisory committee composed of members broadly 
representative of the area affected by the addition of the species to the list.  Members shall 
include representatives of specialists from academic institutions, agribusiness and other trade 
organizations, state environmental and conservation organizations and other interested 
organizations and individuals.  In addition, the membership shall include, if appropriate, 
landowners and pubic officials representing state, local and tribal governments.  To the 
maximum extent possible, committee membership shall evenly balance the interests of all 
potentially affected groups and institutions. 

(c) The advisory committee shall: (1) Work with the secretary to adapt the listing of the 
species and the recovery plan for the species to the social and economic conditions of the 
affected area; and (2) disseminate information to the public about the scientific basis of the 
decision to list the species, the regulatory process and incentives available to landowners 
pursuant to this act. 

(d) If a species in need of conservation receives a priority ranking to develop and begin 
implementation of a recovery plan, the secretary shall establish a volunteer local advisory 
committee in the same manner as provided by subsection (b) to work with the secretary to adapt 
the recovery plan and disseminate information to the public. 

(e) In implementing a recovery plan for a species, the secretary shall consider any data, 
recommendations and information provided by the advisory committee. 

History:  L. 1997, ch. 113, sec. 3; July 1. 
 

32-960b.  Same; guidelines for enforcement and permit requirements.  The secretary shall 
adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto, rules and regulations 
establishing those guidelines prescribed in the operational directive of the secretary dated 
January 18, 1996, as the guidelines for law enforcement actions and permit requirements relating 
to the species listed as threatened or endangered pursuant to the Kansas nongame and 
endangered species conservation act and based on a determination of "intent" as it relates to 
lawful activities associated with normal farming and ranching practices.  In addition, such rules 
and regulations incorporating the operational directive shall establish guidelines for enforcement 
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activities related to development of residential and commercial property on privately owned 
property financed with private, nonpublic funds. 

History:  L. 1997, ch. 113, sec. 4; July 1. 
 

32-961.  Same; special permits. (a)  Whenever any species is listed as a threatened species 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-960, the secretary shall adopt such rules and regulations 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-963 as the  secretary deems necessary and advisable  to 
provide for the conservation of such species.  By rules and regulations adopted pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-963 the secretary may prohibit with respect to any threatened species 
included in a list adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-960 any act which is prohibited 
under subsection (b) with respect to any endangered species included in a list adopted pursuant 
to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-960. 

(b)  Except as otherwise specifically provided by this section or rules and regulations adopted 
pursuant to this section, a special permit is required for any person subject to the jurisdiction of 
this state to: 

(l)  Export from this state any endangered species included in a list adopted pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-960;  

(2)  possess, process, sell, offer for sale, deliver, carry, transport or ship, by any means 
whatsoever, any such endangered species; or 

(3)  act in a manner contrary to any rule and regulation adopted by the secretary pursuant to 
authority provided by K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-957 through 32-963 and 32-1009 through 32-1012, 
which pertains to such endangered species or to any threatened species of wildlife included in a 
list adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-960. 

(c)  Subsection (b) does not apply to any endangered species listed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 
Supp. 32-960 and any species of wildlife determined to be an endangered species pursuant to 
Pub. L. 93-205 (December 28, l973), the endangered species of l973, and amendments thereto, 
entering the state from another state or from a point outside the territorial limits of the United 
States and being transported to a point within or beyond the state in accordance with the terms of 
any federal permit or permit issued under the laws or regulations of another state. 

(d)  The secretary may issue special permits to authorize, under such terms and conditions as 
the secretary prescribes, any act described in subsection (b) or any act which is otherwise 
prohibited by rules and regulations adopted pursuant to subsection (a), for scientific purposes or 
to enhance the propagation or survival of the affected species.  Application for such permit shall 
be made to the secretary or the secretary's designee and shall be accompanied by the fee 
prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988.  The secretary shall maintain a list of permit 
under this subsection.  Where such applications have been approved and special permits have 
been issued, the secretary shall maintain a list of such permits, including therein the name and 
address of the permittee and the terms and conditions prescribed for each such permit.  The 
secretary shall keep such lists current and shall file copies thereof, along with any additions or 
amendments, with the secretary of the interior of the federal government. 

(e)  Threatened or endangered species included in a list adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 
Supp. 32-960 may be captured or destroyed without a permit by any person in an emergency 
situation involving an immediate and demonstrable  threat to human life. 

History:  L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. 5; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 92; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-505. 
 
  32-962.  Same; programs for conservation.  (a)  The secretary shall establish such 
programs, including acquisition of land or aquatic habitat, as are deemed necessary for the 
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conservation of nongame, threatened and endangered species.  The secretary shall utilize all 
authority vested in the secretary by the laws of this state to carry out the purposes of this section 
with the exception that the secretary shall not utilize the power of eminent domain to carry out 
such programs unless a specific authorization and appropriation is made therefor by the 
legislature. 

(b)(1)  In carrying out programs authorized by this section, the secretary may enter into 
agreements with federal agencies, other states, other state agencies, political subdivisions of this 
state or private persons for administration and management of any area established under this 
section or utilized for conservation of nongame species, species in need of conservation or 
threatened or endangered species.  Such programs shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following conservation agreements: 

(A)  Prelisting conservation agreement:  An agreement identifying land where the contracting 
entity agrees to carry out management activities that increase the likelihood of species survival 
before a species is listed as threatened or endangered.  The intent of such agreement would be to 
allow the contracting entity to carry out management activities specified in the agreement during 
the life of the agreement without penalties of law enforcement action or permitting requirements 
if the species is listed at a later date. 

(B) Safe harbor agreement:  An agreement in which the contracting entity agrees to maintain 
or enhance suitable, but currently unoccupied, habitat for a species listed as in need of 
conservation, threatened or endangered so as to increase utilization of the habitat by a listed 
species.  The intent of such agreement would be to protect the contracting entity from any 
restrictions on land use that might otherwise occur if a listed species immigrates into the habitat. 

(C)  No take agreement:  An agreement allowing the contracting entity to implement 
voluntary management activities that maintain, enhance, set aside or create habitat for species 
listed as in need of conservation, threatened or endangered.  The intent of such agreement would 
be to provide assurance that the management activities specified in the agreement would not lead 
to penalties of law enforcement action or permitting requirements if future changes in land use 
are needed. 

(2)  The initial term of any agreement pursuant to subsection (b)(1) shall be five years.  An 
agreement may be continued, with or without modification, after the five-year term, subject to 
review and determination by all parties.  In the absence of a mutually satisfactory determination 
by the parties that an agreement should continue, the agreement will terminate. 

(c)  The governor shall review other programs administered by the governor and utilize such 
programs in furtherance of the purposes of the nongame and endangered species conservation 
act.  All state agencies shall cooperate with the secretary in furtherance of the conservation of 
nongame, threatened and endangered species.   

History: L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 93; L. 1997, ch. 113, sec. 5; July l. 
Source or prior law:  32-506.  
 

32-963.  Rules and regulations.  The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 
Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto, such rules and regulations that the secretary deems 
necessary to implement and administer the provisions of the nongame and endangered species 
conservation act. 

History:  L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. 7; L. 1988, ch. 366, sec. 7; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 94; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-507. 
 

32-964.   
History: L. 1990, ch. 141, sec. 1; L. 1992, ch. 292, sec. 1; L. 1993, ch. 278, sec. 1; L. 2001, 
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ch. 107, sec. 2; L. 2001, ch. 185, sec. 2; L. 2003, ch. 108, sec. 1; Repealed , L. 2005, ch. 124, 
sec. 4; Jan. 1, 2006.  
 

32-965.  Big game control permits.  (a) As used in this section, terms have the meanings 
provided by K.S.A. 32-701 and amendments thereto. 

(b)  It shall be a goal of the department to manage big game populations in the state at levels 
consistent with existing habitat and landowner and community tolerance.  For this purpose, the 
secretary is authorized to issue big game control permits, in addition to big game permits and 
game tags issued during regularly designated hunting seasons. 

(c)  For each big game control permit issued, the secretary may designate the period of time, 
the location and the number and type of big game that may be harvested.  Use of any big game 
control permit shall require the permission of the landowner or tenant of the property where it is 
used. 

(d)  The secretary shall consult with representatives of farming and ranching organizations, 
county and city government associations and hunting organizations in the development, 
modification and implementation of a big game control permit program. 

(e)  The secretary, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto, may adopt 
such rules and regulations as necessary to implement to the provisions of this section.  Such rules 
and regulations shall not require an applicant for a big game control permit to attempt to alleviate 
a problem with big game using any means other than hunting during the regular firearms season 
for the appropriate species of big game animal. 

(f) The secretary shall establish a toll-free telephone number for landowners and tenants to 
report property damage caused by big game, request information regarding big game control 
permits and obtain information regarding any other programs that assist in reduction of high 
local big game populations, including, but not limited to, programs that refer landowners and 
tenants to hunters willing to hunt on a landowner=s or tenant=s land and programs that provide for 
departmental lease of lands for public hunting. 

The provisions of this subsection shall expire on June 30, 2004. 
(g) The secretary shall cause to be published quarterly, in newspapers having general 

circulation in areas experiencing high deer populations, information regarding big game control 
permits and programs that assist in reduction of high local deer populations, including, but not 
limited to, programs that refer landowners and tenants to hunters willing to hunt on a 
landowner=s or tenant=s land and programs that provide for departmental lease of lands for public 
hunting.  Such information shall be published in a manner calculated to give actual notice to the 
public and shall be placed in a section other than the classified advertising section of the 
newspaper. 

The provisions of this subsection shall expire on June 30, 2004. 
History:  L. 1999, ch. 98, sec. 3; L. 2000, ch. 104, sec. 2; April 27. 
 
32-966.  Deer management plan, reduction of motor vehicle accidents.  The secretary of 

wildlife and parks and the secretary of transportation shall cooperate in developing a 
management plan to address reduction of motor vehicle accidents involving deer in those areas 
of the state experiencing high numbers of such accidents.  The management plan shall include 
methods to identify those areas and methods to inform and communicate with landowners and 
tenants in those areas regarding measures to reduce local deer populations.  The management 
plan shall be completed on or before January 1, 2001, and the joint report of the secretary of 
wildlife and parks and the secretary of transportation shall be submitted to the senate standing 
committee on energy and natural resources, the house standing committee on environment and 
the governor on or before February 1, 2001. 



 
 60 

History: L. 2000, ch. 104, sec. 3; April 27. 
 

32-967.  Deer management to reduce property damage.  The secretary shall identify local 
geographical areas in which deer populations are causing significant property damage.  The 
secretary is hereby authorized and directed to take such actions as are necessary to reduce the 
deer populations in such areas for the purpose of reducing damage to private property. 
   History: L. 2003, ch. 121, sec. 6; Jan. 1, 2004.  

 
32-968.  Landowner deer management program; report.  (a)  The department is hereby 

authorized and directed to develop a report containing recommendations for the establishment of 
a landowner deer management program.  The report shall include recommended procedures, 
requirements and guidelines to provide qualified landowners an allotment of antlered and 
antlerless deer permits that may be transferred by the landowner to resident or nonresident deer 
hunters for use on such landowner=s property and may include such other recommendations as 
the department finds appropriate.  Such report shall be presented to the senate natural resources 
committee and the house tourism and parks committee on or before January 15, 2004. 

(b) The department is hereby authorized to implement a pilot program not to exceed five 
project locations for the landowner deer management program.  Landowners who participate in 
the landowner deer management program shall not be eligible to apply for and receive 
nonresident deer permits pursuant to subsection (o) of K.S.A. 32-937, and amendments thereto.  
Deer permits authorized for the program shall be restricted to the property described in the 
individual plan and the number of permits shall be established in an agreement with the 
landowner and the department using criteria developed by the department.  Permits issued 
through the landowner deer management program shall not be part of the nonresident deer 
permit allocation allowed under subsection (m) of K.S.A. 32-937, and amendments thereto.  The 
secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto, rules and 
regulations providing for the implementation and evaluation of the pilot program and issuance of 
permits within the landowner deer management program.  The provisions of this subsection shall 
expire January 1, 2008.  
   History: L. 2003, ch. 121, sec. 4; L. 2004, ch. 76, sec. 1; July 1. 
 

32-969.  Wild turkey permits.  (a) Except as otherwise provided by law or rules and 
regulations of the secretary and in addition to any other license, permit or stamp required by law 
or rules and regulations of the secretary, a valid wild turkey permit and game tags are required to 
take any wild turkey in this state. 

(b) The fee for wild turkey permits and game tags shall be the amount prescribed pursuant to 
K.S.A. 32-988, and amendments thereto. 

(c) A wild turkey permit and game tags are valid throughout the state or such portion thereof 
as provided by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, 
and amendments thereto. 

(d) Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and regulations of the secretary, a wild turkey 
permit and game tags are valid from the date of issuance and shall expire at the end of the season 
for which issued. 

(e) The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto, 
rules and regulations for each regular or special wild turkey hunting season and for each 
management unit regarding wild turkey permits and game tags.  The secretary is hereby 
authorized to issue wild turkey permits and game tags pertaining to the taking of wild turkeys.  
No wild turkey permits or game tags shall be issued until the secretary has established, by rules 
and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A 32-805, and amendments thereto, a regular or 
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special wild turkey hunting season. 
(f) The secretary may issue wild turkey hunting permits to nonresidents in wild turkey 

managements units with unlimited wild turkey hunting permits available. 
(g) Persons under 12 years of age may be issued a wild turkey permit.  Such permits shall be 

valid only while the person is hunting under the immediate supervision of an adult 18 or more 
years of age. 

(h) A wild turkey permit shall state the number and sex of wild turkeys which may be killed 
by the permittee.  The secretary may furnish an informational card with any wild turkey permit 
and, at the conclusion of the open season, each permittee receiving such card shall return the 
card to the department, giving such information as is called for on the card. 

(i) The permittee shall permanently affix the game tag to the carcass of any wild turkey 
immediately after killing and thereafter, if required by rules and regulations, the permittee shall 
immediately take such killed game to a check station as required in the rules and regulations, 
where a check station tag shall be affixed to the game carcass if the kill is legal.  The tags shall 
remain affixed until the carcass is consumed or processed for storage. 

(j) Fifty percent of the wild turkey permits authorized for a regular season in any management 
unit shall be issued to landowners or tenants, provided that a limited number of wild turkey 
permits have been authorized.  A landowner or tenant is not eligible to apply for a wild turkey 
permit as a landowner or as a tenant in a management unit other than the unit or units which 
include such landowner=s or tenant=s land.  Any wild turkey permits not issued to landowners or 
tenants within the time period prescribed by rule and regulation may be issued without regard to 
the 50% limitation. 

(k) Members of the immediate family who are domiciled with a landowner or tenant may 
apply for a resident wild turkey permit as a landowner or as a tenant, but the total number of 
landowner or tenant wild turkey permits issued to a landowner or tenant and a landowner=s or 
tenants immediate family shall not exceed one permit for each 80 acres owned by such 
landowner or operated by such tenant.  The secretary may require proof of ownership or tenancy 
from individuals applying for a wild turkey permit as a landowner or as a tenant. 

(l) As used in this section: 
(1) ALandowner@ means a resident owner of farm or ranch land of 80 acres or more located in 

the state of Kansas. 
(2) ATenant@ means an individual who is actively engaged in the agricultural operation of 80 

acres or more of Kansas farm or ranch land for the purpose of producing agricultural 
commodities or livestock and who: (A) Has a substantial financial investment in the production 
of agricultural commodities or livestock on such farm or ranch land and the potential to realize 
substantial financial benefit from such production; or (B) is a bona fide manager having an 
overall responsibility to direct, supervise and conduct such agricultural operation and has the 
potential to realize substantial benefit from such production in the form of salary, shares of such 
production or some other economic incentive based upon such production. 

(3) ARegular season@ means a statewide wild turkey hunting season authorized annually which 
may include one or more seasons restricted to specific types of equipment. 

(4) ASpecial season@ means a wild turkey hunting season in addition to a regular season 
authorized on an irregular basis or at different times of the year other than the regular season. 

(5) AGeneral permit@ means a wild turkey hunting permit available to Kansas residents not 
applying for wild turkey permits as a landowner or tenant. 

(6) ANonresident permit@ means a wild turkey hunting permit available to individuals who are 
not Kansas residents. 

History: L. 2004, ch. 99, sec. 12; Jan. 1, 2005. 
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   32-970.  Commission permits to take big game; issuance.  (a)  The commission may 
authorize commission permits to take big game.  Such permits shall be made available only to 
local chapters of nonprofit organizations based or operating in Kansas that actively promote 
wildlife conservation and the hunting and fishing heritage.  Organizations that oppose hunting 
and fishing shall not be eligible for award of a commission permit. 
   (b)  The issuance of commission permits shall be subject to the following limitations: 
   (1)  Not more than one permit allowing the taking of an antelope shall be issued in a calendar 
year; 
   (2)  not more than one permit allowing the taking of an elk shall be issued in a calendar year; 
   (3)  any deer permits may comprise the entire allotment or the balance of the total quota if 
permits for other species are issued; 
   (4)  a total of not more than seven commission permits shall be available in one calendar year; 
and 
   (5)  commission permits shall not be included in nor reduce any limited quota permit 
allotments set by other rules and regulations of the secretary. 
   (c)  Not more than one commission permit may be issued to an organization, but this limitation 
shall not preclude individual chapters of the same organization from being issued permits. 
  (d)  Organizations receiving commission permits shall market the permit to the public in order 
to receive the maximum financial benefit available for the organization and the department. 
   (e)  Application requests by qualified organizations shall be submitted to any member of the 
commission and shall be provided to the commission as a whole. 
   (f)  The commission shall conduct a random drawing from the pool of eligible qualified 
organizations to award commission permits, subject to the approval of the secretary. 
   (g)  Organizations shall not be eligible to receive a commission permit more than once in a 
three-year period. 
   (h)  Organizations awarded commission permits shall pay to the department the price 
established by rules and regulations for the highest value for the type of permit awarded.  No 
other compensation shall be provided to the commission or the department with regard to 
issuance of a commission permit.  The balance of the sale price for the permit shall be retained 
by the organization.  If the organization is Kansas farmers and hunters feeding the hungry, not 
less than 15% of the amount retained by the organization shall be used to supplement department 
sponsored or approved projects.  For any other organization, not less than 85% shall be used to 
supplement department sponsored or approved projects. 
   (i)  Limitations established by law or by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary 
pursuant to K.S.A. 32-807, and amendments thereto, relating to the ability to receive a same 
species permit in the future shall apply to the final recipient of the commission permit. 
   (j)  Commission permits shall only be issued in the name of the final recipient.  Once a 
commission permit is issued in the name of the final recipient, it shall not be transferred to any 
other individual. 
   (k)  Any commission permit shall be subject to the restrictions of the season, sex, equipment 
type or hunt units as issued on the permit by the department. 
   (l)  The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto, such 
rules and regulations as necessary to implement the provisions of this section. 
History:  L. 2005, ch. 99, sec. 1; L. 2007, ch.     , sec. 1; July 1. 

 
32-971 to 32-973.  Reserved. 

 
 EXCEPTIONS 
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32-974.  Private water fishing impoundment; exemptions. The owner or tenant having 
possession and control of a private water fishing impoundment and desiring to use it for the 
propagation or raising of fish for private use or to be sold or used commercially may do so 
without securing or holding any state license, permit or stamp and without being limited as to 
numbers, time or manner of taking fish from such impoundment. 

History:  L. 1965, ch. 269, sec. 1; L. 1971, ch. 147, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 86; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-172a. 
 
 CASE ANNOTATIONS 

1.  Water in county-owned sandpit subject to Kansas fishing regulations. State v. Powell, 238 
K. 590, 712 P.2d 1264 (1986). 
 

32-975.  Same; waiver of exemptions.  The owner or tenant having possession and control of 
a private water fishing impoundment and desiring to secure fish stock from the state of Kansas 
may make application to the department for fish for stocking.  If the impoundment is stocked by 
the department, the owner or tenant waives all of the exemptions provided by K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 
32-906, 32-941 and 32-974 thereafter, for a period of l0 years, the impoundment and fishing 
privileges therein shall be subject to the licensing requirements and all other laws of the state and 
rules and regulations of the secretary relative to fishing in the state. 

History: L. 1965, ch. 269, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 87; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-172b. 
 

32-976.  Private water fishing impoundments; stocking or restocking of fish prohibited, 
when. Except for research, scientific or demonstration purposes, the secretary of wildlife and 
parks shall not stock or restock fish in any private water impoundment constructed by man and 
located wholly within lands owned or leased by the individual maintaining such impoundment 
unless the fish are secured from a private fish grower.  These private waters do not include any 
impoundment constructed, owned, leased or operated by a federal, state or local governmental 
agency or by a person who has entered into an agreement with a federal, state or local 
governmental agency that such impoundment will be open to public access and use. 

History: L. 1990, ch. 139, sec. 3; July l. 
 
32-977 to 32-979.  Reserved. 

 
 APPLICATIONS, FEES AND ISSUANCE 
 

32-980.  Form, content; resident, nonresident; armed forces personnel; students. (a)  The 
secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto, rules and 
regulations prescribing: 

(l)  Procedures for, the form and content of and the requirements for applications for licenses, 
permits, stamps and other issues of the department, and duplicates thereof; and 

(2)  procedures for issuance of and the form and content of licenses, permits, stamps and other 
issues of the department, and duplicates thereof. 

(b)  The secretary shall provide for both resident and nonresident licenses, permits, stamps 
and other issues of the department, and duplicates thereof, except that: 

(l)  A nonresident who is on active duty with any branch or department of the armed forces of 
the United States while stationed within this state may purchase licenses, permits, stamps and 
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other issues of the department, except a lifetime fishing, hunting or furharvester or combination 
hunting and fishing license as provided in K.S.A. 32-930 and amendments thereto, and may 
engage in any activity authorized by such license, permit, stamp or other issue under the same 
conditions as a resident of this state.  Such person shall carry in the person's possession when 
fishing, hunting or furharvesting such license, permit, stamp or other issue and a card or other 
evidence identifying such person as being on active duty in the armed forces of the United 
States.  

(2)  A person who is on active duty with any branch or department of the armed forces of the 
United States and who was a resident of this state immediately prior to entry into the armed 
forces, and any member of the immediate family of such person who is domiciled with such 
person, may purchase licenses, permits, stamps and other issues of the department and may 
engage in any activity authorized by such license, permit, stamp or other issue under the same 
conditions as a resident of this state. 

(3)  a nonresident who is a registered full time student in residence of a public or private 
secondary, postsecondary or vocational school located in this state may purchase licenses, 
permits, stamps and other issues of the department, except a lifetime fishing, hunting or 
furharvester or combination hunting and fishing license as provided in K.S.A. 32-930 and 
amendments thereto, and may engage in any activity authorized by such license, permit, stamp or 
other issue under the same conditions as a resident of this state.  Such person shall carry in the 
person's possession when fishing, hunting or furharvesting such license, permit, stamp or other 
issue and a card or other evidence identifying such person as a full time student. 

(c) The forms adopted pursuant to this section for hunting licenses shall include a provision 
for the applicant to make a voluntary contribution of $2 or more to support the activities of 
Kansas Farmers and Hunters Feeding the Hungry. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 97; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 6; L. 1997, ch. 69, sec. 1; L. 1999, 
ch. 120, sec. 3; L. 2004, ch. 76, sec. 3; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-104b, 32-104j, 32-104k. 

 
32-981.  Duplicates. If a person holds a currently valid license, permit, stamp or other issue 

of the department and such issue is lost or destroyed, such person may secure a duplicate issue of 
the same kind as the original by making application to the secretary and paying the fee 
prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988.  A duplicate shall be issued for the remainder 
of the term of the original issue if: 

(a)  The right of the applicant to such duplicate is established to the satisfaction of the 
secretary and such applicant complies with the rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in 
accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto and pertaining to such 
duplicate ; or 

(b)(l)  the applicant takes an oath before the issuer of the license, permit, stamp or other issue 
that the applicant has been issued a currently valid license, permit, stamp or other issue and it has 
been lost or destroyed; 

(2)  the applicant forwards such oath to the secretary, together with the certificate of the issuer 
that the applicants was issued such license, permit, stamp or other issue and a statement 
containing its date and number and the name of the applicant; and 

(3)  the right of the applicant to such duplicate is established to the satisfaction of the 
secretary. 

(c)  A duplicate issued pursuant to this section shall entitle the rightful holder thereof to the 
same privilege and shall expire on the same date as the original license, permit, stamp or other 
issue. 
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History:  L. 1927, ch. 221, sec. 18; L. 1931, ch. 191, sec. 3; L. 1933, ch. 187, sec. 3; L. 1937, 
ch. 239, sec. 1; L. 1951, ch. 280, sec. 1; L. 1957, ch. 249, sec. 1; L. 1959, ch. 191, sec. 1; L. 
1971, ch. 141, sec. 1; L. 1978, ch. 152, sec. 3; L. 1982, ch. 175, sec. 7; L. 1987, ch. 139, sec. 1; 
L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 98; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-104b, 74-4509b. 
 

32-982.  Application; procedure. (a)  Except as otherwise provided by law, any person may 
secure a license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department upon application to any county 
clerk in this state, to a person appointed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-985  or to the 
secretary or the secretary's designee and payment of the fee prescribed by law or pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988. 

History:  L. 1927, ch. 221, sec. 16; L. 1931, ch. 191, sec. 2; L. 1933, ch. 187, sec. 2; L. 1935, 
ch. 181, sec. 1; L. 1943; ch. 170, sec. 1; L. 1947, ch. 258, sec. 1; L. 1953, ch. 215, sec. 1; L. 
1960, ch. 48, sec. 1; L. 1969, ch. 210, sec. 1; L. 1972, ch. 158, sec. 4; L. 1973, ch. 178, sec. 1; L. 
1978, ch. 152, sec. 2; L. 1981, ch. 174, sec. 1; L. 1982, ch. 175, sec. 6; L. 1985, ch. 130, sec. 2; 
L. 1985, ch. 131, sec. 2; L. 1985, ch. 134, sec. 2; L. 1986, ch. 148, sec. 1; L. 1988, ch. 130, sec. 
1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 99; July l. 
 
Source or prior law: 32-104a. 
 

32-983.  Issuance by department; lost or stolen issues or fees. 
(a)  The secretary or the secretary's designated employees shall be authorized, at the headquarters 
or field offices of the department, to issue any license, permit, stamp or other issue of the 
department.  Subject to the requirements of law or rules and regulations of the secretary, such 
issue shall be issued to any person upon application and payment of the fee prescribed by law or 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988. 

(b)  Whenever any license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department, or any fee 
collected from the sale thereof, is lost, stolen or destroyed while in possession of a designated 
employee of the secretary and the secretary, upon investigation, finds that such issue or fee was 
lost, stolen or destroyed by a cause beyond the control of the designated employee, the secretary 
shall relieve the designated employee from payment for such issue or fee.  Whenever the 
secretary finds, upon investigation, that any such issue or fee was lost, stolen or destroyed by a 
cause within the control of the designated employee, such employee may be liable for payment 
of all or a portion of the value of such issue or fee. 

History:  L. 1978, ch. 152, sec. 15; L. 1982, ch. 175, sec. 10; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 100; July 
l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-164c. 
 

32-984.  Issuance by county clerk's office; disposition of fees. (a)  The county clerk of each 
county or the clerk's designated employees may issue, at the county clerk's office, any license, 
permit, stamp or other issue of the department which the county clerk is authorized to issue 
pursuant to law or rules and regulations of the secretary.  The county clerk shall issue such 
license, permit, stamp or other issue under seal. 

(b)  The county clerk shall pay daily to the county treasurer of the county all moneys collected 
by the clerk from fees for issues of the department.  The county treasurer shall remit all such 
moneys paid to the county treasurer to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of 
K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto.  Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state 
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treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury and shall be credited as provided by 
K.S.A. 32-990, 32-991 and 32-993, and amendments thereto.    

(c)  The county clerk may collect and retain a service charge fee, as provided by K.S.A. 32-
989 and amendments thereto, for each issue of the department issued or sold by the clerk. 

History: L. 1927, ch. 221, sec. 17; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 101; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 7; L. 
2001, ch. 5, sec. 100; July l. 

 
Source or prior law:  32-104a, 32-104c, 74-4509b. 
 

32-985.  Agents; designation; bond; disposition of fees.  (a)  The secretary or the county 
clerk of any county in this state may appoint such number of persons as necessary to serve the 
convenience of applicants for licenses, permits, stamps and other issues of the department and 
may authorize such persons to issue such licenses, permits, stamps and other issues to both 
residents and nonresidents of the state upon the payment of the prescribed fee. 

(b)  Any person appointed pursuant to this section may purchase the licenses, permits, stamps 
and other issues for cash from the county clerk, if appointed by the clerk, or from the secretary, if 
appointed by the secretary, or, in lieu thereof, such person shall be required to execute a special 
surety bond to the state of Kansas conditioned  on payment of all moneys received from fees for 
licenses, permits, stamps and other issues of the department and on payment of the maximum 
value for all licenses, permits, stamps and issues of the department not settled for and not 
returned to the county clerk or secretary appointing such person.  The bond shall be in a form 
prescribed by the secretary and the fee therefor shall be in the amount prescribed pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-988  and shall be deposited in the manner prescribed by K.S.A. 1989 
Supp. 32-990 and 32-991.  The bond shall be in an amount fixed by the county clerk, if the 
person is appointed by the clerk, or in an amount fixed by the secretary, if the person is 
appointed by the secretary, but such amount shall not be less than the maximum amount which 
can be realized from the sale of the issues of the department in such person's possession.  The 
bond shall be filed in the office of the county treasurer, if the person is appointed by the county 
clerk, or with the secretary, if the person is appointed by the secretary. 

(c)  Any person appointed pursuant to this section and electing to file a bond, upon the 
execution and filing of the required bond, shall be the agent of the county clerk, if appointed by 
the clerk, or of the secretary, if appointed by the secretary for the issuance of licenses, permits, 
stamps or other issues of the department in the county, if appointed by a county clerk, or 
approved place of business, if appointed by the secretary, during such time as the bond is 
effective until the appointment expires or is revoked.  Persons electing not to file a bond shall 
become agents immediately upon their appointment.   

(d)  No agent appointed pursuant to this section shall offer for sale a license, permit, stamp or 
other issue of the department for an amount less than the fee prescribed pursuant to law or rules 
and regulations of the secretary for such issue. 

(e)  All fees collected by the bonded agent for licenses, permits, stamps and other issues of the 
department shall be paid to the county clerk, if the agent is appointed by the county clerk, or to 
the secretary, if the agent is appointed by the secretary, at such times and places as the county 
clerk or secretary, as appropriate, designates, but settlement shall be made at least three days 
before the expiration date of the issues in the possession of the agent.  Upon receipt of such fees 
by the county clerk, the clerk shall remit the entire amount thereof to the county treasurer in the 
manner provided in K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-984 for disposition in the manner provided for in that 
section.  Upon receipt of such fees by the secretary, the fees shall be disposed of as provided in 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-990, 32-991 and 32-993.  All unsold issues of the department shall be 
returned to the county clerk, if the agent is appointed by the clerk, or to the secretary, if the agent 
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is appointed by the secretary. 
(f)  The secretary may examine, at any reasonable time, those records of any agent appointed 

pursuant to this section which relate to issues of the department. 
(g)  An agent appointed pursuant to this section may collect and retain a service charge fee as 

provided by K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-989 for services in connection with the issuing or selling of 
licenses, permits, stamps and other issues of the department.  The agent shall receive no 
additional compensation from the county clerk or from the secretary for such services. 

History: L. 1963, ch. 244, sec. 1; L. 1969, ch. 138, sec. l; L. 1982, ch. 175, sec. 4; L. 1985, 
ch. 130, sec. 1; L. 1985, ch. 131, sec. 1; L. 1985, ch. 134, sec. 1; L. 1986, ch. 101, sec. 1; L. 
1989, ch. 118, sec. 102; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  19-328, 32-103, 74-4509b, 74-4509d. 
 

32-986.  Same; refunds for unsold issues. (a) Any agent who is appointed by a county clerk 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-985 and who purchases from the county clerk any licenses, 
permits, stamps or other issues of the department in quantities of five or more for the purpose of 
resale may secure a refund for any unused issues by returning them to the county clerk from 
whom purchased at least 10 days before their expiration.  Such refunds shall be paid from the 
moneys in the possession of the county treasurer received from the sale of such issues. 

(b)  Any agent who is appointed by the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-985 and 
who purchases from the secretary any licenses, permits, stamps or other issues of the department 
in quantities of five or more for the purpose of resale may secure a refund for any unused 
licenses, permits, stamps or other issues by returning them to the secretary at least 10 days before 
their expiration.  Such refunds shall be paid from the moneys of the department received from 
the sale of such licenses, permits, stamps or other issues. 

(c)  The secretary may make refunds as specified by law and shall adopt, in accordance with 
K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto, rules and regulations establishing refund 
procedures. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 23l, sec. 1; 1973, ch. 178, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 103, July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-104i. 
 

32-987.  Issues lost or stolen while in county clerk's possession. In the event of licenses, 
permits, stamps or other issues of the department which are lost, stolen or destroyed while in the 
possession of a county clerk or an agent appointed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-985, the 
secretary may make such investigation as necessary and if the secretary finds that the licenses, 
permits, stamps or other issues were lost, stolen or destroyed by a cause beyond the control of 
the county clerk or agent, the secretary may make an adjustment of the amount due for any such 
licenses, permits, stamps or other issues and may entirely relieve the county clerk or agent for 
payment of the fees for such licenses, permits, stamps or other issues or may make such lesser 
adjustment as the secretary considers proper. 

History: L. 1963, ch. 244, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 104; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  19-329, 74-4509b. 
 

32-988.  Fees.  (a) The secretary is authorized to adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and 
amendments thereto, rules and regulations fixing the amount of fees for the following items, 
subject to the following limitations and subject to the requirement that no such rules and 
regulations shall be adopted as temporary rules and regulations: 
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Big game permits 

Resident (other than elk permit):  maximum $100 
Nonresident (other than elk permit): maximum $400 
Elk permit: maximum $350 

     Resident big game tag: maximum $20 
     Nonresident big game tag: maximum $30 Nonresident applications: maximum $25 
Combination hunting and fishing licenses 

Resident: maximum $50 
Lifetime: maximum $1,000; or 8 quarterly payments, each maximum $150  
Nonresident: maximum $200 

Commercial dog training permits: maximum $25 
Commercial guide permit or associate guide permit 
     Resident: maximum $250 
     Nonresident: maximum $1,000  
Commercial harvest or dealer permits: maximum $200 
Commercial prairie rattlesnake harvesting permits 

Resident or nonresident with valid hunting license: maximum $5 
Resident or nonresident non-firearm without valid hunting license: maximum $20 

Controlled shooting area operator license: maximum $400 
Duplicate licenses, permits, stamps and other issues of the department: maximum $10 
Falconry 

Permits: maximum $300 
Examinations: maximum $100 

Field trial permits: maximum $25 
Fishing licenses 

Resident: maximum $25 
Lifetime: maximum $500; or 8 quarterly payments, each maximum $75 
Nonresident: maximum $75 
Five-day nonresident: maximum $25 
Institutional group: maximum $200 
Special nonprofit group: maximum $200 
Twenty-four hour: maximum $10 

Fur dealer licenses 
Resident: maximum $200 
Nonresident: maximum $400 

Furharvester licenses 
Resident: maximum $25 
Lifetime: maximum $500; or 8 quarterly payments, each maximum $75 
Nonresident: maximum $400 

Game breeder permits: maximum $15 
Handicapped hunting and fishing permits: maximum $5 
Hound trainer-breeder running permits: maximum $25 
Hunting licenses 

Resident: maximum $25 
Lifetime: maximum $500; or 8 quarterly payments, each maximum $75 
Nonresident 16 or more years of age: maximum $125 
Nonresident under 16 years of age: maximum $75 
Controlled shooting area: maximum $25 
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Forty-eight hour waterfowl permits: maximum $25 
Migratory waterfowl habitat stamps: maximum $8 
Mussel fishing licenses 

Resident: maximum $200 
Nonresident: maximum $1,500 

Rabbit permits 
Live trapping: maximum $200 
Shipping: maximum $400 

Raptor propagation permits: maximum $100 
Rehabilitation permits: maximum $50 
Scientific, educational or exhibition permits: maximum $10 
Wildlife damage control permits: maximum $10 
Wildlife importation permits: maximum $10 
Wild turkey permits 

Resident: maximum $100 
Nonresident: maximum $400 
Resident turkey tag: maximum $20 
Nonresident turkey tag: maximum $30 

Special permits under K.S.A. 32-961: maximum $100 
Miscellaneous fees 

Special events on department land or water: maximum $200 
Special departmental services, materials or supplies: no maximum 
Other issues of department: no maximum 
Vendor bond: no maximum 
(b)  The fee for a landowner-tenant resident big game or wild turkey hunting permit shall be 

an amount equal to 2 the fee for a general resident big game or wild turkey hunting permit. 
(c)  The fee for a furharvester license for a resident under 16 years of age shall be an amount 

equal to 2 the fee for a resident furharvester license. 
(d)  The secretary may establish, by rules and regulations adopted in accordance with K.S.A. 

32-805 and amendments thereto, different fees for various classes and types of licenses, permits, 
stamps and other issuances of the department which may occur within each item as described 
under subsection (a). 

History: L. 1978, ch. 152, sec. 14; L. 1981, ch. 174, sec. 2; L. 1982, ch. 175, sec. 9, L. 1985, 
ch. 131, sec. 3; L. 1985, ch. 134, sec. 3; L. 1986, ch. 149, sec. 4; L. 1986, ch. 1 51, sec. 1; L. 
1987, ch. 144, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 119, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 105; L. 1989, ch. 274, sec. 
2; L. 1993, ch. 139, sec. 2;  L. 1994, ch. 245, sec. 2; L. 1995, ch. 164, sec. 4; L. 1999, ch. 120, 
sec. 4; ch. 98, sec. 2; ch. 149, sec. 3; L. 2000, ch. 165, sec. 4; L. 2001, ch. 131, sec. 1; L. 2001, 
ch. 17, sec. 2; L. 2001, ch. 211, sec. 9; L. 2003, ch. 121, sec. 2; L. 2004, ch. 99, sec. 8; Jan. 1, 
2005.   
 
Source or prior law:  32-164b, 74-4509b. 
 

32-989.  Service charge. (a) In addition to the fees prescribed pursuant to law or rules and 
regulations of the secretary, the secretary shall, and the county clerk and any agent appointed 
pursuant to K.S.A. 32-985, and amendments thereto,  may, charge and retain a service charge fee 
not to exceed $1.00 for each license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department issued or 
sold by such secretary, county clerk or agent, except: 

(1)  When such service charge fee is otherwise established by law, the amount charged shall 
be the amount otherwise established; 

(2) for licenses, permits, stamps or other issues sold by an approved telephone agent or over 
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the internet by an approved internet agent, for which the agent may charge and receive a service 
fee charge negotiated by the secretary and the agent, in addition to the actual cost remitted to the 
department of the licenses, permits, stamps or other issues sold during a telephone or internet 
transaction other than the service charge per issue and the negotiated service charge fee; 

(3)  in the case of a migratory waterfowl habitat stamp, the service charge fee shall not exceed 
$.50; and  

(4)  the secretary shall not charge service charge fees for issues of the department issued or 
sold to a person appointed by the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. 32-985, and amendments thereto,  
 to sell such issues. 

(b)  Any moneys collected by the secretary for fees imposed pursuant to this section shall be 
disposed of as provided by K.S.A. 32-990, 32-991 and 32-993, and amendments thereto.  Any 
such moneys collected by the county clerk shall be deposited in the county general fund. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 106; L. 2003, ch. 108, sec. 2; July l. 
 
Source or prior law: 

19-328, 32-104a, 32-1,lll, 74-4509b, 74-4509d. 
 

32-990.  Wildlife fee fund.  (a) Unless otherwise directed by law, all moneys received from 
licenses, permits, stamps and other issues of the department, and duplicates thereof, to take, 
propagate, rehabilitate, collect, possess, sell, import, export, transport or deal in wildlife, or parts 
thereof, and all moneys from sources related thereto or allied recreational pursuits, shall be 
remitted in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto, to the 
state treasurer.  The state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury and credit 
it to the wildlife fee fund, which is hereby created. 

(b)  All costs and expenses incurred by the department for the following purposes shall be 
paid from the wildlife fee fund: 

(1)  Administering, implementing and enforcing the laws of this state relating to wildlife and 
its protection, propagation, preservation, management, investigation and recreational use; and 

(2)  acquiring title to lands and rights therein or thereon, waters or water rights, and keeping, 
improving and maintaining the same for the purposes described in subsection (b) (1). 

(c)No moneys derived from sources described in subsections (a) or (d) shall be used for any 
purpose other than the administration of matters which relate to wildlife and which are under the 
control, authorities and duties of the secretary and department as provided by law. 

(d)  On or before the 10th of each month, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer 
from the state general fund to the wildlife fee fund interest earnings based on: 

(1)  The average daily balance of moneys in the wildlife fee fund for the preceding month; 
and 

(2)  the net earnings rate of the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding month. 
(e)  All expenditures from the wildlife fee fund shall be made in accordance with 

appropriations acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to 
vouchers approved by the secretary. 

History:  L. 1927, ch. 221, sec. 11; L. 1938, ch. 67, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 107; L. 
1992, ch. 17, sec. 1; L. 1996, ch. 253, sec. 2; May 23. 
 
Source or prior law:  L. 1925, ch. 257, sec. 5; 74-3304, 74-3305. 
 

32-991.  Parks fee fund. (a) Unless otherwise directed by law and except for revenue pledged 
to payment of revenue bonds issued in connection with specific projects, all moneys received 
from state park permit fees, tolls, rentals and charges derived from the use, lease or operation of 
state parks, or any portion thereof or facility therein, including receipts from the park and 
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recreation motor vehicle permit and from fees for duplicate permits and other issues of the 
department, all moneys derived from the sale of bonds and all moneys from sources related 
thereto or allied recreational pursuits shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with 
the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto.  Upon receipt of each such 
remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of 
the parks fee fund, which is hereby created. 

(b)  All costs and expenses incurred by the department for the following purposes shall be 
paid from the parks fee fund: 

(1)  Administering, implementing and enforcing the laws of this state relating to state parks 
and state park facilities and their management and use; and 

(2)  acquiring title to lands and rights therein or thereon, waters or water rights, and keeping, 
improving and maintaining the same for the purposes described in subsection (b) (1).  

(c)  No moneys derived from sources described in subsection (a) shall be used for any 
purpose other than the administration of matters which relate to state parks and which are under 
the control, authorities and duties of the secretary and the department as provided by law. 

(d)  All expenditures from the parks fee fund shall be made in accordance with appropriations 
acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved 
by the secretary. 

History: L. 1955, ch. 355, sec. 14; L. 1963, ch. 409, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 109; L. 
2001, ch. 5, sec. 101; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-4514. 
 

32-992.  Fees from lifetime licenses; wildlife conservation fund.  (a)  All license fees from 
the sale of lifetime hunting, fishing or furharvesting or combination hunting and fishing licenses 
shall be remitted in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto, 
to the state treasurer.  The state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury and 
credit: 

(1)  To the wildlife fee fund, am amount equal to the amount obtained by multiplying the 
number of such lifetime licenses issued by the current fee for an annual fishing, hunting or 
furharvester or combination hunting and fishing license; and 

(2)  to the wildlife conservation fund, which is hereby created, the remaining balance. 
(b)  On or before the 10th of each month, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer 

from the state general fund to the wildlife conservation fund interest earnings based on: 
(1)  The average daily balance of moneys in the wildlife conservation fund for the preceding 

month; and 
(2)  the net earnings rate of the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding month. 
(c)  All expenditures from the wildlife conservation fund shall be made in accordance with 

appropriations acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to 
vouchers approved by the secretary. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 109; L. 1989, ch. 274, sec. 7; L. 1992, ch. 272, sec. 3; L. 
1996, ch. 253, sec. 3; L. 1999, ch. 120, sec. 5; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-104m. 
 

32-993.  Migratory waterfowl propagation and protection fund.     (a)  All moneys 
received pursuant to the issuance of the migratory waterfowl habitat stamp shall be remitted to 
the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. 
 Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the 
state treasury to the credit of the migratory waterfowl propagation and protection fund, which is 
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hereby created.  All expenditures from such fund shall be in accordance with appropriations acts 
upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by 
the secretary. 

(b)  No expenditure shall be made from the migratory waterfowl propagation and protection 
fund except for projects approved by the secretary for the purpose of protecting and propagating 
migratory waterfowl, including the acquisition, by purchase or lease, of migratory waterfowl 
habitats in this state, and for the purpose of development, restoration, maintenance or 
preservation of waterfowl habitats. 

History: L. 1987, ch. 135, sec. 4; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 110; L. 2001, ch. 5, sec. 102; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-1, 113. 
 

32-994.  Wildlife and parks gifts and donations fund.  (a)  All moneys received as 
bequests, donations or gifts by the department shall be credited to the Kansas department of 
wildlife and parks private gifts and donations fund which is hereby created. 

(b)  On or before the 10th of each month, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer 
from the state general fund to the Kansas department of wildlife and parks private gifts and 
donations fund interest earnings based on: 

(1)  The average daily balance of moneys in the Kansas department of wildlife and parks 
private gifts and donations fund for the preceding month; and 

(2)  the net earnings rate of the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding month. 
History:  L. 1987, ch. 137, sec. 1; L. 1988, ch. 300, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 48, sec. 92; L. 1989, 

ch. 118, sec. 111; L. 1989, ch. 274, sec. 3; L. 1992, ch. 272, sec. 4; L. 1996, ch. 253, sec. 4; May 
23. 
 
Source or prior law:  74-3323. 
 

32-995.  Feed the hungry fund; contributions to KFHFH; reports to legislature.  (a) The 
feed the hungry fund is hereby established in the state treasury.  The secretary, in accordance 
with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto, shall remit to the state treasurer 
all moneys received by the secretary from contributions pursuant to subsection (c) of K.S.A. 32-
980, and amendments thereto.  Upon receipt of the remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit 
the entire amount in the state treasury and credit it to the fund. 

(b) Moneys in the feed the hungry fund shall be disbursed quarterly to Kansas Farmers and 
Hunters Feeding the Hungry to support its programs. 

(c) On or before the 10th of each month, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer 
from the state general fund to the feed the hungry fund interest earnings based on: 

(1) The average daily balance of moneys in the feed the hungry fund for the preceding month; 
and 

(2) the net earnings rate for the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding month. 
(d) All expenditures from the feed the hungry fund shall be made in accordance with 

appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to 
vouchers approved by the secretary for the purposes set forth in this section. 

(e) The secretary shall report annually, beginning on February 1, 2006, to the house 
committee on tourism and parks and the senate committee on natural resources on the state of 
contributions to the feed the hungry fund and the disbursements to Kansas Farmers and Hunters 
Feeding the Hungry. 

History: L. 2004, ch. 76, sec. 3; July 1. 
 

   32-997.  Wildlife fee fund; use of federal moneys.   (a)   All federal moneys received 
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pursuant to federal assistance, federal-aid funds and federal-aid grant reimbursements related to 
the wildlife fee fund, under the control, authorities and duties of the department of wildlife and 
parks shall be remitted in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments 
thereto, to the state treasurer.  Upon receipt of the remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the 
entire amount in the state treasury and credit it to the wildlife fund-federal, which is hereby 
created. 
   (b)  No moneys derived from sources described in subsection (a) or (c) shall be used for any 
purpose other than the administration of matters which relate to purposes authorized under 
K.S.A. 32-990, and amendments thereto, and which are under the control, authorities and duties 
of the secretary of wildlife and parks and the department of wildlife and parks as provided by 
law. 
   (c)  On or before the 10th of each month, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer 
from the state general fund to the wildlife fee fund - federal interest earnings based on: 
   (1)  The average daily balance of moneys in the wildlife fund-federal, for the preceding month; 
and  
   (2) the net earnings rate of the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding month.      
    (d)  All expenditures from the wildlife fund-federal, shall be made in accordance with 
appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to 
vouchers approved by the secretary of wildlife and parks. 
History:  L. 2005, ch. 181, sec. 3; July 1. 
 
 ARTICLE 10. - ENFORCEMENT 
 UNLAWFUL ACTS 

 
32-1001.  Licenses, permits, stamps and other issues of the department.  (a)  It is unlawful 

for any person to: 
(l)  Participate or engage in any activity for which such person is required to have obtained a 

license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department under the wildlife and parks laws of this 
state or under rules and regulations of the secretary unless such person has obtained a currently 
valid such license, permit, stamp or other issue issued to such person; 

(2)  fail to carry in such person's possession a currently valid license, permit, stamp or other 
issue of the department, issued to such person, while participating or engaging in any activity for 
which such person is required to have obtained such license, permit, stamp or other issue under 
the wildlife and parks laws of this state or under rules and regulations of the secretary; 

(3)  refuse to allow examination of any license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department 
while participating or engaging in any activity for which such person is required to have 
obtained such license, permit, stamp or other issue under the wildlife and parks laws of this state 
or under rules and regulations of the secretary, upon demand by any officer or employee of the 
department or any officer authorized to enforce the laws of this state or rules and regulations of 
the secretary; 

(4)  while participating or engaging in fishing or hunting:  (A)  Fail to carry in such person's 
possession a card or other evidence which such person is required to carry pursuant to K.S.A. 
32-980 and amendments thereto; or (B) refuse to allow inspection of such card or other evidence 
upon demand of any officer or employee of the department or any officer authorized to enforce 
the laws of this state or rules and regulations of the secretary; or 

(5)  make any false representation to secure any license, permit, stamp or other issue of the 
department, or duplicate thereof, or to make any alteration in any such license, permit, stamp or 
other issue. 

(b)  No person charged with violating subsection (a)(l) for failure to obtain a vehicle or 
camping permit for use of any state park, or any portion thereof or facility therein, or any other 
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area or facility for which a vehicle or camping permit is required pursuant to rules and 
regulations of the secretary shall be convicted thereof unless such person refuses to purchase 
such permit after receiving a permit violation notice, which notice shall require the procurement 
of:  (1) the proper daily permit or permits and payment, within 24 hours, of a late payment fee of 
$15; or (2) an annual vehicle or camping permit, as the case may be, if such permit has been 
established by rule and regulation and adopted by the secretary.  

(c)(l)  In any prosecution charging a violation of subsection (a)(l) for failure to obtain a permit 
required by K.S.A. 32-901 and amendments thereto, proof that the particular vehicle described in 
the complaint was in violation, together with proof that the defendant named in the complaint 
was at the time of the violation the registered owner of such vehicle, shall constitute in evidence 
a prima facie presumption that the registered owner of such vehicle was the person who parked 
or placed such vehicle at the time when and place where the violation occurred. 

(2)  Proof of a written lease of, or rental agreement for, a particular vehicle described in the 
complaint, on the date and at the time of the violation, which lease or rental agreement includes 
the name and address of the person to whom the vehicle was leased or rented at the time of the 
violation, shall rebut the prima facie evidence that the registered owner was the person who 
parked or placed the vehicle at the time when and place where the violation occurred.    

(d)  No person who is a resident of this state and charged with violating subsection (a)(l) or 
(a)(2) shall be convicted thereof if such person produces in court or the office of the arresting 
officer the appropriate license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department, lawfully issued to 
such person and valid at the time of such person's arrest. 

(e)  any person convicted of violating provisions of this section shall be subject to the 
penalties prescribed in K.S.A. 32-1031, and amendments thereto, except as provided in K.S.A. 
32-1032, and amendments thereto, relating to big game and wild turkey. 

History: L. 1911, ch. 198, sec. 10; L. 1921, ch. 196, sec. 3; R.S. 1923, 32-106; L. 1970, ch. 
154, sec. 1; L. 1982, ch. 175, sec. 8; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 113; L. 1991, ch. 107, sec. l; L. 1993, 
ch. 185, sec. 8; L. 2001, ch. 16, sec. 1; L. 2001, ch. 131, sec. 2; L. 2002, ch. 96, sec. 5; L. 2003, 
ch. 108, sec. 3; L. 2005, ch. 182, sec. 6; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law: 
   L. 1905, ch. 267, sec. 9; 32-104, 32-104j, 32-105a, 32-106, 32-106a, 32-106b, 32-406, 74-
4509b, 74-4509c. 
 

32-1002.  Taking or dealing in wildlife.  (a) Unless and except as permitted by law or rules 
and regulations adopted by the secretary in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments 
thereto, it is unlawful for any person to: 

(1)  Hunt, fish, furharvest or take any wildlife in this state by any means or manner; 
(2)  possess, any wildlife, dead or alive, at any time or in any number, in this state; 
(3)  purchase, sell, exchange, ship or offer for sale, exchange or shipment any wildlife in this 

state; 
(4)  take any wildlife in this state for sale, exchange or other commercial purposes; 
(5)  possess any seine, trammel net, hoop net, fyke net, fish gig, fish spear, fish trap or other 

device, contrivance or material for the for the purpose of taking wildlife; or 
(6)  take or use, at any time or in any manner, any game bird, game animal, coyote or 

furbearing animal, whether pen-raised or wild, in any field trial or for training dogs;  
(b) The provisions of subsections (a)(2) and (a)(3) do not apply to animals sold in surplus 

property disposal sales of department exhibit herds or animals legally taken outside this state, 
except the provisions of subsection (a)(3) shall apply to: 

(1) The meat of game animals legally taken outside this state; and 
(2) other restrictions as provided by rule and regulation of the secretary. 
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(c)  The provisions of this section shall not be construed to prevent: 
(1)  Any person from taking starlings or English and European sparrows; or  
(2)  owners or legal occupants of land from killing any animals when found in or near 

buildings on their premises or when destroying property, subject to the following:  (A) The 
provisions of all federal laws and regulations governing protected species and the provisions of 
K.S.A. 32-957 through 32-963, and rules and regulations adopted thereunder; (B) it is unlawful 
to use, or possess with intent to use, any such animal so killed unless authorized by rules and 
regulations of the secretary; and (C) such owners or legal occupants shall make reasonable 
efforts to alleviate their problems with any such animals before killing them. 

(d)  Any person convicted of violating provisions of this section shall by subject to the 
penalties prescribed in K.S.A. 32-1031, and amendments thereto, except as provided in K.S.A. 
32-1032, and amendments thereto, relating to big game and wild turkey. 

History: L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 114; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 9; L. 2005, ch. 182, sec. 3; July l. 
 
Source or prior law: 
   32-110a, 32-112b et seq., 32-114, 32-120, 32-126, 32-127, 32-152, 32-154a, 32-156, 32-157, 
32-158, 32-160, 32-162, 32-163, 32-173, 32-183, 32-186, 32-1,110. 
 

32-1003.  Methods of taking wildlife.  (a)  It is unlawful for any person, unless authorized by 
law or rules and regulations of the secretary, to: 

(1)  Take any game animal or furbearing animal from a motorboat, airplane, motor vehicle or 
other water, air or land vehicle unless such person holds a valid handicapped hunting and fishing 
permit issued to such person pursuant to K.S.A. 32-931 and amendments thereto;  

(2)  provide or receive information concerning the location of any game animal or furbearing 
animal by radio or other mechanical device for purposes of taking such bird or animal; 

(3)  use sodium fluoroacetate, commonly called formula 1080, except as permitted by rules 
and regulations of the secretary; 

(4)  use poison, poisonous gas, smoke or ferrets, or any smoke gun or other device for forcing 
smoke or any other asphyxiating or deadly gas or liquid into the holes, dens, runways or houses 
of wildlife, except as permitted by rules and regulations of the secretary; 

(5)  fish by placing in or upon any lake, pond, river, creek, stream or any other water, 
bordering on or within the state of Kansas, any deleterious substance or fishberries; 

(6)  place or explode any dynamite, giant powder, lime, nitroglycerine or any other explosive 
of any character or kind in any waters of the state of Kansas with the intent to take or stun fish; 

(7)  throw or cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial light on any highway, 
roadway, field, grassland, woodland or forest for the purpose of spotting, locating or taking any 
wildlife, while having in possession or control, either singly or as one of a group of persons, any 
rifle, pistol, shotgun, bow or other implement whereby wildlife could be taken, except that 
nothing in this subsection shall be construed to prohibit a person from carrying a weapon while 
using artificial light for conducting surveillance, actively caring for agricultural equipment or 
livestock or conducting activities described in subsection (c)(2) of K.S.A. 32-1002 and 
amendments thereto, when on land under the person's control, if the person owns such land, is in 
lawful possession of such land or is regularly employed for purposes of livestock or agricultural 
production or management on such land. 

(b)  Any person convicted of violating provisions of this section shall be subject to the 
penalties prescribed in K.S.A. 32-1031, and amendments thereto, except as provided in K.S.A. 
32-1032, and amendments thereto, relating to big game and wild turkey. 

History: L. 1972, ch. 160, sec. 1; L. 1981, ch. 175, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 115; L. 1993, 
ch. 185, sec. 10; L. 1997, ch. 77, sec. 1; L. 2005, ch. 182, sec. 4; July l. 
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Source or prior law: 
32-104, 32-135, 32-154a, 32-154b, 32-154c, 32-156, 32-158. 

 
32-1004.  Possession of wildlife or certain devices. (a) It is unlawful for any person to: 
(1)  Possess a carcass of a big game animal or wild turkey, taken within this state, unless a 

game tag issued by the secretary is attached to it, and a check station tag is attached to it if 
required by the secretary, or refuse to make such carcass available for inspection by any officer 
authorized to enforce the laws of this state or rules and regulations of the secretary; 

(2)  possess any wildlife unlawfully killed or otherwise unlawfully taken outside this state; 
(3)  cause to be shipped within, from or into this state any illegally taken or possessed 

wildlife; 
(4)  intentionally import into this state, or possess or release in this state, any species of 

wildlife prohibited pursuant to K.S.A. 32-956 and amendments thereto; 
(5)  refuse to allow any conservation officer or deputy conservation officer or any law 

enforcement officer to inspect and count any wildlife in such person's possession; or 
(6)  refuse to allow any conservation officer or deputy conservation officer or any law 

enforcement officer to inspect any devices or facilities of such person which are used in taking, 
possessing, transporting, storing or processing any wildlife subject to the wildlife and parks laws 
of this state or rules and regulations of the secretary. 

(b)  The provisions of subsection (a) do not apply to animals sold in surplus property disposal 
sales of department exhibit herds or animals legally taken outside this state. 

(c)  Any person convicted of violating provisions of this section shall be subject to the 
penalties prescribed in K.S.A. 32-1031, and amendments thereto, except as provided in K.S.A. 
32-1032, and amendments thereto, relating to big game and wild turkey. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 116; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 11; L. 2004, ch. 99, sec. 9; L. 
2005, ch. 182, sec. 7; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law: 

32-112b et seq., 32-127, 32-134, 32-153, 32-164a, 32-179. 
 

32-1005.  Commercialization of wildlife.  (a) Commercialization of wildlife is knowingly 
committing any of the following, except as permitted by statute or rules and regulations: 

(1)  Capturing, killing or possessing, for profit or commercial purposes, all or any part of any 
wildlife protected by this section; 

(2)  selling, bartering, purchasing or offering to sell, barter or purchase, for profit or 
commercial purposes, all or any part of any wildlife protected by this section; 

(3)  shipping, exporting, importing, transporting or carrying; causing to be shipped, exported, 
imported, transported or carried; or delivering or receiving for shipping, exporting, importing, 
transporting or carrying all or any part of any wildlife protected by this section, for profit or 
commercial purposes; or 

(4)  purchasing, for personal use or consumption, all or any part of any wildlife protected by 
this section. 

(b)  The wildlife protected by this section and the minimum value thereof are as follows: 
(1)  Eagles, $1000;  
(2)  deer or antelope, $1,000; 
(3)  elk or buffalo, $1,500; 
(4)  furbearing animals, except bobcats, $25; 
(5)  bobcats, $200; 
(6)  wild turkey, $200; 
(7)  owls, hawks, falcons, kites, harriers or ospreys, $500; 
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(8)  game birds, migratory game birds, resident and migratory nongame birds, game animals 
and nongame animals, $50 unless a higher amount is specified above; 

(9)  fish and mussels, the value for which shall be no less than the value listed for the 
appropriate fish or mussels species in the monetary values of freshwater fish or mussels and fish 
kill counting guidelines of the American fisheries society, special publication number 30; 

(10)  turtles, $25 each for unprocessed turtles or $16 per pound or fraction of a pound for 
processed turtle parts;  

(11)  bullfrogs, $4, whether dressed or not dressed;  
(12)  any wildlife classified as threatened or endangered, $500 unless a higher amount is 

specified above; and  
(12) any other wildlife not listed above, $25. 
(c)  Possession of wildlife, in whole or in part, captured or killed in violation of law and 

having an aggregate value of $1000 or more, as specified in subsection (b), is prima facie 
evidence of possession for profit or commercial purposes. 

(d)  Commercialization of wildlife having an aggregate value of $1000 or more, as specified 
in subsection (b), is a severity level 10, nonperson felony.  Commercialization of wildlife having 
an aggregate value of less than $1000, as specified in subsection (b), is a class A nonperson 
misdemeanor. 

(e)  In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a court convicting a person of the crime 
of commercialization of wildlife may: 

(1)  Confiscate all equipment used in the commission of the crime and may revoke for a 
period of up to 10 years all licenses and permits issued to the convicted person by the Kansas 
department of wildlife and parks; and  

(2)  order restitution to be paid to the Kansas department of wildlife and parks for the wildlife 
taken, which restitution shall be in an amount not less than the aggregate value of the wildlife, as 
specified in subsection (b). 

(f)  The provisions of this section shall apply only to wildlife illegally harvested and 
possessed by any person having actual knowledge that such wildlife was illegally harvested. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 85, sec. 1; L. 1994, ch. 291, sec. 67; L. 2003, ch. 121, sec. 3; L. 2004, 
ch. 130, sec. 2; L. 2006, ch. 194, sec. 26; L. 2007, ch.    , sec. 2; July 1. 
 

32-1006.  Coyotes, moles, gophers.  (a) Except as provided by subsection (b), it is lawful for 
a person to take coyotes in this state at any time if such person holds a valid license to hunt or 
furharvest, as the case may be.  It is lawful for a person to take moles or gophers in this state at 
any time. 

(b)  Unless authorized by rules and regulations of the secretary, it is unlawful for any person 
to take any coyote in this state at any time during the period of time designated by rules and 
regulations of the secretary as an open season for the hunting or taking of deer by firearm. 

History: L. 1978, ch. 151, sec. 2; L. 1985, ch. 133, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 117; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-158, 32-158a. 
 

32-1007.  Coyote carcasses. (a) It is unlawful for any person to publicly display the carcass 
of a coyote. 

(b)  For the purpose of this section "carcass" means the body of the coyote, either as a part or 
as a whole, and either with the skin intact or removed.  The skin of the coyote, when removed 
from the animal, shall not be considered a part of the coyote. 

(c)  The provisions of subsection (a) do not apply to the display of the carcass of a coyote at a 
fur market or the use of the carcass of a coyote for educational or training purposes. 

History:  L. 1979, ch. 117, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 118; July l. 
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32-1008.  Migratory birds. (a) As used in this section: 
(1) "Migratory birds" means such birds as are defined under the administrative provisions of 

the migratory bird treaty act (16 U.S.C.A. 703 to 7ll) and regulations now in force or hereafter 
adopted thereunder.   

(2)  "Migratory waterfowl" means such birds as are defined by l6 U.S.C.A. ~ 7l8. 
(b)  It is unlawful to take, buy, sell or offer to sell by any means or in any manner any 

migratory bird or birds in Kansas except as authorized and permitted by federal regulations now 
in force or hereafter adopted pursuant to authority provided by the migratory bird treaty act. 

(c)  It is unlawful to take, buy, sell or offer to sell by any means or in any manner any 
migratory waterfowl in Kansas except as authorized or permitted by l6 U.S.C.A. ~ 7l8a. 

History: L. 1963, ch. 247, sec. 1; L. 1975, ch. 224, sec. 1; L. 1976, ch. 202, sec. 1; L. 1989, 
ch. 118, sec. 119; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-156a, 32-216. 

 
32-1009.  Nongame species.  Except as provided in rules and regulations adopted pursuant to 

K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-963, it shall  be unlawful for any person to take, possess, transport, export, 
process, sell or offer for sale or ship nongame species deemed by the secretary to be in need of 
conservation pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-959.  Subject to the same exception, it shall 
further be unlawful for any common or contract carrier knowingly to transport or receive for 
shipment nongame species deemed by the secretary to be in need of conservation pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-959. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 120; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:    32-503. 
 

32-1010.  Threatened species.  Except as otherwise specifically provided in K.S.A. 1989 
Supp. 32-961 or in a special permit issued under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-961 or in any rules and 
regulations adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-961, the intentional taking of any 
threatened species indigenous to this state, which has been determined by the secretary to be a 
threatened species in this state and is included in a list of such threatened species adopted 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-960, shall constitute unlawful taking of a threatened species. 

History:  L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. 8; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 121; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-508. 
 

32-1011.  Endangered species.  Except as otherwise specifically provided in K.S.A. 1989 
Supp. 32-961 or in a special permit issued under K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-961 or in any rule and 
regulation adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-961, the intentional taking of any 
endangered species indigenous to this state, which has been determined by the secretary to be an 
endangered species in this state and is included in a list of such endangered species adopted 
pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-960, shall constitute unlawful taking of an endangered 
species. 

History:  L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. 9; L. 1985, ch. 132, sec. 7; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 122; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-509. 
 

32-1012.  Application of prohibitions regarding nongame or endangered species.   (a)  
Nothing in the nongame and endangered species conservation act shall be construed to: 
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(l)  Apply retroactively to any occurrence prior to July l, l975; 
(2)  prohibit importation into the state of wildlife which may be lawfully imported into the 

United States or lawfully taken and removed from another state; or  
(3)  prohibit entry into the state or possession, transportation, exportation, processing, sale or 

offer for sale or shipment of any species of wildlife which is deemed to be threatened or 
endangered in this state but not in the state where originally taken, if the person engaging therein 
demonstrates by circumstantial evidence that such species of wildlife was lawfully taken and 
lawfully removed from such state. 

(b)  The provisions of this section shall not be construed to permit the possession, 
transportation, exportation, processing, sale or offer for sale or shipment within this state of any 
species of wildlife determined to be a threatened species or endangered species pursuant to Pub. 
L. No. 93-205 (December 28, l973), the endangered species act of l973, and acts amendatory 
thereof except as permitted in K.S.A.  1989 Supp. 32-961. 

History:  L. 1975, ch. 221, sec. 10; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 123; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-510. 
 

32-1013.  Taking wildlife without permission on land posted "by written permission 
only".  (a)  Any landowner or person in lawful possession of any land may post such land with 
signs stating that hunting, trapping or fishing on such land shall be by written permission only.  
It is unlawful for any person to take wildlife on land which is posted as provided in this 
subsection, without having in the person's possession the written permission of the owner or 
person in lawful possession thereof. 

(b) Instead of posting land as provided in subsection (a), any landowner or person in lawful 
possession of any land may post such land by placing identifying purple paint marks on trees or 
posts around the area to be posted.  Each paint mark shall be a vertical line of at least eight 
inches in length and the bottom of the mark shall be no less than three feet nor more than five 
feet high.  Such paint marks shall be readily visible to any person approaching the land.  Land 
posted as provided in this subsection shall be considered to be posted by written permission only 
as provided in subsection (a). 

(c)  A person licensed to hunt or furharvest who is following or pursuing a wounded animal 
on land as provided in this section posted without written permission of the landowner or person 
in lawful possession thereof shall not be in violation of this section while in such pursuit, except 
that the provisions of this subsection shall not authorize a person to remain on such land if 
instructed to leave by the owner or person in lawful possession of the land.  Any person who 
fails to leave such land when instructed is subject to the provisions of subsection (b) K.S.A. 2l-
3728, and amendments thereto. 

(d)  Any person convicted of violating provisions of this section shall be subject to the 
penalties prescribed in K.S.A. 32-1031, and amendments thereto, except as provided in K.S.A. 
32-1032, and amendments thereto, relating to big game and wild turkey. 

History:  L. 1971, ch. 143, sec. 1; L. 1977, ch. 113, sec. 2; L. 1985, ch. 132, sec. 3; L. 1989, 
ch. 118, sec. 124; L. 2000, ch. 51, sec. 1; L. 2004, ch. 135, sec. 2; L. 2005, ch. 182, sec. 5; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-142a, 32-143. 
 

32-1014.  Obstruction of impeding of lawful activities. (a)  No person shall willfully 
obstruct or impede the participation of any individual in the lawful activity of hunting, 
furharvesting or fishing. 

(b)  The provisions of this section shall not apply to the actions of law enforcement officers 
and personnel of the department in the performance of their official duties and shall not obstruct 
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or impede the legal rights and normal activities of landowners or tenants including, but not 
limited to, farming, ranching and the right to limit trespass. 

History:  L. 1987, ch. 136, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 125; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-191. 
 

32-1015.  Miscellaneous violations. (a)  It is unlawful for any person to: 
(l)  Destroy any muskrat house, beaver dam, mink run or any hole, den or runway of any 

furbearing animal, or cut down or destroy any tree that is the home, habitat or refuge of any 
furbearing animal; 

(2)  hunt deer or elk in this state in an area where a firearms season for the taking of deer or 
elk is occurring unless such person is wearing clothing of a highly visible nature in a color, an 
amount worn and a location on such person's body prescribed by rules and regulations adopted 
by the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto; 

(3)  do any act or engage in any activity within any state park, state lake, recreational ground, 
wildlife area or sanctuary, natural area or other area under the control of the secretary which is in 
violation of or contrary to law or rules and regulations of the secretary; 

(4)  use any manner or means of taking fish which may escape from a private water fishing 
impoundment and kill or endanger fish in another such impoundment or in public waters; 

(5)  remove fish from a private water fishing impoundment without the consent of the owner 
or tenant having possession and control of such impoundment; or  

(6)  place, erect or cause to be placed or erected any seine, screen, net, weir, fishdam or other 
obstruction in or across any of the waters, rivers, creeks, ponds, streams, sloughs or other 
watercourses within the jurisdiction of this state in such a manner as will obstruct the free 
passage of fish up and down and through such watercourses. 

(b)  Subsection (a)(l) shall not be construed to prohibit a legal owner or occupant of land from 
cutting trees on such land. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 126; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-191. 
 

32-1016 to 32-1030.  Reserved. 
 
 PENALTIES 
 

32-1031.  Violations, generally.  (a)  Unless otherwise provided by law or rules and 
regulations of the secretary, violation of any provision of the wildlife and parks laws of this state 
or rules and regulations adopted thereunder is a class C misdemeanor. 

   (1)  Upon a second conviction of a wildlife violation that is a class C misdemeanor, a fine of 
not less than $250 shall be imposed. 

   (2)  Upon a third conviction of wildlife violation that is a class C misdemeanor, a fine of not 
less than $300 shall be imposed. 

   (3)  Upon a fourth and any subsequent convictions of a wildlife violation that is a class C 
misdemeanor, a fine of not less than $400 shall be imposed and a minimum of not less than 7 
days in the county jail shall be served. 

   (b)  Any conviction for a wildlife violation that is a class C misdemeanor that occurs before 
July 1, 2005, shall not be considered for purposes of this section. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 126; L. 2005, ch. 182, sec. 1; July l. 
 
Source or prior law: 
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32-135a, 32-136, 32-142a, 32-146, 32-154, 32-154a, 32-156a,32-158b, 32-165, 32-172c, 32-176, 
32-190, 32-191, 32-1-110, 32-226, 32-503, 32-508, 32-602, 74-4517. 
 

32-1032.  Violations relating to big game permits and tags.  (a)  Violation of any provision 
of the wildlife and parks laws of this state or rules and regulations of the secretary relating to big 
game or wild turkey permits and game tags, taking big game or wild turkey during a closed 
season, taking big game or wild turkey in violation of subsections (a)(1), (2) or (7) of K.S.A. 32-
1003, and amendments thereto, or taking big game or wild turkey in violation of subsection 
(a)(2) or (3) of K.S.A. 32-1004, and amendments thereto, or taking big game or wild turkey in 
violation of K.S.A. 32-1013, and amendments thereto, is a misdemeanor, subject to the 
provisions of subsection (b), punishable by a fine or by imprisonment in the county jail, or by 
both. 

(1)  Upon a first or second conviction for a violation of the wildlife and parks laws of this 
state or the rules and regulations of the secretary relating to this section, the violator shall not be 
fined less than $500 nor more than $1,000 or be imprisoned in the county jail for not more than 
six months, or both. 
    (2)  Upon a third conviction for a violation of the wildlife and parks laws of this state or the 
rules and regulations of the secretary relating to this section, the violator shall not be fined less 
than $1,000 and shall be imprisoned in the county jail for not less than 30 days.  A third 
conviction shall be a class B nonperson misdemeanor. 
   (3)  Upon a fourth conviction for a violation of the wildlife and parks laws of this state or the 
rules and regulations of the secretary relating to this section, the violator  shall not be fined less 
than $1,000 and shall be imprisoned in the county jail for not less than 60 days.  A fourth 
conviction shall be a class A nonperson misdemeanor. 
   (4)  Upon the fifth or subsequent convictions for a violation of the wildlife and parks laws of 
the state or the rules and regulations of the secretary relating to this section, the violator shall not 
be fined less than $1,000 and shall be imprisoned in the county jail for not less than 90 days.  A 
fifth or subsequent conviction shall be a class A nonperson misdemeanor. 
   Any conviction for a wildlife violation that occurs before July 1, 2005, shall not be considered 
for purposes of this subsection.  

(b) (1)  In addition to any other penalty prescribed by law, the unlawful intentional taking of a 
trophy big game animal shall be punishable by a fine of $5,000. 

(2) A trophy big game animal shall include any animal meeting the following criteria: 
(A) An antlered whitetail deer having an inside spread measurement of at least 17 inches; 
(B) an antlered mule deer having an inside spread measurement of at least 22 inches; 
(C) an antlered elk having at least six points on one antler; or 
(D) an antelope having at least one horn greater than 14 inches in length. 
(3) The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto, 

such rules and regulations that the secretary deems necessary to implement and define the terms 
of this section. 

(c) In addition to any other penalty imposed by the convicting court, if a person is convicted 
of a violation of K.S.A. 32-1001, 32-1002, 32-1003, 32-1004 or 32-1013, and amendments 
thereto, that involves taking of a big game animal or wild turkey, or if a person is convicted of a 
violation of K.S.A. 32-1005, and amendments thereto, that involves commercialization of a big 
game animal or wild turkey: 

(1) Upon the first such conviction, the court may order forfeiture of the person’s hunting 
privileges for one year from the date of conviction and:  (A) Revocation of the person=s hunting 
license, unless such license is a lifetime hunting license; or (B) if the person possesses a lifetime 
hunting license, suspension of such license for one year from the date of conviction. 

(2) Upon the second such conviction, the court shall order forfeiture of the person=s hunting 
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privileges for three years from the date of conviction and: (A) Revocation of the person=s hunting 
license, unless such license is a lifetime hunting license; or (B) if the person possesses a lifetime 
hunting license, suspension of such license for three years from the date of conviction. 

(3) Upon the third or a subsequent such conviction, the court shall order forfeiture of the 
person=s hunting privileges for five years from the date of conviction and: (A) Revocation of the 
person=s hunting license, unless such license is a lifetime hunting license; or (B) if the person 
possesses a lifetime hunting license, suspension of such license for five years from the date of 
conviction. 

(d) If a person convicted of a violation described in subsection (c) has been issued a 
combination hunting and fishing license or a combination lifetime license, only the hunting 
portion of such license shall be revoked or suspended pursuant to subsection (c). 

(e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent a convicting court from suspending a 
person=s hunting privileges or ordering the forfeiture or suspension of the person=s license, 
permit, stamp or other issue of the department for a period longer than provided in this section, if 
such forfeiture or suspension is otherwise provided for by law.   

History:  L. 1925, ch. 175, sec. 2; L. 1963, ch. 245, sec. 5; L. 1981, ch. 175, sec. 2; L. 1983, 
ch. 132, sec. 1; L. 1985, ch. 132, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 128; L. 2000, ch. 104, sec. 4; L. 
2000, ch. 159, sec. 6; L. 2004, ch. 99, sec. 10; L. 2005, ch. 182, sec. 2; L. 2007, ch.     , sec. 1; 
July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-110b. 
 

32-1033.  Unlawful taking of an endangered species, as defined in K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-
1011, is a class A misdemeanor. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 129; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-509. 
 

32-1034.  Second conviction for obstruction or impeding of lawful activities.  (a)  If a 
person is convicted of a violation of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-1014 and such person, within two 
years prior to such violation, committed another violation of this section which arose out of a 
separate set of circumstances and for which the person was convicted, such person is guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $l,000 or imprisonment for not more than 
one year, or both. 

(b)  Any person convicted of a violation of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-1014 shall be liable to the 
person with whom the violator interfered for all costs and damages resulting therefrom. 

History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 130; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-191. 
 

32-1035 to 32-1039.  Reserved. 
 

32-1040.  Violations by 16- and 17-year olds. The court hearing the prosecution of any child 
16 or 17 years of age who is charged with a violation of any provision of the wildlife and parks 
laws of this state or rules and regulations adopted thereunder may impose any fine authorized by 
law for the offense, but no child under l8 years of age shall be incarcerated in a jail for more than 
10 days for such an offense.  If the child is incarcerated in a jail, the child shall be in quarters 
separate from adult prisoners.  In lieu of incarceration in a city or county jail, the court may order 
that a child be placed in a juvenile detention facility if the operator of the facility is willing to 
accept the child. 
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History:  L. 1983, ch. 140, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 131; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-110c. 
 

32-1041.  Forfeiture or suspension of license, permit, stamp or other issue. (a) (1) Upon 
the first conviction of violating any provision of the wildlife and parks laws of this state or rules 
and regulations of the secretary, and in addition to any authorized sentence imposed by the 
convicting court, such court may : (A) Order such person to refrain from engaging in any 
activity, legal or illegal, the activity for which convicted for up to one year from the date of 
conviction, and (B) order the forfeiture of any license, permit, stamp or other issue of the 
department, other than a lifetime license, which is held by the convicted person and pertains to 
the activity for which the person was convicted for up to one year from the date of conviction. 

(2)  Upon any subsequent conviction of violating any provision of the wildlife and parks laws 
of this state, or rules and regulations adopted thereunder, and in addition to any authorized 
sentence imposed by the convicting court, such court shall: (A) Order such person to refrain 
from any activity, legal or illegal, related to the activity for which convicted for one year from 
the date of conviction, and (B) order the forfeiture of any license, permit, stamp or other issue of 
the department, other than a lifetime license, which is held by the convicted person and pertains 
to the activity for which the person was convicted for one year from the date of conviction. 

(b) (1)  Upon the first conviction of violating any provision of the wildlife and parks laws of 
this state, or rules and regulations adopted thereunder, by a person who has been issued a 
lifetime hunting or fishing license or a combination thereof, and in addition to any authorized 
sentence imposed by the convicting court, such court may order the suspension of such license 
for up to one year from the date of conviction. 

(2)  Upon any subsequent conviction of violating any provision of the wildlife and parks laws 
of this state, or rules and regulations adopted thereunder, by a person who has been issued a 
lifetime hunting or fishing license or a combination thereof, and in addition to any authorized 
sentence imposed by the convicting court, such court shall order the suspension of such license 
for one year from the date of conviction. 

(c)  If a convicted person has been issued a combination hunting and fishing license or a 
combination lifetime license, only that portion of such license which pertains to the activity for 
which such person is convicted shall be subject to forfeiture or suspension pursuant to this 
section.  In such case, the order of conviction shall indicate that part of the license which is 
forfeited or suspended, and such order shall become a temporary license under which the 
offender may either hunt or fish as the order indicates. 

(d)  Whenever a judge orders forfeiture or suspension of a license, permit, stamp or other 
issue of the department pursuant to this section, such license, permit, stamp or other issue shall 
be surrendered to the court and the judge shall forward it, along with a copy of the conviction 
order to the department. 

(e)  A person whose license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department has been forfeited 
or suspended pursuant to subsection (a)(1) or (b)(1) shall not be eligible to purchase another such 
issue within 30 days of the conviction.  A person whose license, permit, stamp or other issue of 
the department has been forfeited or suspended pursuant to subsection (a)(2) or (b)(2) shall not 
be eligible to purchase another such issue within one year from the date of conviction. 

(f)  A judge, upon a finding of multiple, repeated or otherwise aggravated violations by a 
defendant, may order forfeiture or suspension of the defendant's license, permit, stamp or other 
issue of the department for a period longer than otherwise provided by this section and may 
order the defendant to refrain from any activity, legal or illegal, related to the activity for which 
convicted for a period longer than otherwise provided by this section. 

History:  L. 1985, ch. 132, sec. 8; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 132; July l. 
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Source or prior law:  32-130a, 32-195. 
 

32-1042 to 32-1046.  Reserved. 
 
 PROCEDURES 
 

32-1047.  Seizure of wildlife, devices and equipment; disposition.  The department is 
hereby empowered and directed to seize and possess any wildlife which is taken, possessed, sold 
or transported unlawfully, and any steel trap, snare or other device or equipment used in taking 
or transporting wildlife unlawfully or during closed season.  The department is hereby authorized 
and directed to: 

(a)  Sell the seized item, including wildlife parts with a dollar value, and remit the proceeds to 
the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. 
 If the seized item is a firearm that has been forfeited pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4206, and 
amendments thereto, then it may be sold unless: (1) The firearm is significantly altered in any 
manner; or (2) the sale and public possession of such firearm is otherwise prohibited by law. 
Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the 
state treasury to the credit of the wildlife fee fund; or  

(b) retain the seized item for educational, scientific or department operational purposes. 
History:  L. 1927, ch. 221, sec. 15; L. 1985, ch. 132, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 133; L. 

2001, ch. 5, sec. 103; L. 2003, ch.121, sec. 5; Jan. l, 2004. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-130, 32-130a. 
 

32-1048.  Conservation officers and employees; arrest powers.  Any officer or other 
employee of the department who meets the criteria specified in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 32-808 
and amendments thereto and any other Kansas law enforcement officer authorized to enforce the 
laws of this state shall have the power to arrest pursuant to the authority granted in subsection (b) 
of K.S.A. 32-808 and amendments thereto, at any place in the state of Kansas, any person or 
persons found violating any laws of the state, and rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to 
chapter 32 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, and to bring such persons 
immediately before the nearest proper judge of the district court of the county within which such 
violation took place for trial. 

History:  L. 1943, ch. 173, sec. 2; L. 1969, ch. 211, sec. 2; L. 1975, ch. 223, sec. 3; L. 1976, 
ch. 145, sec. 156; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 134; L. 1997, ch. 168, sec. 9; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-155. 
 

32-1049.  Citation; notice. (a) Whenever a person is charged for any violation of any of the 
wildlife and parks laws of this state or the provisions of article 11 of chapter 32 of the Kansas 
Statutes Annotated or rules and regulations adopted thereunder punishable as a misdemeanor and 
is not immediately taken before a judge of the district court as required or permitted pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-1048, and 32-1178, and amendments thereto, the officer shall prepare a 
written citation containing a notice to appear in court, the name and address of the person, the 
offense charged, the time and place when and where the person shall appear in court and such 
other pertinent information as may be necessary. 

(b)  The time specified in the citation must be at least five days after the alleged violation 
unless the person charged with the violation shall demand an earlier hearing. 

(c)  The place specified in the citation must be before a judge of the district court within the 
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county in which the offense is alleged to have been committed and who has jurisdiction of the 
offense and is nearest or most accessible with reference to the place where the alleged violation 
occurred. 

(d)  The person charged with the violation may give a written promise to appear in court by 
signing at least one copy of the written citation prepared by the officer, in which event the officer 
shall deliver a copy of the citation to the person, and thereupon the officer shall not take the 
person into physical custody for the violation. 

(e)  Any officer violating any provisions of this section is guilty of misconduct in office and 
shall be subject to removal from office. 

(f)  In the event the form of citation provided for in this section includes information required 
by law and is signed by the officer preparing the same, such citation when filed with a court 
having jurisdiction shall be deemed to be a lawful complaint for the purpose of prosecution 
under law. 

History:  L. 1975, ch. 223, sec. 1; L. 1976, ch. 145, sec. 157; L. 1986, ch. 150, sec. 2; L. 
1989, ch. 118, sec. 135; July l. 
 
   32-1050.  Appearance bond.  (a) Whenever any person is issued a citation by a conservation 
officer or deputy conservation officer of the wildlife and parks conservation service or by any 
law enforcement officer for any of the violations described in subsection (b), the officer may 
require such person to give bond in the amount specified in subsection (b) for the offense for 
which the person was charged, which bond shall be subject to forfeiture if the person does not 
appear at the court at the time specified in the written citation.  The bond shall be a cash bond 
and shall be payable using cash or legal tender identified as travelers checks, certified checks, 
cashiers checks, personal checks and postal money orders.  The cash bond shall be taken in the 
following manner:  The officer shall furnish the person charged with a stamped envelope 
addressed to the judge or clerk of the court named in the written citation and the person shall 
place in such envelope the amount of the bond, and in the presence of the officer shall deposit 
the same in the United States mail.  After having complied with these requirements, the person 
charged need not sign the citation, but the officer shall note the amount of the bond mailed on 
the citation and shall give a copy of such citation to the person.   

(b)  The offenses for which a cash bond may be required as provided in subsection (a)  and 
the amounts thereof shall be as follows, subject to increase at the discretion of the court: 
 
Engaging in any activity without a required valid license or permit, other than a big game  

or wild turkey permit or a license or permit for commercial activity ...................................$100 
Engaging in any activity without a required stamp or other issue of the department ...................75 
Engaging in any commercial activity without a required valid license or permit .......................500 
Engaging in any big game or wild turkey hunting without a required valid big game or wild 

turkey permit ...........................................................................................................................500 
Making misrepresentation to secure license, permit, stamp or other issue of the department ....250 
Taking wildlife, except big game or wild turkey, unlawfully (including but not limited to  

taking wildlife before or after legal taking hours, during closed season, or using unlawful 
equipment, means or method) .................................................................................................100 

Carrying unplugged shotgun..........................................................................................................75 
Exceeding bag or possession limit, except big game or wild turkey - $25 for each animal in  

excess of the bag or possession limit, plus................................................................................75 
Exceeding big game or wild turkey bag or possession limit - $100 for each animal in  

excess of the bag or possession limit, plus..............................................................................250 
Unlawful transporting of wildlife ................................................................................................150 
Taking big game or wild turkey unlawfully (including but not limited to taking big game  
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or wild turkey before or after legal taking hours, during closed season, or using  
unlawful equipment, means or method)..................................................................................500 

Failing to wear and properly display required clothing during a big game hunting season..........75 
Taking wildlife when operating an amount of equipment in excess of that legally authorized ....75 
Exceeding creel or possession limit - $25 for each animal in excess of the creel or  

possession limit, plus ................................................................................................................75 
Operating vessel without a certificate of number or registration ..................................................50 
Operating vessel without proper display of required identification number .................................50 
Failing to properly display required lights on vessel between sunset and sunrise ........................50 
Operating vessel without correct number or approved types of adult personal flotation   
    devices  - $25 for each adult personal flotation device violation, plus..................................... 50 
Operating vessel without correct number or approved types of child personal flotation  
 devices - $50 for each child personal flotation device violation, plus....................................100 
Operating vessel without required number of personal flotation devices readily accessible            

 and in good and serviceable condition - $25 for each personal flotation device  
violation, plus............................................................................................................................50 

Operating vessel without required number or approved types of fire extinguishers .....................50 
Operating vessel in restricted area .................................................................................................50 
Operating vessel without required observer or rearview mirror on vessel ....................................50 
Operating vessel without required equipment or in excess of capacity plate limitations..............50 
Unlawful altering, destroying or removing of capacity plate ......................................................100 

(c)  For any violation of the wildlife and park laws of this state or rules and regulations 
adopted thereunder for which a cash bond is not specified in subsection (b), the court may 
establish a cash bond amount. 

(d)  There shall be added to the amount of cash bond required pursuant to subsections (b) and 
(c) the amount of docket fee as prescribed by K.S.A. 28-172a, and amendments thereto for 
crimes defined in chapter 32 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto. 

(e)  In the event of forfeiture of any of the bonds set forth in this section, the amount added by 
(d) to the amount of the cash bond shall be regarded as a docket fee. 
   History:  L. 1975, ch. 223, sec. 2; L. 1981, ch. 175, sec. 7; L. 184, ch. 148, sec. 3; L. 1986, ch. 
47, sec. 2; L. 1986, ch. 146, sec. 4; L. 1987, ch. 134, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 136; L. 1989, 
ch. 239, sec. 7; L. 1989, ch. 274, sec. l;  L. 1992, ch. 315, sec. 9; L. 1994, ch. 245, sec. 3; L. 
1994, ch. 335, sec. 7; L. 2002, ch. 64, sec. 1; L. 2004, ch. 99, sec. 11; Jan. 1, 2005. 
  
Source or prior law:  32-155b. 
 

32-1051.  Law enforcement officers' duties.  (a) It shall be the duty of all conservation 
officers and deputy conservation officers of the wildlife and parks conservation service and all 
law enforcement officers authorized to enforce the laws of this state to diligently inquire into and 
prosecute all violations of the wildlife and parks laws of this state and rules and regulations of 
the secretary.  Any such officers having knowledge or notice of any such violation shall 
forthwith make complaint before a court of competent jurisdiction and venue.  No such officer 
making complaint shall be liable for costs unless it is found by the court or jury that the 
complaint was filed for malicious purposes and without probable cause. 

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the use of warnings or the issuance of 
warning tickets, in lieu of making a complaint, when circumstances warrant.  

History:  L. 1911, ch. 198, sec. 31; R.S. 1923, 32-131; L. 1974, ch. 446, sec. 15; L. 1989, ch. 
118, sec. 137; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 12; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  L. 1897, ch. 135, sec. 10; L. 1905, ch. 267, sec. 18; 32-131, 32-140. 



 
 87 

 
32-1052.  Complaint and proof.  In a prosecution of any person or persons for a violation of 

any of the wildlife and parks laws of this state or rules and regulations of the secretary, it shall 
not be necessary to:   

(a)  State in the complaint the true or scientific name of the wildlife involved in the alleged 
violation; or 

(b)  state in the complaint or to prove at the trial that the taking or possessing of any wildlife 
involved in the alleged violation was not for the sole purpose of using or preserving it as a 
specimen for scientific purposes. 

History:  L. 1911, ch. 198, sec. 28; R.S. 1923, 32-128.  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 138; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  L. 1897, ch. 135, sec. 5; L. 1905, ch. 267, sec. 14; 32-128. 
 

32-1053.  County or district attorney's duties; prosecution fee.  It shall be the duty of each 
county or district attorney to prosecute any person or persons charged with a violation of any of 
the wildlife and parks laws of this state or rules and regulations of the secretary.  The attorney so 
prosecuting shall receive the fee established by law or by the court having jurisdiction over the 
matter for each prosecution in a district court, and such fee shall be taxed to the defendant in 
every case where conviction shall be had. 

History:  L. 1911, ch. 198, sec. 32; R.S. 1923, 32-132; L. 1973, ch. 134, sec. 37; L. 1976, ch. 
145, sec. 155; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 139; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  L. 1897, ch. 135, sec. 9; L. 1905, ch. 267, sec. 19; 32-132. 
 

32-1054.  Report of prosecutions. It shall be the duty of every judge or clerk of the court 
before whom any prosecution for a violation of the wildlife and parks laws of this state or rules 
and regulations of the secretary is commenced or goes on appeal, within 20 days after disposition 
 thereof, to report in writing to the department the result thereof and the amount of fine collected, 
if any. 

History:  L. 1911, ch. 198, sec. 33; R.S. 1923, 32-133; L. 1973, ch. 134, sec. 38; L. 1989, ch. 
118, sec. 140; L. 2001, ch. 107, sec. 3; L. 2001, ch. 185, sec. 3;  July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-133. 
 
 32-1055 to 32-1060.  Reserved. 
 
 32-1061.  Wildlife violator compact; enactment of compact.  The wildlife violator compact 
is enacted into law and entered into by the State of Kansas with any and all jurisdictions legally 
joining therein in accordance with its terms.  The compact is substantially as follows: 
 

Article I 
FINDINGS, DECLARATION OF POLICY, AND PURPOSE 

 
   (a)  The party states find that: 
   (1)  Wildlife resources are managed in trust by the respective states for the benefit of all residents 
and visitors. 
   (2)  The protection of their respective wildlife resources can be materially affected by the degree of 
compliance with state statute, law, regulation, ordinance, or administrative rule relating to the 
management of those resources. 
   (3)  The preservation, protection, management, and restoration of wildlife contribute immeasurably 
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to the aesthetic, recreational, and economic aspects of these natural resources. 
   (4)  Wildlife resources are valuable without regard to political boundaries, therefore, all persons 
should be required to comply with wildlife preservation, protection, management, and restoration 
laws, ordinances, and administrative rules and regulations of all party states as a condition precedent 
to the continuance or issuance of any license to hunt, fish, trap, or possess wildlife. 
   (5) Violation of wildlife laws interferes with the management of wildlife resources and may 
endanger the safety of persons and property. 
   (6)  The mobility of many wildlife law violators necessitates the maintenance of channels of 
communications among the various states. 
   (7)  In most instances, a person who is cited for a wildlife violation in a state other than the 
person’s home state: 
   (i)  Must post collateral or bond to secure appearance for a trial at a later date; or 
   (ii)  If unable to post collateral or bond, is taken into custody until the collateral or bond is posted; 
or 

(iii) Is taken directly to court for an immediate appearance. 
   (8)  The purpose of the enforcement practices described in paragraph (7) of this subsection is to 
ensure compliance with the terms of a wildlife citation by the person who, if permitted to continue 
on the person’s way after receiving the citation, could return to the person’s home state and 
disregard the person’s duty under the terms of the citation. 
  (9)  In most instances, a person receiving a wildlife citation in the person’s home state is permitted 
to accept the citation from the officer at the scene of the violation and to immediately continue on 
the person’s way after agreeing or being instructed to comply with the terms of the citation. 
   (10) The practice described in paragraph (7) of this subsection causes unnecessary inconvenience 
and, at times, a hardship for the person who is unable at the time to post collateral, furnish a bond, 
stand trial, or pay the fine, and thus is compelled to remain in custody until some alternative 
arrangement can be made. 
   (11) The enforcement practices described in paragraph (7) of this subsection consume an undue 
amount of law enforcement time. 
   (b)  It is the policy of the party states to: 
   (1)  Promote compliance with the statutes, laws, ordinances, regulations, and administrative rules 
relating to management of wildlife resources in their respective states. 
   (2)  Recognize the suspension of wildlife license privileges or rights of any person whose license 
privileges or rights have been suspended by a party state and treat this suspension as if it had 
occurred in their state. 
   (3)  Allow violators to accept a wildlife citation, except as provided in subsection (b) of article III, 
and proceed on the violator’s way without delay whether or not the person is a resident in the state in 
which the citation was issued, provided that the violator’s home state is party to this compact. 
   (4)  Report to the appropriate party state, as provided in the compact manual, any conviction 
recorded against any person whose home state was not the issuing state. 
   (5)  Allow the home state to recognize and treat convictions recorded for their residents which 
occurred in another party state as if they had occurred in the home state. 
   (6)  Extend cooperation to its fullest extent among the party states for obtaining compliance with 
the terms of a wildlife citation issued in one party state to a resident of another party state. 
   (7)  Maximize effective use of law enforcement personnel and information. 
   (8)  Assist court systems in the efficient disposition of wildlife violations. 
   (c)  The purpose of this compact is to: 
   (1)  Provide a means through which the party states may participate in a reciprocal program to 
effectuate policies enumerated in subsection (b) of this article in a uniform and orderly manner. 
   (2)  Provide for the fair and impartial treatment of wildlife violators operating within party states 
in recognition of the person’s right of due process and the sovereign status of a party state. 
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ARTICLE II 

DEFINITIONS 
 

   Unless the context requires otherwise, the definitions in this article apply through this compact 
and are intended only for the implementation of this compact: 
   (a)  “Citation” means any summons, complaint, ticket, penalty assessment, or other official 
document issued by a wildlife officer or other peace officer for a wildlife violation containing an 
order which requires the person to respond. 
   (b)  “Collateral” means any cash or other security deposited to secure an appearance for trial, 
in connection with the issuance by a wildlife officer or other peace officer of a citation for a 
wildlife violation. 
   (c)  “Compliance” with respect to a citation means the act of answering the citation through 
appearance at a court, a tribunal, or payment of fines, costs, and surcharges, if any, or both such 
appearance and payment. 
   (d)  “Conviction” means a conviction, including any court conviction, of any offense related to 
the preservation, protection, management, or restoration of wildlife which is prohibited by state 
statute, law, regulation, ordinance, or administrative rule, or a forfeiture of bail, bond, or other 
security deposited to secure appearance by a person charged with having committed any such 
offense, or payment of a penalty assessment, or a plea of nolo contendere, or the imposition of a 
deferred or suspended sentence by the court. 
   (e)  “Court” means a court of law, including magistrate’s court and the justice of the peace 
court. 
   (f)  “Home state” means the state of primary residence of a person. 
   (g)  “Issuing state” means the party state which issues a wildlife citation to the violator. 
   (h)  “License” means any license, permit, or other public document which conveys to the 
person to whom it was issued the privilege of pursuing, possessing, or taking any wildlife 
regulated by statute, law, regulation, ordinance, or administrative rule of a party state. 
   (i)  “Licensing authority” means the Kansas department of wildlife and parks or the department 
within each party state which is authorized by law to issue or approve licenses or permits to hunt, 
fish, trap, or possess wildlife. 
   (j)  “Party state” means any state which enacts legislation to become a member of this wildlife 
compact. 
   (k)  “Personal recognizance” means an agreement by a person made at the time of issuance of 
the wildlife citation that the person will comply with the terms of that citation. 
   (l)  “State” means any state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of 
Columbia, Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Provinces of Canada, or other countries. 
   (m)  “Suspension” means any revocation, denial, or withdrawal of any or all license privileges 
or rights, including the privilege or right to apply for, purchase, or exercise the benefits 
conferred by any license. 
   (n)  “Terms of the citation” means those conditions and options expressly stated upon the 
citation. 
   (o)  “Wildlife” means all species of animals, including but not necessarily limited to mammals, 
birds, fish, reptiles, amphibians, mollusks, and crustaceans, which are defined as “wildlife” and 
are protected or otherwise regulated by statute, law, regulation, ordinance, or administrative rule 
in a party state.  “Wildlife” also means food fish and shellfish as defined by statute, law, 
regulation, ordinance, or administrative rule in a party state.  Species included in the definition 
of “wildlife” vary from state to state and determination of whether a species is “wildlife” for the 
purposes of this compact shall be based on local law. 
   (p)  “Wildlife law” means any statute, law, regulation, ordinance, or administrative rule 
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developed and enacted to manage wildlife resources and the use thereof. 
   (q)  “Wildlife officer” means any individual authorized by a party state to issue a citation for a 
wildlife violation. 
   (r)  “Wildlife violation” means any cited violation of a statute, law, regulation, ordinance, or 
administrative rule developed and enacted to manage wildlife resources and the use thereof. 
 

ARTICLE III 
PROCEDURES FOR ISSUING STATE 

 
   (a)  When issuing a citation for a wildlife violation, a wildlife officer shall issue a citation to 
any person whose primary residence is in a party state in the same manner as if the person were a 
resident of the home state and shall not require the person to post collateral to secure appearance, 
subject to the exceptions contained in subsection (b) of this article, if the officer receives the 
person’s personal recognizance that the person will comply with the terms of the citation. 
  (b)  Personal recognizance is acceptable: 
  (1)  If not prohibited by local law or the compact manual adopted by the secretary of the Kansas 
department of wildlife and parks as a regulation; and 
  (2)  If the violator provides adequate proof of the violator’s identification to the wildlife officer. 
  (c)  Upon conviction or failure of a person to comply with the terms of a wildlife citation, the 
appropriate court or official shall report the conviction or failure to comply to the licensing 
authority of the party state in which the wildlife citation was issued.  The report shall be made in 
accordance with procedures specified by the issuing state and shall contain the information 
specified in the compact manual adopted by the secretary of the Kansas department of wildlife 
and parks as a regulation as minimum requirements for effective processing by the home state. 
   (d)  Upon receipt of the report of conviction or noncompliance required by subsection (c) of 
this article, the licensing authority of the issuing state shall transmit to the licensing authority in 
the home state of the violator the information in a form and content as contained in the compact 
manual adopted by the secretary of the Kansas department of wildlife and parks as a regulation. 
 

ARTICLE IV 
PROCEDURES FOR HOME STATE 

 
   (a)  Upon receipt of a report of failure to comply with the terms of a citation from the licensing 
authority of the issuing state, the licensing authority of the home state shall notify the violator, 
shall initiate a suspension action in accordance with the home state’s suspension procedures and 
shall suspend the violator’s license or permit privileges or rights until satisfactory evidence of 
compliance with the terms of the wildlife citation has been furnished by the issuing state to the 
home state licensing authority.  Due process safeguards will be accorded. 
    (b)  Upon receipt of a report of conviction resulting in the suspension or revocation of the 
violator’s license or permit privileges or rights from the licensing authority of the issuing state, 
the licensing authority of the home state shall enter such conviction in its records and shall treat 
such conviction as if it occurred in the home state for the purposes of the suspension of license or 
permit privileges. 
   (c)  The licensing authority of the home state shall maintain a record of actions taken and make 
reports to issuing states as provided in the compact manual adopted by the secretary of the 
Kansas department of wildlife and parks as a regulation. 
 

ARTICLE V 
RECIPROCAL RECOGNITION OF SUSPENSION 
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   All party states shall recognize the suspension of license or permit privileges or rights of any 
person by any party state as if the violation on which the suspension is based had in fact occurred 
in their state and would have been the basis for suspension of license or permit privileges or 
rights in their state. 
 

ARTICLE VI 
APPLICABILITY OF OTHER LAWS 

 
   Except as expressly required by provisions of this compact, nothing herein shall be construed 
to affect the right of any party state to apply any of its laws relating to license or permit 
privileges to any person or circumstance, or to invalidate or prevent any agreement or other 
cooperative arrangements between a party state and a nonparty state concerning wildlife law 
enforcement. 
 

ARTICLE VII 
COMPACT ADMINISTRATOR PROCEDURES 

 
   (a)  For the purpose of administering the provisions of this compact and to serve as a governing 
body for the resolution of all matters relating to the operation of this compact, a board of 
compact administrators is established.  The board of compact administrators shall be composed 
of one representative from each of the party states to be known as the compact administrator.  
The compact administrator shall be appointed by the head of the licensing authority of each party 
state, or his or her designee, and will serve and be subject to removal in accordance with the laws 
of the state the administrator represents.  A compact administrator may provide for the discharge 
of the administrator’s duties and the performance of the administrator’s functions as a board of 
compact administrators member by an alternate.  An alternate may not be entitled to serve unless 
written notification of the alternate’s identity has been given to the board of compact 
administrators. 
   (b)  Each member of the board of compact administrators shall be entitled to one vote.  No 
action of the board of compact administrators shall be binding unless taken at a meeting at which 
a majority of the total number of votes on the board of compact administrators is cast in favor 
thereof.  Action by the board of compact administrators shall be only at a meeting at which a 
majority of the party states are represented. 
   (c)  The board of compact administrators shall elect annually, from its membership, a 
chairperson and vice-chairperson. 
   (d)  The board of compact administrators shall adopt bylaws, not inconsistent with the 
provisions of this compact or the laws of a party state, for the conduct of its business and shall 
have the power to amend and rescind its bylaws. 
   (e)  The board of compact administrators may accept for any of its purposes and functions 
under this compact all donations and grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials, and 
services, conditional or otherwise, from any state, the United States, or any governmental 
agency, and may receive, utilize, and dispose of the same. 
   (f)  The board of compact administrators may contract with or accept services or personnel 
from any governmental or intergovernmental agency, individual, firm, corporation, or any 
private nonprofit organization or institution. 
   (g)  The board of compact administrators shall formulate all necessary procedures and develop 
uniform forms and documents for administering the provisions of this compact.  All procedures 
and forms adopted pursuant to board of compact administrators’ action shall be contained in the 
compact manual adopted by the secretary of the Kansas department of wildlife and parks as a 
regulation. 
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ARTICLE VIII 

ENTRY INTO COMPACT AND WITHDRAWAL 
 

   (a)  This compact shall become effective when it has been adopted by at least two states. 
   (b)(1)  Entry into the compact shall be made by resolution of ratification executed by the 
authorized officials of the applying state and submitted to the chairperson of the board of 
compact administrators. 
   (2)  The resolution shall be in a form and content as provided in the compact manual adopted 
by the secretary of the Kansas department of wildlife and parks as a regulation and shall include 
statements that in substance are as follows: 
   (i)  A citation of the authority by which the state is empowered to become a party to this 
compact; 
   (ii)  Agreement to comply with the terms and provisions of the compact; and 
   (iii)  That compact entry is with all states then party to the compact and with any state that 
legally becomes a party to the compact. 
   (3)  The effective date of entry shall be specified by the applying state, but shall not be less 
than 60 days after notice has been given by the chairperson of the board of compact 
administrators or by the secretariat of the board of compact administrators to each party state that 
the resolution from the applying state has been received. 
 (c)  A party state may withdraw from this compact by official written notice to the other party 
states, but a withdrawal shall not take effect until 90 days after notice of withdrawal is given.  
The notice shall be directed to the compact administrator of each member state.  No withdrawal 
shall affect the validity of this compact as to the remaining party states. 
 

ARTICLE IX 
AMENDMENTS TO THE COMPACT 

 
   (a)  This compact may be amended from time to time.  Amendments shall be presented in 
resolution form to the chairperson of the board of compact administrators and may be initiated 
by one or more party states. 
   (b)  Adoption of an amendment shall require endorsement by all party states and shall become 
effective 30 days after the date of the last endorsement. 
   (c)  Failure of a party state to respond to the compact chairperson within 120 days after receipt 
of the proposed amendment shall constitute endorsement. 
 

ARTICLE X 
CONSTRUCTION AND SEVERABILITY 

 
   This compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes stated herein.  The 
provisions of this compact shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision of 
this compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any party state or of the United 
States or the applicability thereof to any government, agency, individual, or circumstance is held 
invalid, the remainder of the compact shall not be affected thereby.  If this compact shall be held 
contrary to the constitution of any party state thereto, the compact shall remain in full force and 
effect as to the remaining states and in full force and effect as to the state affected as to all 
severable matters. 
 

ARTICLE XI 
TITLE 
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   This compact shall be known as the wildlife violator compact. 
   History:  L. 2005, ch. 70, sec. 1; July 1.  
 
   32-1062.  Same; rules and regulations.  The secretary of the Kansas department of wildlife 
and parks shall make and publish such rules and regulations, not inconsistent with law, as 
deemed necessary to carry out the purposes of the wildlife violator compact. 
History:  L. 2005, ch. 70, sec. 2; July 1. 
 
   32-1063.  Same; suspension or revocation of license or privileges pursuant to compact; 
subsequent acts prohibited; penalties.  It shall be unlawful for any person whose license, 
privilege, or right to hunt, fish, trap, possess, or transport wildlife, having been suspended or 
revoked pursuant to the wildlife violator compact, to exercise that right or privilege within this 
state or to purchase or possess such a license which grants such right or privilege. 
   (a)  Any person who knowingly hunts, fishes, traps, possesses, or transports any wildlife, or 
attempts to do any of the same, within this state in violation of such suspension or revocation 
pursuant to the wildlife violator compact shall be guilty of a class A nonperson misdemeanor and 
sentenced to the following: 
   (1)  A fine of not less than $1,500 nor more than $5,000; and 
   (2)  any privilege or right to hunt, fish, trap or otherwise take, possess or transport any wildlife 
in this state, or purchase or possess any license, permit, stamp or other issue of the Kansas 
department of wildlife and parks shall be forfeited or suspended for a period of not less than two 
years nor more than five years in addition to and consecutive to the original revocation or 
suspension set forth by the provisions of the compact; 
   (3)  the sentencing judge may impose other sanctions pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4502 and 21-
4603d, and amendments thereto. 
   (b)  Any person who knowingly purchases or possesses, or attempts to purchase or possess, a 
license to hunt, fish, trap, possess or transport wildlife in this state in violation of such 
suspension or revocation pursuant to the wildlife violator compact shall be guilty of a class A 
nonperson misdemeanor and sentenced to the following: 
   (1)  A fine of not less than $750 nor more than $2,500; and  
   (2)  any privilege or right to hunt, fish, trap or otherwise take, possess or transport any wildlife 
in this state, or purchase or possess any license, permit, stamp or other issue of the Kansas 
department of wildlife and parks shall be forfeited or suspended for a period of not less than two 
years in addition to and consecutive to the original revocation or suspension set forth by the 
provisions of the compact; 
   (3)  the sentencing judge may impose other sanctions pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4502 and 21-
4603d, and amendments thereto. 
   History:  L. 2005, ch. 70, sec. 3; July 1. 
 
   32-1064.  Same; licensing authority; duties.  As used in the compact, the term “licensing 
authority” with reference to this state, means the Kansas department of wildlife and parks.  The 
secretary of the Kansas department of wildlife and parks shall furnish to the appropriate 
authorities of party states any information or document reasonably necessary to facilitate the 
administration of the compact. 
   History:  L. 2005, ch. 70, sec. 4; July 1. 
 
   32-1065.  Same; compact administrator, compensation and expenses.  The compact 
administrator provided for in article VII of the wildlife violator compact shall not be entitled to 
any additional compensation for service as the administrator but shall be entitled to expenses 
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incurred in connection with the duties and responsibilities of the administrator in the same 
manner as for expenses incurred in connection with any other duties or responsibilities of such 
office or employment. 
   History:  L. 2005, ch. 70, sec. 5; July 1. 
 
   32-1066.  Same; board of compact administrators; appointment of state administrator.  
The secretary of the Kansas department of wildlife and parks shall appoint the director or head 
administrator of the department’s law enforcement division or section to serve on the board of 
compact administrators as the compact administrator for this state as required by section 1 
subsection (a) of article VII of the wildlife violator compact. 

History:  L. 2005, ch. 70, sec. 6; July 1. 
   

 Article ll.  BOATING AND WATER ACTIVITIES 
 GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

32-1101.  Policy.  It is the policy of this state to promote 
safety for persons and property in and connected with the use, operation and equipment of 
vessels and to promote uniformity of laws relating thereto. 

History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 1; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-801. 
 
   32-1102.  Definitions.  As used in article 11 of chapter 32 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated 
and amendments thereto, unless the context clearly requires a different meaning: 
 (a)  "Vessel" means any watercraft designed to be propelled by machinery, oars, paddles 
or wind action upon a sail for navigation on the water. 
 (b)  "Motorboat" means any vessel propelled by machinery, whether or not such 
machinery is the principal source of propulsion. 
 (c)  "Owner" means a person, other than a lienholder, having the property in or title to a 
vessel.  The term includes a person entitled to the use or possession of a vessel subject to an 
interest in another person, reserved or created by agreement and securing payment or 
performance of an obligation, but the term excludes a lessee under a lease not intended as 
security. 
 (d)  "Waters of this state" means any waters within the territorial limits of this state. 
 (e)  "Person" means an individual, partnership, firm, corporation, association, or other 
entity. 
 (f)  "Operate" means to navigate or otherwise use a motorboat or a vessel. 
 (g)  "Department" means the Kansas department of wildlife and parks. 
 (h)  "Secretary" means the secretary of wildlife and parks. 
 (i)  "Length" means the length of the vessel measured from end to end over the deck 
excluding sheer. 
 (j)  "Operator" means the person who operates or has charge of the navigation or use of a 
motorboat or a vessel. 
 (k)  "Undocumented vessel" means a vessel which is not required to have, and does not 
have, a valid marine document issued by the United States coast guard or federal agency 
successor thereto. 
 (l)  "Reportable boating accident" means an accident, collision or other casualty 
involving a vessel subject to this act which results in loss of life, injury sufficient to require first 
aid or medical attention, or actual physical damage to property, including a vessel, in excess of 
an amount established by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in accordance with 
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K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto. 
 (m)  "Marine sewage" means any substance that contains any of the waste products, 
excrement or other discharges from the bodies of human beings or animals, or foodstuffs or 
materials associated with foodstuffs intended for human consumption. 
 (n)  "Marine toilet" means any latrine, head, lavatory or toilet which is intended to 
receive marine sewage and which is located on or in any vessel. 
 (o)  "Passenger" means any individual who obtains passage or is carried in or on a vessel. 
 (p)  "Sail board" means a surfboard using for propulsion a free sail system comprising 
one or more swivel-mounted rigs (mast, sail and booms) supported in an upright position by the 
crew and the wind. 
 (q) "Dealer" means any person who: 
 (1) For a commission or with an intent to make a profit or gain of money or other thing of 
value, sells, barters, exchanges, leases or rents with the option to purchase, offers, attempts to 
sell, or negotiates the sale of any vessel, whether or not the vessel is owned by such person; 
 (2) maintains an established place of business with sufficient space to display vessels at 
least equal in number to the number of dealer certificates of number the dealer has been 
assigned; and 
 (3) maintains signage easily visible from the street identifying the established place of 
business. 
 (r) "Demonstrate" means to operate a vessel on the waters of this state for the purpose of 
selling, trading, negotiating or attempting to negotiate the sale or exchange of interest in new or 
used vessels or for the purpose of testing the design or operation of a vessel.  
 (s) “Sailboat” means any vessel, other than a sail board, that is designed to be propelled 
by wind action upon a sail for navigation on the water. 
 (t) “Boat livery” means any person offering a vessel or vessel of varying types for rent. 
 (u) “Cargo” means the items placed within or on a vessel and shall include any persons or 
objects towed on water skis, surfboards, tubes or similar devices behind the vessel. 
 (v) “State of principal use” means the state on the waters of which a vessel is used or to 
be used most during the calendar year. 
 (w) “Use” means to operate, navigate or employ. 
 (x) “Abandoned vessel” means any vessel on public waters or public or private land 
which remains unclaimed for a period of 15 consecutive days. 
 History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 2; L. 1961, ch. 471, sec. 1; L. 1970, ch. 408, sec. 1; L. 
1973, ch. 415, sec. 1; L. 1983, ch. 342, sec. 1; L. 1986, ch. 393, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 
141; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 13; L. 2000, ch. 70, sec. 1; L. 2004, ch. 79, sec. 1; L. 2006, ch. 85, 
sec. 1; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-802. 
 

32-1103.  Applicable laws; rules and regulations.  (a)  The provisions of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 
32-1101 through 32-1104, 32-1110 through 32-1113, 32-1119, 32-1125 through 32-1128, 32-
1130 through 32-1137, 32-1148 through 32-1155, 32-1166, 32-1172, 32-1173 and 32-1177 
through 32-1180, and amendments thereto, and of other applicable laws of this state shall govern 
the operation, equipment, numbering and all other matters relating thereto whenever any vessel 
shall be operated on the waters of this state, or when any activity regulated by this act shall take 
place thereon, but nothing in this act shall be construed to prevent the adoption of any ordinance 
or regulation by any subdivision or municipality of this state relating to waters under the control 
or jurisdiction of such subdivision or municipality, and such ordinances or regulations shall be 
valid and enforceable so long as and to the extent that they are not contradictory to provisions of 
article 11 of chapter 32 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated and amendments thereto or rules and 
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regulations adopted thereunder.  Such ordinances or regulations shall not be adopted by such 
subdivision or municipality until after public notice by the enacting body.  Following such 
adoption the enacting body shall submit the same to the secretary, setting forth the reasons which 
make such regulations necessary or appropriate, and requesting the approval of such regulations 
by the secretary.  If the secretary approves such regulations they shall become operative; 
otherwise, such regulations shall have no effect.  Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions, the 
secretary shall not regulate fees to be charged by political subdivisions or municipalities as to 
waters under their control or jurisdiction. 

(b)  The secretary is hereby authorized to adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 
and amendments thereto, rules and regulations with reference to the operation of vessels on any 
waters within the state. 

History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 15; L. 1961, ch. 471, sec. 7; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 154; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-815. 
 

32-1104.  Annual reports to county assessors.  Annually, on or before the first day of 
February, the secretary shall furnish to the county assessor of each county in this state a list of 
the names and addresses of the owners of motorboats in each county and the identification 
numbers issued therefor by the secretary which were in effect on January l of each year.  It shall 
be the duty of the county assessors of each county to check such lists against the personal 
property tax returns of the owners of such motorboats for any discrepancies between such lists 
and such personal property tax returns. 

History:  L. 1960, ch. 61, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 157; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-820. 
 

32-1105 to 32-1109.  Reserved. 
 
 VESSEL NUMBERING 
 
   32-1110.  Requirement.  Every undocumented, mechanically propelled vessel or sailing vessel 
using the waters of this state, as its state of principal use, shall be numbered, except those exempted 
by K.S.A. 32-1113, and amendments thereto.  No person shall operate or give permission for the 
operation of any motorboat or vessel propelled by sail on such waters unless such vessel is 
numbered in accordance with this act, applicable federal law or a federally approved numbering 
system of another state, and unless (l) the certificate of number awarded to such vessel is in full 
force and effect and (2) the identifying number set forth in the certificate of number is displayed on 
each side of the bow of such vessel, unless otherwise provided by rules and regulations of the 
secretary. 
   History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 3; L. 1970, ch. 408, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 142; L. 2006, ch. 
85, sec. 2; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-803. 
 
   32-1111.  Application; certification; temporary permit; rules and regulations. (a)  The owner 
of each vessel requiring numbering by this state shall file an application for number with the 
secretary on forms approved by the secretary.  The application shall be signed by the owner of the 
vessel and shall be accompanied by the vessel registration fee prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 32-
1172, and amendments thereto and by proof of payment of any tax imposed under the provisions of 
K.S.A. l2-l87, l2-l98, the Kansas retailers' sales tax act or the Kansas compensating tax act, and 
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amendments thereto, as the case requires, upon forms devised and furnished by the department of 
revenue to every county treasurer for such purpose.  Upon receipt of the application in approved 
form and proof of payment of sales or compensating tax, the secretary shall enter the same upon the 
records of the department and issue to the applicant a certificate of number stating the number 
awarded to the vessel and the name and address of the owner.  Unless otherwise provided by rules 
and regulations, the owner shall paint on or attach to each side of the bow of the vessel the 
identification number in such manner as prescribed by rules and regulations of the secretary in order 
that it may be clearly visible.  The number shall be maintained in legible condition.  The certificate 
of number shall be pocket size and, unless otherwise provided by rules and regulations, shall be 
available at all times for inspection on the vessel for which issued, whenever such vessel is in 
operation.  No person charged with a violation of the preceding sentence shall be convicted of such 
offense if such person produces in court or the office of the arresting officer a certificate of number 
issued and valid at the time of such person's arrest. 
  (b)  The owner of any vessel already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been 
awarded to it pursuant to the then operative federal law or a federally approved numbering system of 
another state shall record the number prior to operating the vessel on the waters of this state in 
excess of the 60-day reciprocity period provided for in subsection (l) of K.S.A. 32-1113, and 
amendments thereto.  Such recordation shall be in the manner and pursuant to the procedure required 
for the award of a number under this subsection, including the submission of proof of payment of 
sales or compensating tax, except that no additional or substitute number shall be issued. 
  (c)  Should the ownership of a numbered vessel change, a new application form with fee and proof 
of payment of sales or compensating tax shall be filed with the secretary and a new certificate of 
number shall be awarded in the same manner as provided for in an original award of number, except 
that where the state of principal use remains unchanged the number may be identical with the 
previous one. 
  (d)  If an agency of the United States government has in force an overall system of identification 
numbering for vessels within the United States, the numbering system employed pursuant to this act 
by the secretary shall be in conformity therewith. 
  (e)  The secretary may award any certificate of number directly or may authorize any person to act 
as agent for the awarding thereof.  If a person accepts such authorization, such person may be 
assigned a block of numbers and certificates therefor which upon award, in conformity with this act 
and with any rules and regulations of the secretary, shall be valid as if awarded directly by the 
secretary. 
  (f)  All records of the secretary made or kept pursuant to this section shall be public records. 
  (g)  Every certificate of number awarded pursuant to this act shall continue in full force and effect 
for a period of three years unless sooner terminated or discontinued in accordance with the 
provisions of this act.  Certificates of number may be renewed by the owner in the same manner 
provided for in the initial securing of the number. 
  (h)  The secretary shall fix a day and month of the year on which certificates of number due to 
expire during the calendar year shall lapse and no longer be of any force and effect unless renewed 
pursuant to this act. 
  (i)  The owner shall furnish the secretary notice of the transfer of all or any part of such owner's 
interest other than the creation of a security interest in a vessel numbered in this state pursuant to 
subsections (a) and (b) or of the destruction or abandonment of such vessel within l5 days thereof.  
Such transfer, destruction, or abandonment shall terminate the certificate of number for such vessel 
and the certificate of number shall be surrendered to the secretary as a part of the notification of 
transfer, destruction, or abandonment except, that in the case of a transfer of a part interest which 
does not affect the owner's right to operate such vessel, such transfer shall not terminate the 
certificate of number. 
  (j)  Any holder of a certificate of number shall notify the secretary within l5 days if the holder's 
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address no longer conforms to the address appearing on the certificate and shall, as a part of such 
notification, furnish the secretary with a new address.  The secretary may provide by rules and 
regulations for the surrender of the certificate bearing the former address and its replacement with a 
certificate bearing the new address or for the alteration of an outstanding certificate to show the new 
address of the holder. 
  (k)  No number other than the number awarded to a vessel or granted reciprocity pursuant to this 
act shall be painted, attached, or otherwise displayed on either side of the bow of such vessel. 
  (l)  If a certificate of number becomes lost, destroyed, mutilated or illegible, the owner of the vessel 
for which the same was issued may obtain a duplicate of such certificate upon application therefor to 
the secretary.  The application shall be in writing, shall describe the circumstances of the loss or 
destruction and shall be accompanied by the duplicate fee prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1172, 
and amendments thereto. 
  (m)  The secretary is authorized, in the secretary's discretion, to provide and have issued for vessels 
requiring registration and numbering under this act, a 30-day temporary registration permit for the 
temporary vessel registration fee prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1172, and amendments thereto. 
  Such permits shall be in the form as prescribed by the secretary and available for purchase or resale 
by any person designated by the secretary.  In addition to the permit fee, any person selling such 
temporary permits may collect a service charge of not to exceed $1 for each permit issued.   
  Such temporary permit shall expire 30 days from the date of issuance. 
  (n) (1) The owner of any vessel documented by the United States Coast Guard and the new 
owner of any vessel, who upon the sale or transfer of the vessel that documents the vessel with 
the United States Coast Guard, shall apply for a vessel certificate of registration and pay a 
fee equal to the amount required for a vessel registration pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1172, and 
amendments thereto, before using such vessel on the waters of this state. The application shall 
include the county in which such vessel will be normally maintained by the owner and any other 
information required by the secretary. 
  A certificate of registration and a set of registration decals in the form prescribed by the 
secretary shall be issued for a documented vessel. A nonresident shall make application for a 
vessel certificate of registration within 60 days after acquiring a vessel in this state or bringing a 
vessel into this state if the vessel will be kept in this state for a period in excess of 60 
consecutive days. A delinquency penalty fee of $20 shall be imposed for each 30 days of 
delinquency, not to exceed a total of $60. If the secretary learns that any person failed to acquire 
a vessel certificate of registration in accordance with this section or has sold a vessel 
documented by the United States Coast Guard without obtaining a certificate of registration as 
provided by this section, the secretary shall cancel the registration of all vessels registered in the 
name of the person, whether as sole owner or a co-owner, and shall notify the person that the 
cancellation will remain in force until the person pays the delinquency penalty fee together with 
all fees, charges and payments which the person should have paid in connection with the vessel 
certificate of registration. The secretary shall maintain a listing of such registered documented 
vessels, to be supplied to the county assessor of each county in the state as required under K.S.A. 
32-1104, and amendments thereto. Such vessels shall not be included in the total number of 
registered vessels of the state applied toward the number reflected on any United States Coast 
Guard grants, where prohibited. 
  (2) The registration decals for any vessel documented by the United States Coast Guard shall be 
in force and effect for a period of three years so long as the vessel is owned or held by the 
original holder of the certificate of registration and shall be renewed upon application and 
payment of a registration renewal fee equal to the amount required for a vessel registration 
pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1172, and amendments thereto. The owner shall attach the registration 
decals to both sides of the forward half of the bow of the documented vessel in a place that is 
fully visible. 
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  (3) Upon the sale or transfer of any vessel documented by the United States Coast Guard, the 
new owner shall submit, in addition to the properly assigned certificate of registration, proof of 
release from the documentation of the United States Coast Guard and shall comply with the 
provisions of this section. If the new owner elects not to document the vessel with the United 
States Coast Guard, the owner shall comply with the applicable provisions for registering vessels 
in this state. 
  (4) The certificate of registration shall be available at all times for inspection on the vessel for 
which it is issued, whenever the vessel is in operation, moored or occupied while on waters 
within this state. 
  (o) The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto, rules 
and regulations for the administration of the provisions of this section, including but not limited to 
numbering applications, certificates of number, temporary 30-day permits, display of number and 
reports on change of address, destruction and sale or transfer of ownership. 
   History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 4; L. 1961, ch. 471, sec. 2; L. 1970, ch. 408, sec. 3; L. 1975, ch. 
512, sec. 1; L. 1982, ch. 436, sec. 1; L. 1987, ch. 65, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 143; L. 1993, ch. 
185, sec. 14; L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 3; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-804. 
 

32-1112.  Testing or demonstrating vessels.  (a) A licensed dealer demonstrating, displaying 
or exhibiting on the waters of this state any vessel of a type required to be numbered under the 
laws of this state may obtain from the department, in lieu of obtaining a certificate of number for 
each such vessel, dealer certificates of number for use in demonstrating, displaying or exhibiting 
any such vessel.  No such dealer certificate of number shall be issued by the department except 
upon application to the secretary upon forms prescribed by the secretary and upon payment of 
the required fees.  The dealer certificate of number must accompany the vessel and the number 
assigned by such dealer certificate must be temporarily placed on the vessel while it is being 
demonstrated, displayed or exhibited on the waters of this state.  During the calendar year for 
which issued, such dealer certificate may be transferred from one such vessel to another owned 
or operated by such dealer.  Such dealer certificate of number may be used in lieu of a regular 
certificate of number for the purposes of demonstrating, displaying or exhibiting vessels held in 
inventory of such dealer.  Such dealer certificate of number may also be used on such dealer=s 
service vessel, or substitute vessels owned by the dealer but loaned to a customer when the 
dealer is repairing such customer=s vessel. 

(b) No dealer in vessels of a type required to be numbered under the laws of this state shall 
cause or permit any such vessel owned by such dealer to be on the waters of this state unless the 
original dealer certificate of number accompanies the vessel and the number assigned by such 
dealer certificate is temporarily placed on the vessel as required by this section.  A dealer who 
wishes to operate or allow operation of more than one vessel simultaneously on the waters of this 
state shall apply for additional dealer certificates as provided by the secretary. 

(c) No dealer certificate of number shall be issued to any dealer unless such dealer at the time 
of making application therefor exhibits to the secretary or the secretary=s agent a receipt showing 
that the applicant has paid all personal property taxes and sales tax levied against such dealer for 
the preceding year, including taxes assessed against vessels of such dealer which were assessed 
as stock in trade, or unless the dealer exhibits satisfactory evidence that the dealer had no taxable 
personal property for the preceding year.  If application for registration is made before June 21, 
the receipt may show payment of only 2 of the preceding year=s taxes. 

(d) To determine the number of dealer certificates of number a dealer needs, the secretary 
may base the decision on the dealer=s past sales, inventory and any other pertinent factors as the 
secretary may determine.  After the end of the first year of licensure as a dealer, not more than 
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one dealer certificate of number shall be issued to any dealer who has not reported to the 
secretary the sale of at least five vessels in the preceding year.  There shall be no refund of fees 
for dealer certificates of number in the event of suspension, revocation or voluntary cancellation 
of such certificates of number. 

(e) Any dealer of vessels may authorize use of dealer certificates of number assigned to such 
dealer by the following: 

(1) The licensed dealer and such dealer=s spouse; 
(2) any employee of such dealer when the use thereof is directly connected to a particular 

business transaction of such dealer; and 
(3) the dealer=s customer when operating a vessel in connection with negotiations to purchase 

such vessel or during a demonstration of such vessel, as stated in a written agreement between 
the dealership and the customer, with such required information as deemed necessary by the 
secretary. 

(f) Except as hereinafter provided, every dealer of vessels shall: 
(1) On or before the 20th day of the month following the end of a calendar quarter, file a 

report for such quarter report, on a form prescribed and furnished by the secretary, listing all 
sales or transfers, including the name and address of the purchaser or transferee, date of sale, the 
serial or identification number of the vessel, and such other information as the secretary may 
require.  The department of wildlife and parks shall make a copy of the report available to the 
department of revenue. 

(2) Whenever a dealer sells or otherwise disposes of such dealer=s business, or for any reason 
suspends or goes out of business as a dealer, such dealer shall notify the secretary and return the 
dealer=s license and dealer certificates of number and, upon receipt of such notice, license and 
certificates of number, the secretary shall cancel the dealer=s certificates of number, except that 
such dealer, upon payment of 50% of the annual dealer=s license fee to the secretary, may have 
the license and dealer certificates of number assigned to the purchaser of the business. 

(g) The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and amendments thereto, 
rules and regulations for the administration of provisions of this section, including but not 
limited to, dealer certificate of number applications and renewals, temporary placement of 
numbers and possession of dealer certificates of number. 

History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 6; L. 1961, ch. 471, sec. 3; L. 1970, ch. 408, sec. 5; L. 1975, 
ch. 512, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 145; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 15; L. 2004, ch. 79, sec. 3; Jan. 
l, 2005. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-806. 
 

32-1113.  Exemptions.   A vessel shall not be required to be numbered under this acct if it is: 
(l)  Already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded to it 

pursuant to federal law or a federally approved numbering system of another state, if such boat 
has not been within this state for a period in excess of 60 consecutive days. 

(2)  A vessel from a country other than the United States temporarily using the waters of this 
state. 

(3)  A vessel whose owner is the United States, a state or a subdivision thereof. 
(4)  A ship's lifeboat. 
(5)  A vessel belonging to a class of boats which has been exempted from numbering by the 

secretary if it is determined that the numbering of vessels of such class will not materially aid in 
their identification; and, if an agency of the federal government has a numbering system 
applicable to the class of vessels to which the vessel in question belongs, after the secretary has 
further found that the vessel would also be exempt from numbering if it were subject to the 
federal law. 



 
 101 

(6)  Vessel documented by the United States coast guard or federal agency successor thereto. 
History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 7; L. 1970, ch. 408, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 146; L. 

1993, ch. 185, sec. 16; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-807. 
 

32-1114.  Dealer=s license.  (a) No dealer of vessels shall be eligible to obtain dealer 
certificates of number pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1112, and amendments thereto, unless such dealer 
holds a dealer=s license issued by the secretary.  The application for a dealer=s license shall be 
made to the secretary and shall contain such information as the secretary deems reasonable and 
pertinent for the enforcement of the provisions of this section.  The application shall be 
accompanied by the fee required under K.S.A. 32-1172, and amendments thereto. 

(b) A dealer=s license shall be granted or refused within 30 days after the application is 
received by the secretary.  The license shall expire, unless previously suspended or revoked, on 
December 31 of the calendar year for which the license is granted.  Any application for renewal 
received by the secretary after February 15 shall be considered as a new application. 

(c) The secretary may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse renewal of a person=s dealer=s license if 
the person has: 

(1) Made a material false statement in an application for a dealer=s license; 
(2) filed a materially false or fraudulent tax return as certified by the director of taxation; 
(3) knowingly used or permitted the use of a dealer certificate of number contrary to law; 
(4) failed to notify the secretary within 10 days of any dealer certificate of number that has 

been lost, stolen, mutilated or destroyed; or  
(5) has failed or refused to surrender the dealer=s license or dealer=s certificates of number to 

the secretary or the secretary=s agent upon demand. 
(d) The secretary may deny the application for the license within 30 days after receipt thereof 

by written notice to the applicant, stating the grounds for such denial.  Upon request by the 
applicant whose license has been so denied, the applicant shall be granted an opportunity to be 
heard in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act. 

(e) If a licensee is a firm or corporation, it shall be sufficient cause for the denial, suspension 
or revocation of a license that any officer, director or trustee of the firm or corporation, or any 
member in case of a partnership, has been guilty of any act or omission which would be good 
cause for refusing, suspending or revoking a license to such party as an individual.  Each 
licensee shall be responsible for the acts of any of the licensee=s salespersons, representatives or 
employees while acting as the licensee=s agent. 

(f) Any licensee or other person aggrieved by a final order of the secretary pursuant to this 
section may appeal to the district court as provided by the act for judicial review and civil 
enforcement of agency actions. 

History: L. 2004, ch. 79, sec. 2; Jan. 1, 2005. 
 

32-1115.  Identification numbers; unlawful acts.  (a)  No person shall: 
(1) Intentionally deface, destroy, remove or alter any hull identification number required for a 

vessel, without written authorization from the secretary. 
  (2)  Place or stamp any serial number upon a vessel other than a number assigned to the vessel 
by the secretary. 
  (b)  It shall be unlawful to sell, barter, exchange or possess any vessel if the original hull 
identification number has been destroyed, removed, altered or defaced. 
  (c)  This section does not prohibit: 
  (1)  The restoration of the original hull identification number by an owner of a vessel when the 
restoration of such number is authorized by the secretary. 
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  (2)  Any manufacturer from placing numbers or marks in the ordinary course of business upon 
new vessels or parts of vessels. 
  (d)  Any law enforcement officer having knowledge of a vessel with a hull identification 
number that has been destroyed, removed, altered or defaced may seize and take possession of 
such vessel and may arrest the owner or custodian thereof and cause prosecution to be brought in 
a court of competent jurisdiction. 
  (e)  The secretary, upon request, shall assign a hull identification number to any handmade 
vessel. 
  (f)  Any person who knowingly violates any provision of subsection (a) or (b) shall be guilty of 
a class A nonperson misdemeanor. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 8; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
  32-1116.  Assembled, reconstructed or restored vessels; circumstances where existing 
number unidentifiable.  (a) When application for a certificate of number is made for a vessel 
which has been assembled, reconstructed, reconstituted or restored from one or more vessels, or 
the hull identification number as required by law is unidentifiable or uncertain, the owner of such 
vessel shall request the secretary inquire into the origin of the vessel. Such information shall be 
supplied by affidavit of the owner, if requested by the secretary. If, in the determination of the 
secretary, the vessel contains no stolen parts, the secretary shall assign an existing or new hull 
identification number to the vessel and direct the location and manner to affix the hull 
identification number. A charge of $10 shall be paid by the owner of a vessel requesting the 
inquiry. 
  (b)  Any vessel having a destroyed, removed, altered or defaced hull identification number, 
which was not constructed in accordance with subsection (a), and if the true identity of the vessel 
cannot be determined, shall be reassigned a new hull identification number by the secretary or 
destroyed. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 9; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
  32-1117.  Handmade vessels; assignment of number and issuance of decals; display; fee.  
(a) Whenever the secretary assigns a hull identification number to a handmade vessel, the hull 
identification number shall consist of two letters designating the state followed by the letter 
‘‘Z’’; the next five characters shall be an identifying serial number and the last four characters 
shall indicate the month and year of the vessel certificate of ownership issuance. 
  (b)  The registered owner of a handmade vessel for which a hull identification number has been 
assigned shall carve, burn, stamp, emboss or otherwise permanently affix the assigned number to 
the outboard side of the starboard side of the transom or, if there is no transom, to the outermost 
starboard side at the end of the hull that bears the rudder or other steering mechanism and above 
the waterline of the vessel in such a way that alteration, removal, or replacement would be 
evident. The number must be at least 1⁄4 inch in height. 
  (c)  The secretary shall issue a decal which indicates the assigned hull identification number to 
be affixed to each vessel which has been assigned under this section. The decal shall be affixed 
no more than two inches below the location of the hull identification number placed pursuant to 
the provisions in subsection (b). Such decal, as well as a duplicate decal placed in an unexposed 
portion of the interior of the vessel, shall be affixed by the department. 
  (d)  It shall be unlawful to remove, alter or deface a decal or duplicate decal which has been 
issued for or affixed to a vessel pursuant to the provisions of subsection (c), or to affix or 
otherwise display such a decal or duplicate decal on any vessel other than the vessel for which 
the hull identification number was assigned, without first having obtained the written permission 
by the department. 
  (e)  A hull identification inspection fee of $10 shall be assessed to the owner of a vessel 
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requesting a hull identification number pursuant to this section. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 10; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
 

32-1118.  Reserved. 
 
 MOTORBOATS 
 
   32-1119.  Classes; requirements.  (a)  Motorboats subject to the provisions of this act shall be 
divided into four classes as follows: 
   Class A.  Less than l6 feet in length. 
   Class l.  Sixteen feet or over and less than 26 feet in length. 
   Class 2.  Twenty-six feet or over and less than 40 feet in length. 
   Class 3.  Forty feet and over in length. 
   (b)  Every motorboat in all weathers from sunset to sunrise shall carry and exhibit the 
following lights when under way, and during such time no other lights which may be mistaken 
for those prescribed shall be exhibited. 
   (1)  Definitions. 
   (A) “Masthead light” means a white light placed over the fore and aft centerline of the vessel 
showing an unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 225 degrees and so fixed as to present 
the light from the right ahead to 22.5 degrees abaft the beam on either side of the vessel, except 
that on a vessel of less than 12 meters in length, the masthead light shall be placed as nearly as 
practicable to the fore and aft centerline of the vessel. 
   (B)  “Sidelights” means a green light on the starboard side and a red light on the port side each 
showing an unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 112.5 degrees and so fixed as to show 
the light from right ahead to 22.5 degrees abaft the beam on its respective side.  On a vessel of 
less than 20 meters in length, the sidelights may be combined in one lantern carried on the fore 
and aft centerline of the vessel. 
   (C)  “Sternlight” means a white light placed as nearly as practicable at the stern showing an 
unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 135 degrees and so fixed as to show the light of 67.5 
degrees from right aft on each side of the vessel. 
   (D)  “All-round light” means a light showing an unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 
360 degrees. 
   (2)  Every motorboat of classes A and l shall carry the following lights: 
   First.  An all-round light carried aft and high enough to be unobstructed. 
   Second.  Sidelights in the fore part of the vessel and lower than the all-round light. 
   (3)  Every motorboat of classes 2 and 3 shall carry a masthead light, sternlight and sidelights.  
The sidelights shall be fitted with inboard screens of sufficient height so set as to prevent these 
lights from being seen across the bow. 
   (4)  Motorboats when propelled by sail alone, and sailing vessels when propelled by sail alone, 
shall carry sidelights and a sternlight. 
   (5)  Manually propelled vessels shall carry, ready at hand, a lantern or flashlight showing a 
white light which shall be exhibited in sufficient time to avert collision. 
   (6)  Every white light prescribed by this section shall be of such character as to be visible at a 
distance of at least two miles.  Every colored light prescribed by this section shall be of such 
character as to be visible at a distance of at least one mile.  The word "visible" in this subsection, 
when applied to lights, shall mean visible on a dark night with clear atmosphere. 
   (7)  When propelled by sail and machinery any motorboat shall carry the lights required by this 
section for a motorboat propelled by machinery only. 
   (8)  All vessels at anchor between sunset and sunrise, unless anchored at a designated site, 
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shall carry forward, or where it can best be seen, a bright white light to show all round the 
horizon and visible for one mile. 
   (c)  In lieu of the lights required by subsection (b), any vessel may carry and exhibit the lights 
required by the federal regulations under the inland navigational rules act of December 24, 1981 
(33 U.S.C. 2020-2030), as in effect on the effective date of this act, or as prescribed by rules and 
regulations of the secretary. 
   (d)  Every motorboat shall be provided with an efficient whistle or other sound-producing 
mechanical appliance. 
   (e)  Every motorboat of class 3 shall be provided with an efficient bell. 
   (f)  Every vessel, other than sail boards used for wind surfing, racing shells or rowing sculls 
shall carry at least one coast guard approved lifesaving device of the sort prescribed by rules and 
regulations of the secretary, in good and serviceable condition, for each person on board, so 
placed as to be readily accessible.  As used in this subsection, "racing shell" and "rowing scull" 
mean a manually propelled vessel that is recognized by national or international racing 
associations for use in competitive racing in which all occupants row, scull or paddle, with the 
exception of a coxswain, and is not designed to carry and does not carry any equipment, not 
solely for competitive racing. 
   (g)  Every motorboat shall be provided with such number, size, and type of coast guard 
approved fire extinguishers, capable of promptly and effectually extinguishing burning gasoline, 
as may be prescribed by rules and regulations of the secretary, which fire extinguishers shall be 
at all times kept in condition for immediate and effective use and shall be so placed as to be 
readily accessible. 
   (h)  The provisions of subsections (d), (e) and (g) shall not apply to outboard motorboats while 
competing in any race conducted pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1149, and amendments thereto or, if 
such boats are designed and intended solely for racing, while engaged in such navigation as is 
incidental to the tuning up of the boats and engines for the race. 
   (i)  Every motorboat shall have the carburetor or carburetors of every engine therein, except 
outboard motors using gasoline as fuel, equipped with such efficient coast guard approved flame 
arrester, backfire trap or other similar device as may be prescribed by rules and regulations of the 
secretary. 
   (j)  Every such motorboat and every such vessel, except open boats, using as fuel any liquid of 
a volatile nature shall be provided with such means as may be prescribed by rules and 
regulations of the secretary for properly and efficiently ventilating the bilges of the engine and 
fuel tank compartments so as to remove any explosive or inflammable gases. 
   (k)  The secretary is hereby authorized to adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 
and amendments thereto, rules and regulations required to carry out in the most effective manner 
all of the provisions of this act and to alter, modify or supplement the equipment requirements 
contained in this section to the extent necessary to keep these requirements in conformity with 
the provisions of the federal navigation laws or with the navigation rules promulgated by the 
United States coast guard. 
   (l)  The secretary is hereby authorized to establish and maintain, for the operation of vessels on 
the waters of this state, pilot rules in conformity with the pilot rules contained in the federal 
navigation laws or the navigation rules promulgated by the United States coast guard. 
   (m)  No person shall operate or give permission for the operation of a vessel which is not 
equipped as required by the laws of Kansas and rules and regulations of the secretary. 
   (n)  No person shall operate a motorboat or other vessel close to swimming areas, moored 
boats or vessels engaged in fishing, servicing buoys or markings, or similar activities, without 
reducing the speed of the vessel so as to prevent wash or wake from the vessel causing damage 
or unnecessary inconvenience to the occupants of the area or other vessels. 
   History:  L. 1970, ch. 408, sec. 4; L. 1984, ch. 381, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 144; L. 2006, 
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ch. 85, sec. 4; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-804a. 
 
   32-1120.  Muffler system requirements; violation of noise level restrictions.  (a) The 
exhaust of every internal combustion engine used on any motorboat on the waters of the state 
shall be effectively muffled by equipment so constructed and used as to muffle the noise of the 
exhaust. 
  The muffler system shall be in good working order and in constant operation and effectively 
installed to prevent any excessive or unusual noise. 
  (b) Muffler means a sound suppression device or system designed and installed to abate the 
sound of exhaust gases emitted from an internal combustion engine and which prevents 
excessive or unusual noise. 
  (c) A motorboat operating on the waters of the state shall have an exhaust water manifold or a 
factory-type muffler installed on the engine. 
  (d) A person shall not operate or give permission for the operation of any motorboat in or upon 
the waters of this state if the motorboat is equipped with an altered muffler, muffler cutout, 
muffler bypass or any other device designed or installed so that it can be used continually or 
intermittently to bypass any muffler or muffler system installed on the motorboat, or to reduce or 
eliminate the effectiveness of such a muffler or muffler system. 
  (e) A motorboat shall not be operated on the waters of this state under any condition or in any 
manner whereby the motorboat emits a sound level in excess of 86 decibels on the ‘‘A’’ 
weighted scale, when measured from a distance of 50 feet or more from the motorboat, as 
prescribed in society of automotive engineers standards, SAE J34 and SAE J2005. 
  (f) No person shall remove, alter or otherwise modify in any manner a muffler or muffler 
system installed on a motorboat to prevent the muffler or muffler system from being operated in 
accordance with this statute. 
  (g) The provisions of subsections (c) through (e) shall not apply to motorboats officially 
registered and competing in or while on trial runs 48 hours immediately preceding a regatta, 
race, marine parade, tournament or exhibition which has been authorized or permitted by the 
department. 
  (h) A law enforcement officer who has reason to believe a motorboat is being operated in 
violation of the noise levels established in this section may direct the operator of the motorboat 
to submit to an on-site test to measure noise level. An operator of a motorboat who receives a 
request from a law enforcement officer pursuant to this section shall allow the motorboat to be 
tested. If, based on a test to determine the noise level of a motorboat, the noise level of the 
motorboat exceeds the decibel levels established in this section, the law enforcement officer shall 
direct the operator of the motorboat to take immediate and reasonable measures to correct the 
violation, including, but not limited to, terminating the voyage of the motorboat until the 
motorboat no longer operates in violation of this section. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 7; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
  32-1121 to 32-1124.  Reserved. 
 
 OPERATION OF VESSELS AND OTHER WATERCRAFT 
 
   32-1125.  General prohibitions.  (a)  No person shall operate any motorboat or vessel or 
manipulate any water skis, surfboard or similar device in a reckless or negligent manner so as to 
endanger the life or property of any person. 
  (b)  No person shall manipulate any water skis, surfboard or similar device while under the 
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influence of alcohol or drugs, or both. 
  (c)  No person shall operate any motorboat or vessel for pleasure riding or pull any water skis, 
surfboard or similar device in any waters of this state marked by buoys or otherwise designated as a 
mooring, launching, fishing or hunting non-boating area by a county or other political subdivision or 
by the secretary, except that a motorboat or vessel used for fishing may be operated in a mooring or 
launching nonboating area. 
  As used in this subsection, "waters of this state" includes, but is not limited to, any water storage 
reservoir impoundments over which the secretary has been granted jurisdiction by the proper agency 
or official of the United States government. 
  (d)  No person shall operate or moor a vessel within a water area which is marked, by buoys or 
some other distinguishing device, as a bathing or swimming area or as an all-boats-prohibited area.  
No person shall operate a vessel for purposes other than fishing in areas marked by buoys or 
otherwise designated as fishing areas, and no person shall operate a vessel for purposes other than 
hunting in areas marked by buoys or otherwise designated as hunting areas, and in areas designated 
for combined use of fishing and hunting, vessels may be used for both purposes unless prohibited by 
federal law. 
  (e)  No owner or person in possession of a vessel shall permit a person under l2 years of age to 
operate a motorboat unless accompanied and under the direct and audible supervision of a parent or 
other person over l7 years of age.  “Direct and audible supervision” means a person on board the 
same vessel and in sufficiently close proximity of the operator’s station to enable such person to 
quickly and safely assume control of such vessel if needed. 
  (f)  No operator of a vessel shall willfully fail or refuse to bring such vessel to a stop, or otherwise 
flee or attempt to elude a pursuing law enforcement vehicle or vessel, when given a visual or audible 
signal to bring the operator's vessel to a stop.  The signal may be given by hand, voice, emergency 
light or siren and shall be given by a uniformed law enforcement officer prominently displaying the 
officer's badge of office. 
   History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 10; L. 1961, ch. 469, sec. 1; L. 1970, ch. 408, sec. 7; L. 1987, ch. 
403, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 148; L. 1995, ch. 165, sec. 5; L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 5; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-810. 
 

32-1126.  Capacity limits. (a)  No person shall operate any vessel on any waters of this state 
carrying passengers or cargo beyond the safe passenger and cargo carrying capacity of the vessel 
as specified on the capacity plate required by subsection (b). 

(b)  Every vessel less than 20 feet on length designed to carry two or more persons and to be 
propelled by machinery as its principal source of power or designed to be propelled by oars, if 
manufactured or offered for sale in this state by the manufacturer  after November l, l972, shall 
have permanently affixed thereto by the manufacturer a capacity plate as required by this 
section.  Such capacity plate shall bear the following: 

(l)  For all vessels designed for or represented by the manufacturer as being suitable for use 
with outboard motor: 

(A)  The total weight of persons, motor, gear and other articles placed aboard which the 
vessel is capable of carrying with safety under normal conditions. 

(B)  The recommended number of persons commensurate with the weight capacity of the 
vessel and the presumed weight in pounds of each such person.  In no instance shall such 
presumed weight per person be less than l50 pounds. 

(C)  Clear notice that the information appearing on the capacity plate is applicable under 
normal conditions and that the weight of the outboard motor and associated equipment is 
considered to be a part of total weight capacity. 

(D)  The maximum horsepower of the motor the vessel is designed or intended to 
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accommodate. 
(2)  For all other vessels to which this section applies:   
(A)  The total weight of persons, gear and other articles placed aboard which the vessel is 

capable of carrying with safety under normal conditions. 
(B)  The recommended number of persons commensurate with the weight capacity of the 

vessel and the presumed weight in pounds of each such person.  In no instance shall such 
presumed weight per person be less than l50 pounds. 

(C)  Clear notice that the information appearing on the capacity plate is applicable under 
normal conditions. 

The secretary is authorized to adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. l989 Supp. 32-805 and 
amendments thereto, rules and regulations to carry out the provisions of this section. 

The failure to affix a proper capacity plate shall constitute a separate violation for each vessel 
with respect to which such failure occurs. 

History:  L. 1970, ch. 408, sec. 9; L. 1970, ch. 409, sec. 1; l979, ch. 333, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 
118, ch. 149; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-810a. 
 

32-1127.  Application of stability test criteria, when.  (a)  No person shall operate, nor shall 
the owner permit the operation of, any vessel on the waters of this state carrying more than 20 
passengers unless such vessel satisfies the United States coast guard stability test criteria for 
small passenger vessels in 46 C.F.R. l79. 

(b)  The owner of any vessel operating on the waters of this state and carrying more than 20 
passengers shall request the United States coast guard to conduct or to supervise the conducting 
of a stability test in accordance with 46 C.F.R. l79 and shall obtain and prominently display on 
such vessel an inspection certificate issued by the United States coast guard therefor, except that 
the requirements of this subsection shall be deemed to be satisfied if the United States coast 
guard refuses or is unable to conduct or to supervise the stability test and issue such certificate 
and a copy of the letter or other written notification of such refusal or inability is displayed 
prominently on such vessel. 

History:  L. 1983, ch. 342, sec. 2; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 150; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-810b. 
 
   32-1128.  Water skis and surfboards; requirements.  (a)  No person shall operate a vessel on 
any waters of this state towing a person or persons on water skis, a surfboard, or similar device, nor 
shall any person engage in water skiing, surfboarding, or similar activity at any time between the 
hours from one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise. 
   (b)  The provisions of subsection (a) of this section do not apply to a performer engaged in a 
professional exhibition or a person or persons engaged in an activity authorized under K.S.A. 32-
1149, and amendments thereto. 
   (c)  No person shall operate or manipulate any vessel, tow rope or other device by which the 
direction or location of water skis, a surfboard, or similar device may be affected or controlled in 
such a way as to cause the water skis, surfboard, or similar device, or any person thereon to collide 
with or strike against any object or person. 
   (d)  No person shall operate a motorboat on any waters of this state for towing a person or persons 
on water skis, a surfboard, or similar device, unless the boat is equipped with a wide angle rear view 
mirror properly placed to provide a maximum vision of the person or persons being towed, or there 
is an observer in the boat in addition to the operator.  The observer must be a responsible person of 
at least 12 years of age. 
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  (e)  The operator or observer shall observe the person or persons being towed and shall display a 
flag immediately after the towed person or persons enter into the water and during the time 
preparatory to towing or retrieving while the person or persons are still in the water.  Such flag shall 
be a bright or brilliant orange or red color, measuring not less than 12 inches per side, mounted on a 
handle and displayed as to be visible from all directions.  It shall be unlawful to display such flag 
except under the conditions listed in this subsection. 
   History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 13; L. 1961, ch. 471, sec. 6; L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 6; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-813. 
 

32-1129.  Lifesaving devices.  (a)  The operator of every vessel shall require every person 12 
years of age or under to wear a United States Coast Guard approved type I, type II or type III 
personal floatation device while aboard or being towed by such vessel.  A life belt or ring shall 
not satisfy the requirement of this section. 

(b)  Violation of subsection (a) shall constitute a class C misdemeanor. 
History:  L. 1989, ch. 307, sec. 1; July l. 

 
32-1130.  Operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol or drugs; definitions.  As used 

in K.S.A. 32-1131 through 32-1136: 
(a) " Alcohol concentration" means the number of grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of 

blood or per 210 liters of breath. 
(b)  "Other competent evidence" includes: 
(1) Alcohol concentration tests obtained from samples taken two hours or more after the 

operation or attempted operation of a vessel; and  
(2) readings obtained from a partial alcohol concentration test on a breath testing machine. 
(c) "Samples" includes breath supplies directly for testing, which breath is not preserved. 
(d) "Vessel" and "operate" have the meanings provided by K.S.A. 32-1102 and amendments 

thereto. 
History:  L. 1987, ch. 403, sec. 8; July l. 

 
Source or prior law:  82a-835. 
 

32-1131.  Same; operating vessel under influence of alcohol or drugs; crime.  (a)  No 
person shall operate or attempt to operate any vessel within the state while: 

(1)  The alcohol concentration in the person's blood or breath, at the time or within two hours 
after the person operated or attempted to operate the vessel, is .08 or more; 

(2)  the alcohol concentration in the person's blood or breath, at the time or within two hours 
after the person operated or attempted to operate the vessel is .02 or more and the person is less 
than 21 years of age; 

(3)  under the influence of alcohol; 
(4)  under the influence of any drug or combination of drugs to a degree that renders the 

person incapable of safely operating a vessel; or 
(5)  under the influence of a combination of alcohol and any drug or drugs to a degree that 

renders the person incapable of safely operating a vessel.   
(b)  No person shall operate or attempt to operate any vessel within this state if the person is a 

habitual user of any narcotic, hypnotic, somnifacient or stimulating drug. 
(c)  If a person is charged with a violation of this section involving drugs, the fact that the 

person is or has been entitled to use the drug under the laws of this state shall not constitute a 
defense against the charge. 

(d)  No person shall operate or attempt to operate any vessel within this state for three months 
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after the date of refusal of submitting to a test if such person refuses to submit to a test pursuant 
to K.S.A. 32-1132, and amendments thereto. 

(e)  Except as provided by subsection (f), violation of this section is a misdemeanor 
punishable; 

(1)  On the first conviction, by imprisonment of not more than one year or a fine of not less 
than $100 nor more than $500, or both; and  

(2)  on the second or subsequent conviction, by imprisonment for not less than 90 days nor 
more than one year and, in the court's discretion, a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500. 

(f)  Subsection (e) shall not apply to or affect a person less than 21 years of age who submits 
to a breath or blood alcohol test requested pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1132 and amendments thereto 
and produces a test result of an alcohol concentration of .02 or greater but less than .08.  Such 
person's boating privileges upon the first occurrence shall be suspended for 30 days and upon a 
second or subsequent occurrence shall be suspended for 90 days. 

(g)  In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law or rule and regulation, any person 
convicted of a violation of this section shall be required to satisfactorily complete a boater safety 
education course of instruction approved by the secretary before such person subsequently 
operates or attempts to operate any vessel. 

History:  L. 1987, ch. 403, sec. 2; L. 1993, ch. 259, sec. 10; L. 1999, ch. 113, sec. 1; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-829. 
 

32-1132.  Tests for alcohol or drugs; procedures.  (a)  Any person who operates or attempts 
to operate a vessel within this state is deemed to have given consent, subject to the provisions of 
this act, to submit to one or more tests of the person 's blood, breath, urine or other bodily 
substance to determine the presence of alcohol or drugs.  The testing deemed consented to herein 
shall include all quantitative and qualitative tests for alcohol and drugs.  A person who is dead or 
unconscious shall be deemed not to have withdrawn the person's consent to such test or tests, 
which shall be administered in the manner provided by this section. 

(b)  A law enforcement officer shall request a person to submit to a test or tests deemed 
consented to under subsection (a) if the officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person was 
operating or attempting to operate a vessel while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, 
and one of the following conditions exists:  (1) The person has been arrested or otherwise taken 
into custody for any offense involving operation or attempted operation of a vessel while under 
the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, in violation of a state statute or a city ordinance; or (2) 
 the person has been involved in a vessel accident or collision resulting in property damage, 
personal injury or death.  The law enforcement officer directing administration of the test or tests 
may act on personal knowledge or on the basis of the collective information available to law 
enforcement officers involved in the accident investigation or arrest. 

(c)  If a law enforcement officer requests a person to submit to a test of blood under this 
section, the withdrawal of blood at the direction of the officer may be performed only by: (1) A 
person licensed to practice medicine and surgery or a person acting under the supervision of any 
such licensed person; (2) a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse; or (3) any qualified 
medical technician.  When presented with a written statement by a law enforcement officer 
directing blood to be withdrawn from a person who has tentatively agreed to allow the 
withdrawal of blood under this section, the person authorized herein to withdraw blood and the 
medical care facility where blood is withdrawn may reply on such a statement as evidence that 
the person has consented to the medical procedure used and shall not require the person to sign 
any additional consent or waiver form.  In such a case, the person authorized to withdraw blood 
and the medical care facility shall not be liable in any action alleging lack of consent or lack of 
informed consent.  No person authorized by this subsection to withdraw blood, nor any person 
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assisting in the performance of a blood test nor any medical care facility where blood is 
withdrawn or tested that has been directed by any law enforcement officer to withdraw or test 
blood, shall be liable in any civil or criminal action when the act is performed in a reasonable 
manner according to generally accepted medical practices in the community where performed. 

(d)  If there are reasonable grounds to believe that there is impairment by a drug which is not 
subject to detection by the blood or breath test used, a urine test may be required.  If a law 
enforcement officer requests a person to submit to a test of urine under this section, the 
collection of the urine sample shall be supervised by persons of the same sex as the person being 
tested and shall be conducted out of the view of any person other than the persons supervising 
the collection of the sample and the person being tested, unless the right to privacy is waived by 
the person being tested.  The results of qualitative testing for drug presence shall be admissible 
in evidence and questions of accuracy or reliability shall go to the weight rather than the 
admissibility of the evidence. 

(e)  No law enforcement officer who is acting in accordance with this section shall be liable in 
any civil or criminal proceedings involving the action. 

(f)(1) Before a test or tests are administered under this section, the person shall be given oral 
and written notice that: (A) There is no right to consult with an attorney regarding whether to 
submit to testing; (B) refusal to submit to testing may be used against the person at any trial on a 
charge arising out of the operation or attempted operation of a vessel while under the influence 
of alcohol or drugs, or both; (C) the results of the testing may be used against the person at any 
trial on a charge arising out of the operation or attempted operation of a vessel while under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs, or both; and (D) after the completion of the testing, the person has 
the right to consult with an attorney and may secure additional testing, which, if desired, should 
be done as soon as possible and is customarily available from medical care facilities and 
physicians.  After giving the foregoing information, a law enforcement officer shall request the 
person to submit to testing.  The selection of the test or tests shall be made by the officer.  If the 
person refuses to submit to and complete a test as requested pursuant to this section, additional 
testing shall not be given.  The person's refusal shall be admissible in evidence against the person 
at any trial on a charge arising out of the alleged operation or attempted operation of a vessel 
while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both. 

(2)  Failure of a person to provide an adequate breath sample or samples as directed shall 
constitute a refusal unless the person shows that the failure was due to physical inability caused 
by a medical condition unrelated to any ingested alcohol or drugs. 

(3)  It shall not be a defense that the person did not understand the written or oral notice 
required by this section. 

(g)  Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the admissibility at any trial of alcohol 
or drug concentration testing results obtained pursuant to a search warrant. 

(h)  Upon the request of any person submitting to testing under this section, a report of the 
results of the testing shall be made available to such person. 

(i)  In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law or rule and regulation, any person 
refusing to take a test or tests when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer pursuant to 
this section shall be required to satisfactorily complete a boater education course of instruction 
approved by the secretary before such person subsequently operates or attempts to operate any 
vessel. 

History:  L. 1987, ch. 403, sec. 3; L. 1993, ch. 259, sec. 11; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-830.  
 

32-1133.  Same additional test by own physician.  With limiting or affecting the provisions 
of K.S.A. 32-1132, the person tested shall have a reasonable opportunity to have an additional 
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test by a physician of the person's own choosing.  In case the officer refuses to permit such 
additional testing, the testing administered pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1132 shall not be competent in 
evidence. 

History: L. 1987, ch. 403, sec. 4; July l. 
  
Source or prior law:  82a-831. 
 

32-1134.  Same; tests for alcohol and drugs; use as evidence.  In any criminal prosecution 
for violation of the laws of this state relating to operating or attempting to operate a vessel while 
under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, or the commission of manslaughter while under 
the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, or in any prosecution for a violation of a city 
ordinance relating to the operation or attempted operation of a vessel while under the influence 
of alcohol or drugs, or both, evidence of the concentration of alcohol or drugs in the defendant's 
blood, urine, breath or other bodily substance may be admitted and shall give rise to the 
following:  

(a)  If the alcohol concentration is less than .08, that fact may be considered with other 
competent evidence to determine if the defendant was under the influence of alcohol, or both 
alcohol and drugs. 

(b)  If the alcohol concentration is .08 or more, it shall be prima facie evidence that the 
defendant was under the influence of alcohol to a degree that renders the person incapable of 
safely operating a vessel. 

(c)  If there was present in the defendant's bodily substance any narcotic, hypnotic, 
somnifacient, stimulating or other drug which has the capacity to render the defendant incapable 
of safely operating a vessel, that fact may be considered to determine if the defendant was under 
the influence of drugs, or both alcohol and drugs, to a degree that renders the defendant 
incapable of safely operating a vessel. 

History: L. 1987, ch. 403, sec. 5; L. 1999, ch. 113, sec. 2; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-832. 
 

32-1135.  Same; submission of other evidence.  (a) The provisions of K.S.A. 32-1134 shall 
not be construed as limiting the introduction of any other competent evidence bearing upon the 
question of whether or not the defendant was under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both. 

(b)  Nothing in this act shall require any samples of blood, breath or urine to be preserved for 
or furnished to the person for independent testing. 

History: L. 1987, ch. 403, sec. 6; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-833. 
 

32-1136.  Immunity from liability for damage to vessel.   A law enforcement officer, and 
the state or any political subdivision of the state that employs a law enforcement officer, 
arresting or taking custody of a person for any offense involving the operation of or attempt to 
operate a vessel while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, shall have immunity from 
any civil or criminal liability for the care and custody of the vessel that was being operating by 
or was in the physical control of the person arrested or in custody if the law enforcement officer 
acts in good faith and exercises due care. 

History:  L. 1987, ch. 403, sec. 7; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-834. 
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32-1137. Severability.  If any clause, paragraph, subsection or section of this act is held 
invalid, it shall be conclusively presumed that the legislature would have enacted the remainder 
of this act without such invalid clause, paragraph, subsection or section. 

History:  L. 1987, ch. 403, sec. 9; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-836. 
 

32-1138.  Same; preliminary screening test.  A law enforcement officer may request a 
person who is operating or attempting to operate a vessel within this state to submit to a 
preliminary screening test of the person's breath to determine the alcohol concentration of the 
person's breath if the officer has reasonable grounds to believe that the person: (a) Has alcohol in 
the person's body; (b) has committed a boating law violation; or (c) has been involved in a vessel 
accident or collision.  At the time the test is requested, the person shall be given oral notice that: 
(1) There is no right to consult with an attorney regarding whether to submit to testing; (2) 
refusal to submit to testing shall subject the person to the same fine as prescribed by K.S.A. 8-
2118 and amendments thereto for refusal to submit to a preliminary breath test; and (3) further 
testing may be required after the preliminary screening test.  Failure to provide the notice shall 
not be an issue or defense in any action.  The law enforcement officer then shall request the 
person to submit to the test.  Refusal to take and complete the test as requested shall subject the 
person to the same fine as prescribed by K.S.A. 8-2118 and amendments thereto for refusal to 
submit to a preliminary breath test.  If the person submits to the test, the results shall be used for 
the purpose of assisting law enforcement officers in determining whether an arrest should be 
made and whether to request the tests authorized by K.S.A. 32-1132 and amendments thereto.  A 
law enforcement officer may arrest a person based in whole or in part upon the results of a 
preliminary screening test.  Such results shall not be admissible in any civil or criminal action 
except to aid the court or hearing officer in determining a challenge to the validity of the arrest or 
the validity of the request to submit to a test pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1132 and amendments 
thereto.  Following the preliminary screening test, additional tests may be requested pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1132 and amendments thereto. 

History:  L. 1999, ch. 113, sec. 3; July 1. 
 
 BOATER SAFETY EDUCATION 
 

32-1139.  Boater safety education; certification of completion requirements for certain 
operators.  (a) On and after January 1, 2001: 

(1) No person born on or after January 1, 1989, shall operate on public waters of this state any 
motorboat or sailboat unless the person possesses a certificate of completion of an approved 
boater safety education course of instruction lawfully issued to such person as provided by this 
act. 

(2) No owner or person in possession of any motorboat or sailboat shall permit another 
person, who is subject to the requirements in subsection (a)(1), to operate such motorboat or 
sailboat unless such other person either: (A) Has been lawfully issued a certificate of completion 
of an approved boater safety education course of instruction as provided by this act; or (B) is 
legally exempt from the requirements of subsection (a)(1). 

(3) The requirement in subsection (a)(1), shall not apply to a person 21 years of age or older. 
(b) The requirement in subsection (a)(1) shall not apply to a person operating a motorboat or 

sailboat accompanied by and under the direct and audible supervision of a person over 17 years 
of age who either: (1) Possesses a certificate of completion of an approved boater safety 
education course, or (2) is legally exempt from the requirements of subsection (a)(1). 

(c) No person who is charged with a violation of subsection (a)(1) shall be convicted of the 
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violation if such person produces in court or in the office of the arresting officer a certificate of 
completion of an approved boater safety education course of instruction lawfully issued to such 
person and valid at the time of such person=s arrest. 

History: L. 2000, ch. 70, sec. 2; July 1. 
 

32-1140.  Same; approval, and coordination development by secretary; fee.  (a) The 
secretary shall prescribe an approved boater safety education course of instruction of not less 
than a total of eight hours concerning the safe operation of motorboats and sailboats.  Such 
course of instruction must be recognized by the United States coast guard in order to gain 
approval of the secretary. 
   (b) The secretary shall institute and coordinate an approved boater safety education course of 
instruction through the use of department personnel, as well as through cooperations with local 
subdivisions of government, federal governmental entities, reputable individuals or reputable 
organizations having boater safety education as an objective, as the secretary deems necessary 
and appropriate. (c) At the secretary=s discretion, the requirement that a person complete an 
approved boater safety education course of instruction may be fulfilled through completion of 
correspondence course materials, including satisfactory completion of a written examination, 
recognized by the United States coast guard and approved by the secretary.  Each person 
requesting a certificate based on completion of such correspondence course shall attest, to the 
satisfaction of the secretary, that the substance of the answers on the written examination were 
provided by that person without assistance.  Persons requiring assistance to read examination 
questions or to mark examination answers may receive such assistance if they receive no 
assistance in the determination of the substance of the answers. 

(d) The secretary may require, pursuant to K.S.A. 32-988 and amendments thereto, a fee to 
cover costs of services, material and supplies from any person enrolling in an approved boater 
safety education course of instruction.   

History: L. 2000, ch. 70, sec. 3; July 1. 
  

32-1141.  Same; certification of completion; issuance; revocation; reciprocity.  (a) On and 
after January 1, 2001, the secretary may issue a certificate of completion of an approved boater 
safety education course of instruction to any person for course work completed prior to January 
1, 2001, upon: (1) Submission to the secretary of evidence of successful completion of a boater 
safety education course of instruction as formerly approved by the secretary prior to January 1, 
2001, and such other information as requested by the secretary; and (2) payment of the fee 
prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 32-988 and amendments thereto. 

(b) The secretary shall designate those persons who are authorized to issue a certificate to 
persons who successfully complete, on and after January 1, 2001, an approved boater safety 
education course of instruction and the authorization shall continue until revoked by the 
secretary.  Certificates issued by authorized designees shall remain valid until revoked.  In 
addition to any other penalties prescribed by statute or rules and regulations, the secretary, in the 
secretary=s discretion, may revoke the certificate of any person convicted of a violation of any 
provision in article 11 of chapter 32 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated.  Upon revocation of a 
person=s certificate, the person shall be required thereafter to satisfactorily complete an approved 
boater safety education course of instruction before operating any motorboat or sailboat in this 
state. 

(c) The secretary, in the secretary=s discretion, may accept as complying with the 
requirements of this act any similar certificate issued outside the state of Kansas by a 
governmental agency, or by a public or private association or club, in compliance with an 
approved governmental program having boater safety education as one of the program=s 
objectives and recognized by the United States coast guard. 
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History: L. 2000, ch. 70, sec. 4; July 1. 
   

32-1142.  Same; liability insurance for persons conducting course.  The committee on 
surety bonds and insurance, within the limitations of appropriations made therefor, shall 
purchase such liability insurance as the committee deems necessary for the protection of persons 
engaged in conducting an approved boater safety education course of instruction against any 
liability for injuries or damages arising from the conducting of such course by such persons. 

History: L. 2000, ch. 70, sec. 5; July 1. 
   

32-1143.  Sections part of Article 11.  Sections 2 through 6 shall be part of and supplemental 
to article 11 of chapter 32 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated. 

History: L. 2000, ch. 70, sec. 6; July 1.     
 

32-1144 to 32-1147.  Reserved. 
 
 MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 

 
32-1148.  Boat liveries; duties.  (a) The owner of a boat livery shall cause to be kept a record 

of the name and address of the person or persons hiring any vessel which is designed or 
permitted by him or her to be operated as a motorboat; the identification number thereof; and the 
departure date and time, and the expected time or return.  The record shall be preserved for at 
least six months. 

(b)  Neither the owner of a boat livery, nor his or her agent or employee shall permit any 
motorboat or any vessel designed of permitted by him or her to be operated as a motorboat to 
depart from his or her premises unless it shall have been provided, either by owner or renter, 
with the equipment required pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-1119 and amendments thereto 
and any rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto. 

History: L. 1959, ch. 32, sec. 8; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 147; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-808. 
 

32-1149.  Regattas and other water events.  (a) The secretary may authorize the holding of 
regattas, motorboat or other boat races, marine parades, tournaments or exhibitions on any 
waters of this state.  The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-805 and 
amendments thereto, rules and regulations necessary to implement this section, including but not 
limited to: (1) Provisions addressing the safety of all vessels, participants and the public; (2) 
permit requirements and permit application procedures, including the providing of such 
information as the secretary requires; and (3) establishment of conditions under which the event 
shall be conducted.  The application for a permit to hold such regatta, motorboat or other boat 
race, marine parade, tournament or exhibition shall be accompanied by the water event permit 
fee prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-1172.  The  
secretary, upon receipt of a proper application and the prescribed permit fee may issue a permit 
if it is determined that the event is in the public interest, the area requested for holding the event 
has sufficient accommodations and facilities for the event and the event is compatible with other 
uses of the area requested for the event.  No such event shall be conducted without the prior 
authorization of the secretary in writing. 

(b)  The provisions of this section shall not exempt any person from compliance with 
applicable federal law or regulation.    

History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 14; L. 1978, ch. 152, sec. 13; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 153; July 
l. 
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Source or prior law:  82a-814. 
 

32-1150.  Scuba diving; rules and regulations.  It shall be unlawful for any person to scuba 
dive in the streams or impounded waters of this state unless and except in compliance with rules 
and regulations of the secretary.  The term scuba diving shall include any person diving or 
submerging in a body of water with the aid of any mechanical diving or breathing device or suit. 

History:  L. 1967, ch. 514, sec. 1; L. 1969, ch. 481, sec. 1; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 158; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-821. 
 

32-1151.  Same; buoy required.  Any person scuba diving in a body of water in which 
motorboats are operated shall place a buoy in the water at or near the point of submergence.  The 
buoy shall bear a red flag at least twenty-one (21) inches square with a red background and white 
diagonal stripe that is one-fifth (1/5) the width of the flag.  The white stripe must run from the 
top of the hoist to the bottom of the flag.  It is unlawful to display this flag when diving or spear 
fishing is not in progress. 

History:  L. 1967, ch. 514, sec. 2; L. 1969, ch. 481, sec. 2; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-822.  
 

32-1152.  Sanitation; toilet facilities.  At such time as adequate on-shore facilities for 
receiving and treating marine sewage are available, as determined by the secretary of health and 
environment, no person shall operate, launch, moor, dock or use any vessel on the waters of the 
state, except as hereinafter provided, when said vessel has located on or in the vessel a marine 
toilet designed to or intended to discharge marine sewage to other than an on-shore receiving and 
treating facility operating under a valid permit as issued under the provisions of K.S.A. 65-165. 

History:  L. 1973, ch. 415, sec. 2; L. 1975, ch. 462, sec. 127; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-824. 
 

32-1153.  Same; sewage disposal.  It shall be unlawful to place, leave, discharge or cause to 
be left, placed or discharged into or near the waters of this state any receptacle containing 
sewage, whether by the owner, operator or guest of a vessel. 

History:  L. 1973, ch. 415, sec. 3; July 1. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-825. 
 

32-1154.  Same; rules and regulations.  The secretary of health and environment shall adopt 
such rules and regulations as are necessary to properly administer and enforce the provisions of 
K.S.A. 32-1152 and 32-1154, inclusive.  The secretary in adopting rules and regulations shall 
provide that any vessel having lawful registration from other than the state of Kansas and having 
marine toilets designed or intended to discharge marine sewage to the waters of the state, may be 
operated, launched, moored, docked or used on the waters of the state, if such vessel is in 
compliance with all applicable state and federal marine toilet requirements applicable and 
associated with the vessel registration.  All vessels located on waters of this state may be 
inspected at any time for the purpose of determining if such vessel is in compliance with this act, 
and the secretary or the designees of the secretary shall have all powers necessary to properly 
enforce such rules and regulations. 

History:  L. 1973, ch. 415, sec. 4; L. 1975, ch. 462, sec. 128; July l. 



 
 116 

 
Source or prior law:  82a-826. 
 

32-1155.  Applications for license of vessels to indicate presence of marine toilets.  All 
applications for license or renewal application shall identify the presence of marine toilets 
constructed as required, and the department shall identify the presence of such toilets upon the 
certificate of number when issued to an applicant. 

History:  L. 1973, ch. 415, sec. 6; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 160; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-828. 
 
  32-1156.  Abandonment of a vessel; removal from public waterway, when.  (a) No person 
shall abandon a vessel upon a public waterway or upon public or private property without the 
consent of the owner or person in lawful possession or control of the property. 
  (b)  The abandonment of any vessel in a manner prohibited by subsection (a) is prima facie 
evidence that the last registered owner of record is responsible for the abandonment, unless such 
owner has notified the department or other appropriate law enforcement agency of such owner’s 
relinquishment of title or registration or interest therein. The person so responsible shall be 
required to pay the cost of removal and disposition of the vessel. 
  (c)  A law enforcement officer of this state may remove a vessel from a public waterway when: 
  (1)  The vessel is left unattended and is adrift, moored, docked, beached or made fast to land in 
such a position as to interfere with navigation or in such a condition as to create a hazard to other 
vessels using the waterway, to public safety or to the property of another 
  (2)  The vessel is found upon a waterway and a report has previously been made that the vessel 
has been stolen or embezzled. 
  (3)  The person in charge of the vessel is by reason of physical injuries or illness incapacitated 
to such an extent as to be unable to provide for its custody or removal. 
  (4)  A law enforcement officer arresting a person operating or in control of the vessel for an 
alleged offense, and the officer is required or permitted to take, and does take, the person 
arrested into custody without unnecessary delay. 
  (5)  The vessel seriously interferes with navigation or otherwise poses a critical and immediate 
danger to navigation or to the public health, safety or welfare. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 11; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
  32-1157.  Same; notification of parties having interests in vessel; failure to reclaim; use, 
sale or destruction by law enforcement agency.  (a) A law enforcement officer may attempt to 
identify the registered owner of a vessel abandoned on private property by inspection of the 
vessel and any trailer to which it is attached and may supply the information to the real property 
owner upon which vessel is presumed abandoned. The real property owner must declare by 
affidavit the reasons why such real property owner believes the property to be abandoned. The 
real property owner must give 5-days’ notice to the last registered vessel owner before causing 
the removal of the vessel. If the last registered owner is unknown or cannot be notified, the 
vessel may immediately be removed to a secure location designated by a law enforcement 
officer. 
  (b)  A law enforcement officer, within 48 hours after directing the removal of an abandoned 
vessel on a public waterway or public or private property, shall notify the department of the 
status of the vessel. 
  (c)  A law enforcement officer who has custody of an abandoned vessel, if the law enforcement 
agency knows or can reasonably discover the name and address of the owner of the vessel or any 
person who holds a security interest in the vessel, shall notify the owner or the holder of the 
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security interest of the location of the vessel and the method by which the vessel may be 
claimed. This notice must be sent by certified or registered mail. 
  (d)  If the abandoned vessel is held by a law enforcement agency as evidence in the 
investigation or prosecution of a criminal offense, the notice required by subsection (c) shall be 
sent: 
  (1)  Upon the decision of the law enforcement agency or prosecuting attorney not to pursue or 
prosecute the case; 
  (2)  upon the conviction of the person who committed the offense; or 
  (3)  if the case is otherwise terminated. 
  (e)  Failure to reclaim the vessel within 180 days after the date the notice is mailed constitutes a 
waiver of interest in the vessel by any person having an interest in the vessel and the vessel shall 
be deemed abandoned for all purposes. 
  (f)  If all recorded interests in a vessel are waived, as provided in subsection (e) or by written 
disclaimer, the department may issue a certificate of ownership to the law enforcement agency 
that has custody of the vessel. If necessary, the secretary may assign a hull number to the vessel. 
This subsection shall not preclude the subsequent return of a vessel, or any component part 
thereof, by a law enforcement agency to the registered owner of the vessel upon presentation by 
the registered owner of satisfactory proof of ownership. 
  (g)  A law enforcement agency to which a certificate of ownership is issued pursuant to 
subsection (f) may use, sell or destroy the vessel and shall keep a record of the disposition of the 
vessel. If the law enforcement agency: 
  (1)  Sells the vessel, all proceeds from the sale of the vessel shall become the property of the 
law enforcement agency. 
  (2)  Destroys the vessel, the law enforcement agency shall, within 10 days, give notice of the 
destruction of the vessel to the department. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 12; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
  32-1158.  Notice of destruction or abandonment of vessel by owner; surrender of 
certificates of number and ownership.  (a) The registered owner of a destroyed or abandoned 
vessel that is numbered pursuant to chapter 32 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and 
amendments thereto, shall provide the notice required by K.S.A. 32-1111, and amendments 
thereto, to the secretary in writing.  The written notice must be signed by the registered owner 
and notarized. 
  (b)  The written notice provided pursuant to subsection (a) must indicate the reason for the 
destruction or abandonment of the vessel and the current location and condition of the vessel. 
  (c)  The registered owner shall surrender to the secretary the certificate of number and the 
certificate of ownership issued for the motorboat, if in existence, at the time the owner provides 
the written notice to the secretary pursuant to subsection (a). 
  (d)  Once a vessel has been destroyed or abandoned, the secretary shall print the word 
‘‘salvage’’ on each subsequent certificate of number which it issues for that vessel. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 13; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
  32-1159.  Preservation of evidence of criminal offenses; liability for storage fees.  (a) If a 
law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe that a vessel or its contents contain 
evidence tending to show that a criminal offense has been committed or that a particular person 
has committed an offense, the officer may take whatever steps are reasonable to ensure the 
preservation of the evidence, including safe storage of the vessel or its contents. 
  (b)  If a criminal conviction is obtained as a result of an action taken pursuant to subsection (a), 
the person convicted shall pay any storage fees incurred pursuant to that subsection. If a 
conviction is not obtained, the law enforcement agency that seized the vessel pursuant to 
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subsection (a) shall pay any storage fees incurred. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 14; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 
  32-1160 to 32-1165.  Reserved. 
 
  32-1166.  Vessels exempt from provisions of act.  The provisions of K.S.A. 32-1110, 32-
1111, 32-1119 and 32-1125 shall not apply to vessels used solely on lakes, ponds or streams 
privately owned or leased and not open to the general public. 

History:  L. 1970, ch. 408, sec. 10; Jan. 1, 1971. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-819a. 
 

32-1167 to 32-1171.  Reserved. 
 
 FEES 
 

32-1172.  Fees.  The secretary is authorized to adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805 and 
amendments thereto, rules and regulations fixing the amount of fees for the following items, 
subject to the following limitations and subject to the requirement that no such rules and 
regulations shall be adopted as temporary rules and regulations: 

Dealer certificate of number: maximum $50 
     Additional dealer certificates: maximum $10 
Dealer license: maximum $50 
Duplicate registrations, certificates or permits: maximum $10 
Vessel registrations: maximum $30 
Water event permits: maximum $50 
Special departmental services, materials or supplies: no maximum 
History:  L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 161; L. 2001, ch. 131, sec. 3; L. 2004, ch. 79, sec. 4; Jan. 1, 

2005. 
 
Source or prior law:  32-164b, 82a-804, 82a-806. 
 
   32-1173.  Same; disposition.  All moneys received pursuant to K.S.A. 32-1101 through 32-
1104, 32-1110 through 32-1113, 32-1119, 32-1125 through 32-1128, 32-1130 through 32-1137, 
32-1148 through 32-1155, 32-1166, 32-1172, 32-1173, 32-1177 through 32-1180 and sections 9 
and 10, and amendments thereto, shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the 
provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215 and 74-7336, and amendments thereto.  Upon receipt of each such 
remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount as prescribed by K.S.A. 74-7336, 
and amendments thereto, in the state treasury to the credit of the boating fee fund, which is 
hereby created, to be dedicated and used to administer and enforce the provisions of K.S.A. 32-
1101 through 32-1104, 32-1110 through 32-1113, 32-1119, 32-1125 through 32-1128, 32-1130 
through 32-1137, 32-1148 through 32-1155, 32-1166, 32-1172, 32-1173, 32-1177 through 32-
1180, and sections 7 through 14, and amendments thereto.  When sufficient moneys are available 
from the fees so collected, the secretary may use the same to construct or repair boating 
facilities, ramps and docks at public waters within this state. 
   History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 18; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 155; L. 2001, ch. 5, sec. 104; L. 
2006, ch. 85, sec. 15; Jan. l, 2007. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-818. 
 



 
 119 

    32-1174.  Boating fee fund; use of federal moneys.  All federal moneys received pursuant to 
federal assistance, federal-aid funds or federal-aid grant reimbursements related to boating or 
boating programs under the control, authorities and duties of the department of wildlife and 
parks shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-
4215, and amendments thereto.  Upon receipt of the remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit 
the entire amount in the state treasury and credit it to the boating fund-federal, which is hereby 
created, to be dedicated and used for the purposes authorized in K.S.A. 32-1173, and 
amendments thereto. 
   History:  L. 2005, ch. 181, sec. 1; July 1. 
   

32-1175 to 32-1176.  Reserved. 
 
 ENFORCEMENT 
 

32-1177.  Accident Reports.  It shall be the duty of the operator of a vessel involved in a 
collision, accident or other casualty, so far as the operator can do so without serious danger to 
the operator's own vessel, crew, and passengers (if any) to render to other persons affected by the 
collision, accident or other casualty such assistance as practicable and as necessary in order to 
save them from or minimize any danger caused by the collision, accident or other casualty, and 
also to give the operator's name, address and identification of the operator's vessel, in writing, to 
any person injured and to the owner of any property damaged in the collision, accident or other 
casualty. 

(b)  In the case of collision, accident or other casualty involving a vessel, the operator thereof, 
if the collision, accident or other casualty results in death or injury to a person or damage to 
property in excess of the amount established by rules and regulations of the secretary shall file 
with the department a full description of the collision, accident or other casualty, including such 
additional information as required by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary pursuant to 
K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-805 and amendments thereto. 

History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 11; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 151; L. 1993, ch. 185, sec. 17; July 
l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-811. 
 

32-1178.  Same; transmittal to federal agency.  In accordance with any request duly made 
by an authorized official or agency of the United States, any information compiled or otherwise 
available to the department pursuant to subsection (b) of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-1177 and 
amendments thereto shall be transmitted to such official or agency of the United States. 

History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 12; L. 1961, ch. 471, sec. 5; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 152; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-812. 
 

32-1179.  Peace officer's powers.  Every peace officer of this state and its subdivisions or 
caretakers at federally impounded waters shall have the authority to enforce the provisions of 
this act and in the exercise thereof shall have the authority to stop and board any vessel subject 
to this act.  

History:  L. 1959, ch. 321, sec. 17; July l. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-817. 
 

32-1180.  Penalties for violations.  Unless otherwise provided by statute or rules and 
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regulations of the secretary, violation of K.S.A. 1989 Supp. 32-1101 through 32-1104, 32-1110 
through 32-1113, 32-1119, 32-1125 through 32-1128, 32-1130 through 32-1137, 32-1148 
through 32-1155, 32-1166, 32-1172, 32-1173, 32-1177 through 32-1180 and sections 7 and 11, 
and amendments thereto, or rules and regulations adopted thereunder is a class C misdemeanor. 

History:  L. 1973, ch. 415, sec. 5; L. 1989, ch. 118, sec. 159; L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 16; Jan. 1, 
2007. 
 
Source or prior law:  82a-819,82a-823,82a-827. 
 
 ARTICLE 12.  KANSAS LOCAL GOVERNMENT OUTDOOR RECREATION GRANTS 
 

32-1201.  Short title.  The provisions of sections 1 through 3 and amendments thereto shall 
be known and may be cited as the Kansas local government outdoor recreation grant program 
act. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 70, sec. 1; July 1. 
 

32-1202.  Definitions.  As used in the Kansas local government outdoor recreation grant act: 
(a)  "Local government" means any county, city or township or any two or more such local 

governments acting jointly pursuant to intergovernmental agreements or as otherwise authorized 
by statute. 

(b)  "Capital improvement project" means a capital improvement project to establish, develop, 
renovate or repair an outdoor recreational facility, including the acquisition of land, acquisition 
and installation of equipment, construction, renovation or repair of outdoor recreational 
facilities, and including renovations and repairs to provide safety improvements and handicapped 
accessibility and other improvements, including improvements to attain compliance with the 
requirements imposed under the federal Americans with disabilities act. 

(c)  "Outdoor recreational facility" means any public park or other outdoor recreational area 
or facility, including, but not limited to, parks, open spaces, trails, swimming pools, playgrounds 
and playing courts and fields. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 70, sec. 2; July 1. 
 
   32-1203.  Grants for local government outdoor recreational facilities; program 
guidelines; portion of grants for handicapped accessibility and related purposes.  (a) In 
accordance with the provisions of this act, the secretary of wildlife and parks shall develop and 
administer a grant program to award grants to Kansas local governments for capital 
improvements for local government outdoor recreation facilities.  The grants shall be awarded 
annually on a competitive basis in accordance with guidelines and criteria prescribed by rules 
and regulations adopted by the secretary of wildlife and parks.  Each grant shall be matched by 
the local government receiving the grant on the basis of $1 provided by the local government for 
each $1 provided under the grant for the capital improvement. 

(b)  The secretary of wildlife and parks shall designate annually a portion of all moneys 
appropriated for local government outdoor recreation grants for renovations and repairs to 
provide safety improvements and handicapped accessibility and other improvements, including 
improvements to attain compliance with the requirements imposed under the federal Americans 
with disabilities act. 

History:  L. 1998, ch. 70, sec. 3; July 1. 
 

ARTICLE 13.  Dangerous Regulated Animals 
 
  32-1301.  Definitions.  As used in this act:    (a) ‘‘Person’’ means any individual, firm, 
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partnership, corporation, association, municipality or other business entity. 
  (b) ‘‘Wildlife sanctuary’’ means a not-for-profit organization exempt from federal income 
taxation pursuant to section 501 (c)(3) of the internal revenue code of 1986, as in effect on July 
1, 2006, that: 
  (1) Operates a place of refuge where abused, neglected, unwanted, impounded, abandoned, 
orphaned or displaced dangerous regulated animals are provided care for such animal’s lifetime; 
  (2) does not conduct any commercial activity with respect to any dangerous regulated animal 
possessed by the organization; 
  (3) does not sell, trade, auction, lease or loan dangerous regulated animals, or parts thereof, 
which the organization possesses; 
  (4) does not breed any dangerous regulated animal of which the organization possesses, except 
as an integral part of the species survival plan of the American zoo and aquarium association; 
  (5) does not conduct any activity that is not inherent to the dangerous regulated animal’s nature; 
  (6) does not use the dangerous regulated animal for any type of entertainment purposes; and 
  (7) operates a refuge in compliance with regulations promulgated by the United States 
department of agriculture for dangerous regulated animals, except non-native, venomous snakes, 
under the animal welfare act, public law 89-544, as amended and in effect on July 1, 2006, and 
the regulations and standards adopted under such act in effect on July 1, 2006, relating to 
operations, animal health and husbandry. All dangerous regulated animals shall be caged in 
compliance with the provisions set forth in section 6, and amendments thereto. 
  (c) ‘‘Possess’’ means to own, care for, have custody of or control. 
  (d) ‘‘Dangerous regulated animal’’ means a live or slaughtered parts of: 
  (1) Lions, tigers, leopards, jaguars, cheetahs and mountain lions, or any hybrid thereof; 
  (2) bears or any hybrid thereof; and 
  (3) all non-native, venomous snakes. 
  (e) ‘‘Local animal control authority’’ means an agency of the county or city that is responsible 
for animal control operations in such governmental entity’s jurisdiction and includes the animal 
control officer, as defined by K.S.A. 47-1701, and amendments thereto, of such county or city. If 
the county or city does not have an animal control officer, for cities of the first class, the chief 
law enforcement officer shall have the local animal control authority duties and responsibilities 
pursuant to this act and for all other cities and counties, the county sheriff shall have the local 
animal control authority duties and responsibilities pursuant to this act. 
  (f) ‘‘Registered designated handler’’ means a person who is registered or would be required to 
be registered pursuant to section 10, and amendments thereto. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 1; July 1. 
 
  32-1302.  Unlawful acts; compliance with USDA regulations; USDA license.  (a) Except as 
provided in this section, it is unlawful for a person to possess, slaughter, sell, purchase or 
otherwise acquire a dangerous regulated animal. 
  (b) On and after October 1, 2006, a person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal shall be 
in compliance with regulations promulgated by the United States department of agriculture for 
dangerous regulated animals, except non-native, venomous snakes, under the animal welfare act, 
public law 89-544, as amended and in effect on July 1, 2006, and the regulations and standards 
adopted under such act in effect on July 1, 2006, relating to operations, animal health and 
husbandry; and to provide adequate veterinary care for dangerous regulated animals. All 
dangerous regulated animals shall be caged in compliance with the provisions set forth in section 
6, and amendments thereto. 
  (c) Except as provided in subsection (d), a person shall not take possession of a dangerous 
regulated animal or allow dangerous regulated animals in such person’s possession to breed. 
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  (d) A person who possesses a valid United States department of agriculture license, is in 
compliance with the United States department of agriculture animal welfare act, regulations and 
standards on July 1, 2006, and, within 10 years preceding July 1, 2006, has not been convicted of 
a felony under the laws of Kansas or a crime under a law of another jurisdiction which is 
substantially the same as a felony, may breed, purchase or otherwise acquire new dangerous 
regulated animals after July 1, 2006, in order to: 
  (1) Maintain the operating inventory of dangerous regulated animals possessed on July 1, 2006; 
  (2) sell dangerous regulated animals to other United States department of agriculture licensed 
and compliant facilities within Kansas for replacement purposes as provided in paragraph (1); 
and 
  (3) sell dangerous regulated animals outside Kansas. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 2; July 1. 
 
  32-1303.  Registration with local animal control authority; notification; microchip 
implant; inspection.  (a) On and after September 1, 2006, a person who possesses a dangerous 
regulated animal shall notify, in writing, and register the dangerous regulated animal with the 
local animal control authority. 
  (b) The notification shall include the person’s name, address, telephone number and a complete 
inventory of each dangerous regulated animal that the person possesses. The inventory shall 
include the following information: Number and species of each dangerous regulated animal; the 
microchip identification number and manufacturer of such microchip for each dangerous 
regulated animal, if available; the exact location where each dangerous regulated animal is kept; 
the age, sex, color, weight, scars and any distinguishing marks of each dangerous regulated 
animal; and the name of any person who is a registered designated handler. 
  (c) When a person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal has a microchip implanted in 
such animal for identification, the name of the microchip manufacturer and the microchip 
identification number shall be provided to the local animal control authority. If a dangerous 
regulated animal is sedated for any reason and such animal does not have a microchip implanted, 
a microchip shall be implanted in such animal. Within 30 days after the microchip is implanted, 
the name of the microchip manufacturer and the microchip identification number shall be 
provided to the local animal control authority.  Within 30 days of acquisition, a person acquiring 
ownership of an offspring with a microchip implanted shall comply with microchip information 
reporting requirements of this subsection. 
  (d) A local animal control authority may inspect the premises where dangerous regulated 
animals are physically located. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 3; July 1. 
 
  32-1304.  Fees; liability coverage or bond.  (a) The local animal control authority may charge 
the following annual fees: 
  (1) Premises inspection fee not more than $100. 
  (2) Dangerous regulated animal registration fee, per animal, not more than $50. The maximum 
amount charged for such animal registration per person is $500. 
  (3) Additional premise inspection fee, if the person acquires and possesses another type of 
dangerous regulated animal, not more than $100. 
  (b) A certificate of registration shall be issued by the local animal control authority to the 
person for each dangerous regulated animal and inspection upon payment of the fee. 
  (c) Any person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal shall maintain liability insurance 
coverage or secure a bond in an amount of not less than $250,000 for each occurrence for 
liability damages for destruction of or damage to property and death or bodily injury to a person 
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caused by the dangerous regulated animal. The person possessing the animal shall provide a 
copy of the policy for liability insurance or proof of the bond to the local animal control 
authority. Any insurer shall notify the local animal control authority, in writing, of any 
expiration, reduction or cancellation of liability insurance, furnished as required by this 
subsection, not later than 10 days before the expiration, reduction or cancellation takes effect. 
Any surety company who secures the performance of the bond shall notify the local animal 
control authority, in writing, of any expiration, reduction or cancellation of the bond, furnished 
as required by this subsection, not later than 10 days before the expiration, reduction or 
cancellation takes effect. 
  (d) Any fees charged and collected shall be retained by the local animal control authority to be 
used to implement the provisions of this act. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 4; July 1. 
 
  32-1305.  Health and ownership records; change of address notification; escape 
notification.  (a) A person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal shall meet the 
requirements set forth in this section. 
  (b) A person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal shall maintain health and ownership 
records on each dangerous regulated animal and shall maintain the records for the life of the 
animal. If possession of the dangerous regulated animal is transferred to another person, a copy 
of the health and ownership records shall accompany the animal. 
  (c) A person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal shall maintain an ongoing program of 
veterinary care which includes a veterinary visit to the premises at least annually. 
  (d) A person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal shall notify the local animal control 
authority in writing within 10 days of a change in address or location where the dangerous 
regulated animal is kept. 
  (e) A person with a United States department of agriculture license for dangerous regulated 
animals shall forward a copy of such person’s United States department of agriculture inspection 
report to the local animal control authority within 30 days of receipt of the inspection report. 
  (f) A person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal shall prominently display a sign on 
the structure where the animal is housed indicating that a dangerous regulated animal is on the 
premises. 
  (g) A person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal shall immediately notify local law 
enforcement officials of any escape of a dangerous regulated animal. The person who possesses 
the dangerous regulated animal is liable for any costs incurred by any person, city, county or 
state agency resulting from the escape of a dangerous regulated animal unless the escape is due 
to a criminal act by another person or a natural event. 
  (h) A person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal shall maintain a written recovery 
plan in the event of the escape of a dangerous regulated animal. The person shall maintain live 
traps or other equipment necessary to assist in the recovery of the dangerous regulated animal. 
  (i) If requested by the local animal control authority, a person may not move a dangerous 
regulated animal from such animal’s location unless the person notifies the local animal control 
authority prior to moving the animal. The notification shall include the date and the location 
where the animal is moved. This subsection shall not apply to a dangerous regulated animal 
transported to a licensed veterinarian. 
  (j) If a person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal can no longer care for the animal, 
the person shall take the appropriate steps to find long-term placement for the dangerous 
regulated animal. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 5; July 1. 
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  32-1306.  Cage and care requirements; physical contact prohibition.  (a) All dangerous 
regulated animals shall be confined within a cage of sufficient strength and design for the 
purposes of maintaining and housing or transporting the animal. The requirements for sufficient 
caging shall be established by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary of wildlife and 
parks. Any cage or confinement structure shall be constructed in such a manner that prohibits 
physical contact with any person other than such persons listed in subsection (d). 
  (b) No dangerous regulated animal shall be allowed to be tethered, leashed or chained outdoors, 
or allowed to run at large. 
  (c) A dangerous regulated animal shall not be mistreated, neglected, abandoned or deprived of 
necessary food, water and sustenance. 
  (d) A dangerous regulated animal shall not be allowed to come into physical contact with any 
person other than the person possessing the animal, the registered designated handler or a 
veterinarian administering medical examination, treatment or care. 
  (e) A dangerous regulated animal shall not be brought to any public property or commercial or 
retail establishment, except to bring the animal to a licensed veterinarian or veterinarian clinic. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 6; July 1. 
 
  32-1307.  Seizure of animals; access to premises; notice; hearing; costs.  (a) Any dangerous 
regulated animal may be seized by the local animal control authority as provided in this section. 
  (b) The local animal control authority, upon issuance of a notice of inspection, shall be granted 
access at reasonable times to premises where the local animal control authority has reason to 
believe a violation of this act is occurring or has occurred. 
  (c) If a person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal is not in compliance with the 
requirements of this act, the local animal control authority shall take possession of the animal for 
custody and care, following the procedures in this subsection. 
  (d) Upon request of a person possessing a dangerous regulated animal, the local animal control 
authority may allow the animal to remain in the physical custody of the owner for 30 days, 
during which time the owner shall take all necessary actions to come in compliance with this act. 
 During the 30-day period, the local animal control authority may inspect, at any reasonable 
time, the premises where the animal is kept. 
  (e) If a person who possesses a dangerous regulated animal is not in compliance with this act 
following the 30-day period described in subsection (d), the local animal control authority shall 
seize the animal and place it in a holding facility that is appropriate for the species for up to 10 
days. The authority taking custody of an animal under this subsection shall provide a notice of 
the seizure by delivering or mailing it to the person possessing such dangerous regulated animal, 
by posting a copy of the notice at the premise where the animal is taken into custody, or by 
delivering it to a person residing on the premise. The notice shall include: 
  (1) A description of the animal seized; the authority for and purpose of the seizure; the time, 
place and circumstances under which the animal was seized; and a contact person and telephone 
number; 
  (2) a statement that a person from whom a dangerous regulated animal was seized may post 
security to prevent disposition of the animal and may request a hearing concerning the seizure 
and that failure to do so within five business days of the date of the notice will result in 
disposition of the animal; 
  (3) a statement that actual costs of the care, keeping and disposal of the dangerous regulated 
animal are the responsibility of the person from whom the animal was seized, except to the 
extent that a court or hearing officer finds that the seizure was not substantially justified by law; 
and 
  (4) a form that can be used by a person from whom a dangerous regulated animal was seized for 
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requesting a hearing under this subsection. 
  (f) If a person from whom the dangerous regulated animal was seized makes a request within 
five business days of the seizure, a hearing must be held within five business days of the request 
to determine the validity of the seizure and disposition of the animal. The judge or hearing 
officer may authorize the return of the animal to the person from whom the animal was seized if 
the judge or hearing officer finds: 
  (1) That the person can and will provide the care required by law for the dangerous regulated 
animal; and 
  (2) the dangerous regulated animal is physically fit. 
  (g) If a judge or hearing officer orders a permanent disposition of the dangerous regulated 
animal, the local animal control authority may take steps to find long-term placement for the 
animal with a wildlife sanctuary, or an appropriate United States department of agriculture 
licensed facility. 
  (h) A person from whom a dangerous regulated animal is seized is liable for all actual costs of 
care, keeping and disposal of the animal, except to the extent that a court or hearing officer finds 
that the seizure was not substantially justified by law. The costs shall be paid in full or a 
mutually satisfactory arrangement for payment shall be made between the local animal control 
authority and the person claiming an interest in the animal before return of the animal to the 
person. 
  (i) A person from whom a dangerous regulated animal has been seized under this subsection 
may prevent disposition of the animal by posting security in the amount sufficient to provide for 
the actual costs of care and keeping of the animal. The security shall be posted within five 
business days of the seizure, inclusive of the day of the seizure. 
  (j) If circumstances exist threatening the life of a person or the life of any animal, any law 
enforcement agency or the local animal control authority shall seize a dangerous regulated 
animal without an opportunity for hearing or court order, or destroy the animal. 
  (k) Upon proper determination by a licensed veterinarian, any dangerous regulated animal 
taken into custody under this section may be immediately euthanized when the dangerous 
regulated animal is suffering and is beyond cure through reasonable care and treatment. 
  (l) The agency or authority taking custody of the dangerous regulated animal may recover all 
costs incurred under this section. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 7; July 1. 
 
  32-1308.  Exemptions.  Exemptions to the provisions set forth in this act are as follows: 
  (a) Institutions accredited by the American zoo and aquarium association or the zoological 
association of America shall be exempt from sections 2 and 3, and amendments thereto. 
  (b) A wildlife sanctuary registered with the local animal control authority shall be exempt from 
section 2, and amendments thereto. 
  (c) The Kansas department of wildlife and parks, or a person issued a permit by the secretary 
pursuant to K.S.A. 32-952, and amendments thereto, shall be exempt from this act. 
  (d) A licensed or accredited research or medical institution shall be exempt from sections 2 and 
3, and amendments thereto. 
  (e) A United States department of agriculture licensed exhibitor of dangerous regulated animals 
while transporting or as part of a circus, carnival, rodeo or fair shall be exempt from this act. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 8; July 1. 
 
  32-1309.  Selling or transferring animals.  Nothing in this act shall preclude a person who 
holds a valid United States department of agriculture license from selling or transferring the 
entire business and the dangerous regulated animals covered by such license to another person 
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who holds a valid United States department of agriculture license. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 9; July 1. 
 
  32-1310.  Reports to the department of wildlife and parks; registered designated handler, 
fee; educational training programs; rules and regulations.  (a) Annually, on or before April 
1, a local animal control authority shall report to the secretary of the Kansas department of 
wildlife and parks on dangerous regulated animals registered with the local animal control 
authority during the preceding calendar year. The report shall include all registration information 
submitted to the local animal control authority under subsection (b) of section 3, and 
amendments thereto, and information on enforcement actions taken under this act. 
  (b) It shall be a violation of this act for a person who does not own the dangerous regulated 
animal, to care for, have custody or control of such animal unless such person is a registered 
designated handler. Any such person applying for a designated handler registration shall file an 
application on a form prescribed by the local animal control authority. 
Application for such registration shall be accompanied by an application fee not exceeding $25. 
If the local animal control authority finds the applicant to be qualified to be a registered 
designated handler after meeting the training, experience and ability requirements determined by 
the secretary of wildlife and parks, the local animal control authority shall issue a designated 
handler registration which shall expire at the end of the calendar year. 
  (c) The secretary of wildlife and parks shall provide educational training programs for the local 
animal control authority concerning the provisions of this act and the handling of dangerous 
regulated animals. 
  (d) The secretary of wildlife and parks shall adopt rules and regulations: 
  (1) Establishing training, experience and ability requirements for registered designated 
handlers; and 
  (2) to implement the provisions of this act. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 10; July 1. 
 
  32-1311.  Requirements of county resolutions or city ordinances; compliance with act.  A 
county or city may adopt resolutions or ordinances governing dangerous regulated animals that 
are more restrictive than this act.  Such resolution or ordinance may include, but not be limited 
to, additional animals to the definition of a dangerous regulated animal, additional caging 
standards, and stricter care and treatment provisions. If a county or city already has a resolution 
or ordinance in existence that is substantially the same or more restrictive, such county or city 
shall be in compliance with this act. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 11; July 1. 
 
32-1312.  Penalty.  Any person who knowingly violates this act is guilty of a class A nonperson 
misdemeanor. 
  History:  L. 2006, ch. 131, sec. 12; July 1. 
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INFORMATION ON SERICEA LESPEDEZA TEST PLOT 

 
2-1334.  Control and eradication of sericea lespedeza; research and demonstration 

efforts.  (a) The purpose of this act is to provide for the coordination, enhancement and 
continuation of federal, state and local efforts as well as public and private efforts to develop an 
effective and affordable method of controlling or eradicating sericea lespedeza and to encourage 
communication of information about sericea control methods to landowners and land managers. 

(b) The secretary of agriculture in cooperation with the secretary of wildlife and parks shall 
designate an appropriate parcel of land as a research area to study and demonstrate methods of 
controlling or eradicating sericea lespedeza.  Such site shall be designated on land managed by 
the department of wildlife and parks at toronto lake and shall be utilized to provide a focal point 
for activities that further the purposes of this act. 

(c) The research and demonstration efforts conducted on the site designated as provided in 
subsection (b) shall include a variety of methods used to control or eradicate sericea lespedeza 
and shall include utilization of experiment and demonstration plots and development of field 
days and workshops to demonstrate methods of control or eradication of sericea lespedeza. 

(d) The secretary of agriculture and the secretary of wildlife and parks shall have authority to 
request assistance from any federal, state or local authority, from any public or private university 
or other research institution, from any business organization, or from any individual in furthering 
the purposes of this act.  All such entities are hereby requested to cooperate with the secretary of 
agriculture and the secretary of wildlife and parks in furthering the purposes of this act.  

History: L. 2004, ch. 96, sec. 2; July 1. 
 

INFORMATION ON KANSAS NATURAL RESOURCE LEGACY ALLIANCE 
 
2-1921.  Kansas natural resource legacy alliance.  (a) There is hereby created the Kansas 

natural resource legacy alliance. 
(b) The alliance shall consist of the following appointed members all of whom shall be 

residents of the state of Kansas: 
(1) The president of the senate or the president of the senate=s designee, and two additional 

members appointed by the president of the senate, two of whom shall be landowners who own at 
least 160 acres of Kansas farm or ranch land and are principally engaged in production 
agriculture; 

(2) the minority leader of the senate or the minority leader of the senate=s designee and one 
additional member appointed by the minority leader of the senate who shall be a landowner who 
owns at least 160 acres and is principally engaged in production agriculture; 

(3) the chairman of the senate committee on natural resources or the chairman of the senate 
committee on natural resources= designee provided that such designee is a member of the 
legislature of the state of Kansas; 

(4) the speaker of the house of representatives or the speaker of the house of representative=s 
designee, and two additional members appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, 
two of whom shall be landowners who own at least 160 acres of Kansas farm or ranch land and 
are principally engaged in production agriculture; 

(5) the minority leader of the house of representatives or the minority leader of the house of 
representative=s designee and one additional member appointed by the minority leader of the 
house of representatives who shall be a landowner who owns at least 160 acres and is principally 
engaged in production agriculture; 

(6) the chairman of the house committee on environment or the chairman of the house 
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committee on environment=s designee provided that such designee is a member of the legislature 
of the state of Kansas; and 

(7) three members appointed by the governor, at least two of which shall be landowners who 
own at least 160 acres of Kansas farm or ranch land and are principally engaged in production 
agriculture. 

(c) The following shall be nonvoting advisors to the members of the alliance: 
(1) The secretary of wildlife and parks or the secretary=s designee; 
(2) the secretary of agriculture or the secretary=s designee; 
(3)  the executive director of the state conservation commission or the executive director=s 

designee; 
(4) the secretary of health and environment or the secretary=s designee; 
(5) the director of the Kansas water office or the director=s designee; 
(6) the state forester of the state forester=s designee; 
(7) the secretary of commerce and housing or the secretary of commerce and housing=s 

designee; 
(8) the president of the Kansas farm bureau or the president=s designee; and 
(9) the president of the Kansas livestock association or the president=s designee. 
(d) Officers making appointments pursuant to subsection (b) shall consult and coordinate 

among themselves in making the appointments in order to achieve a membership that represents 
a balance of knowledge and experience among interests in natural resources, environmental 
interests and related economic interests, including parks and recreation, soil and water 
conservation, travel and tourism, economic development, agriculture, outdoor recreation, 
landowners and homeowners, fish and wildlife, forest resources, prairie and grassland resources 
and municipalities.  At least two such members shall represent environmental interests.  In 
making the appointments, the officers shall solicit and allow an opportunity for 
recommendations by interested groups and individual citizens. 

History: L. 2002, ch. 96, sec. 6, May 2.  
 

2-1922.  Same; purpose; report activities and recommendations.  (a) The alliance shall 
develop a vision for utilizing the state=s natural resources to assure economic development, a 
healthy environment, proper protection of natural resources, opportunities for natural resource 
and environmental education and quality of life for Kansas families and individual citizens.  In 
developing the vision, the alliance shall: 

(1) Conduct public hearings across the state to seek citizen input and provide information to 
the public; 

(2) seek input from state and local governmental agencies; 
(3) examine the state=s current natural resource programs; 
(4) consider the impact of the state=s natural resources and programs on economic 

development and the environment; 
(5) examine the state=s current and future resource needs, recognizing the basic American 

freedom of private ownership of land and the landowner=s right to private property protection 
pursuant to K.S.A. 77-701 et seq., and amendments thereto; 

(6) expand voluntary public or private partnerships that support and implement the vision; and 
(7) develop goals and establish priorities for attaining the vision, including, but not limited to, 

goals and priorities for outdoor recreation, tourism, economic development, natural resource and 
environmental education, quality of life, water quality, water supplies, fish and wildlife 
resources, prairie and grassland resources, forest resources, parks and lakes, wetlands and 
riparian areas, soil and water conservation and air quality. 

(b) The alliance shall submit a preliminary report of its activities and recommendations to the 
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governor and the legislature on or before May 1, 2003, and shall submit a final report and 
recommendations to the governor and legislature on or before December 1, 2003. 

History: L. 2002, ch. 96, sec. 7, May 2. 
 
2-1923.  Same; meetings; attachment to conservation commission.  (a) The alliance shall 

meet at least once each calendar quarter.  The first meeting shall be called by the governor, at 
which time the alliance shall elect a chairperson and vice-chairperson.  Thereafter, the alliance 
shall meet on call of the chairperson or on written request of a majority of the members.  The 
alliance may hold its meetings at such times and at such places within the state as the members 
determine appropriate. 

(b) The alliance shall be attached to the state conservation commission as a part thereof.  All 
budgeting, purchasing and related management functions of the alliance shall be administered by 
the executive director of the state conservation commission.  The executive director of the state 
conservation commission shall provide office and meeting space and such clerical and other staff 
assistance as may be necessary to assist the alliance in carrying out its powers, duties and 
functions under this act. 

(c) Members of the alliance specified in subsection (b) of section 6, and amendments thereto, 
shall receive compensation, subsistence allowances, mileage and other expenses as provided in 
K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2002, ch. 96, sec. 8, May 2. 
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 INFORMATION ON PERMITTING DANGEROUS ANIMALS TO BE AT LARGE 
 
 

21-3418.  Permitting dangerous animal to be at large.  Permitting a dangerous animal to be 
at large is the act or omission of the owner or custodian of an animal of dangerous or vicious 
propensities who, knowing of such propensities, permits or suffers such animal to go at large or 
keeps such animal without taking ordinary care to restrain it. 

Permitting a dangerous animal to be at large is a class B misdemeanor. 
History: L. 1969, ch. 180, ' 21-2418; July 1, 1970. 

 
Source or prior law: 21-415. 
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 INFORMATION ON CRIMINAL TRESPASS 
 

21-3721.  Criminal trespass.  (a) Criminal trespass is: 
(1) Entering or remaining upon or in any land, nonnavigable body of water, structure, vehicle, 

aircraft or watercraft other than railroad property as defined in K.S.A. 2005 Supp. 21-3761 and 
amendments thereto by a person who knows such person is not authorized or privileged to do so, 
and: 

(A) Such person enters or remains therein in defiance of an order not to enter or to leave such 
premises or property personally communicated to such person by the owner thereof or other 
authorized person; or 

(B) such premises or property are posted in a manner reasonably likely to come to the 
attention of intruders, or are locked or fenced or otherwise enclosed, or shut or secured against 
passage or entry; or 

(C) such person enters or remains therein in defiance of a restraining order issued pursuant to 
K.S.A. 60-31a05, 60-31a06, K.S.A. 60-1607, 60-3105, 60-3106 or 60-3107 or K.S.A. 38-1542, 
38-1543 or 38-1563, and amendments thereto, and the restraining order has been personally 
served upon the person so restrained; or 

(2) entering or remaining upon or in any public or private land or structure in a manner that 
interferes with access to or from any health care facility by a person who knows such person is 
not authorized or privileged to do so and such person enters or remains thereon or therein in 
defiance of an order not to enter or to leave such land or structure personally communicated to 
such person by the owner of the health care facility or other authorized person. 

(b) As used in this section: 
(1) AHealth care facility@ means any licensed medical care facility, certified health 

maintenance organization, licensed mental health center, or mental health clinic, licensed 
psychiatric hospital or other facility or office where services of a health care provider are 
provided directly to patients. 

(2) AHealth care provider@ means any person: (A) Licensed to practice a branch of the healing 
arts; (B) licensed to practice psychology; (C) licensed to practice professional or practical 
nursing; (D) licensed to practice dentistry; (E) licensed to practice optometry; (F) licensed to 
practice pharmacy; (G) registered to practice podiatry; (H) licensed as a social worker; or (I) 
registered to practice physical therapy. 

(c)(1) Criminal trespass is a class B nonperson misdemeanor. 
(2) Upon a conviction of a violation of subsection (a)(1)(C), a person shall be sentenced to not 

less than 48 consecutive hours of imprisonment which must be served either before or as a 
condition of any grant of probation or suspension, reduction of sentence or parole. 

(d)  This section shall not apply to a land surveyor, licensed pursuant to article 70 of chapter 
74 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, and such surveyor’s authorized 
agents and employees who enter upon lands, waters and other premises in the making of a 
survey. 

History: L. 1969, ch. 180, ' 21-3721; L. 1979, ch. 92, ' 13; L. 1980, ch. 99, ' 1; L. 1986, ch. 
161, ' 3; L. 1992, ch. 183, ' 6; L. 1993, ch. 291, ' 79; L. 1996, ch. 30, ' 2; L. 1996, ch. 211, ' 2; 
L. 2002, ch. 141, sec. 11; L. 2003, ch. 128, sec. 17; L. 2004, ch. 129, sec. 2; July 1. 
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 INFORMATION ON CRIMINAL HUNTING  
21-3728.  Criminal hunting.  Criminal hunting is hunting, shooting, fur harvesting, pursuing 

any bird or animal, or fishing; 
(1) Upon any land or nonnavigable body of water of another, without having first obtained 

permission of the owner or person in possession of such premises; or 
(2) upon or from any public road, public road right-of-way or railroad right-of-way that 

adjoins occupied or improved premises, without having first obtained permission of the owner or 
person in possession of such premises. 

Criminal hunting is a class C misdemeanor.  Upon the first conviction thereof after the 
effective date of this act, and in addition to any authorized sentence imposed by the court, such 
court may require the forfeiture of the convicted person=s hunting, fishing or fur harvesting 
license, or all, or, in any case where such person has a combination license, the court may 
require forfeiture of a part or all of such license and the court may order such person to refrain 
from hunting, fishing or fur harvesting, or all, for up to one year from the date of such 
conviction.  Upon any subsequent conviction thereof, and in addition to any authorized sentence 
imposed by the court, such court shall require the forfeiture of the convicted person=s hunting, 
fishing or fur harvesting license, or all, or, in any case where such person has a combination 
license, the court shall require the forfeiture of a part or all of such license and the court shall 
order such person to refrain from hunting, fishing or fur harvesting, or all, for one year from the 
date of such conviction.  A person licensed to hunt and following or pursuing a wounded game 
bird or animal upon any land of another without permission of the landowner or person in lawful 
possession thereof shall not be deemed to be in violation of this provision while in such pursuit, 
except that this provision shall not authorize a person to remain on such land if instructed to 
leave by the owner thereof or other authorized person. 

The court shall notify the department of wildlife and parks of any conviction or diversion for 
criminal hunting. 

(b) Intentional criminal hunting is hunting, shooting, fur harvesting, pursuing any bird or 
animal or fishing upon any land or nonnavigable body of water of another by a person who 
knows such person is not authorized or privileged to do so, and: 

(1) Such person remains therein and continues to hunt, shoot, fur harvest, pursue any bird or 
animal or fish in defiance of an order not to enter or to leave such premises or property 
personally communicated to such person by the owner thereof or other authorized person; or 

(2) such premises or property are posted in a manner consistent with K.S.A. 32-1013, and 
amendments thereto. 

Intentional criminal hunting is a class B misdemeanor.  Upon the first conviction or a 
diversion agreement for intentional criminal hunting after the effective date of this act, and in 
addition to any authorized sentence imposed by the court, the court shall require forfeiture of 
such person=s hunting, fishing or fur harvesting license, or all, or in the case where such person 
has a combination license, the court shall require forfeiture of a part or all of such license for six 
months.  Upon the second conviction of intentional criminal hunting and in addition to any 
authorized sentence imposed by the court, such court shall require the forfeiture of the convicted 
person=s hunting, fishing or fur harvesting license, or all, or in the case where such person has a 
combination license, the court shall require forfeiture of a part or all of such license for one year. 
 Upon the third or subsequent conviction of intentional criminal hunting and in addition to any 
authorized sentence imposed by the court, such court shall require forfeiture of the convicted 
person=s hunting, fishing or fur harvesting license, or all, or in the case where such person has a 
combination license, the court shall require forfeiture of a part or all of such license for five 
years. 

The court shall notify the department of wildlife and parks of any conviction or diversion for 
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intentional criminal hunting. 
History: L. 1969, ch. 180, ' 21-3728; L. 1977, ch. 113, ' 1; L. 1992, ch. 298, ' 48; L. 2004, 

ch. 135, sec. 1; July 1. 
 



 

 
 134 

 
 INFORMATION ON CONFISCATION AND DISPOSITION OF WEAPONS 
 

21-4206.  Confiscation and disposition of weapons.  (1) Upon conviction of a violation or 
upon adjudication as a juvenile offender for a violation of K.S.A. 21-4201, 21-4202 or 21-4204, 
21-4204a or 21-4219, and amendments thereto, any weapon seized in connection therewith shall 
remain in the custody of the trial court. 

(2) Any stolen weapon so seized and detained, when no longer needed for evidentiary 
purposes, shall be returned to the person entitled to possession, if known.  All other confiscated 
weapons when no longer needed for evidentiary purposes, shall in the discretion of the trial 
court, be:  (a)  destroyed; (b)  forfeited to the law enforcement agency seizing the weapon for use 
within such agency for sale to a property licensed federal firearms dealer, for trading to a 
properly licensed federal firearms dealer for other new or used firearms or accessories for use 
within such agency or for trading to another law enforcement agency for that agency=s use or (c) 
 forfeited to the Kansas bureau of investigation for law enforcement, testing, comparison or 
destruction by the Kansas bureau of investigation forensic laboratory. 

(3)  If weapons are sold as authorized by subsection (2), the proceeds of the sale shall be 
credited to the asset seizure and forfeiture fund of the seizing agency. 
History:  L. 1969, ch. 180, ' 21-4206; L. 1978, ch. 105, ' 6; L. 1987, ch. 111, ' 1; L. 1990, ch. 
103, ' 1; L. 1992, ch. 21, ' 8; L. 1994, ch. 270, ' 2; L. 1994, ch. 348, ' 5; L. 2005, ch. 141, sec. 
2; July 1. 
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 INFORMATION ON CRIMINAL DISCHARGE OF A FIREARM 
 
   21-4217.  Criminal discharge of a firearm.  (a) Criminal discharge of a firearm is the 
discharge of any firearm: 

(1) Upon any land or nonnavigable body of water of another, without having obtained 
permission of the owner or person in possession of such land; or 

(2) Upon or from any public road, public road right-of-way or railroad right-of-way that 
adjoins land of another without having first obtained permission of the owner or person in 
possession of such land. 

(b) This section shall not apply to any of the following: 
(1) Law enforcement officers, or any person summoned by any such officers to assist in 

making arrests or preserving the peace while actually engaged in assisting such officer; 
(2) wardens, superintendents, directors, security personnel and keepers of prisons, 

penitentiaries, jails and other institutions for the detention of persons accused or convicted of 
crime, while acting within the scope of their authority. 

(3) members of the armed services or reserve forces of the United States or the national guard 
while in the performance of their official duty. 

(4) watchmen, while actually engaged in the performance of the duties of their employment; 
(5) private detectives licensed by the state to carry the firearm involved, while actually 

engaged in the duties of their employment; 
(6) detectives or special agents regularly employed by railroad companies or other 

corporations to perform full-time security or investigative service, while actually engaged in the 
duties of their employment; or 

(7) the state fire marshal, the state fire marshal=s deputies or any member of a fire department 
authorized to carry a firearm pursuant to K.S.A. 31-157 and amendments thereto, while engaged 
in an investigation in which such fire marshal, deputy or member is authorized to carry a firearm 
pursuant to K.S.A. 31-157 and amendments thereto. 

(c) Criminal discharge of a firearm is a class C misdemeanor. 
 History: L. 1986, ch. 126, sec. 2; L.1992, ch. 298, sec. 73; July 1, 1993. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

INFORMATION ON GAME WARDEN DOGS 
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21-4318.  Harming or killing certain dogs.  (a) Inflicting harm, disability or death to a 

police dog, arson dog, assistance dog, game warden dog or search and rescue dog is knowingly 
and intentionally, and without lawful cause or justification poisoning, inflicting great bodily 
harm, permanent disability or death, upon a police dog, arson dog, assistance dog, game warden 
dog or search and rescue dog. 

(b) As used in this section: 
(1) AArson dog@ means any dog which is owned, or the service of which is employed, by the 

state fire marshal or a fire department for the principal purpose of aiding in the detection of 
liquid accelerants in the investigation of fires. 

(2) AAssistance dog@ has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 39-1113, and 
amendments thereto. 

(3) AFire department@ means a public fire department under the control of the governing body 
of a city, township, county, fire district or benefit district or a private fire department operated by 
a nonprofit corporation providing fire protection services for a city, township, county, fire 
district or benefit district under contract with the governing body of the city, township, county or 
district. 

(4) AGame warden dog@ means any dog which is owned, or the service of which is employed, 
by the department of wildlife and parks for the purpose of aiding in the detection of criminal 
activity, enforcement of laws, apprehension of offenders or location of persons or wildlife. 

(5) APolice dog@ means any dog which is owned, or the service of which is employed, by a 
law enforcement agency for the principal purpose of aiding in the detection of criminal activity, 
enforcement of laws or apprehension of offenders. 

(6) ASearch and rescue dog@ means any dog which is owned or the service of which is 
employed, by a law enforcement or emergency response agency for the purpose of aiding in the 
location of persons missing in disasters or other times of need. 

(c) Inflicting harm, disability or death to a police dog, arson dog, assistance dog, game 
warden dog or search and rescue dog is a class A nonperson misdemeanor. 

(d) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas criminal code. 
History: L. 1992, ch. 298, sec. 82; L. 1993, ch. 291, sec. 250; L. 1998, ch. 52, sec. 1; L. 2002, 

ch. 45, sec. 1; L. 2003, ch. 64, sec. 11; L. 2004, ch. 175, sec. 4; July 1.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 INFORMATION ON RABIES CONTROL IN WILDLIFE ANIMALS 
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28-1-14.  Rabies control in wildlife animals.  (a)  The possession or sale of skunks, 

raccoons, foxes and coyotes for keeping of these mammals as pets shall be prohibited. 
(b)  Removal of musk glands of skunks for purposes of attempted domestication shall be 

prohibited. 
(c)  Except as permitted by the secretary, attempts to immunize skunks, coyotes, raccoons, 

foxes, and other wildlife mammals known to be involved in the transmission of rabies shall be 
prohibited. 

(d)  Subsections (a) and (b) of this regulation shall not apply to bonafide zoological parks or 
research institutions.  (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-101; effective May 1, 1982; 
amended May 1, 1983; amended July 5, 1996.) 
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 INFORMATION ON RAISING DOMESTICATED DEER 
 

47-2101.  Raising domesticated deer; unlawful acts; permit; identification of deer; 
inspection of premises; communications with wildlife and parks; definitions.  (a) It shall be 
unlawful for any person to engage in the business of raising domesticated deer unless such 
person has obtained from the livestock commissioner a domesticated deer permit.  Application 
for such permit shall be made in writing on a form provided by the commissioner.  The permit 
period shall be for the permit year ending on June 30 following the issuance date. 

(b)  Each application for issuance or renewal of a permit shall be accompanied by a fee of not 
more than $100 as established by the commissioner in rules and regulations. 

(c)  The livestock commissioner shall adopt any rules and regulations necessary to enforce 
this section. 

(d)  Any person who fails to obtain a permit as prescribed in section (a) shall be deemed 
guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be punished by a fine not exceeding $100.  
Continued operation, after a conviction, shall constitute a separate offense for each day of 
operation. 

(e)  the commissioner may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke any permit for 
any one of the following reasons: 

(1)  Material misstatement in the application for the original permit or in the application for 
any renewal of a permit; 

(2)  the conviction of any crime, an essential element of which is misstatement, fraud or 
dishonesty, or relating to the theft of or cruelty to animals;  

(3)  substantial misrepresentation; 
(4)  the person who is issued a permit is found to be adding to such person's herd by poaching 

or illegally obtaining deer; 
(5)  willful disregard to any rule or regulation adopted under this section. 
(f)  Any refusal to issue or renew a permit and any suspension or revocation of a permit under 

this section shall be in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act 
and shall be subject to review in accordance with the act for judicial review and civil 
enforcement of agency actions. 

(g)  Domesticated deer shall be identified through implantation of microchips, ear tags, ear 
tattoos, ear notches or any other permanent identification on such deer as to identify such deer as 
domesticated deer.  Any person who receives a permit issued pursuant to subsection (a) shall 
keep records of the deer herd pursuant to rules and regulations. 

(h)  The livestock commissioner shall inspect any premises where a domesticated deer herd 
has been issued a permit upon receipt of a written, signed complaint that such premises is not 
being operated, managed or maintained in accordance with rules and regulations. 

(i)  The livestock commissioner, on a quarterly basis, shall transmit to the secretary of wildlife 
and parks a current list of persons issued a permit pursuant to this section. 

(j)  All moneys received under this section shall be remitted to the state treasurer at least 
monthly.  Upon receipt of any such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount 
thereof in the state treasury and the same shall be credited to the animal disease control fund. 

(k)  As used in this section: 
(1)  "Deer" means any member of the family cervidae. 
(2)  "Domesticated deer" means any member of the family cervidae which was legally 

obtained and is being sold or raised in a confined area for breeding stock; for any carcass, skin or 
part of such animal; for exhibition; or for companionship. 

History: L. 1993, ch. 143, sec. l; July l. 
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47-2102.  Intentionally releasing domesticated deer; penalty.  (a) It shall be unlawful for 
any person to intentionally release or set free domesticated deer from a confined area. 

(b)  Violation of this section is a class C nonperson misdemeanor.  
History: L. 1993, ch. 143, sec. 2; July l. 
 

   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

INFORMATION ON FERAL SWINE 
 
47-1809.  Feral swine; prohibition of such swine in state; duties of livestock commissioner; 
penalties; appeals.  (a) As used in this section, ‘‘feral swine’’ means any untamed or 
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undomesticated hog, boar or pig; swine whose reversion from the domesticated state to the wild 
state is apparent; or an otherwise freely roaming swine having no visible tags, markings or 
characteristics indicating that such swine is from a domestic herd, and reasonable inquiry within 
the area does not identify an owner. 
  (b) No person shall import, transport or possess live feral swine in this state. 
  (c) No person shall intentionally or knowingly release any hog, boar, pig or swine to live in a 
wild or feral state upon public or private land. 
  (d) No person shall engage in, sponsor, instigate, assist or profit from the release, killing, 
wounding or attempted killing or wounding of feral swine for the purpose of sport, pleasure, 
amusement or production of a trophy. 
  (e) Violation of subsection (b) or (c) may result in a civil penalty in the amount of not less than 
$1,000 nor more than $5,000 for each such violation. In the case of a continuing violation, every 
day such violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation. 
  (f) Violation of subsection (d) may result in a civil penalty of not less than $250 nor more than 
$2,500 for each such violation. 
  (g) Any duly authorized agent of the livestock commissioner, upon a finding that any person, or 
agent or employee thereof, has violated any of the provisions stated above, may impose a civil 
penalty upon such person as provided in this section. 
  (h) No civil penalty shall be imposed pursuant to this section except upon the written order of 
the duly authorized agent of the livestock commissioner to the person who committed the 
violation. Such order shall state the violation, the penalty to be imposed and the right of the 
person to appeal to the commissioner. Any such person, within 20 days after notification, may 
make written request to the commissioner for a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the 
Kansas administrative procedure act. The commissioner shall affirm, reverse or modify the order 
and shall specify the reasons therefor. 
  (i) Any person aggrieved by an order of the commissioner made under this section may appeal 
such order to the district court in the manner provided by the act for judicial review and civil 
enforcement of agency actions. 
  (j) Any civil penalty recovered pursuant to the provisions of this section shall be remitted to the 
state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. 
Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the 
state treasury to the credit of the state general fund. 
  (k) The livestock commissioner, or the authorized representative of the livestock commissioner, 
may destroy or require the destruction of any feral swine upon discovery of such swine. 
  (l) The provisions of this section shall not be construed to prevent owners or legal occupants of 
land, the employees of such owners or legal occupants or persons designated by such owners or 
legal occupants from killing any feral swine when found on their premises or when destroying 
property. Such designees shall have a permit issued by the livestock commissioner in their 
possession at the time of the killing of the feral swine. 
  (m) The livestock commissioner may adopt rules and regulations to carry out the provisions of 
this section. 
  History:  L. 1995, ch. 244, sec. 1; L. 2000, ch. 121, sec. 2; L. 2001, ch. 5, sec. 174; L. 2006, ch. 
114, sec. 1, July l. 
 

INFORMATION ON PROPERTY RELATING TO RECREATIONAL TRAILS 
 
  58-3214.  Adjacent property owner’s duty of care.  An adjacent property owner has no duty 
of care to: (a) Any person using a recreational trail, except that this subsection shall not relieve 
an adjacent property owner from liability for injury to another that is a direct result of such 
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property owner’s gross negligence or willful or wanton misconduct; or (b) any person entering 
such adjacent property owner’s land by way of the recreational trail without implied or expressed 
permission or consent of the adjacent property owner, except that this subsection shall not 
relieve an adjacent property owner from liability for injury to another that is a direct result of an 
intentional or unlawful act of the adjacent property owner. 
  History:  L. 1996, ch. 223, sec. 4; L. 2006, ch. 178, sec. 1; July 1. 
 
  58-3215.  Remedies for violations.  If the responsible party fails to comply with the provisions 
of this act, any adjacent property owner, city or county aggrieved by the noncompliance may 
bring an action in the district court to enforce the provisions of this act. Upon a finding that the 
responsible party has failed to comply with the provisions of this act, the court may enter an 
order requiring the responsible party to comply with the provisions of this act. 
  History:  L. 1996, ch. 223, sec. 5; L. 2006, ch. 178, sec. 2; July 1. 
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 INFORMATION ON SPORT SHOOTING RANGES 
 

58-3221.  Sport Shooting Ranges; definitions.  (a) AGenerally accepted operation practice@ 
means those safety practices adopted, pursuant to rules and regulations, by the Kansas 
department of wildlife and parks and established by a nationally recognized nonprofit 
membership organization that provides voluntary firearms safety programs which include 
training individuals in the safe handling and use of firearms and which practices are developed 
with consideration of all information reasonably available regarding the operation of shooting 
ranges. 

(b) ALocal unit of government@ means a county, city, township or any other political 
subdivision of the state, or any agency, authority, institution or instrumentality thereof. 

(c)  APerson@ means an individual, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, club, 
governmental entity or other legal entity. 

(d) ASport shooting range@ or Arange@ means an area designed and operated for the use of 
archery, rifles, shotguns, pistols, semiautomatic firearms, skeet, trap, black powder or any other 
similar sport shooting. 

History: L. 2001, ch. 185, sec. 4; July 1. 
 

58-3222.  Same; conformants to generally accepted operation practices; application of 
law relating to noise control and nuisance.  (a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, 
and in addition to other protections provided in this act, a person who owns, operates, manages 
or uses a sport shooting range that conforms to generally accepted operation practices in the state 
is not subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution in any matter relating to noise or noise 
pollution resulting from the operation or use of the range if the range is in compliance with any 
noise control laws or ordinances or resolutions that applied to the range and its operation at the 
time of construction and initial operation of the range. 

(b) In addition to any civil protection provided by the act, a person who owns, operates, 
manages or uses a sport shooting range that conforms to generally accepted operation practices is 
not subject to an action for nuisance, and a court of the state shall not enjoin or restrain the use or 
operation of a range on the basis of noise or noise pollution, if the range is in compliance with 
any noise control laws or ordinances or resolutions that applied to the range and its operation at 
the time of construction or initial operation of the range. 

(c) Rules or regulations adopted by any state department or agency for limiting levels of noise 
in terms of decibel level which may occur in the outdoor atmosphere do not apply to a sport 
shooting range immune from liability under this act.  However, this subsection does not constrict 
the application of any provision of generally accepted operation practices. 

(d) A person who acquires title to real property adversely affected by the use of property with 
a permanently located and improved sport shooting range constructed and initially operated prior 
to the time the person acquires title shall not maintain a nuisance action on the basis of noise or 
noise pollution or based upon known or inherent dangers against the person who owns, operates 
or uses the range to restrain, enjoin, or impede the use of the range.  This section does not 
prohibit actions for negligence or recklessness in the operation of the range. 

History: L. 2001, ch. 185, sec. 6; July 1. 
 

58-3223.  Same; application of local law.  (a) A sport shooting range that is operated and is 
not in violation of state law at the time of the enactment of an ordinance or resolution shall be 
permitted to continue in operation even if the operation of the sport shooting range at a later date 
does not conform to the new ordinance or resolution or amendment to an existing ordinance or 
resolution. 
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(b) A sport shooting range that is in existence as of the effective date of this act and operates 
in compliance with generally accepted operation practices, even if not in compliance with an 
ordinance or resolution of a local unit of government, shall be permitted to do all of the 
following within its preexisting geographic boundaries if in compliance with generally accepted 
operation practices: 

(1) Repair, remodel or reinforce any improvement or facilities or building or structure as may 
be necessary in the interest of public safety or to secure the continued use of the building or 
improvement; 

(2) reconstruct, repair, rebuild or resume the use of a facility or building damaged by fire, 
collapse, explosion, act of God or act of war occurring after the effective date of this act.  The 
reconstruction, repair or restoration shall be completed within one year following the date of the 
damage or settlement of any property damage claim.  If reconstruction, repair or restoration is 
not completed within one year as provided in this subsection, such reconstruction, repair or 
restoration may be terminated in the discretion of the local unit of government; or 

(3) do anything authorized under generally accepted operation practices, including, but not 
limited to: 

(A) Expand or enhance its membership or opportunities for public participation; and 
(B) reasonably expand or increase facilities or activities. 
History: L. 2001, ch. 185, sec. 6; July 1. 

 
58-3224.  Same; regulations by local governments; taking of range for certain uses 

prohibited.   (a) Except as otherwise provided, the provisions of this act shall not prohibit a 
local unit of government from regulating the location and construction of a sport shooting range. 

(b) No person or governmental entity may take title to property which has a permanently 
located and improved sport shooting range, by condemnation, eminent domain or similar process 
when the proposed use of said property would be for shooting related activities or recreational 
activities or for private or commercial development.  However, this provision does not limit 
governmental exercise of eminent domain or easement necessary for infrastructure additions or 
improvements, such as highways, waterways or utilities. 

History: L. 2001, ch. 185, sec. 7; July 1. 
 

58-3225.  Same; rules and regulations.  The secretary of the Kansas department of wildlife 
and parks is hereby authorized to adopt rules and regulations necessary to implement the 
provisions of this act.  Rules and regulations establishing generally accepted operation practices 
shall be adopted and be in effect on or before January 1, 2002. 

History: L. 2001, ch. 185, sec. 8; July 1. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

INFORMATION ON TRAINING AND RETIRED OFFICERS TO CARRY FIREARMS 
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74-5607.  Powers and duties of commission; compensation and expenses; meetings.  (a)  

In addition to other powers and duties prescribed by law, the commission shall adopt, in 
accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 77-415 et seq., and amendments thereto, rules and 
regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of subsection (c) of K.S.A. 74-5616, and 
amendments thereto, and such other rules and regulations as necessary to administer this act.  
The commission may also adopt such rules of procedure as are necessary for conducting the 
business of the commission. 

(b)  In all matters pending before the commission, the commission shall have the power to: 
(1)  Administer oaths and take testimony; 
(2)  issue subpoenas, compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of any papers, 

books, accounts, documents and testimony, and to cause the deposition of witnesses, either 
residing within or without the state, to be taken in the manner prescribed by law for taking 
depositions in civil actions in the district courts.  In case of the failure of any person to comply 
with any subpoena issued on behalf of the commission, or on the refusal of any witness to testify 
to any matters regarding which the witness may be lawfully interrogated, the district court of any 
county, on application of a member of the commission, may require compliance by proceedings 
for contempt, as in the case of failure to comply with a subpoena issued from such court or a 
refusal to testify in such court.  Each witness who appears before the commission by its order or 
subpoena, other than a state officer or employee, shall receive for such attendance the fees and 
mileage provided for witnesses in civil cases in courts of record which shall be audited and paid 
upon presentation of proper vouchers sworn to by such witnesses and approved by the 
chairperson of the commission or by a person or persons designated by the chairperson; 

(3)  enter into contracts necessary to administer the provisions of this act and the certification 
of law enforcement officers; and  

(4)  assess the costs of such matters pending before the commission under this section against 
the governmental entity employing the police officer or law enforcement officer. 

(c)  Members of the law enforcement training commission attending meetings of the 
commission, or attending a subcommittee meeting  authorized by the commission, shall be paid 
amounts provided for in subsection (e) of K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto.  The 
director and the chairperson of the commission shall be responsible for approving all expense 
vouchers of members. 

(d)  The commission shall meet at least once each year at the training center and may hold 
special meetings whenever they are called by the chairperson. 

(e)  The commission shall adopt the rules and regulations that are necessary to ensure that law 
enforcement officers are adequately trained and to enforce the provisions of this act.  Such rules 
and regulations shall include, but are not limited to, the establishment of a course of fire as a 
standard qualification for active law enforcement officers to carry firearms that may also be used 
for qualified retired officers to carry firearms pursuant to federal law.  The director shall provide 
qualification opportunities for qualified retired officers at least twice a year at the times and 
places the director determines to be necessary.  The training center shall charge and collect a fee 
from retired state, local and federal officers for the qualification opportunities, but these fees 
shall be limited to the actual costs of presenting the standard qualifications course. 
   History:  L. 1968, ch. 81, sec. 7; L. 1973, ch. 331, sec. 4; L. 1974, ch. 348, sec. 80; L. 1975, 
ch. 416, sec. 13; L. 1982, ch. 322, sec. 11; L. 1983, ch. 256, sec. 5; L. 1988, ch. 306, sec. 1; L. 
2005, ch. 141, sec. 4; July 1.  

INFORMATION ON MONEYS CREDITED TO THE BOATING FEE FUND 
 
  74-7336.  Crime victims compensation fund; crime victims assistance fund; county money 
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to aid witnesses and victims of crime.  (a) Of the remittances of fines, penalties and forfeitures 
received from clerks of the district court, at least monthly, the state treasurer shall credit 11.99% 
to the crime victims compensation fund, 2.45% to the crime victims assistance fund, 2.01% to 
the community alcoholism and intoxication programs fund, 2.01% to the department of 
corrections alcohol and drug abuse treatment fund and 0.17% to the boating fee fund.  The 
remainder of the remittances shall be credited to the state general fund. 
  (b)  The county treasurer shall deposit grant moneys as provided in subsection (a), from the 
crime victims assistance fund, to the credit of a special fund created for use by the county or 
district attorney in establishing and maintaining programs to aid witnesses and victims of crime. 
  History:  L. 1989, ch. 239, sec. 31; L. 1995, ch. 243, sec. 8; L. 2001, ch. 200, sec. 18; L. 2001, 
ch. 211, sec. 17; L. 2006, ch. 85, sec. 17; Jan. 1, 2007. 
 

INFORMATION ON MONEYS RELATING TO NONGAME WILDLIFE 
IMPROVEMENT FUND 

 
   79-3221h.  Nongame wildlife improvement fund; use of federal moneys.   (a)  All federal 
moneys received pursuant to federal assistance, federal-aid funds and federal-aid grant 
reimbursements related to the nongame wildlife improvement fund under the control, authorities 
and duties of the department of wildlife and parks, shall be remitted to the 
state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. 
Upon receipt of the remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state 
treasury and credit it to the nongame wildlife improvement fund-federal, which is hereby 
created. 
   (b)  No moneys derived from sources described in subsection (a) shall be used for any purpose 
other than the administration of matters which relate to purposes authorized under K.S.A. 79-
3221e, and amendments thereto, and which are under the control, authorities and duties of the 
secretary of wildlife and parks and the department of wildlife and parks as provided by law. 
   (c)  All expenditures from the nongame wildlife improvement fund-federal, shall be made in 
accordance with appropriations acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued 
pursuant to vouchers approved by the secretary of wildlife and parks. 
   History:  L. 2005, ch. 181, sec. 4; July 1. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

INFORMATION CONCERNING CHILD SUPPORT AND ISSUANCE OF LICENSES 
 
  79-32,225.  Persons in arrearage under a child support order; prohibition against issuance 
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of license, permit, stamp or tag.  (a) Upon request of the secretary of social and rehabilitation 
services, the secretary of wildlife and parks shall not allow any license, permit, stamp, tag or 
other issue of the department of wildlife and parks to be purchased by any applicant except as 
provided in this section. The secretary of social and rehabilitation services may make such a 
request by providing the secretary of wildlife and parks, on a quarterly basis, a listing of names 
and other information sufficient to allow the secretary of wildlife and parks to match applicants 
against the list with reasonable accuracy. The secretary of social and rehabilitation services may 
include an individual on the listing if, at the time the listing is compiled, the individual owes 
arrearages under a support order in a title IV-D case or has failed, after appropriate notice, to 
comply with an outstanding warrant or subpoena directed to the individual in a title IV-D case.  
  (b) If any applicant for a license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department of wildlife 
and parks is not allowed to complete a purchase pursuant to this section, the vendor of the 
license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department of wildlife and parks shall 
immediately deliver to the applicant a written notice, furnished by the state of Kansas, stating the 
basis for the action and how the applicant may dispute the action or request other relief. 
  (c) Immediately upon receiving a release executed by an authorized agent of the secretary of 
social and rehabilitation services, the secretary of wildlife and parks may allow the applicant to 
purchase any license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department of wildlife and parks.  
The applicant shall have the burden of obtaining and delivering the release. The secretary of 
social and rehabilitation services may limit the duration of the release. 
  (d) Upon request the secretary of social and rehabilitation services shall issue a release if, as 
appropriate: 
  (1) The arrearages are paid in full or a tribunal of competent jurisdiction has determined that no 
arrearages are owed; 
  (2) an income withholding order in the case has been served upon the applicant’s current 
employer or payor; 
  (3) an agreement has been completed or an order has been entered setting minimum payments 
to defray the arrearages, together with receipt of the first minimum payment; or 
  (4) the applicant has complied with the warrant or subpoena or the warrant or subpoena has 
been quashed or withdrawn. 
  (e) Individuals previously included in a quarterly listing may be omitted from any subsequent 
listing by the secretary of social and rehabilitation services. When a new listing takes effect, the 
secretary of wildlife and parks may allow any individual not included in the new listing to 
purchase any license, permit, stamp, tag or other issue of the department of wildlife and parks, 
whether or not the applicant had been included in a previous listing. 
  (f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require or permit the secretary of wildlife and 
parks to determine any issue related to the title IV-D case, including questions of mistaken 
identity or the adequacy of any notice provided pursuant to this section. The secretary of social 
and rehabilitation services shall provide an opportunity for fair hearing pursuant to K.S.A. 75-
3306, and amendments thereto, to any person who has been denied any license, permit, stamp, 
tag or other issue of the department of wildlife and parks pursuant to this section, provided that 
the person complies with the requirements of the secretary of social and rehabilitation services 
for requesting such fair hearing. 
  (g) The term ‘‘title IV-D’’ has the meaning ascribed thereto in K.S.A. 32-930, and amendments 
thereto. 
  (h) The secretary of social and rehabilitation services and the secretary of wildlife and parks 
may enter into an agreement for administering the provisions of this section. 
  (i) The secretary of social and rehabilitation services and the secretary of wildlife and parks 
may each adopt rules and regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of this section. 
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  History:  L. 2006, ch. 208, sec. 9; July 1. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 INFORMATION ON SEIZED FIREARMS 
 
   79-5212.  Same; warrants for collection of tax, issuance, execution and returns; seizure 
and sale of property; tax liens.  (a) Whenever a taxpayer liable to pay any tax, penalty or 
interest assessed pursuant to K.S.A. 79-5205, and amendments thereto, refuses or neglects to 
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immediately pay the amount due, the director of taxation may issue one or more warrants for the 
immediate collection of the amount due, directed to the sheriff of any county of the state 
commanding the sheriff to seize and sell the real and personal property of the taxpayer, or to 
seize, appraise and dispose of the firearms of the taxpayer, found within the sheriff’s county to 
satisfy the amount specified on the warrant and the cost of executing the warrant. The director of 
taxation may also issue one or more warrants directed to any employee of the department of 
revenue commanding the employee to seize and sell the real and personal property of the 
taxpayer, or to seize, appraise and dispose of the firearms of the taxpayer, found anywhere 
within the state of Kansas to satisfy the amount specified on the warrant and the cost of 
executing the warrant. A copy of the warrant shall also be mailed to the taxpayer at the 
taxpayer’s last known address or served upon the taxpayer in person. 
   (b) The sheriff or department of revenue employee shall proceed to execute upon the warrant 
in the same manner as provided for attachment orders by K.S.A. 60-706, 60-707 and 60-710, and 
amendments thereto, except as otherwise provided herein. In the execution of a warrant issued 
to a department of revenue employee, the employee shall have all of the powers conferred by law 
upon sheriffs. Any law enforcement officer may assist in the execution of a warrant if requested 
to do so by a department of revenue employee. 
   (c) No law exempting any goods and chattels, land and tenements from forced sale under 
execution shall apply to a seizure and sale, or in the case of firearms, sale or disposal, under any 
warrant. 
   (d) A third party holding funds or other personal property of the taxpayer shall immediately, or 
as soon thereafter as possible, after service of the warrant on such third party, deliver such funds 
or other personal property to the sheriff or department of revenue employee, who shall then 
deliver such to the director of taxation or the director’s designee for deposit toward the balance 
due on the taxpayer’s assessment. 
   (e) The sheriff or department of revenue employee shall make return of such warrant to the 
director of taxation within 60 days from the date of the warrant. If property is seized, then the 
sheriff or department of revenue employee shall also make return of such warrant to the clerk of 
the district court in the county where the property was seized. 
   (f) (1) If the taxpayer fails to appeal the assessment as provided by subsection (b) of K.S.A. 
79-5205, and amendments thereto, or if the taxpayer requests a hearing and a final order has 
been entered by the director of taxation as to the correctness of the assessment, then the sheriff or 
department of revenue employee shall sell the seized property at public auction, except that 
firearms may be sold at public auction or disposed of as provided in subsection (2). The 
provisions of K.S.A. 60-2406, and amendments thereto, shall apply to liens against the property 
being sold.  Notice of the sale of personal property shall be given in accordance with K.S.A. 60-
2409, and amendments thereto. Notice of the sale of real property shall be given in accordance 
with K.S.A. 60-2410, and amendments thereto. The taxpayer shall have the right to redeem real 
property within a period of six months from the date of the sale. 
   (2) In the case of seized firearms not sold, the director of taxation shall obtain an appraisal 
value performed by a federally licensed firearms dealer or an employee thereof. Such value shall 
be credited against the taxpayer’s outstanding liability. Subsequent to such appraisal and credit 
against the taxpayer’s outstanding liability, the director shall transfer such firearm or firearms as 
follows: 
   (A) If the firearm or firearms have historical significance, the director may transfer the firearm 
or firearms to the Kansas state historical society; 
   (B) the director may transfer the firearm or firearms to the secretary of wildlife and parks; 
   (C) the director may transfer the firearm or firearms to the director of the Kansas bureau of 
investigation; or 
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   (D) the director may transfer the firearm or firearms to such city or county law enforcement 
agency where the firearm was seized.   
At least 30 days prior to the transfer of such firearm or firearms, pursuant to this subsection, the 
director shall give written notice by mail to the taxpayer at the taxpayer’s last known address of 
the appraised value of such firearm or firearms and the date that the director intends to transfer 
such firearm or firearms. The taxpayer may appeal the appraised value of any such firearm or 
firearms by filing a written request for a hearing before the district court in which the tax warrant 
used to seize such firearm or firearms was filed. Such request must be filed with the district court 
within 15 days after such notice to the taxpayer was mailed by the director. If no appeal is filed 
with the district court within 15 days, or if upon appeal the district court rules against the 
taxpayer, the director shall transfer such firearm or firearms. 
   (g) The director of taxation may also direct the sheriff or department of revenue employee to 
file any warrant issued pursuant to subsection (a) with the clerk of the district court of any 
county in Kansas, and thereupon the clerk shall enter in the appearance docket the name of the 
taxpayer 
mentioned in the warrant, the amount of the tax or portion of it, interest and penalties for which 
the warrant is issued and the date such copy is filed and note the taxpayer’s name in the general 
index. No fee shall be charged for such entry. The amount of such warrant shall thereupon 
become a lien upon the title to, and interest in, the real property of the taxpayer located within 
such county. Thereupon, the director of taxation shall have the same remedies to collect the 
amount of the tax, penalty and interest, as if the state of Kansas had recovered judgment against 
the taxpayer, including immediately garnishing the wages or other property of the taxpayer 
pursuant to K.S.A. 60-716 et seq., and amendments thereto. Such remedies shall be in addition to 
the other collection remedies provided herein. 
   (h) The director of taxation shall have the right at any time to issue alias warrants until the full 
amount of the tax, penalty and interest is collected. 
   History:  L. 1994, ch. 259, sec. 3; L. 2005, ch. 141, sec. 9; July 1. 
 
 
 
 
 
New Sec. 3.  (a)  The commission may authorize youth hunt of a lifetime deer permits to take 
deer.  Such permits shall be made available only to nonprofit organizations based or operating in 
Kansas that actively promote hunting for youth under the age of 21 who are handicapped or 
experiencing life threatening illnesses. 
(b) The issuance of youth hunt of a lifetime deer permits shall be subject to the following 

limitations: 
(1) A total of not more than 10 youth hunt of a lifetime permits shall be available in one 

calendar year; 
(2) Youth hunt of a lifetime permits shall not be included in nor reduce any limited quota 

permit allotments set by other rules and regulations of the secretary. 
(c) Application requests by qualified organizations shall be submitted to any member of the 

commission and shall be provided to the commission as a whole. 
(d) The commission shall conduct a random drawing from the pool of eligible qualified 

organizations to award youth hunt of a lifetime permits, subject to the approval of the 
secretary. 
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(e) Organizations awarded youth hunt of a lifetime permits shall pay to the department the 
price established by rules and regulations for the highest value for the type of permit 
awarded. 

(f) Youth hunt of a lifetime permits shall only be issued in the name of the final recipient.  
Once a youth hunt of a lifetime permit is issued in the name of the final recipient, it shall 
not be transferred to any other individual. 

(g) Youth hunt of a lifetime permits shall be subject to the restrictions of the season, sex, 
equipment type or hunt units as issued on the permit by the department. 

(h) Organizations awarded youth hunt of a lifetime permits shall provide the department with a 
final report on the use of the permit by the final recipient not later than 30 days following 
the close of the season for which the permit is valid. 

(i) The secretary may adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 32-805, and amendments thereto, such 
rules and regulations as necessary to implement the provisions of this section. 

  History:  L. 2007, ch.     , sec. 3; July 1. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 


